Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1760635 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5250 on: April 09, 2020, 02:25:18 PM »
Since Jan 1st this year.

Rebuilt the V6 Quad cam in the white Toyota Avalon and sold it.

Bought home the XA Futura and washed it. I did want to do number on it, but at Feb 6th, I was only a month off my op.
Threw it on the net..... place went into melt down.... was sold and paid for within 2 or 3 hours. (doubled my money too)
Photo was taken when we bought it, covered in dust.

I was still pissing around and driving the Corona.

Replaced the timing case seal on the Fleetwood as well as a major service.

Rebuilt some Shit on the mower.

March 6th, went had some stomach surgery..... managed to piss off nearly everyone in the place.
The op was a Tuesday, told I wouldn't be going home until at least Friday.
Told I had to drink a set amount of fluid and pass it before that would happen.
The other guy in my ward, caught me tipping fluids in my piss bottle to make things look good.
Left hospital by 10am Thursday morning.  ;D

Not supposed to do anything but rest for 4 weeks.

Was on the ride-on in 10 days.... the place won't mow itself.

Started putting together the ol sideplate grey motor recently, now a short engine.
Pretty groovy little hottie too.
Will have the head back next week.

The Corona sold and went about 3 weeks ago.
The Corona virus arrived during the whole thing, which has buggered up buying and selling cars for a bit now.
Good to see you back and hearing from you again Kev.
Been pottering around with the Wolseley doing a few things here & there. Our bash was cancelled this morning ( previously postponed) til next May. Now have heaps of time to work on tidying up a few things i have left to do with her.
Taking it to Grafton next week for her annual rego ( $46 to register her for 12 months  :cup: ). Gotta be happy with that  ;D
Be a good chance to blow the cob webs out  :cheers:
Hope you guys are getting some of this rain we are getting at the moment.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2020, 02:26:49 PM by MarkGU »

« Reply #5251 on: April 09, 2020, 02:46:08 PM »
Taking it to Grafton next week for her annual rego

How does that go with regard to "Essential Travel", Mark ???

« Reply #5252 on: April 09, 2020, 04:26:53 PM »
Just had a 1/2 hour video hook up with other users of Invoice2go.
Explaining what the processes are as a sole trader, what we need to do, who to contact.
Listening to what others are going through has really helped.

« Reply #5253 on: April 09, 2020, 05:56:08 PM »
How does that go with regard to "Essential Travel", Mark ???
This why mate.
I would be fairly confident that if your car is up for a pink slip/rego you would be allowed to get it to the mechanic for inspection. Can you see the DOT letting everyone get away with NOT rego'ing their cars? Means NO insurance if not registered.Can of worms there......................
« Last Edit: April 09, 2020, 06:00:49 PM by MarkGU »

« Reply #5254 on: April 09, 2020, 06:09:32 PM »
I see Qld has cancelled all licence testing for 3 months as well. 

« Reply #5255 on: April 10, 2020, 08:29:05 AM »
I would be fairly confident that if your car is up for a pink slip/rego you would be allowed to get it to the mechanic for inspection.

Thanks - good to see that someone has checked into it!

I would hate for you to be asked where you're going, to then be told that's not essential, so go home holding this $1300 (?) piece of paper :'(

Offline Raym

« Reply #5256 on: April 10, 2020, 01:58:24 PM »
A few more scales to finish. Be hitting the op shops for a couple more spoons.

Not entirely sure I am happy with it, maybe a bit of colour will make it pop.

Plan is to paint the eye ball. Leave the eye lid area & maybe colour the scales with bronze or copper. Maybe a combination of both.

Well got some colour on the eye. The scales need a coat of clear acrylic on them which I am hoping will highlight the iridescent green & gold on them.

Put some casting resin on the eye ball. I had the resin in the shed so thought I would try it. Didn't work as well as I hoped.

Just need to make a hanger, to put on the wall hanging, that will attach to the dragon eye.

Might go all artistic & call it "Golden Fire Reflected in Dragons Eye" or maybe not  ;D

Can't remember if I put up a photo of the hanging so included one.

The hanging is pallet timber, textured with a dremel, airbrushed then gilded with gold gilding wax.

« Reply #5257 on: April 10, 2020, 03:34:12 PM »
Very nice Ray, looks the goods. :cup:

« Reply #5258 on: April 10, 2020, 04:20:32 PM »
Awesome.
Cheers for sharing.

« Reply #5259 on: April 10, 2020, 04:41:43 PM »
Final oil on the screen today. It's only taken a couple of years, you can't rush these things :)

« Reply #5260 on: April 10, 2020, 05:11:48 PM »
Nice!

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

« Reply #5261 on: April 10, 2020, 05:45:30 PM »
That looks awesome.
Love ya work.

Offline maverick01

« Reply #5262 on: April 10, 2020, 06:48:21 PM »
Still working on the hj47.

Hopefully have it registered in the next month
If you never go, you'll never know

« Reply #5263 on: April 10, 2020, 08:22:02 PM »
Still working on the hj47.

Hopefully have it registered in the next month
Can ya post pics?
Btw, been awhile since I've seen ya post.

Offline MB TD42

• Retroform Carpentry and Joinery
« Reply #5264 on: April 10, 2020, 09:11:28 PM »
Spent 6 hours dragging everything out...I made it to the back w a all by 4pm...
Might actually be able to work in there soon.

We're all ere coz we ain't all there.

We're all hear coz we ain't all there...

« Reply #5265 on: April 10, 2020, 09:19:58 PM »
Final oil on the screen today. It's only taken a couple of years, you can't rush these things :)

Final oil, does that mean it's never getting another coat?

« Reply #5266 on: April 11, 2020, 07:00:17 AM »
Final oil, does that mean it's never getting another coat?

Give it 5 years or so, can't rush these things.

« Reply #5267 on: April 11, 2020, 03:30:42 PM »
Today's shed job was to build a trolley for our bbq area like the first pic. Given I'm an IT guy it's a good project for #stayathome to learn some stuff, and gave me a perfect opportunity to buy some new tools. I bought a cordless saw and some Kreg gear. I'm pretty happy with how it turned out, I still need to sand and then stain/varnish it, tomorrow's job.

« Reply #5268 on: April 11, 2020, 04:10:14 PM »
Nice job! :cup:

But it seems quite a bit smaller than the sample ???

« Reply #5269 on: April 11, 2020, 04:14:38 PM »
Nice job! :cup:

But it seems quite a bit smaller than the sample ???

Thanks, it was made to fit a particular space, happy wife happy life :)

Offline Heavensent

« Reply #5270 on: April 11, 2020, 10:19:21 PM »
Today's shed job was to build a trolley for our bbq area like the first pic. Given I'm an IT guy it's a good project for #stayathome to learn some stuff, and gave me a perfect opportunity to buy some new tools. I bought a cordless saw and some Kreg gear. I'm pretty happy with how it turned out, I still need to sand and then stain/varnish it, tomorrow's job.

Was only thinking today about building something similar.
After building a mud kitchen for kids last weekend

Figured i could do a nice bench for barbecuing as well.
Or if i should build bbq into it as well, but dunno how well pine would hold up to the heat.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

« Reply #5271 on: April 12, 2020, 05:45:52 AM »
It was your build that I showed the wife initially then she said, what if you made...

Or if i should build bbq into it as well, but dunno how well pine would hold up to the heat.
I guess it would depend on the bbq, you'd want to sit it on some cement sheet.

« Reply #5272 on: April 12, 2020, 07:15:19 AM »

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
I’m thinking about starting that project for our 4-burner beefeater...

But I’m having trouble working out a simple, but useful design...

Offline Raym

« Reply #5273 on: April 12, 2020, 12:56:54 PM »

Might find an idea in the Kreg projects. Haven't looked at it for a while but has a lot of ideas.

https://www.kregtool.com/get-inspired/project-ideas.aspx

« Reply #5274 on: April 12, 2020, 02:46:56 PM »

About 15 years ago I built this bench for our Beefeater. It's free standing, but designed to fit into the corner beside the kitchen bay window. The bench top is reclaimed cherrywood from a timber scrap yard, the posts were hardwood off-cuts from the house build that I had lying around, and the rest is just random off-cuts from the shed project pile.