Author Topic: G'day from the south west  (Read 5635 times)

Offline taipan

G'day from the south west
« on: October 20, 2011, 10:03:13 PM »

I have been hanging around the forum for a while and getting some great ideas from you all. Currently have a hand me down on road CT circa 1986 that has been in the family the whole time. When I say on road it has been taken to the odd site it shouldn't have been  ;D.
Once finances allow an upgrade will definately be in order so it is great to see other people's setups and read of their experiences.

« Last Edit: October 20, 2011, 10:31:51 PM by taipan »

90 Series Prado, Custom 7x5 Offroad trailer with Downunder Campers Tent

Re: G'day from the south west
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 10:09:58 PM »
Hi Taipan, welcome to the forum.
there are a few from the SW on here.
I think I covered most of it today Manjimup - Busselton - Bunbury - Picton to pick up gear, lunch at Bull and Bush in Boyanup, inspect the stumps of 2 houses at Mullalyup and Balingup, See Real estate about quotes in Bridgetown and back to Manjimup to unpack the gear    ;D ;D

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 10:45:21 PM »
I think I covered most of it today Manjimup - Busselton - Bunbury - Picton to pick up gear, lunch at Bull and Bush in Boyanup, inspect the stumps of 2 houses at Mullalyup and Balingup, See Real estate about quotes in Bridgetown and back to Manjimup to unpack the gear   

So what did you do in the afternoon  ;D ;D

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2011, 10:54:43 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D

Offline RebsWA

« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2011, 12:16:45 AM »
Howdy and welcome Taipan from another local down Gelorup way.
You don't stop laughing because you grow old
You grow old because you stop laughing

2006 TD LandCruiser Troopy LX  -  2015 Jayco Starcraft Outback (a Caravan...)

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2011, 06:04:39 AM »
Welcome to the the forum....... hope you enjoy!!!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2011, 06:25:12 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Matt

« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2011, 06:32:24 AM »
Welcome to the swag Matt, lot's of good ideas here, what's on your mod list?

« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2011, 08:45:35 AM »
Hi Matt Welcome to the Forum  :cheers:

Offline taipan

« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2011, 10:08:46 AM »
Welcome to the swag Matt, lot's of good ideas here, what's on your mod list?

Thanks for the welcome guys.  :cheers:

Top of the mod list is a new CT  :laugh:. The box trailer the tent is on is over 25 years old and has seen better days. My neighbour has a very nice CT from Downunder campers built in Perth so I am seriously considering one of them. The trailer on these CT's are built extremely well and the canvas is all aussie.

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2011, 12:18:10 AM »
Hi Matt Welcome to the Forum  Cheers
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2011, 05:37:58 AM »
Welcome to MySwag, watch the time slip away ;D

« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2011, 05:51:20 AM »
Welcome Matt,

« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2011, 06:17:14 AM »
Hi Matt and welcome to My Swag

bubba :cheers:

Offline taipan

« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2011, 09:42:26 AM »
I think I covered most of it today Manjimup - Busselton - Bunbury - Picton to pick up gear, lunch at Bull and Bush in Boyanup, inspect the stumps of 2 houses at Mullalyup and Balingup, See Real estate about quotes in Bridgetown and back to Manjimup to unpack the gear    ;D ;D

Long trek there mate. Mmmmm lunch at the Bull and Bush washed down with a light bevvie.

« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2011, 09:45:38 AM »
too right  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2011, 09:50:45 AM »
Long trek there mate.
Next day Manjimup to Nyamup & load trailer then return to Manji to unload. Return to Nyamup reload trailer and deliver to Northcliffe. Return to Nyamup and take another load to Northcliffe then back to Manjimup to unload back of Troopy. Then beer'o'clock   :cheers: :cheers:

Offline taipan

« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2011, 10:50:05 AM »
Racking up the km's by the sounds of it.
For me I have to drive from just north of gassy junction to Canarvon today, watch the world cup final then tomorrow fly Canarvon to Perth and then drive Perth to Bunbury. Can't wait to get home  ;D

« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2011, 11:19:36 AM »
Hi Matt and welcome.
Nothing wrong with hand me downs or older campers  ;D
We love our old girl, 87 Swan, modified.
She's a solid old girl that has twice been around the block and we have just dragged her 6600km's around Western NSW, Flinders, Great ocean Rd and then back home.
Safe travels guys.

GC19WA

« Reply #19 on: October 31, 2011, 11:32:06 PM »
Hello and Welcome Matt :) Enjoy the forum!

Offline pattyann

« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2011, 11:05:16 AM »
Hiya - welcome to MySwag - heaps of learning and friendly people here

Complete Campsite Exodus 11 and we bought a Jeep (sold Camprite)

Offline taipan

« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2011, 09:09:43 AM »
Thanks for the welcomes.
Had a relaxing couple of days down on the Blackwood over the long weekend.......except for the clowns camped across the river a couple of hundred metres downstream who decided it would be a great idea to start firing what sounded like a .22 at 8.30pm on Saturday night. No wonder some of these free camps get shut down.

Offline Pebble

« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2011, 09:55:59 AM »
G'day from down here in Nannup
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

Offline taipan

« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2011, 02:44:16 PM »
G'day from down here in Nannup

Love the Nannup, Pemberton, Bridgetown area. Can't wait for Blues at Bridgetown and we get to camp at a friend of a friend's place about 2 km's out of town. Could be a slow stagger back after stumps  ;D

Offline Pebble

« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2011, 06:42:30 PM »
Yeah back when the house was being built and we were living in the shed using a camping stove and camping shower etc I didn't think there was much point going camping!
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson