Author Topic: Another from SW Oz  (Read 4514 times)

Another from SW Oz
« on: January 31, 2011, 08:55:44 AM »
Hi to everyone on the forum,
Just recently joined and have been scouring the pages - excellent info in here to save me making all the mistakes you made  ;D ;D
We have just bought a trailer with an Oztrail 8 tent and awning and split system a/c.
Will use this setup to see what we want to change and probably transfer the tent to a custom trailer

Cheers Mike and Brenda

Re: Another from SW Oz
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2011, 09:10:36 AM »
Welcome to myswag! A split system in the tent sounds interesting.

Offline hairymick

• 2010 Nissan Navara D22, 2005 Kimberly Escape
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2011, 09:10:58 AM »
G'day Mike and Brenda and welcome aboard guys.

Bloody good to see you here mate.

Mick

« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2011, 09:13:55 AM »
G'day Mike and Brenda and welcome aboard guys.

Bloody good to see you here mate.

I've just got build that SOT with the Mirage drive and get out there Mick  ;D

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2011, 09:24:38 AM »
Welcome to myswag! A split system in the tent sounds interesting.
Thanks for the welcome D4D.
Compressor on A frame just in front of front wall of the trailer and the other bit on the other side of the wall and then flexible ducting to the back.
We only picked it up on Friday night, but I will build a swing out kitchen/tailgate and put the evaporator(?) right up near it so the air flows more readily into the tent.
We were stopped at Bunnings on the way home from Perth yesterday and while Brenda was waiting in the Troopy, 3 people made comments about the a/c.
Mostly ladies saying 'My husband said it can't be done' to which Brenda said 'My husband is very clever'!!    LOL

Cheers Mike

« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2011, 09:31:25 AM »
Welcome to the forum, thats a lot of solar panels to keep the cool air going ;D

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2011, 09:38:22 AM »
Welcome to the forum, thats a lot of solar panels to keep the cool air going ;D

Thanks for the welcome.
I will be trying to limit the use - maybe forget the fuel for the Gennie  ;D ;D

Cheers Mike

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2011, 11:41:32 AM »
gday Mike & Brenda and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2011, 12:05:07 PM »
gday Mike & Brenda and welcome to My Swag

Thank you

Offline garbage

« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2011, 12:38:41 PM »
So jealous!  I want a split system on my trailer to be!  Sounds like that's the only way to camp :D

« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2011, 12:42:15 PM »
So jealous!  I want a split system on my trailer to be!  Sounds like that's the only way to camp :D

Brenda thinks the same  ;D

Offline Cozzie

• Jets
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2011, 01:51:00 PM »
Welcome to the forum Mike & Brenda, gee a split system sounds like the go :cheers:
2008 Holden Colorado - 2012 19.61-2 OB Jayco Starcraft

« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2011, 03:20:22 PM »
Welcome to the forum Mike & Brenda, gee a split system sounds like the go :cheers:
Thank you,
Yes we should have stayed in it on Saturday in Perth when it was 40.4 instead of my son's un-aircon'd house  :D

Offline Cozzie

• Jets
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2011, 03:30:55 PM »
Thank you,
Yes we should have stayed in it on Saturday in Perth when it was 40.4 instead of my son's un-aircon'd house  :D

Hear what ya saying Mike, 43 here in Toodyay Saturday till the storm came through and took the power out,  got power back on at 11.00 today.

Cozzie
2008 Holden Colorado - 2012 19.61-2 OB Jayco Starcraft