Author Topic: Outbac Air Compressor...Any Good  (Read 6817 times)

Outbac Air Compressor...Any Good
« on: January 21, 2019, 08:52:07 AM »

Re: Outbac Air Compressor...Any Good
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 09:03:54 AM »
Quote from: xcvator
Just looking at these to top up tyres on the van and Suzi. And also airbag helpers, Are they any good for the price ?
Chow Job

a lot of the cheap chinese compressors used to have plastic pistons (as I found out :( )- no idea what they have these days.

You'll get 100000s of suggestions and opinions on compressors. Most come out of the same factories though.

I wanted something to use more than occasionally, so I got one of the Ironman pro air.. regularly does 2 cars as someone usually forgets theirs on club trips without complaining.
http://www.ironman4x4.com/category-products/12v-air-compressors/air-compressors

but you'd easily get away with the lower model.

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 10:03:29 AM »
Gday XC, can't comment on the compressor but the inflators/ deflator on the hose I found to be a pain in the arse, changed my hose and inflators over to something more substantial. I have similar style of compressor and it's been ok so far, think from memory mine is a Thumper

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 10:11:46 AM »
Read the feedback, I wouldn't get the time of day from this seller.

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2019, 10:16:41 AM »
Read the feedback, I wouldn't get the time of day from this seller.
personally I never buy from someone with hidden "Private" feedback.

Quote from: Pottsy
Gday XC, can't comment on the compressor but the inflators/ deflator on the hose I found to be a pain in the arse, changed my hose and inflators over to something more substantial. I have similar style of compressor and it's been ok so far, think from memory mine is a Thumper
yea, the only downer on mine is mine has this PITA screw on one

and I want to change to this

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2019, 10:39:17 AM »
personally I never buy from someone with hidden "Private" feedback.

yea, the only downer on mine is mine has this PITA screw on one

and I want to change to this

Exactly what I did, plus removed battery clamps and fitted Anderson plug

« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2019, 06:23:47 PM »

« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2019, 06:40:57 PM »
This one has served me very well.

https://www.outbackequipment.com.au/product/dr-air-aircompressor-150l-pmin

Might be nice, but about double my budget atm  :'( :'( , don't think I'd get it past the minister of finance

« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2019, 06:58:21 PM »
Would this be more acceptable
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Portable-Air-Compressor-160L-min-4x4-Offroad-Tyre-Inflator-Kings-Thumper-MKII/163448184397?epid=3017675501&hash=item260e455e4d:rk:1:pf:1&checksum=163448184397dda6fac2dd364a13a8ab1c179d43cb31&enc=AQADAAAC8BkojIFHYtWT%2BANpG6F7t2H55%2BQdgzg7A%2Fj8ZBPT8ivYLUWhbsRxMUoszvp3M2fJ792MMDmzY8UO76vSYO9%2BUrsbDQ29evE2s8Lq7TySwPbtUUOaQz9XKxQ80%2BuR4bv%2BaIWV36OyKa0HYCpQLb3tw%2BLJ89iohCyyZ%2F7l8TsuszVJ%2FLIRohFIquZ8FHnTjCI7lbd%2F01eRjdqw2Mrk%2Bm5eLY7FuESZW8iHizy4jwoJF1rM1AXNnqdpnbs0nJoUliezOKdV8qjn%2BMOfTv%2BqE2WPfq%2BJ%2F3PBoWlrE61rRz0TW7s%2BQcOCev5OS42jonBfoKlVC9BQwNGX067ZD%2B6Z7x0kg5MhT6jXLRT28lLqnpYVXFzFpcRd83hgxcYkmJFpOVGke1iXWjQPaD4qZTL3dzLDBOER%2Fr%2FuuyOaIag%2F5pXe3KTnxax3YGCh2hH3F%2BnnPcppJTmyqWsDn6JGgCt19CSXeiasxYFLQ1Uwtwg1gZu%2F5GCtWLdnupYJTxKOp2fkVjFWqFpDMMaG6MPjGa8s9Pi0QtUGF0U%2Fsf0JJk9QKkRLi1GvE%2FQGiishi6aEt2J6wV%2Bt2uIn0c5iHVwoTzfLCFEUrua%2Fagc1zx%2FpvxXERWafPPwUjK%2F0oC%2BgY%2BO%2FB1Ce7U9%2FrFm6%2B22Y%2FpBidsZDNjidMkuPi%2B7VFpv8xjd8SCOuPqQDfeuj%2FN1r13Tz2ATx5E0QV6iJ6x7ras50F2g5VjDkpQXncMdB%2BubMUg0766nQAUpceOi64U1l78wd7lsNFiFgEe74LB%2FfpgBt%2FUjg4LKrNNwdc4POQkRdtHb%2BBPYPphwXchSHDGBUuJtFZCQf8MPdh74WZcsZb%2BHOYV4Ev4NMdqnV8uzaJQKhs0GuEDKyhaNfBmpn8%2BTz4jSBaYsPnVeGWad2j8irQF0KsWmALSWbnaF5Jko1Q%2FLmohcCOLZtIXFv5bLDNo%2F99wqsf6j7ao1KNLdMXyKhD55GkKwkTDfnPp0FXcMinOg%2Be4JNgZ4JzC0u&frcectupt=true
not that particular compressor, but a mate on the weekend was talking up his $149 Kings dual cylinder compressor. I have no idea how long they last, but mate reckons it's easily quicker then our old Bushranger MaxAir 11 compressors are, and pumped up 6 tyres in a row without issue.

Offline lloydus67

Outbac Air Compressor...Any Good
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2019, 07:53:57 PM »
http://vi.raptor.ebaydesc.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItemDescV4&item=183569291840&category=6763&pm=1&ds=0&t=1545000661000&ver=0&cspheader=1
Mine behaved flawlessly for over 10 years before carking it this year. Siezed motor. I pulled it apart and confirmed it had metal pistons. It would pump 4 x 33” tyres from 16 psi to 32 psi in about 6 mins with out cutting out on thermal overload.
It easily pumped them up to 40 psi, but took around 2-3 minutes per tyre. I didn’t feel it was worth the wait, when I could air up quickly, then finish off at the servo up the road

« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2019, 08:23:30 PM »
One thing to keep in mind it the big ones like to original one you posted and thee one rummy mentioned (they are similar) is that they are pretty big and heavy, they can pump up quickly put probably not what I would consider overly portable, especially if you are going to be carting it around everywhere with you. Personally, I try and stay away from  the original seller you listed, due to a bad experience quite a few years back. I am in a similar boat though considering a compressor.

« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2019, 06:24:31 AM »
Quote from: xcvator
Would this be more acceptable

Stop shopping on ebay - The Modern home lottery of the cheapest chinese Shit available.  ;D ;D :cup: ;D ;D

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2019, 07:47:32 AM »
Stop shopping on ebay - The Modern home lottery of the cheapest chinese Shit available.  ;D ;D :cup: ;D ;D
Where is your sense of adventure!

I ended up pulling the pin on one of these as it suited size I want and with the POOLTIME code it came to $79. Expecting average build quality but hopefully will be ok for what I want, if I were using it a lot or in remote locations and my life depended on it I would spend more, but as that's not the plan, will see how this one goes.

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2019, 09:45:29 AM »
I got hold of a Rydge Ryder Ultimate 12V compressor, from Supercheap a while ago now (2 years?) and it seems pretty good. They regularly have them on sale at around half price (I paid $148.00 from memory). The only things I changed were the battery clips to an anderson plug, and the clip on valve chuck to one from Repco, because mine started getting had to stay on the valve.

Use mine a fair bit, airing up after driving on Stocko Beach, and it's just as fast as the local servo compressor, and a lot less hassle waiting in the cue.

https://www.supercheapauto.com.au/p/ridge-ryder-ridge-ryder-air-compressor-ultimate---12v/299651.html
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2019, 10:33:05 AM »
I got hold of a Rydge Ryder Ultimate 12V compressor, from Supercheap a while ago now (2 years?) and it seems pretty good. They regularly have them on sale at around half price (I paid $148.00 from memory). The only things I changed were the battery clips to an anderson plug, and the clip on valve chuck to one from Repco, because mine started getting had to stay on the valve.

Use mine a fair bit, airing up after driving on Stocko Beach, and it's just as fast as the local servo compressor, and a lot less hassle waiting in the cue.

https://www.supercheapauto.com.au/p/ridge-ryder-ridge-ryder-air-compressor-ultimate---12v/299651.html

160LPM is impressive...

got a link to the replacement chuck you got from repco?

« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2019, 11:42:06 AM »
Hi Keith, couple of shots of mine plus spec plate. Bought from BiggerBoyzToyz
« Last Edit: January 22, 2019, 11:45:24 AM by Pottsy »

« Reply #17 on: January 22, 2019, 12:46:05 PM »
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.
The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2019, 01:11:10 PM »
thought one of these looks ok with gauge.

« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2019, 07:59:10 PM »
thought one of these looks ok with gauge.

Yep they good bloke

Offline Traveller

« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2019, 08:57:31 PM »
I agree, quite happy with mine.

« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2019, 08:48:06 AM »
For how often you'll use it Keith, a semi cheapy would be fine. Buy from nation wide store chain so you can take back if it does **** up.. Supercheap/Repco/autobarn or similar.

Remember you don't have to get them back to 40 from 18 to drive to a servo and finish them off - and your old and slow, so 160l/m isnt critical.

Offline stephenh1235

• Have gun will travel
« Reply #22 on: January 23, 2019, 10:10:50 AM »
This same topic of air compressors is on another group we are in, so I'll just repeat my contribution from there, in that if you are carrying a genset any way (caravan/camper power back up) then you also have options in 240 volt compressors. We originaly carted our shed 40 litre compressor but recently went with a "Lincoln" oil less - 6 litre tank - 210 cu/ft min 240 V compressor for $129 from Sydney tools. ( I used up $100 store credit that came with purchase of Makita cordless tools!)  So far it is doing really well - I air up 4 x 37" truck super singles from 25 psi to 50 psi in approximately 15 minutes.
2004 Mitsubishi 4WD Canter
2003 HZJ105
2014 Palamino 1251ss slide on

Offline stephenh1235

• Have gun will travel
« Reply #23 on: January 23, 2019, 10:11:37 AM »
This same topic of air compressors is on another group we are in, so I'll just repeat my contribution from there, in that if you are carrying a genset any way (caravan/camper power back up) then you also have options in 240 volt compressors. We originaly carted our shed 40 litre compressor but recently went with a "Lincoln" oil less - 6 litre tank - 210 cu/ft min 240 V compressor for $129 from Sydney tools. ( I used up $100 store credit that came with purchase of Makita cordless tools!)  So far it is doing really well - I air up 4 x 37" truck super singles from 25 psi to 50 psi in approximately 15 minutes.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2019, 10:13:52 AM by stephenh1235 »
2004 Mitsubishi 4WD Canter
2003 HZJ105
2014 Palamino 1251ss slide on

Offline paulG

• Work ...the curse of the working class.....
« Reply #24 on: February 01, 2019, 07:49:19 PM »
I read an article on another site about compressors, etc ….I seem to remember that the ARB twin tank one was by FAR the most reliable, robust, etc....because heaps of those tested actually heat-seized, karked it, etc before they got a standard tyre (can't remember which one) to x or y pressure ...but ..it's about $1200..
Having said that...the note here about you not having to pump your tyres to 40psi immediately rings true….so a 1/2-3/4 way pump would do!...till you hit the servo...