Author Topic: Anothe Newcastle member - Howdy  (Read 4401 times)

Offline Nick74

Anothe Newcastle member - Howdy
« on: June 14, 2011, 08:20:16 PM »
Evening boys'n'girls

Been in and around here a little while so I thought it best to introduce myself and my family. There is me, the minister for war and finance plus two tin lids ages 7 and 3.

Haven't got a camper trailer yet but have ordered a 2011 GIC Offroad with the 2.1m drawbar, extreme suspension, 12 ft tent and some other bits and pieces including a drifter DSO for the tailgate. I'm already trying to find some suitable brackets to mount some pole holders between the toolbox and the front wall of the trailer........................I'm only new at the modding and handiwork stuff so I'm hoping to learn lots from everyone here.

I have an 80 series cruiser at the moment. But I just bought a 2008 GU6 DX with a bit of fruit on it. Now that I have the GU the 80 will be up for sale once I service it and sort out 1 or 2 little niggles. I will figure out the pic thing on this forum and post some up.

Nick

Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger
2011 GIC Offroad aka Katie
If I loved these tyres any more they would be beer - David Freiberger 2015

Re: Anothe Newcastle member - Howdy
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 08:22:14 PM »
Welcome to myswag Nick, sounds like you're ready to get out there and enjoy the lifestyle.

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 08:24:30 PM »
Hi NIck,

Despite where you live [lol] you are most welcome here.

Hope you enjoy the forum.

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2011, 08:25:11 PM »
G/Day Nick hope you enjoy MySwag

Offline Nick74

« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2011, 08:27:32 PM »
Thanks for the welcome fellas. I am looking forward to the CT lifestyle. We've been tenting for the last 3 yrs and are a bit over the erecting of our 8 pole 4 room tent......................... ???

Lets see if the posting pic thing works

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f215/Wombat_97/Bruce/bruce-1.jpg
This is my 80 series which like above will be for sale soon

EDIT - well the pic didn't work. I'll try another way
Just thought I'd beat u all to the punch.............LOL

« Last Edit: June 14, 2011, 08:30:15 PM by Nick74 »
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger

Offline Nick74

« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2011, 08:33:36 PM »
Okay got the pic thing sorted

This is Bruce v1.0 - as mentioned above he will be for sale very soon so I can buy my GIC

Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger

« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2011, 08:35:33 PM »
Welcome to Myswag.  Most people have a few probs with the picture posting thing for a while.

That's one tidy looking 80 Series you have there, I'm sure you'll have no problems selling it when the time comes.

Offline Nick74

« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2011, 08:36:14 PM »
And this is Bruce v2.0 - I picked him up on Sunday

As of right now I like him  A LOT!!!!!!

Nick
« Last Edit: June 14, 2011, 08:37:51 PM by Nick74 »
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger

« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2011, 08:42:07 PM »
Looks like a lot of fruit on Bruce v-2.0.  Well done.

Not much room between the two tyres on the back.

Living at Newcastle you should be nice and handy for the upcoming Myswag meet at Clarencetown.  You coming?

Offline Nick74

« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2011, 09:08:59 PM »
Looks like a lot of fruit on Bruce v-2.0.  Well done.

Not much room between the two tyres on the back.

Living at Newcastle you should be nice and handy for the upcoming Myswag meet at Clarencetown.  You coming?

Yeah, I'm interested but I'm pretty sure I will be on call for that particular weekend so I can't stray too far from work. But if that does not eventuate I will come up for a look see

Nick
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger

« Reply #10 on: June 14, 2011, 10:33:00 PM »
Hi Nick Welcome to My Swag I do,nt know what one i like the best bruce 1  (had and loved the 80 series) or bruce 2 ( got a troll now) anyhow both nice looking tugs . :cheers:

Offline mudduck

• THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2011, 06:33:36 AM »
Welcome Nick nice trucks you have there. I also have an 80 and a GU1, both great trucks. will look for you around town. My trucks both have mudduck on the windscreens. Give me a call ch 10 uhf.
Cheers Steve

99 GU 4.2turbo with all the gear, towing Ulti 779
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=6460.0

Offline mr_cougar79

• facebook
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2011, 07:43:52 AM »
Hi and welcome Nick u should find heaps of useful info...Good to see more ppl sprouting up from the Newcastle/Hunter areas..
Name:Matt (VK2ZMT)
2003 HZJ105 GXL 4.2 DTS Turbo Diesel cruiser,2"OME lift,285 Cooper ST Maxx's, .Tough Country Camper (Ex Rental),

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2011, 08:20:30 AM »
Hey Nick, welcome mate, great looking wagons u got, ur defo on the way to being set up alright, you'll love this site, enjoy. 

Swanny

« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2011, 01:27:35 PM »
G'day & Welcome Nick.

Nice 80.

Offline craigtempo

• welcome to the party that never ends
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2011, 04:05:21 PM »
howdie

welcome to the site ...... WARNING .... this site is adictive  ;D

Craig

« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2011, 04:08:34 PM »
That looks like a pretty tidy unit mate, well done  :cheers:

Welcome to Myswag :cheers:

Offline flamingo

« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2011, 07:17:52 PM »
  Gday Nick
Welcome! Cpupla good looking rigs you got there!! Im sure the cruiser will sell easy... :cheers: Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline Nick74

« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2011, 07:57:47 PM »
Thanks to all of you for the warm welcome.
I'm hoping the cruiser does sell pretty quick, I'm only gunna ask for reasonable money for it - and it won't have the 33" KM2s - they will be on the GU rims very shortly and the GUs 31" Duelers will be on Bruce

Someone before said the wheels on the back were very close together, they are and really too close as I will not fit 2 33"s on it like that so I think I'll take one of the arms off and convert it to a jerry holder - or maybe just take it off and leave it off.

Yesterday after work I went to Reece plumbing and Eagle Bros plumbing here in Newcastle as I'm looking for some specific brackets to locate my pole carriers and neither place could help me out. The brackets I'm looking for are the same ones that are used on the Trackabouts prior to Johhny swapping from the pipes to the metal box. I've asked Johnny and he said he used to get his from a local plumbing supply store - sorry I have no pics

Has anyone got any other ideas where I could go in and around Newie that has a range of the brackets?

Nick
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger

Offline mudduck

• THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE
« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2011, 08:28:35 PM »
Hi Nick, maybe try Ovesco at Sandgate for the brackets, or specialised wholsale at Lanbton. If you want to keep the 2 wheels at the back you could cut the uprights that hold the wheels off the arms and move them out an inch or so. I've done the opposite to mine as I only want one wheel on the back and my Kmar bar kept the wheel to far out which blocked my tail lights which all work and makes the spare look like its meant to be there.
Cheers Steve

99 GU 4.2turbo with all the gear, towing Ulti 779
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=6460.0

« Reply #20 on: June 17, 2011, 06:19:23 AM »
Hi Nick and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

« Reply #21 on: June 20, 2011, 10:00:51 AM »
Hi Nick
Great truck you have there

Offline Nick74

« Reply #22 on: June 21, 2011, 07:51:41 PM »
Thanks for the tip Steve - I'll chase them up tomorrow when i should be working
Also thanks to 73bubba - I likes it too!

Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger