Author Topic: Which mag  (Read 7773 times)

Offline Followme1

• Follow Me Campers
Which mag
« on: January 10, 2011, 08:32:20 AM »
Which campertrailer mag do you read and why?
Do you like the new format or do you prefer editorials on campers?

George
http://www.followmecampers.com.au

Re: Which mag
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2011, 11:29:16 AM »
I subscribe to CTT and CTA, enjoy them both as they are quite different in style.

Offline Alchemist

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2011, 11:47:08 AM »
I subscribe to CTT and CTA, enjoy them both as they are quite different in style.

X 2.

Why choose?  ;D

Alchemist.

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2011, 12:19:59 PM »
I buy CTT for GU Rich's articles ;D

« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2011, 12:35:25 PM »
I read it despite them  ;)

« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2011, 12:51:44 PM »
CTT as my daughter got me a 12 month sub for xmas

Offline Campa

« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2011, 02:31:02 PM »
CTT, got a good deal when i extended 4WD Action mag subscription  ;D

« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2011, 02:57:51 PM »
CTT

Offline Rowanb

« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2011, 03:11:30 PM »
Did read both but now only do CTA (when an article on the cover grabs my attention) as I believe both cater for the disposable income people. Mortgage 2 kids 17 and 19 I know I cannot afford most of the stuff in the mags, not that I don't mind looking. CTT is a 4WD action (another out of touch publication) sister mag that's enough to deter me, not that its not a bad read I just cannot justify the sticker price for the content.
These are not the only publications that have jumped a price bracket, as a keen dirtbike rider I stopped reading all dirtbike mags for the same reason as did alot of mates, but hey each to their own.
Mortgage or mag to read guess what wins.......
Row and Shaz.
Hubby and Wife team

« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2011, 04:48:53 PM »

« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2011, 05:09:42 PM »

I buy both when something catches my eye (no subscription here), but prefer the format of CTT.  The articles are a bit more to my liking and they aren't as overly advertising oriented as the other, but I do agree, that you don't get much for your money (say like any of those ladies publications eg).  Plus they have a spinal reference like all books and are easier to find content in straight off the bookshelf.  I find CTA make errors more often.  Example:  Issue 36 Lake Somerset, according to the Hema Map locator on page 109 shows a dot in Victoria although the map clearly shows BrisVegas ... it would be confusing for someone who doesn't know where it is.  Also, I like the prizes for Readers Contributions a lot better in CTT than CTA (SPOT tracking device versus Dometic dunny ... know which I'd prefer).

Of course this is all just my opinion ...

« Last Edit: January 10, 2011, 08:30:35 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

Offline Compass

« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2011, 05:33:15 PM »
I tend to read both CTA and CTT at irregular intervals but I do not subscribe to either.  Neither are great value for money but If I had to choose it would probably be CTA simply because I prefer the writing style.
Eric
2015 Toyota Prado
2012 Kimberley Kamper Platinum

« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2011, 07:39:57 PM »

I buy both when something catches my eye (no subscription here), but prefer the format of CTA.  The articles are a bit more to my liking and they aren't as overly advertising oriented as the other, but I do agree, that you don't get much for your money (say like any of those ladies publications eg).  Plus they have a spinal reference like all books and are easier to find content in straight off the bookshelf.  I find CTT make errors more often.  Example:  Issue 36 Lake Somerset, according to the Hema Map locator on page 109 shows a dot in Victoria although the map clearly shows BrisVegas ... it would be confusing for someone who doesn't know where it is.  Also, I like the prizes for Readers Contributions a lot better in CTA than CTT (SPOT tracking device versus Dometic dunny ... know which I'd prefer).

Of course this is all just my opinion ...

Kit_e, I think you will find CTT is only up to issue 15 I think. CTA would be issue 36.

« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2011, 07:47:02 PM »

I only buy and read CTA but the ads sure do outnumber the articles

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2011, 07:52:15 PM »
I only usually only read CTT, which I also subscribe to.I purchased a CTA the other day for a read while away on Holidays down in Richmond Tas, for one thing it seemed to skip through each article without actually getting to any points.It just re-affirmed my choice of mag. to read.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2011, 07:53:11 PM »
I enjoy both.

Offline rossbarb

« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2011, 08:06:55 PM »
Hi everyone!
I usually read Go Camping as it has good destinations and is a bit cheaper. Doesnt have write ups on campers but we have ours and am over them as they never give many negatives just positives and I know what i want. So this one does it for me it has much more reading in it.
Barb

Offline surly17

« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2011, 08:14:31 PM »
I'm to tight to buy either so I either get them from the library in the swap box or read them in the newsagents.

Offline olddigger

« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2011, 08:16:35 PM »
I get CT Australia and have subs to CTT and Camping with your 4WD. Not sure if I will renew the subs, as even at the reduced rate I think they are silly prices for what you get. They also tend to be spattered with silly typographical errors, which just should not happen in a monthly magazine (and I speak as a journalist with nearly 50 years' experience).
The latest CTT had a feature on camping spots outside the capital cities. Every city . . .  except Perth. Not good enough by a long way.
Cheers, Tony

« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2011, 08:31:09 PM »
Kit_e, I think you will find CTT is only up to issue 15 I think. CTA would be issue 36.

Thanks ... got my CTT's and CTA's all mixed up.

« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2011, 08:37:31 PM »
Thanks ... got my CTT's and CTA's all mixed up.
hehe no worries!

Offline GS

• The hand the turns the doorknob, opens the door...
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2011, 08:48:16 PM »
I read CTA.

Not a fan of the 4x4 action thrown together and recycled style.

I agree that CTA is full of ads disguised as articles.

Offline way-t-go

• Our Camper Trailer
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2011, 11:31:07 PM »
I tend to read both CTA and CTT at irregular intervals but I do not subscribe to either.  Neither are great value for money but If I had to choose it would probably be CTA simply because I prefer the writing style.
Eric

x2 I did subscribe to CTT for a while, the write ups on CT's was like reading it straight out of a brochure and no elaboration on features that made this CT standout from the rest.

I get CT Australia and have subs to CTT and Camping with your 4WD. Not sure if I will renew the subs, as even at the reduced rate I think they are silly prices for what you get. They also tend to be spattered with silly typographical errors, which just should not happen in a monthly magazine (and I speak as a journalist with nearly 50 years' experience).
The latest CTT had a feature on camping spots outside the capital cities. Every city . . .  except Perth. Not good enough by a long way.
Cheers, Tony

I hate and don't expect to see spelling and grammar mistakes in any publication, especially since computers have Spell Check and they are supposed to be written by jornalists.

Gary >:(
2009 'MDC' Off Road Deluxe Camper with more mods than you can poke a stick at.
2010 Mitsubishi PB Challenger Auto

Offline olddigger

« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2011, 11:47:13 PM »
I couldn't agree more, Gary. The only trouble with spellcheck is that it is American and lets through all sorts of abominations. My current "favourite" is "behaviours", which appears all the time.
To get into journalism these days, you HAVE to have a uni degree. Total waste of time and money. We need people with fire in the belly, not useless bloody arts degrees. Most of them can't spell "cat" and would be lucky to type their names and get the syntax right. Or care about it, which is probably the worst thing of all.
Cheers, Tony

« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2011, 12:40:52 PM »
I doubt many of the folks who write for the mags have journalism degrees, most are simply enthusiasts.

I do agree on the spelling though, misspelt words in publications are a pet hate of mine.