Author Topic: Another Jayc... umm Goldstream :)  (Read 5439 times)

Offline hgmonaro

Another Jayc... umm Goldstream :)
« on: February 16, 2011, 09:59:30 AM »
G'day all.  Been a lurker of this place for a long time but finally got tired of wanting to add to the conversations... and not being able too!  Saw a MySwag sticker the other day and decided that was a sign!

We've had our Goldstream Wing 3.5 (like D4D I've made a few mods although not as many as he!) since 2006 when we purchased it in anticipation of a 1/2 lap trip we did in '07.  Since then it's hardly been out of the shed (one major trip to the Flinders Ranges and a couple of other weekends) as we spend most of our time running kids to sporting events. However, I like to read about camping, campers and the like even if I'm not actively participating!  Got some great ideas from various threads here.

My username (I have a HG Monaro in the garage) is what I use on forums so like many, I frequent some forums others do.

Cheers, Nige

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
Re: Another Jayc... umm Goldstream :)
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 10:01:35 AM »
Welcome aboard Nigel.  Where do you hail from mate?
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline swillo5

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 10:33:55 AM »
are there any other forums similar to his with respect to camper trailers?

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2011, 10:42:55 AM »
Had me a HG Monaro myself many moon ago. In the end, it'd let the rego run out with plans of fixing her up, but life changed not long after, moved towns, had no way of taking her with me & left it in the shed where I'd been renting  :'(
The stupid stupid STUPID things we do sometimes  ::)

Welcome aboard :)
You do realise, now you've taken the step, the bug will get you & you'll start camping more  ;D

Offline hgmonaro

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2011, 10:44:25 AM »
Welcome aboard Nigel.  Where do you hail from mate?

Updated! Only took me about 3 looks at all the profile pages to eventually find it!

bobnrob... where was that shed...

Offline JethroT

« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2011, 10:46:43 AM »
Welcome aboard,

I'm jealous, a big shed, a HG Monaro and a Goldstream.

Anyway we're happy with the Goldstrteam, and have started the modifications. We've added mudflaps to the stone guard, placed a pole carrier on the rear wheel carrier, next is a pioneer stereo and a couple of tool boxes on the rear wheel carrier.

I'll post up some photos when we get more things done.  

Geoff
Regards, Geoff and Michele

« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2011, 11:48:15 AM »
Welcome to myswag! Great to have another Wing comrade :)

« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2011, 12:06:01 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Nigel, good to see someone not going down the Jayco hypnotism  ;D

« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2011, 05:48:15 PM »
Welcome to Myswag , have a good look about if you want to know any thing ask . Somebody will know something  . Enjoy  :cheers:

Offline GOLDIE

« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2011, 06:04:52 PM »
Always a welcome to another goldstream. Enjoy.
Cheers, Ryano
Ready to Roll

2010 Goldstream Storm - 2006 Toyota Landcruiser GXL

Offline Compass

« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2011, 06:15:20 PM »
Welcome to the forum Nigel. 
Eric :cheers:
2015 Toyota Prado
2012 Kimberley Kamper Platinum

« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2011, 06:16:08 PM »
Gday Nigel and welcome to the forum

« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2011, 06:46:24 PM »
Nigel, Shed was in beautiful downtown Cabramatta - Sydney - NSW
Can guarantee it wouldn't be there now *LOL*

Offline graylyn

« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2011, 07:38:09 PM »
Sorry Nigel.  I've got an excuse - I'm an old man.  Didn't see the Melbourne there mate.

2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline hgmonaro

« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2011, 07:46:59 PM »
Sorry Nigel.  I've got an excuse - I'm an old man.  Didn't see the Melbourne there mate.

Ohh you're not quite senile... yet... I added it after you inquired!

Offline Nutto

• Burning desire to camp.....
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2011, 10:43:23 PM »
Gidday Nige, welcome from the other end of the country,
good to see more goldstreams here to keep us here in Jayco land honest  ;D
Now get out there out use that camper!!! :D
Oh, before someone else here pings ya - Pics are expected, cos...... :worthles:
The gallery section shows you how to do it 

Nutto

Offline hgmonaro

« Reply #16 on: February 17, 2011, 08:50:17 AM »
Some pics

getting a hammering on the Mereenie loop...

fording the Pentecost...

dinner away from the mossies...

found a relative...

magic camp beside the Great Australian Bight...

camp at Bendleby Ranges Station

getting out of Bendleby

that will do for the moment :)

Offline Knight44

« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2011, 08:57:11 AM »
G'day Nige,

Welcome from another Goldstream owner, though ours is a Crown.

Where was that camp site on the Bight? We could be coming back across the Nullabor in a few months.

Richard

Offline graylyn

« Reply #18 on: February 17, 2011, 09:25:36 AM »
Thanks Nigel.  I didn't think I was going mad.

2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline hgmonaro

« Reply #19 on: February 17, 2011, 11:00:38 AM »
Where was that camp site on the Bight? We could be coming back across the Nullabor in a few months.

Richard

Hi Richard,

From my notes, we called it the 42km peg (Just past Eucla, into SA), it was 662kms from Fraser Range Station and 472km to Ceduna the next day :)  I think they are listed in the 'Camps' books.   There are several spots along there where you can stop (no toilets though).  We had a pitstop at the Head of the Bight whale viewing the next day (we carry a porti-loo but only to be used in emergencies!).  Remember to pick up some firewood earlier in the day (there was heaps back a few 100kms towards Perth) but none at these campsites.  Luckily we had enough to cook some damper and marshmellows with us.

Here's the sunrise the next day...

If you have kids, be aware there are no fences!

Cheers, Nige

Offline GOLDIE

« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2011, 12:13:59 PM »
Jeez Nigel are you sure that they are your kids.... They look nothing like you...Which one is the sarcasm smiley face.
Cheers, Ryano
Ready to Roll

2010 Goldstream Storm - 2006 Toyota Landcruiser GXL

« Reply #21 on: February 17, 2011, 07:04:39 PM »
Great pics, we're looking forward to getting ours out and about

Offline hgmonaro

« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2011, 07:17:00 PM »
Jeez Nigel are you sure that they are your kids.... They look nothing like you...Which one is the sarcasm smiley face.

good thing I don't have a pic of me as a kid to post :)

Offline Moto Moto

« Reply #23 on: February 18, 2011, 09:52:54 AM »
Welcome Nigel. Looks like a great setup!

Thanks for posting the great picks too, inspirational :cheers:

KC
2012 BT-50 XTR and Jayco Expanda 14.44-4 Outback