Author Topic: About as new as they come.  (Read 3519 times)

Offline rsteedman

About as new as they come.
« on: August 03, 2016, 08:37:13 PM »
Been looking around here for a while, a lot of experienced people and great ideas. Against a myriad of bad reviews I decided to buy a GIC camper. Picked it up yesterday.

I've never had a camper or caravan before. I've got no experience towing long distances or off road so the next few months should be fun.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Offline Alfa12

About as new as they come.
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 09:11:24 PM »
Good on you. So long as you've done your homework, got something in your budget and your happy with it, that's the main thing. Like most things brand will go through peaks and troughs, maybe that's what happened to GIC. See a lot of them around. We got told don't by a chinese knock off but it was all we could afford at the time. Had heaps of use and no dramas yet.

« Last Edit: August 03, 2016, 09:13:44 PM by Alfa12 »

Offline paull

Re: About as new as they come.
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2016, 09:48:06 PM »
Good for you. I'm jealous. We sold our camper trailer a few months ago as we're "upgrading" to a caravan (read; keeping the other half happy!). We won't get the van until early next year so that makes it a long time between camping trips. I'm going stir crazy.

The list of inclusions on these things is impressive. Where people generally had issues before were fit and finish and after sales service from what I've read. I'd go over it with a fine tooth comb and make sure everything does what it's supposed to (as I would with any new camper) and then get out there and enjoy it.

I see GIC have re-branded themselves as Black Series Campers. Clearly trying to get away from the old name. Fingers crossed the new brand name brings with it a new brand attitude as they do make great looking campers at great prices.
2020 Ford Ranger Wildtrak
2016 MR22BE Van

"I thought I could see the light at the end of the tunnel but it was only some bugger with a torch bringing me some more work."

« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2016, 01:54:12 AM »
Been looking around here for a while, a lot of experienced people and great ideas. Against a myriad of bad reviews I decided to buy a GIC camper. Picked it up yesterday.

I've never had a camper or caravan before. I've got no experience towing long distances or off road so the next few months should be fun.

G'Day and welcome......Be safe and enjoy your new experiances

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2016, 05:18:15 AM »
G'day and welcome mate.
Congrats on the new camper :cup:

« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2016, 09:46:10 AM »
Welcome to the Forum and keep us up to date on the new camper and adventures, congrats

« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2016, 01:37:29 PM »
Welcome to myswag

Offline rsteedman

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2016, 04:47:37 PM »

First outing. Successful!
Only damage was a snapped off jockey wheel handle.  $17 part should arrive tomorrow.

The following users thanked this post: sol

Offline pickled200

• big ol' 200 series dragging a camel camper
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2016, 08:15:40 PM »
enjoy!! nice pic  :cheers:
wanting more than i can afford gets me to work everyday.