General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2022 Myswag.org National Meet => Topic started by: Jillsy on March 31, 2019, 03:36:02 PM

Title: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet 30/9-03/10/2022 Discussion Thread
Post by: Jillsy on March 31, 2019, 03:36:02 PM
Come and join in the fun!!!
Title: Re: 2021 Myswag.org National Meet - Discussion Thread
Post by: Jillsy on April 17, 2019, 09:41:38 PM
So...who’s going to put their hand up?
Post by: Isuzumu on April 18, 2019, 06:55:28 PM
I'm to old to organize myself these days but the guys up in North Qld could put on a great do, what do you all think?
Post by: Hairs on April 18, 2019, 07:25:50 PM
I'm to old to organize myself these days but the guys up in North Qld could put on a great do, what do you all think?
If the lads up that way can get their sh1te together, I'll be there
After not being able to make this years.
Head down, I'll get to the next one for sure.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Steffo1 on April 19, 2019, 09:47:00 AM

Maybe even Rocky/Mackay vicinity?
Post by: Fizzie on April 19, 2019, 01:02:10 PM
After punching quite a few buttons, here are the dates for 2021 school holidays 8)

Please excuse the slight wobbliness - I couldn't get a table to insert properly ??? :-[

I think it makes sense though ???

Jan     Feb     Mar     Easter       Apr     May     Jun     Jul     Aug     Sep     Oct     Nov     Dec
Qld   Till 27                      2 – 5 Apr  2 to 18              26   Till 11              18    Till 4             Start 10
NSW Till 27                      2 – 5 Apr  2 to 18              26   Till 11              18    Till 3             Start 18
ACT  Till 31                      2 – 5 Apr  2 to 18              26   Till 11              18    Till 4             Start 18
Vic   Till 28                       2 – 5 Apr  2 to 18              26   Till 11              18    Till 4             Start 18
SA    Till 27                      2 – 5 Apr  9 to 26                     3 to 18             25    Till 10           Start 10
WA   Till 31                      2 – 5 Apr  2 to 18                     3 to 18             25    Till 10           Start 17
NT    Till 31                      2 – 5 Apr  17 to 27                   3 to 26                     2 to 17         Start 17
Tas    Unknown                 2 – 5 Apr                         Unknown

Post by: Bad Scott on April 29, 2019, 07:31:02 AM
We'll be there, where ever it is. Already booking it in. What about Sept/Oct holidays
Post by: Brett on May 10, 2019, 12:25:04 PM
I guess the location will dictate the dates. The move to easter was due to the high county being closed in sept when we went to Mansfield.
Post by: Jillsy on May 26, 2019, 07:41:35 PM
Anyone? Anyone?

Surely there are some Swaggers out there who are keen to show off their local area to the rest of us?
Post by: VKPrado on May 27, 2019, 07:44:10 AM
Has there been one in Tasmania yet  ???
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 27, 2019, 08:05:38 AM

Not yet, Put a team together and see what you can come up with

Post by: Bad Scott on May 27, 2019, 08:44:12 AM
Talk to marcus73 and Danny

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Post by: Jillsy on June 04, 2019, 12:42:49 AM
Come on Swaggers! Anyone?
Post by: VKPrado on June 04, 2019, 07:47:16 AM
Just putting it out there to all the Tasmania members, who would be interested in meeting up for a few hours to discuss :cheers: this at a central location in the state?

I am happy to put a couple of dates forward if there is interest. It would have to be before the end of July as I think  ??? that is the cut off for nominations.
Post by: Bird on June 04, 2019, 11:41:08 AM
Quote from: VKPrado
Just putting it out there to all the Tasmania members, who would be interested in meeting up for a few hours to discuss :cheers: this at a central location in the state?

I am happy to put a couple of dates forward if there is interest. It would have to be before the end of July as I think  ??? that is the cut off for nominations.
Tassie is awesome... Been waiting to go back since 97. :(

Even better if a deal could be worked out to get the cars/trailers across cheap... I think the $1500-2300 will put many off.
Post by: glenm64 on June 04, 2019, 11:43:50 AM
Reckon we'd go.

Post by: Bad Scott on June 04, 2019, 11:47:22 AM
Tassie is awesome... Been waiting to go back since 97. :(

Even better if a deal could be worked out to get the cars/trailers across cheap... I think the $1500-2300 will put many off.
I'm driving back over next Tuesday night. Me, Ute and a cabin $418

Post by: Bird on June 04, 2019, 12:17:51 PM
Quote from: SJindustries
yea me camper family 2000.. the old man is tiny van, new tug and wife was over 2000 :D or was i drunk other night at amigos
Post by: Rumpig on June 04, 2019, 12:21:31 PM

must be a Winter price thing yeah?...4 years ago it cost me a touch over $1300 return for car and camper, just me in a shared with 3 strangers (though organised it so one was a mate) cabin.
Post by: tryagain on June 04, 2019, 12:46:16 PM
From memory from when I looked, as soon as you add dimensions over what a normal car is the price grows astronomically, I think for interest's sake I looked and it was actually quite a bit cheaper to take two cars with a similar total length than it was to tow anything. 

Edit, just had a look at some random dates and it looks like for us and our camper it would normally be about $1.8K for a daytime trip return and about $2.5K for the night time trip with bunks. Christmas time would be over $3K for the night time run.
Post by: Rusty on June 04, 2019, 03:34:56 PM
Just had a look taking my van over bit of a shock  but at least Brett and Jillsy’s bill will be more.

Rusty
Post by: Bad Scott on June 04, 2019, 04:36:40 PM
must be a Winter price thing yeah?...4 years ago it cost me a touch over $1300 return for car and camper, just me in a shared with 3 strangers (though organised it so one was a mate) cabin.
Maybe. But others I've been talking to that have been traveling over there for work with vehicles since September last year, have been paying up to $500. Included the cabin at $190 and 5.6mtr long 2.4mtr height vehicle

Post by: Bird on June 04, 2019, 04:52:40 PM
Maybe. But others I've been talking to that have been traveling over there for work with vehicles since September last year, have been paying up to $500. Included the cabin at $190 and 5.6mtr long 2.4mtr height vehicle

one way possibly being dropped off 1/2 way across bass strait...
this is me 1 way. 2ad 2 kids, car, camper, cabin

(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/tassie/tassie2.png)

Return trip on using their website is Grand total: $2,042

Can you get your mates with their special prices to book for me?  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Tim - Stratford on June 04, 2019, 06:20:57 PM
What’s this I hear about FNQ? A reliable source states something is in the wind.... :cheers:
Post by: Pete79 on June 04, 2019, 07:45:59 PM
What’s this I hear about FNQ? A reliable source states something is in the wind.... :cheers:
(https://media1.tenor.com/images/77e0c9e03b14cb7e8a74cc4b27c6f6af/tenor.gif?itemid=5218601)
Post by: rockrat on June 04, 2019, 07:58:44 PM
(https://media1.tenor.com/images/77e0c9e03b14cb7e8a74cc4b27c6f6af/tenor.gif?itemid=5218601)
I second that!
Post by: listo on June 04, 2019, 09:02:08 PM
Shit yeh! We’re doing the Cape that year for our 40th, it’d be good to tie this in
Post by: Jillsy on June 05, 2019, 08:41:55 PM
Just had a look taking my van over bit of a shock  but at least Brett and Jillsy’s bill will be more.

Rusty

::)
Post by: Bad Scott on June 08, 2019, 07:29:25 PM
Looks good.
Two questions, Firewood and

you guessed it Firewood

Post by: plusnq on June 08, 2019, 08:23:35 PM
Looks good.

you guessed it Firewood

It’s Queensland. Even we are swimming at Easter 😂😂😂
Post by: glenm64 on June 08, 2019, 10:58:03 PM
It’s Queensland. Even we are swimming at Easter
Sitting around a fire at night in board shorts and tank top. Sounds like the best of both worlds. You Victorians will just have to tone the camp fires down from an inferno to a more gentle bon fire level.

Post by: Bad Scott on June 09, 2019, 04:44:28 AM
Sitting around a fire at night in board shorts and tank top. Sounds like the best of both worlds. You Victorians will just have to tone the camp fires down from an inferno to a more gentle bon fire level.

Us Vics don’t do a half ass job

Post by: ehsc on June 09, 2019, 07:04:18 AM
Organisers :Rusty,Ehsc and Isuzumu

Time of year : Easter 2021

Venue name : Wyper park scout camp

Maximum capacity :300 people we can book the whole place exclusive to My swag

Number of showers available ladies x5  men x5
Number of toilets available ladies x5 men x5 and x2 trough
There is 2 blocks at the camp

Powered sites : there is only 2 powered sites that will be held for people that really need it medical reasons ect

Bush camping : there is bush camping every where in the park

Campfires : there is some fire rings scattered through out the park and fire pits off the ground are permitted every where else

Pets : are allowed but must be kept on lead at all times

Communal gathering area: massive covered area with tables and chairs and spot next to it to have fires in drums (bad scott your job ;D)

i will put up some photos of the area also with Bundaberg being only 9.5ks away we have beaches to go explore the famous Bundaberg rum factory,Bundaberg ginger beer factory plus heaps more.Childers is only 30 mins away or Agnes water 90min.

i know Qld has had a turn but with no one putting up anything yet i thought i better put one in we don't want those Vic mob to do it again  ;D

Rusty

Some other activities in the area are Canoeing on the Burnett River and Lake Gregory a few Klms down the road, Bring own canoes, Also 4x4 driving in the Pine creek area not far away .

Post by: Bird on July 12, 2019, 04:53:27 PM
2021 Myswag National Meet Nomination.

MYRTLE PARK, North East Tasmania.

1) Organisers- VKPrado, Mace, Danny G  (and others at the time)

2) Time of year- September school holidays 2021.  Potentially commencing Saturday 24th
     September, the middle weekend of  Vic, NSW & Qld Holidays and first weekend of
     Tas/SA/WA Holidays.

3) Venue name- Myrtle Park

4) Location- 38250 Tasman Hwy. 35km from Launceston & 30km from Scottsdale

5) Maximum capacity- 400 people plus.

6) Number of showers- 3 unisex

7) Number of toilets- 5 unisex (separate block also at hall)

.8) Number of powered and unpowered sites – Anticipated that sites 1 – 9 will be booked for
    Myswag use.  Each of these sites can accommodate 4 or 5 CT’s or Vans. No mains power
   but generators allowed.  The organising committee will consider provision of additional
   generators if required.

https://youtu.be/udoBlEqd1ss

Fees:  $7.50 per adult per night.  $15 per night Family (2 Adults & 2 Children)

9) Campfires- 2 Fire pits within sites 1 – 9.  Above ground fires allowed in portable fire pits and stoves. 
    Bring your own, or hire one from the shop on site. Firewood will be provided.

10) Communal area- BBQ x 4, microwave x 2, hall available for hire.

11) Miscellaneous- tennis courts, cricket grounds, river adjacent (fishing), fresh water supply, small shop. 
      Dogs permitted on lead and under control.

12) Why here:

•   easy to arrange day drives to nearby Bridport for a beach run
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHSavKPjZ1w

or to Weldborough and the nearby iconic Pub in the Paddock @ Pyengana
http://pubinthepaddocktas.com.au/

VKPrado has drive notes already prepared and knows the local area well.

•   heaps of nearby wineries

•   The campground can be quickly accessed, within 1.5 hours travel from the Ferry Terminal at Devonport.

•   September school Holidays in Tasmania are not super busy like January or Easter Holidays. 
        You will have room to move in this (and any other campground on the island) location.  The proposed date
       (middle weekend of eastern big island school holidays) gives additional travelling/holiday times for those
       wanting to have a longer visit to the island.  The September/Oct period usually has pretty settled weather.

(https://i.ibb.co/92LmWwC/Myrtle-Park-location.jpg)

(https://i.ibb.co/Z1DFHq7/file-46.jpg)

(https://i.ibb.co/kSy2Y4R/file-45.jpg)

(https://i.ibb.co/4ZrX3mQ/file2-4.jpg)

More images to come
Loooks magnificent!
Post by: CTL on July 12, 2019, 06:58:15 PM
How do we vote? Qld or Tas?
Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2019, 07:01:05 PM
How do we vote? Qld or Tas?

We don't. Brett and Jillsy make the call....
Post by: CTL on July 12, 2019, 07:04:09 PM
Rodger.  Sorry, hard being a newbie
Post by: GeoffA on July 12, 2019, 07:22:05 PM
Rodger.  Sorry, hard being a newbie

No probs.

We'll be there, either way....

Post by: Bad Scott on July 12, 2019, 09:34:40 PM
Looks awesome Mace n crew  :cup: :cup:

Edit: We’ll be there, where ever it is. Even got my leave approved  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on July 12, 2019, 09:39:57 PM
Looks good.

you guessed it Firewood

As the barman said to the pollar bear                                                          Why such a long pause                        ??
Post by: Bad Scott on July 12, 2019, 09:42:21 PM
Looks good.

you guessed it Firewood

As the barman said to the pollar bear                                                          Why such a long pause                        ??

Because

I

Wanted

To

Post by: VKPrado on July 15, 2019, 08:52:23 AM
If you can keep your length 10m and under the price stays the same but unfortunately if you go over 10.1m you pay extra by the meter.

You can only book 11 months in advance so it pays to book as soon as you can, especially if over 2.1m in height. It doesn't cost any more for the extra height, just that there is less places.
Post by: weeds on July 15, 2019, 11:26:43 AM
Re: tassie, I think the ferry price is reasonable but is you’re looking at the price just for the weekend plus a day or two either side than yes the numbers don’t stack up.

Our last trip was three weeks over Xmas, ferry cost spread over three weeks in tassie than the five weeks of the trip was a distant memory.

Agree tassie would affect numbers but it’s those that turn up that make the gathering. I reckon it would be no different to the big caravan clubs.

Post by: Mace on July 15, 2019, 12:15:13 PM
I always tell friends if they want to come over with a camper to come for at least 10 days.

Having the potential meet in the anticipated middle week of the most populated states school holidays gives mainlanders something to plan around.

If anyone wants to come for a shorter time I would swag it (like we did to the Mansfield National Meet) , or potentially team up with someone else and camp with a friend.

Post by: VKPrado on July 16, 2019, 04:19:56 PM
People seem to forget just how long it takes to get to places in Tasmania due to the nature of the roads here. Yes they are twisty, yes they are narrow in places, yes the road conditions vary greatly from corner to corner, yes there are tourists on the road getting in the way, but at the end of the day the journey is part of the adventure.

Slow down and enjoy the scenery, smell nature and have a great time in the smallest state of Australia.
Post by: Jillsy on August 01, 2019, 01:38:12 PM
A decision has been made Folks! Standby for an announcement!
Post by: Jillsy on August 01, 2019, 02:05:21 PM
Congratulations Mace, VKPrado and DannyG! You’re hosting the 2021 National Meet at Myrtle Park in North East TASMANIA!!!

Book your leave Swaggers! You have just over 2 years to save up and plan for this amazing event!!!
Post by: Bad Scott on August 01, 2019, 02:19:09 PM
Woohoo. Congrats team Tassie.

Post by: noel_w on August 01, 2019, 03:59:38 PM
Congrats guys. This sounds good, haven't been overseas for years. Might have to buy another hat  :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: Steffo1 on August 01, 2019, 05:21:41 PM
I've upgraded my snorkel.
Post by: Rumpig on August 01, 2019, 07:00:28 PM
Congrat Tassie crew....we won't be attending though, spent 5 weeks over there a few years back and loved every minute of it, but having not been to W.A yet, that'll be our next big distance trip away I reckon. Anyone that's not been to Tassie yet should seriously look at attending, it really is a beautiful place to visit.
Post by: Hairs on August 01, 2019, 07:16:17 PM
Awesome stuff.
Can't promise we can attend.
But what a bloody fantastic venue.
Come on Swaggers and support this.
A big thumbs up.
'Cup'

Sent from my SM-A205YN using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on August 01, 2019, 08:57:50 PM
This one presents less driving km's for us than Mansfield.... :cup: :cup:

Congrats to the Tassie crew. Looks like an exceptional spot. Can't wait for this one to roll around.
We had half a plan to get to Tassie next year, so this will fit nicely.

Many thanks also to the Bundy contingent for an excellent bid....2023 perhaps??

We would happily have travelled to either venue.

Post by: ehsc on August 02, 2019, 04:44:11 PM
Well done guys, I’m sure it will be epic,

Post by: Hairs on August 02, 2019, 05:43:11 PM
Talking to Fysh, we could do this.
Btw, well done to the crew who have put up their hands to make this happen.

Post by: Gandalf the White on August 02, 2019, 07:11:42 PM
Talking to Fysh, we could do this.
Btw, well done to the crew who have put up their hands to make this happen.

just checked with Vicpol and there’s a chance Scarps could be out on parole by then......although sometimes it’s better to let sleeping dogs lay🤔
Post by: Hairs on August 02, 2019, 07:32:19 PM
just checked with Vicpol and there’s a chance Scarps could be out on parole by then......although sometimes it’s better to let sleeping dogs lay
Thanks for the Heads Up.

Post by: Kangaron on August 03, 2019, 01:23:23 PM
Fly into Launceston, hire Ned for the weekend @ $50 a day and fly out again.
https://www.camplify.com.au/rv/campervan-rental-launceston-tas-ned-kelly---bare-in-the-woods--backpacker-campers--manual-gearbox-2-berth/24722?click=nearby_rv
Post by: Rusty on August 03, 2019, 05:51:45 PM
Congratulations guys looking at maybe flying down and renting something for a few days

Rusty
Post by: Palmer on August 14, 2019, 07:57:49 PM
You really are a gluttons for punishment VK...

Post by: VKPrado on August 21, 2019, 12:28:40 PM
Actually going to try and use as much of what you saw from that event into this event. You make sure you come along and support us.
Post by: Palmer on August 21, 2019, 10:14:53 PM
I figured there'd be a fair bit used.  Bloody good idea, as you have a good knowledge of those tracks.

I plan to be there.
Post by: grantxx on May 24, 2020, 06:44:39 PM
So is this locked in, we are keen to spend a few weeks in Tassie this would give us an excellent excuse to plan on heading down there in September 2021

Cheers Grant
Post by: Jillsy on May 24, 2020, 07:06:43 PM
So is this locked in, we are keen to spend a few weeks in Tassie this would give us an excellent excuse to plan on heading down there in September 2021

Cheers Grant

Yep this is definitely locked in  :cup:

Obviously we will have to abide by any directives still in place due to COVID-19 but hopefully by then "lockdown" will be a distant memory  ;D
Post by: grantxx on May 24, 2020, 07:09:23 PM
Yep this is definitely locked in  :cup:

Obviously we will have to abide by any directives still in place due to COVID-19 but hopefully by then "lockdown" will be a distant memory  ;D

Thats excellent, I shall commence planning,
Post by: Fizzie on May 26, 2020, 02:06:01 PM
Sill question, but I can't see the actual dates anywhere ??? :-[
Post by: Bad Scott on May 26, 2020, 02:08:42 PM
September 2021

Post by: Fizzie on May 26, 2020, 03:13:15 PM
September 2021

Thanks, Scott!

Now can you narrow that down any further, or does it run for the entire month ??? ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on May 26, 2020, 05:44:29 PM
Thanks, Scott!

Now can you narrow that down any further, or does it run for the entire month ??? ;D
Entire month...................................for us

Post by: Brett on May 26, 2020, 06:24:37 PM
Entire month...................................for us

We will also be over for a month... Do the sell Bundy in Tassie Bad Scott?
Post by: Bad Scott on May 26, 2020, 06:35:04 PM
We will also be over for a month... Do the sell Bundy in Tassie Bad Scott?
Yep. But I'll have stock

Post by: glenm64 on May 26, 2020, 08:28:34 PM
Im thinking about this. Only trouble is September in Tassie will be like winter here.

Post by: Jillsy on May 26, 2020, 08:37:56 PM

Fizzie the venue will not confirm dates till a little bit closer but we’re hoping for the 25-28th September 2021...
Post by: Fizzie on May 27, 2020, 09:41:38 AM
Thanks, Jillsy :cup:

Hmmm ;)

Fathers Day 5/9, young blokes birthday 10/9 - may just work after all! ;D
Post by: Marcus73 on May 27, 2020, 10:47:52 AM
Im thinking about this. Only trouble is September in Tassie will be like winter here.

I doubt it’ll be that warm

Post by: Rusty on May 27, 2020, 04:00:07 PM
Yep. But I'll have stock

Mate the rum factory here has been closed since late March so they are saying there will be a shortage next year

Rusty
Post by: Bad Scott on May 27, 2020, 05:56:36 PM
Mate the rum factory here has been closed since late March so they are saying there will be a shortage next year

Rusty
Brother. That's why your in Bundaberg. The shortage will slowly dwindle down to here, but will be opened by then, so you can load up Brett n Jillsy for me . That'll be the emergency stash

Post by: Gandalf the White on May 27, 2020, 06:05:59 PM
Brother. That's why your in Bundaberg. The shortage will slowly dwindle down to here, but will be opened by then, so you can load up Brett n Jillsy for me . That'll be the emergency stash

’When in Rome’ - Drink Tas Whisky😁
Post by: Bad Scott on May 27, 2020, 06:08:14 PM
’When in Rome’ - Drink Tas Whisky
I can see some woods point port being recommended for the Qlders

Post by: Bird on May 27, 2020, 06:40:00 PM
I can see some woods point port being recommended for the Qlders
few bottles in the shed actually LOL
Post by: tonyo on June 01, 2020, 08:40:44 PM
We should be there, can’t wait
Post by: Clevohead on August 06, 2020, 02:39:40 PM
Hi Swaggers,

So if you don't know I'm based in Tassie, while I was out camping with the boss last weekend I was telling her about the National Meet being in Tas next year and how we should attend. I explained it was at Myrtle park where we have camped many a time.

She informed me that the lady running it had some posts up on Facebook several weeks ago saying she had been given a date to be "out" by the Launceston council, and as far as we are aware it has been closed by the council with several posts in various camping Tas pages showing the gates locked up with closed signs. 

Didn't want to dampen your spirits but who ever is organising this may want to make some phone calls to confirm the park is closed, and weather the meet can still be held there. I will see if I can find some info on my FB in the meantime.
Post by: Clevohead on August 06, 2020, 02:49:43 PM
Hi Swaggers,

So if you don't know I'm based in Tassie, while I was out camping with the boss last weekend I was telling her about the National Meet being in Tas next year and how we should attend. I explained it was at Myrtle park where we have camped many a time.

She informed me that the lady running it had some posts up on Facebook several weeks ago saying she had been given a date to be "out" by the Launceston council, and as far as we are aware it has been closed by the council with several posts in various camping Tas pages showing the gates locked up with closed signs. 

Didn't want to dampen your spirits but who ever is organising this may want to make some phone calls to confirm the park is closed, and weather the meet can still be held there. I will see if I can find some info on my FB in the meantime.

Found this post from Launceston City Council, some interesting comments on there, and one of them is regarding all the Facebook pages disappearing etc... and I can confirm I can no longer find the Myrtle Park Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/CityOfLauncestonOfficial/posts/2796093090489847
Post by: austastar on August 06, 2020, 03:53:27 PM
     Seems only temporary, possibly Covid related, so it could be till the quarantine is lifted.

https://www.launceston.tas.gov.au/Recreation/Parks-and-Gardens/Myrtle-Park-Recreation-Ground

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on August 06, 2020, 04:11:53 PM
Found this post from Launceston City Council, some interesting comments on there, and one of them is regarding all the Facebook pages disappearing etc... and I can confirm I can no longer find the Myrtle Park Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/CityOfLauncestonOfficial/posts/2796093090489847 (https://www.facebook.com/CityOfLauncestonOfficial/posts/2796093090489847)

     Seems only temporary, possibly Covid related, so it could be till the quarantine is lifted.

https://www.launceston.tas.gov.au/Recreation/Parks-and-Gardens/Myrtle-Park-Recreation-Ground (https://www.launceston.tas.gov.au/Recreation/Parks-and-Gardens/Myrtle-Park-Recreation-Ground)

Yep, it says temporarily....
Post by: Clevohead on August 10, 2020, 09:55:26 AM
Yep, it says temporarily....

Yep understand that, but a few phone calls couldn't hurt by the organiser of the event, was any booking made?
Post by: Mace on August 10, 2020, 02:53:30 PM
Cheers Clevo,

We (the organising committee) will be reviewing all aspects of the 2021 National Meet at the 12 month out stage, which is coming up in September. 

This is/was the earliest time at which bookings for the venue and group booking arrangements  for the Spirit could be made.

We will keep all informed.   :cheers:
Post by: Fizzie on October 23, 2020, 07:18:02 AM
Do we have any updates yet ???
Post by: Bad Scott on October 23, 2020, 07:31:40 AM
Do we have any updates yet ???
I wouldn’t think so with borders closed.

Post by: DannyG on October 23, 2020, 07:48:08 AM
I hate making comments on behalf of the committee but we are meeting again next week and should have a clearer picture after that meeting. But the general consensus is that we want it to go ahead if possible.

Our head organiser is working behind the scenes to try and make it happen. :D
Post by: Fizzie on October 24, 2020, 08:55:16 AM
I wouldn’t think so with borders closed.

That's sort of what I was wondering about, thinking that it may have to be postponed for 12 months ??? :'(

Or maybe, rather than a National Meet, we hold simultaneous Meets in each State ??? ;D
Post by: Hairs on October 24, 2020, 05:49:30 PM

That's sort of what I was wondering about, thinking that it may have to be postponed for 12 months ??? :'(

Or maybe, rather than a National Meet, we hold simultaneous Meets in each State ??? ;D

That would be awesome, And a great idea.
And if yacan't get to one,  what about, a regional area get together, just for Sh1ts & Giggles.
We have members all over the country, nothing can be taken for granted atm(regarding travel).
Hey, I'm not trying to take anything away from the crew in Tas, they would be bustin their backsides to make it happen.
And hope it can happen, cheers

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

Post by: Mace on October 25, 2020, 08:40:28 PM
I hate making comments on behalf of the committee but we are meeting again next week and should have a clearer picture after that meeting. But the general consensus is that we want it to go ahead if possible.

Still the case.  We have had several Zooms this evening.  An update tomorrow as all my time is currently limited to  ensuring the Richmond Tigers supporter in the family gets safely thru the replay.....  :)

Post by: Bird on October 26, 2020, 09:42:29 AM
Quote from: Mace
as all my time is currently limited to  ensuring the Richmond Tigers supporter in the family gets safely thru the replay.....  :)
I've watched it twice still laugh at Scotts face LOL!
Post by: Mace on October 26, 2020, 11:34:28 AM
Hello Folks...

The general consensus of the Organising Committee is that we will continue to plan for the September 2021 National meet. 

This will be subject to one final review in early 2021 (January).

All being well....

Open borders should  be routine by then.  Tasmania opened its borders to WA,SA, NT & Qld today.  Visitors can fly in, or travel via the Spirit of Tasmania. Visitors can transit to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal by transiting thru NSW & Victoria, but can only stop for fuel along the way. Covid safe rules will apply on boarding & disembarkation and in public areas of the ship.

On December 1 Tasmania will open its borders to NSW and possibly Victoria.  So the transit requirements (only stopping for fuel) will only apply from the Vic/NSW border if Victorian border remains closed for general travel to Tasmania.

Tas e-Travel registration will be required.. https://arrivals.dpipwe.tas.gov.au/Pages/default.aspx (https://arrivals.dpipwe.tas.gov.au/Pages/default.aspx)

The event will be run under COVID safe procedures as/if required.  A COVID safe plan for the event can be put in place.

Vaughan is liaising regularly with local government re the proposed site.  As noted previously, it is currently temporarily closed due to COVID restrictions. There has been no feedback regarding the site being permanently closed so we have taken that at face value.  However,  other options for a venue around Scottsdale exist if required.

Pushing out the date is the last option. It will be more likely to be a 12 month push out rather than 6 months.  This is because there are usually more options when booking return travel on the Spirit in the Sept -Nov timeslot than in the March-April timeslot.  Post Easter the boat is usually heavily booked with return travelers, many who have big rigs over 2.1m in height.  This leads to capacity pressure for other vehicle/camper/caravan combinations.

An email came in from TT line to my inbox just now:

Tasmania is now open and ready for you to explore.

Rekindle your spirit of discovery, or reunite with friends and family, and set sail from $99* per person each way. Bring your car from $99* extra each way.

If you are travelling from South Australia, Western Australia, the Northern Territory, Queensland or the ACT you can sail to Tasmania from today. Access through Victoria is permitted for Spirit of Tasmania passengers that transit through Victoria by vehicle without breaking their journey (only stopping for fuel) to board the ship.

Passengers from Victoria and New South Wales, can look forward to travelling to Tasmania from 1 December* – book now so you don’t miss out!

For your peace of mind, you can amend your booking online without incurring any amendment fees, and in the event that border restrictions prevent you from travelling, cancellation fees will also be waived, giving you the confidence to book now.

Book today and sail away into your Tassie holiday.

So, we are keeping a positive outlook that all borders will be open by 2021 and that a COVID safe event can be held.  As noted, we will have one final review early in the new year to confirm all borders are open.  The TT line COVID cancellation fee waiver is a bonus, so if you are thinking about getting away within Australia in 2021 the Island is a great option and has managed COVID pretty well so far. 

Cheers  from myself, Vaughn & Danny.

Post by: Bad Scott on October 26, 2020, 11:38:01 AM
Awesome work there Mace and team. Thanks for the update

Post by: Clevohead on October 26, 2020, 12:06:27 PM

Vaughan is liaising regularly with local government re the proposed site.  As noted previously, it is currently temporarily closed due to COVID restrictions. There has been no feedback regarding the site being permanently closed so we have taken that at face value.  However,  other options for a venue around Scottsdale exist if required.

Drove through Targa last week, gates all chained up with large CLOSED signs up everywhere. Launnie council are being very tight lipped on the fate of the park form what I can tell.

Just recently camped at Rivers Edge at Lonnavale down south, wonderful park, and has a real Myrtle Park vibe, great facilities and nice big camp sites, could be an option to consider as a plan B or C.
Post by: Bird on October 26, 2020, 12:19:06 PM
Awesome work there Mace and team. Thanks for the update
Post by: Mace on October 26, 2020, 01:18:40 PM

Just recently camped at Rivers Edge at Lonnavale down south, wonderful park, and has a real Myrtle Park vibe, great facilities and nice big camp sites, could be an option to consider as a plan B or C.

Yeah Rivers Edge is good.  Was considered as an option early on. We would like to keep the meet in the North however due to the proximity of close by  beach & bush 4WD tracks for those that like exploring.

Post by: MsTree on January 09, 2021, 05:48:30 AM
Any update on dates .. or location ?
Title: Re: 2021 Myswag.org National Meet - Postponed until Sept 2022.
Post by: Mace on January 18, 2021, 09:09:12 AM
Hello Swaggers,

The organizing committee along with Brett & Jillsy had another zoom catchup last night to discuss the next National Meet.

It was decided to postpone this years Meet for 12 months - until September 2022.

A few factors influenced our decision.

1. The ongoing occurrences of "hot spot" outbreaks (usually originating from Hotel Quarantine), which have in turn led to local lock downs, etc.

2. Following on from 1, the continued implementation of border closures between Western Australia, NSW/Vic and  NSW/Qld.  Unfortunately as long as there is potential for these state  border
    closures to occur at short notice it makes it hard for members to  plan long distance cross border trips.

3. Myswag being  a responsible  entity, ie, should not plan or encourage an event that may directly or  indirectly affect the health of both travellers and locals alike.

Although things COVID related will hopefully continue to improve once the Nationwide vaccination program is implemented during the remainder of 2021 the committee as a whole felt that at the present time is was better to be cautious and delay for 12months.

In the meantime, we thought that we might hold a synchronized campfire at some stage, allowing members to zoom into a myswag event from their own back yard or camping spot to help blow the nationwide cobwebs away....  Stay tuned..   

Al.

on behalf of:
Al , Vaughan, Danny, Brett & Jillsy

Post by: GeoffA on January 18, 2021, 09:16:00 AM
A wise decision IMO.

While it's disappointing, it's not unexpected.

:cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2021, 10:37:11 AM
A wise decision IMO.

agree
Post by: Bad Scott on January 18, 2021, 11:32:33 AM
A wise decision IMO.

Good things come to those that wait
MarkVS had the shortest run with the famous $5 note due to us Vic's hosting the NM
Guess us Vic's will now have the longest run with the famous $5 note.
Gonna add that to the frame .

Sent from .............. Somewhere in Australia

Post by: Fizzie on January 18, 2021, 11:48:47 AM
A wise decision IMO.

Certainly not :'(

But the truly scary thing is that we, as a bunch of people that go camping, can make decisions like that, but professional sporting bodies, who's decisions involve, or could effect, 10s or 100s of 1000s, even 1000000s of people, think it's too hard ???
Post by: Hairs on January 18, 2021, 06:55:46 PM
Not easy to do, but it's the right thing.
As a committee member of the Lawrence Rodeo, we made the call 4 months out from kick off(26th of December last year).
Our event donates back to local clubs/groups some $27k, all these clubs/groups agreed it was the Right Decision.

Thanks for all your efforts Swaggers.
Post by: Rusty on January 20, 2021, 09:08:18 PM
Wise choice guys any idea on the dates in September so I can look at booking some holidays.

Rusty
Post by: VKPrado on January 21, 2021, 06:25:04 AM
The dates for the National Meet in 2022 would be around the end of September/ beginning of October if going by the dates of the now postponed 2021 meet.
Post by: Rusty on January 22, 2021, 11:20:44 AM
The dates for the National Meet in 2022 would be around the end of September/ beginning of October if going by the dates of the now postponed 2021 meet.
thanks

Rusty
Post by: duggie on January 22, 2021, 08:23:47 PM
So all those who were going to the national meet are welcome to the FNQ My Swag annual Christmas meet at Woodleigh Station on the Atherton Tablelands in north Queensland in late Nov 2021 or early Dec 2021 . ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on January 23, 2021, 07:57:34 AM
early Dec 2912 . ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Wow! You're planning a lllooonnnggg way out, Duggie! ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on January 23, 2021, 09:03:30 AM
Nothing like good planning

Post by: duggie on January 23, 2021, 02:11:07 PM

OPPS  :-[ :-[ Was not wearing me glasses .
Title: Re: 2021 Myswag.org National Meet - Postponed until Sept 2022.
Post by: Jillsy on January 24, 2021, 06:05:04 PM
Hello Swaggers,

The organizing committee along with Brett & Jillsy had another zoom catchup last night to discuss the next National Meet.

It was decided to postpone this years Meet for 12 months - until September 2022.

A few factors influenced our decision.

1. The ongoing occurrences of "hot spot" outbreaks (usually originating from Hotel Quarantine), which have in turn led to local lock downs, etc.

2. Following on from 1, the continued implementation of border closures between Western Australia, NSW/Vic and  NSW/Qld.  Unfortunately as long as there is potential for these state  border
    closures to occur at short notice it makes it hard for members to  plan long distance cross border trips.

3. Myswag being  a responsible  entity, ie, should not plan or encourage an event that may directly or  indirectly affect the health of both travellers and locals alike.

Although things COVID related will hopefully continue to improve once the Nationwide vaccination program is implemented during the remainder of 2021 the committee as a whole felt that at the present time is was better to be cautious and delay for 12months.

In the meantime, we thought that we might hold a synchronized campfire at some stage, allowing members to zoom into a myswag event from their own back yard or camping spot to help blow the nationwide cobwebs away....  Stay tuned..   

Al.

on behalf of:
Al , Vaughan, Danny, Brett & Jillsy

Thanks Mace for laying that all out so concisely  :cheers:

On the upside Folks - gives people more time to save so hopefully more people can join in the fun in 2022!!!
Title: Re: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet - Discussion Thread
Post by: Fizzie on January 29, 2021, 07:06:28 AM
Hi. Saw a banner ad up the top of the page yesterday, but then couldn't find it again ???, still talking about the 2021 Meet in Tassie. (& it's up ^ as well!)

Might have to update that! ;D
Post by: MsTree on February 07, 2021, 05:45:09 AM
Quite disappointed but hard to plan anything with border closures especially for large groups
We are still planning Tassie for Sept 2021 .. (got Freycinet booked for December .. yipppeeee)
Travel safe everyone
Post by: Rusty on April 14, 2021, 08:59:08 AM
Long service leave approved so plan to be on the boat 19/09/22 night run at this stage.

Rusty
Post by: Bad Scott on April 14, 2021, 11:43:02 AM
Long service leave approved so plan to be on the boat 19/09/22 night run at this stage.

Rusty
Woohoo. It'll be the party boat

Post by: Bird on April 14, 2021, 02:26:35 PM

this looks like fun! 11mtr waves :D
https://7news.com.au/weather/melbourne-weather/spirit-of-tasmania-passengers-described-six-hours-of-hell-on-rocky-trek-across-the-bass-straight-c-2576161 (https://7news.com.au/weather/melbourne-weather/spirit-of-tasmania-passengers-described-six-hours-of-hell-on-rocky-trek-across-the-bass-straight-c-2576161)
Post by: Bad Scott on April 14, 2021, 03:21:13 PM

this looks like fun! 11mtr waves :D
https://7news.com.au/weather/melbourne-weather/spirit-of-tasmania-passengers-described-six-hours-of-hell-on-rocky-trek-across-the-bass-straight-c-2576161 (https://7news.com.au/weather/melbourne-weather/spirit-of-tasmania-passengers-described-six-hours-of-hell-on-rocky-trek-across-the-bass-straight-c-2576161)
It'll be no different after a few drinks from the wobbly boot hotel anyway

Post by: Kangaron on April 14, 2021, 05:32:14 PM

Yet to have a trip [have done 3] where there hasn't been a booze bus on the exit, especially when a few
bikes on board.
Post by: Rusty on April 15, 2021, 08:23:33 AM

just the start of the party 🍺
Post by: Mace on January 24, 2022, 09:58:39 AM
GDay Folks....

Brett & Jillsy,  Vaughan & Kristy and myself all caught up via a Zoomer last night - albeit after a last minute text message to remind those in FNQ that 8:00 PM down south is 7:00 PM in the far north....      ;D     
Unfortunately because of late notice DannyG was unable to join us.

Taking current and potential (decreasing) future COVID conditions and restrictions into account, we have set the date for the great reboot of the 2022 National Meet at Myrtle Park:

Arrival  Friday 30th September thru to departure Monday 3rd October 2022

This is the (as far as I can work out..):
#  first weekend of the Tasmanian/SA school holidays
#  last weekend of Vic/Qld school holidays
#  middle weekend of NSW school holidays.

The organizing committee will look to book a number of sites in the near future.  The sites are large, each should  cater for at least 4 CT's. 

A dedicated attendance intentions page will be set up soon. Further information will be provided or can be sought via this thread as required.   

Get your leave diaries out now.......

Cheers,  A&C, B&J, V&K, DG....

Post by: Bird on January 24, 2022, 10:18:05 AM
GDay Folks....

Brett & Jillsy,  Vaughan & Kristy and myself all caught up via a Zoomer last night - albeit after a last minute text message to remind those in FNQ that 8:00 PM down south is 7:00 PM in the far north....      ;D     
Unfortunately because of late notice DannyG was unable to join us.

Taking current and potential (decreasing) future COVID conditions and restrictions into account, we have set the date for the great reboot of the 2022 National Meet at Myrtle Park:

Arrival  Friday 30th September thru to departure Monday 3rd October 2022

This is the (as far as I can work out..):
#  first weekend of the Tasmanian/SA school holidays
#  last weekend of Vic/Qld school holidays
#  middle weekend of NSW school holidays.

The organizing committee will look to book a number of sites in the near future.  The sites are large, each should  cater for at least 4 CT's. 

A dedicated attendance intentions page will be set up soon. Further information will be provided or can be sought via this thread as required.   

Get your leave diaries out now.......

Cheers,  A&C, B&J, V&K, DG....
nice work from all involved...
Post by: Bad Scott on January 24, 2022, 10:46:10 AM
Can't wait. The famous $5 note might have costed a pretty penny, but due to covid has payed it's self back, in many ways.
Longest holder award banter

Sent from my Pixel 6 Pro using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on February 23, 2022, 07:50:45 AM
We're in....

Post by: DannyG on February 23, 2022, 08:31:37 AM
We're in....

Great stuff, Ill be in touch a little closer to the date
Title: Re: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet 30/9-03/10/2022 Discussion Thread
Post by: Mace on May 29, 2022, 02:45:10 PM

Its about time a few Taswegians added thier name to the list as attendees.   Austastar, West Coaster, Marcus,  Clevohead, others...

Its been a while since we all had a catch up, think it was back in 2014 down at Bangor on the Tasman Peninsula..

Lets go folks....   :cheers:
Title: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet 30/9-03/10/2022 Discussion Thread
Post by: Jillsy on May 30, 2022, 06:27:27 PM
123 days to go - so does Tassie have a state beer?
Title: Re: 2022 (WAS 2021) Myswag.org National Meet 30/9-03/10/2022 Discussion Thread
Post by: Pottsy on May 30, 2022, 06:57:44 PM
123 days to go - so does Tassie have a state beer?

Boags (Launceston) vs Cascade (Hobart) it’s a bit like the Ford/Holden argument.
Post by: Jillsy on May 30, 2022, 08:20:08 PM
Boags (Launceston) vs Cascade (Hobart) it’s a bit like the Ford/Holden argument.
Oh really? Perhaps we should make it that at the welcome bbq everyone has to have at least one of either of those :P
Post by: Jillsy on May 31, 2022, 09:46:19 AM
122 days to go - who’s going to be bidding on the famous $5 note?
Post by: DannyG on May 31, 2022, 11:26:58 AM

There is no argument, everyone knows Cascade is rubbish and Boags is better  ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on May 31, 2022, 11:36:17 AM
Oh really? Perhaps we should make it that at the welcome bbq everyone has to have at least one of either of those :P
This bloke only runs on rum, or goooooooooooooooooooood port or gooooooooooooooood Red wine  ;D
Post by: Bird on May 31, 2022, 02:07:09 PM
This bloke only runs on rum, or goooooooooooooooooooood port or gooooooooooooooood Red wine  ;D
Snob....
Post by: Jillsy on June 01, 2022, 03:49:40 PM
121 days to go!!! Don't forget to book your spot on the Spirit of Tasmania (if applicable)
Post by: Bird on June 01, 2022, 03:58:14 PM
121 days to go!!! Don't forget to book your spot on the Spirit of Tasmania (if applicable)
It'd be frozen in ice at moment...
Post by: austastar on June 01, 2022, 04:32:15 PM
  No where near as cold as high country Vic NSW.

Post by: Jillsy on June 02, 2022, 03:53:32 PM
Myrtle Park is (according to Google Maps and including Ferry Trip if applicable):

4316km from Darwin
3973km from Perth
2525km from Myswag.org HQ (Gracemere, Central QLD)
2246km from Brisbane
1432km from Sydney
1294km from Adelaide
1239km from Canberra
  590km from Melbourne
  226km from Hobart

All of this equates to some good road trips...no matter where you are in Australia! So put in your leave forms and get planning so you can join us!!! I would love to put some more faces to names!

P.S 120 days to go!!!
Post by: Jillsy on June 15, 2022, 02:17:33 AM
107 days to go Swaggers!
Post by: Bad Scott on June 15, 2022, 10:47:50 AM
107 days to go Swaggers!
15 days till I'm home,
45 days 17mins for the Northern Simpson Trip
107 days to the NM
But who's counting  ;D
Post by: Jillsy on June 16, 2022, 09:14:02 PM
15 days till I'm home,
45 days 17mins for the Northern Simpson Trip
107 days to the NM
But who's counting  ;D

106  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jillsy on June 17, 2022, 09:21:37 AM
105 - getting ever so close to double digits!!!

So who else is considering joining us  8)
Post by: austastar on June 17, 2022, 09:50:04 AM
   We should be there.

Post by: Jillsy on June 17, 2022, 10:19:12 AM
   We should be there.

Awesome - let Mace know you're coming by replying to this thread... http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58316.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58316.0)
Post by: Mace on June 17, 2022, 10:35:55 AM
Awesome - let Mace know you're coming by replying to this thread... http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58316.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58316.0)

Done...   :cheers:
Post by: Bad Scott on June 17, 2022, 11:15:27 AM
105 - getting ever so close to double digits!!!

So who else is considering joining us  8)
National Meet Countdown timer if one can be added   :cup:
Post by: Redback on June 21, 2022, 05:15:35 PM
104 Days to go to the National Meet ;D
Post by: Jillsy on June 29, 2022, 01:55:36 AM
Only 93 days to go Folks - we are in double figures  ;D ;D ;D - who else is coming?
Post by: Fizzie on June 29, 2022, 07:58:46 AM
who else is coming?

Would dearly love to, but Mrs F reckons it's "too far" :'(, & also only a couple of weeks after the young blokes 21st, which I think we have to be here for! >:D, so would be a bit of a rush to get there ::)

Next time, maybe ???
Post by: Fizzie on August 11, 2022, 04:57:40 PM
Lady on another forum, is in Huon area in Tas, & mentioned that it was -6 there this morning!!! :o

Hope you've all got your winter woollies, especially the people heading down from up here! ;D >:D
Post by: Jillsy on August 12, 2022, 03:26:44 PM
Lady on another forum, is in Huon area in Tas, & mentioned that it was -6 there this morning!!! :o

Hope you've all got your winter woollies, especially the people heading down from up here! ;D >:D

Got our thermals ready to go  ;D
Post by: Mace on August 14, 2022, 04:57:03 PM
Not long now Crew....  (re-posted from the attendance Thread)..

An update.

Sites 1 - 5 at Myrtle Park have been booked.  Each site is big enough to cater for 3 or 4 campers.  These sites are nearest to the amenities block, but the furthest ones from the entrance....

(https://i.ibb.co/XkRKycM/file-46.jpg) (https://ibb.co/YTs1DHw)

Thanks to DannyG for pestering Launceston City Council to get them to open their booking system.

Camp fees for the weekend will be per CT (including a firewood levy):

1 night   $25
2 nights  $40
3 nights  $50

This is per couple.  No charge for billy lids....  Singles half price....

jillsy will let us know in a further post when she has set up a store link for payment...

The proposed weekend schedule looks like:

Friday Night BBQ (donation) delivered by Brett & Jill.
Saturday guided beach drive from Bridport to Bellingham led by Vaughan.  Vehicles will need to air down and have some form of basic recovery gear.  Vaughan will add to later.
Saturday Night DannyG has indicated that he can bring his smoker to prepare a meal.. Thinking about a $10 cover charge per member to cover costs.  others can toss up a salad...?
Sunday, Again, Vaughan has indicated that he will lead a casual cruise to the Pub in the Paddock @Pygena.  Members would then do their own evening meals.
Monday depart as you wish.

Comments on the above are welcome.

Cheers, Mace.

Post by: VKPrado on August 18, 2022, 07:20:41 PM
With drives planned for the Saturday and Sunday of the event I thought I would give a small indication of what is planned and to see how everyone has their veichle set up.

Saturday- The plan is to drive from camp and head through both natural and plantion forrest on both well graded gravel roads and secondary tracks. This will lead us to the coast where a run along the beach and through some sand dunes will take place.
As long as between us all we have a good selection of recovery gear as the track off the beach can be a bit difficult if totally dry. I will ensure that the last vehicle in the convoy has a UHF so we can keep everyone together.
If anyone is not comfortable with the idea of the beach run I can give them directions where to meet us.
After the beach it is back onto the black top where we will be going through a seaside village and then a large town where fuel/ food/ car wash can be found before heading back to camp.

Sunday- Gravel roads/ tracks making our way to visit some water falls, the Pub in the Paddock  :cheers:, cheese tasting. The trip back is on farm tracks and gravel roads,

Happy to answer any questions with regards to this either before the event or around the camp fire at the event.
Post by: austastar on August 19, 2022, 09:24:12 AM
   We will probably just mind the camp, the camper on the back would be too squeezy on the Bellingham track as well as me driving below convoy speeds.

Post by: Mace on August 19, 2022, 10:22:55 PM
   We will probably just mind the camp, the camper on the back would be too squeezy on the Bellingham track as well as me driving below convoy speeds.

Mate, Im sure knowing this crew there will be multiple seats free in other vehicles for you and SHMBO to come along with on the day to share the adventure if you choose to leave Landy in camp.

Trips like this are not always about where you go, but who you share it with....  I think your presence would be  a great addition on the day.. Let's discuss around the campfire on Friday night.

Post by: Mace on August 19, 2022, 10:52:42 PM
. I will ensure that the last vehicle in the convoy has a UHF so we can keep everyone together.

mate we are UHF equipped.

I will go rear gunner if need be,  Ok, a Jeep, but they have never not got us home...

Post by: Jillsy on August 26, 2022, 09:14:22 PM
35 days to go!!!
Post by: VKPrado on August 30, 2022, 05:59:54 PM
SO much to do with so little time.
Post by: Niley on August 31, 2022, 04:34:38 PM
Any recommendations where we should camp up the night before boarding the SoT. Departs 930 sunday so looking to get there 730-800.

Niley
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 31, 2022, 08:42:08 PM
Any recommendations where we should camp up the night before boarding the SoT. Departs 930 sunday so looking to get there 730-800.

Niley

How big is the set up

Post by: Niley on September 01, 2022, 09:29:06 AM
GG,

15ft Hybrid, 7m overall including DB. Probably pull up at the Big4 in Melbourne.

Niley
Post by: Bird on September 01, 2022, 10:47:24 AM
Quote from: GGV8Cruza
How big is the set up

The front yard might be a tad full this year GG :D
Post by: Bad Scott on September 01, 2022, 12:18:38 PM

Niley
What date?

Post by: Mace on September 01, 2022, 02:29:12 PM
Bridport to Bellingham - YouTube vid.  Our planned Saturday excursion.

Not my vid, taken from a local  FB Group I'm on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4bEAaSwDRE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4bEAaSwDRE)

Ill leave it to Vaughan to comment further.  Im guessing there are various routes around/thru the dunes (aka Chicken runs..)  :cheers:
Post by: VKPrado on September 01, 2022, 06:30:39 PM
Well we have just paid for three nights, raffle tickets and a stubby holder  :cheers:
Post by: Bad Scott on September 01, 2022, 07:54:51 PM
What's the good firewood in Tassie called?  Where can I get it from

Post by: austastar on September 01, 2022, 09:08:41 PM
   I have seen bundles of it for sale  near popular sites, but never bought it. We just collect it as needed. Anything eucalypt, not pine or wattle.

Post by: Bird on September 02, 2022, 09:45:10 AM
Where can I get it from
https://firewoodfactory.com.au/ (https://firewoodfactory.com.au/)
(https://firewoodfactory.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/firewood-factory-bulk-bagged-delivered.png)
Post by: Niley on September 02, 2022, 02:11:26 PM
What date?

Thanks Scott, were just going to pull up at the Big 4 for the night
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 02, 2022, 02:42:58 PM
Thanks Scott, were just going to pull up at the Big 4 for the night

More than welcome in Harkaway if you want, the more the merrier

Post by: VKPrado on September 09, 2022, 09:22:06 PM
Well tomorrow (Saturday) is route checking day. Heading out to ensure the proposed Saturday route for the National Meet is clear of an trees. Also after seeing the size of Brett and Jillsy vehicle, need to ensure the scrub is cut back enough  ;D or if there are alternates  8)

The Sunday route is very much following well graded roads so no need to pre run it.

I realise that  :worthles: but don't want to give away to much of the mystery.
Post by: Bad Scott on September 10, 2022, 09:41:07 AM
   I have seen bundles of it for sale  near popular sites, but never bought it. We just collect it as needed. Anything eucalypt, not pine or wattle.

any good locations for cutting ones own supply?
Post by: GeoffA on September 11, 2022, 08:40:46 AM
Getting closer.... ;D ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on September 11, 2022, 08:57:28 AM
This time next week, getting coffee in Devonport  ;D
Post by: VKPrado on September 12, 2022, 10:13:25 AM
Saturday just gone was a full day of making sure the proposed route for the National Meet was clear.

After using the chainsaw, axe, and shovel I can now say that the Saturday route is clear. While it was wet it was a great family outing with both my boys working together to remove logs and debris off the track. The leaches were just an added bonus,

There are alternate routes if required so hopefully everyone who attends is comfortable with joining the convoy.
Post by: Renno on September 19, 2022, 06:39:45 PM
HSC Year for us, Bummed we cant get down there..|
Renno
Post by: VKPrado on September 23, 2022, 08:18:51 AM
Well the camper came out of hibernation yesterday in preparation for the long 30 minute trip to the National Meet next Friday  ;D
Just had to make sure all the essential items were still there.

Bit of rain in the lead up to the event but looking like it should be clear for the weekend when everyone is there.   
Post by: VKPrado on September 26, 2022, 08:08:28 AM
4 more sleeps till the official start to the 2022 (Was 2021) Myswag Mational Meet.

Those who haven't arrived in the state as of yet, travel safely and enjoy the cruise on the Spirit of Tasmania. Those who are here drive safely also and watch out for the corners as they tighten up, doesn't matter which way you go around them  ;D

Post by: Bad Scott on September 26, 2022, 08:14:08 AM
4 more sleeps till the official start to the 2022 (Was 2021) Myswag Mational Meet.

Those who haven't arrived in the state as of yet, travel safely and enjoy the cruise on the Spirit of Tasmania. Those who are here drive safely also and watch out for the corners as they tighten up, doesn't matter which way you go around them  ;D
We found that out. 40km/h bends you do 40km/h  :cheers:
Sooooooo much to see, soooooooooooooooooooo little time left. The hikes have definitely been worth it, legs say otherwise  ;D
Post by: Jillsy on September 26, 2022, 10:21:43 PM
HSC Year for us, Bummed we cant get down there..|
Renno

Next time Mate.  Good luck to your HSC'er  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on September 26, 2022, 10:23:18 PM
We are on the countdown Folks!  We are currently in Launceston and will be till Thursday when we head down to Myrtle Park.  Have enjoyed our time in Tassie so far.  It is going way too quick!!!
Post by: ehsc on September 27, 2022, 03:58:43 PM
Have great meet everyone

Post by: Jillsy on September 27, 2022, 04:27:54 PM
Have great meet everyone

Thanks Troy!
Post by: Jillsy on September 29, 2022, 12:54:12 PM
We’re here!!

Flag is up!!
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220929/03c8b23aedfd74274f743aeea1a8a15c.jpg)

View from our van
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220929/56587626552ae61beaa8d855d1ba3c24.jpg)
Post by: VKPrado on September 29, 2022, 01:43:06 PM
Hopefully it is to your liking. We will be joining you tomorrow afternoon.  :cheers:
Post by: Jillsy on September 29, 2022, 02:06:38 PM
Hopefully it is to your liking. We will be joining you tomorrow afternoon.  :cheers:
Vaughan it is truly beautiful! It’s an absolutely gorgeous spot!
Post by: Steffo1 on September 30, 2022, 08:17:09 AM
Geez, that looks tops!
I felt that I was there in spirit, last night as the temp went down to 8° here overnight.

Have a hoot, all attendees! :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Rob Mac on September 30, 2022, 08:35:51 AM
Looks like a beaut spot, enjoy the meet everyone. Cheers
Post by: austastar on September 30, 2022, 11:45:56 AM
   Unfortunately we won't make it, the dreaded lurgie has both of us miserable now.
Hope all have a great meet though.

Post by: Brett on September 30, 2022, 01:47:57 PM
   Unfortunately we won't make it, the dreaded lurgie has both of us miserable now.
Hope all have a great meet though.

The timing was terrible Mate! Have a couple of nips of rum!

Post by: Bad Scott on October 07, 2022, 07:18:00 AM
A big thanks for the tassie crew for hosting an awesome event. Had an awesome time, plenty of banter, and new friends :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cup:
Post by: DannyG on October 07, 2022, 06:43:27 PM
Thanks to everyone for a great weekend.

Brett and Scott are a bad influence

Hopefully we get to go to another one albeit a little healthier next time.
Post by: GeoffA on October 07, 2022, 06:50:57 PM
A great time had by all in attendance.

Huge thanks to the organisers for a top meet, and also to VKPrado for leading a couple of lovely drives.

Bring on the next NM, wherever it may be....

Post by: Bad Scott on October 07, 2022, 06:55:09 PM
Thanks to everyone for a great weekend.

Brett and Scott are a bad influence

Hopefully we get to go to another one albeit a little healthier next time.
Oh really, just 1 more  ;D ;D :D :D
Post by: DannyG on October 07, 2022, 07:10:37 PM
Oh really, just 1 more  ;D ;D :D :D

I didnt want that 1 more but you blokes made me...... 3 or 4 times.......  >:D ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on October 07, 2022, 07:21:13 PM
I didnt want that 1 more but you blokes made me...... 3 or 4 times.......  >:D ;D
We would've finished earlier but you were nursing the beverage  >:D >:D >:D >:D
Post by: VKPrado on October 14, 2022, 11:51:28 AM
With the current weather happening around the country I just wanted to share that where the 2022 National Meet was held is now under water.

Where we were camped with the creek running beside the campers, it has broken its banks and the whole camp ground is under water. Some of the roads that were used for the Saturday drive are also under water.

This all means that  the timing for the 2022 National Meet was held at the perfect time  :cup:
Post by: Bad Scott on October 14, 2022, 11:56:46 AM
With the current weather happening around the country I just wanted to share that where the 2022 National Meet was held is now under water.

Where we were camped with the creek running beside the campers, it has broken its banks and the whole camp ground is under water. Some of the roads that were used for the Saturday drive are also under water.

This all means that  the timing for the 2022 National Meet was held at the perfect time  :cup:
Wow.
5 years ago is when it flooded last.

Sent from the roads less travelled

Post by: DannyG on October 14, 2022, 12:43:29 PM

Post by: Niley on December 07, 2022, 03:57:16 PM
Apologies for being late to extend our thanks to everyone involved in the NM, however we have been having such a good time on the road (5 months) we have completely ignored getting the laptop out until now.

Just want too thank Vaughan, Kristy, Allan, Brett and Jill for organising the NM for Tassie. Had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the company and ventures we went on with the swaggers. We had 7 weeks on Tassie experiencing all forms of weather, catching Covid and exploring the wonders of the place. Absolutely loved it.

We also managed to witness Aurora Australis.

Jamie and Fiona, thanks for the advise to take the premium package on the Gordon River, wonderful experience and the oysters on Bruny are to die for.

Alan, go for a run to Bothwell, there is a neat Pacer parked up on the LHS as you drive in, may be interested in selling.

Anyhow the Journey continues with 2 more months on the road.

Post by: Jillsy on December 14, 2022, 03:43:38 AM
Niley - we took Jamie and Fi's advice too and went on the grey boat...wasn't it fabulous!