Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730028 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5125 on: February 04, 2020, 06:13:06 PM »
I spent 2 hours cursing and swearing
My Lowrance Hook 2 7 Inch fish finder and GPS suddenly wont switch on
All fuses good
Power to the back of the unit (as confirmed with a test light)

Absolutely no help from Lowrance at all

« Reply #5126 on: February 04, 2020, 10:23:32 PM »
Nice, as always Pottsy.

The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5127 on: February 05, 2020, 12:00:16 AM »
All fuses good

My old Lowrance for the kayak Shit the bed due to the connector from the transducer not being salt water friendly... The whole thing ended up all corroded.

My new one (can't remember the model) I setup with the connection permanent, and full of dielectric grease...

So far so good

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #5128 on: February 05, 2020, 08:41:50 AM »
More beautiful work, Pottsy :cup:

Are you following instructions / plans to build these models, or is it all just your own doing ???

« Reply #5129 on: February 05, 2020, 11:36:22 AM »
More beautiful work, Pottsy :cup:

Are you following instructions / plans to build these models, or is it all just your own doing ???
Thanks Fizzie

I have plans but I do tend to change some things, add extra trims, change lights etc. sold the semi yesterday, it got snapped up pretty quickly.
Got plans yesterday for an ore truck, 3 side tippers so it’s nearly 5 1/2 foot long 74 wheeler.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2020, 11:38:45 AM by Pottsy »

Offline paul.o

« Reply #5130 on: February 05, 2020, 03:24:48 PM »
Chester,

My old man had a similar problem the other day, ended up being that the screen brightness was turned all the way down from night use, and you couldn't see it in the daylight.  Just a thought.

« Reply #5131 on: February 05, 2020, 04:43:27 PM »
Chester,

My old man had a similar problem the other day, ended up being that the screen brightness was turned all the way down from night use, and you couldn't see it in the daylight.  Just a thought.

Yeah i had heard that one on the internet and tried it out but no luck it wont even boot up

If has been loosing the depth reading intermittently over the last couple of weeks so not sure if there is a gremlin in the system

« Reply #5132 on: February 09, 2020, 06:06:57 PM »
Listened to some tunes, played a couple games of darts,  :cheers: :cheers:
Talked BS  with a mate.

Happy days
 :cheers: :cheers:

Offline shakey55

What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5133 on: February 10, 2020, 06:09:59 AM »
All fuses good

Chester - do you have a mate with a low range head unit that you could connect to your wiring to see if it powered up.  If you do and that works, I’d say it in the power up button.

Are you getting any sounds from other buttons.  Also replace all fuses associated with the unit to be sure.  Good luck

PS: Buy Garmin next time

« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 06:15:21 AM by shakey55 »

« Reply #5134 on: February 10, 2020, 07:22:38 AM »
Talked BS  with a mate.

No!!!

I just don't believe it! >:D ;D

« Reply #5135 on: February 10, 2020, 07:32:35 AM »
No!!!

I just don't believe it! >:D ;D

True story  :angel: :angel: :angel:

« Reply #5136 on: February 10, 2020, 09:16:34 AM »
Customer order, 1930s Ford Phaeton, loose interpretation. Approx 14” long 350mm
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #5137 on: February 10, 2020, 09:49:22 AM »
That's awesome mate.
The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

« Reply #5138 on: February 10, 2020, 02:24:02 PM »
Chester - do you have a mate with a low range head unit that you could connect to your wiring to see if it powered up.  If you do and that works, I’d say it in the power up button.

Are you getting any sounds from other buttons.  Also replace all fuses associated with the unit to be sure.  Good luck

PS: Buy Garmin next time

Result got the bastard going again... After some really deep diving into the internet forums i found the solution. The transducer cable is a double push to seat it into the back of the unit and you need both the transducer and power cables seated properly for the unit to work.
If they come loose again i will put some silicone around it to hopefully stop it moving. The unit was loose on its bracket so i would say the movement and vibration had caused the plugs to partially come out

« Reply #5139 on: February 29, 2020, 02:26:29 PM »
Managed to fix a life ending disaster for my son in the shed today. He left his gaming headphones on the couch, the cat decided he liked them too and chewed completely through the cable. It was the end of the world for my son, I suggested he go outside to play and meet his friends in real life, apparently kids of today don't do that... Given I trained in electronics 30+ years ago I thought I'd have a crack at fitting a new plug. I stripped an end however I couldn't find any conductors which I thought was odd as I was pretty sure physics was still the same as when I went to school. A trip to Jaycar to get a new plug and the kid who served me said the conductors are enamel coated these days and you need to burn it off, I was dubious but it turns out the kid was right. After carefully checking the pinout twice, stripping/burning/tinning and finally soldering the conductors to the new plug the big test came. Plugged the headphones in and they worked, seems that education all those years ago wasn't misspent after all. I did notice I can't see as well as I could 30 years ago as I needed to wear my glasses and have a big lamp lighting the bits I was working on and it was still hard to see. I did manage to get a stifled 'thanks dad' before my son went back into his room and carried on playing Fortnite.

« Reply #5140 on: February 29, 2020, 03:03:50 PM »
D4D,
I've spent countless hours fixing toys thst cost probably only 30 bucks, just caurse it was their favorite, it gives great satisfaction.

Well today I worked in a mates shed,
Converting it into a home office for him.

« Reply #5141 on: March 01, 2020, 07:16:10 AM »
That's a pretty flash shed! ;D

& are the bars & fence to keep him in, or everybody else out ??? ;D

« Reply #5142 on: March 01, 2020, 07:30:04 AM »
Nice work on the repair, Jamie.

....... I did notice I can't see as well as I could 30 years ago as I needed to wear my glasses and have a big lamp lighting the bits I was working on and it was still hard to see....

I can relate to that. As well as glasses, light etc, I need to use a magnifier for fiddly work these days.

This sort of thing.....

Magnifier

« Reply #5143 on: March 01, 2020, 07:34:31 AM »
That's a pretty flash shed! ;D

& are the bars & fence to keep him in, or everybody else out ??? ;D
That fence is Workcover Approved to keep the Minuture Dashhound(Gavin) out of the work Zone.  :angel:

« Reply #5144 on: March 01, 2020, 09:24:14 AM »
I can relate to that. As well as glasses, light etc, I need to use a magnifier for fiddly work these days.

Yeah that would have been handy.

« Reply #5145 on: March 01, 2020, 10:02:30 AM »
Doing the brakes on he wifes hack, Down to  the squeal pads, Then a  grinding sound from the right rear a day ago " Bugger  "   Left rear all good,  then start on right rear .. Yep the disc has been scored, Should have been enough pad left though for it not to scrub ... Found the culprit, A seized and broken  top caliper slide bolt, Allowed the caliper to cock sideways .. Had been  broken almost completely through for a long while.
Tried most every wrecker in a 50 km  radius ..  Out of a good dozen or so around our area, I found thee open on a Saturday .. What wrecker dosnt work Saturdays these days,  We used to ...
No joy Ohh well off   to work .
Tried  Jury rigging  another pin using a high tensile bolt as the slide bolt, this morning .  BUT the diameter of the bolt was just a little too undersized for my liking, only talking about << 1 mm difference total .
Out on the road somewhere as a fix to get home, I'd have gone with it ..
But for the sake of a day at home, We can wait for Monday and the parts places to be open for the correct bits .

« Reply #5146 on: March 01, 2020, 11:04:23 AM »
Doing the brakes on he wifes hack, Down to  the squeal pads, Then a  grinding sound from the right rear a day ago " Bugger  "   Left rear all good,  then start on right rear .. Yep the disc has been scored, Should have been enough pad left though for it not to scrub ... Found the culprit, A seized and broken  top caliper slide bolt, Allowed the caliper to cock sideways .. Had been  broken almost completely through for a long while.
Tried most every wrecker in a 50 km  radius ..  Out of a good dozen or so around our area, I found thee open on a Saturday .. What wrecker dosnt work Saturdays these days,  We used to ...
No joy Ohh well off   to work .
Tried  Jury rigging  another pin using a high tensile bolt as the slide bolt, this morning .  BUT the diameter of the bolt was just a little too undersized for my liking, only talking about << 1 mm difference total .
Out on the road somewhere as a fix to get home, I'd have gone with it ..
But for the sake of a day at home, We can wait for Monday and the parts places to be open for the correct bits .
Not wrong Edz, Saturday arvo was always a good day for a wrecker. With the internet and the ability to buy used and get it delivered to your doorstep quickly has probably not made it feasible for a lot plus a lot of workshops not  opening up as much on Saturdays.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2020, 11:06:38 AM by Black Diamond »

« Reply #5147 on: March 01, 2020, 03:14:11 PM »
That fence is Workcover Approved to keep the Minuture Dashhound(Gavin) out of the work Zone.  :angel:

ummmm........the dog bowl is on the wrong side of the fence............or is it the "tradie refreshment stand on the right side??? ;D ;D

« Reply #5148 on: March 01, 2020, 03:26:16 PM »
ummmm........the dog bowl is on the wrong side of the fence............or is it the "tradie refreshment stand on the right side??? ;D ;D
Ahahaha,
Good spotting, but the dog was still in the Laundry :)

« Reply #5149 on: March 04, 2020, 04:01:14 PM »
Finished off a 1933 Seagrave Fire Engine, approx 450mm long. Custom build for a customer.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2020, 04:37:33 PM by Pottsy »
The following users thanked this post: Chappie, Fizzie