Author Topic: Another Jayco Newbie  (Read 5580 times)

Offline travellingduo

Another Jayco Newbie
« on: December 11, 2010, 09:43:38 AM »
Hi Everyone

I have been lurking here for awhile and would like to thank everyone for sharing such a wealth of knowledge/tips.

Information picked up from this forum helped us to decide to finally purchase a camper trailer after 30 years of tent camping - we purchased a Jayco Eagle (on-road not outback) which we pick up next Friday ;D. The only extras added were an annex (bed flys and awning were included in the price), innerspring mattress to front bed and a battery pack.

DH has a list of mods that we will do after reading about them on this forum and as to the rest we will learn it as we go!!

We are hoping to take our grandsons away for the 2nd week of January for a few days which will be our "shakedown trip". The idea of just being able to hook up the trailer and go without all the associated packing, unpacking, setting up and then everything in reverse associated with tent camping is just utter bliss to me!
Plus the fact we will be able to do more 3 day trips as DH is retired but runs his own business "on his terms" i.e. around his love of golf and I only work 3 days a week

Once again thank you all for your generosity - hope to meet up with fellow Swaggers on our travels

Lesley and Ken

Re: Another Jayco Newbie
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 10:13:36 AM »
G'day Leslie and Ken and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:

Offline OB Swan

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2010, 11:33:37 AM »
hi duo

welcome aboard cat wait to see some pix of the eagle

OB
Life's too short to drink cheap wine

« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2010, 01:26:04 PM »
Travelingduo  Welcome to Myswag , now dont get hooked up reading it all now . Hook up & make dust as you go Enjoy as we all do  :worthles:

« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2010, 01:59:23 PM »
G'day Lesley and Ken

Welcome to MySwag and Jayco ownership  ;D

« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2010, 04:00:57 PM »
Welcome to MySwag and Jayco ownership  ;D

How many Jaycos is the forum up to now? Next you'll want your own Jayco members section  :-*

Offline POD

• Just get out there!
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2010, 05:37:02 PM »
We deserve it! We're the chosen ones...

I can feel a coup coming on!  >:D
"Never trust an internet quote." - Thomas Jefferson

« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2010, 06:01:18 PM »
Welcome to the Forum

Offline Signature035

• The older I get...... the better I was
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2010, 07:34:21 PM »
Welcome to the Jayco clan........
2012 Prado D4D Altitude &
04 Jayco Eagle Outback

Offline Strawb

« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2010, 12:12:36 AM »
Welcome to another jayco ;D
While intelligent people can simplify the complex, a fool is more likely to complicate the simple.

« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2010, 06:17:54 PM »
Welcome Lesley and Ken.
Nothing wrong with owning a Jayco.
Touche is about 24 years old now, and he does us just fine.
Yeah, Please post up some pics of your set up. It's about sharing ideas, traveling, a few beers and having a good time.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2010, 09:26:30 AM by Hairs »

Offline mikew

« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2010, 06:29:54 PM »
welcome to the site
2016 MY16 VX TTD White Landcruiser
2008 D4D Prado
2016 Lifestyle Reconn

« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2010, 07:30:06 PM »
G'day & Welcome folks.

Glad to hear you picked up some good ideas, which one will you start with?

Offline Moto Moto

« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2010, 08:10:01 PM »
Congrats Lesley and Ken,

Hope you enjoy your new camper when you pick it up. I'm sure your grandson will love the adventure as well. My little ones love getting away in our camper, they think its a big cubby house on wheels ;D

Once you have it packed how you want it, hooking up and going is a breeze.
Enjoy!
2012 BT-50 XTR and Jayco Expanda 14.44-4 Outback

Offline Nutto

• Burning desire to camp.....
« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2010, 08:58:17 AM »
Gidday travelling duo, welcome from another new myswagger in Cairns
We pick up our Jayco Hawk OB next month. Like you, we kept it fairly std and will add to it as we go.  Some great tips on here, team Jayco is on the rise....

Offline travellingduo

« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2010, 06:08:16 AM »
 ;D Today's the day, we pick the Eagle up in 2 hours.
 Will try and post pictures over the weekend

G'day & Welcome folks.

Glad to hear you picked up some good ideas, which one will you start with?

Because of all the rain Sydney has been having I think the first thing we will do is put small tarps over the beds like so many advise followed by running the fridge for a couple of days to get rid of the smell.
We have booked the second week of January away, so have a couple of weeks to "play"with our new toy.

Thank you all for the welcome to the forum
« Last Edit: December 17, 2010, 06:09:53 AM by travellingduo »

« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2010, 12:47:15 PM »
Hi Guys,
Try wiping the fridge down on the inside with vanilla essence, We use this when we come home from a trip to help with the smell thing, It does work, We also use it on the 72L esky and the 30L 3 way. BTW, we always leave the door ajar when not in use.
Have fun with it.

« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2010, 12:56:34 PM »
put some bio carb in a container and in the fridge....it is great for absorbing odours

« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2010, 02:47:22 PM »
put some bio carb in a container and in the fridge....it is great for absorbing odours

I forgot about that, Dohlt,

« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2010, 05:30:10 PM »
OKAY you have picked it up, where are the photos???? ;D ;D ;D

Welcome Mate,

Offline Ray-C

« Reply #20 on: December 18, 2010, 08:41:51 AM »
Welcome to the forum travellingduo , Have fun with you'r new toy. ;D     :cheers:
C:\Users\Ray\Pictures\2010-08-01 tom price\tom price 017 email.JPG

« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2011, 05:27:54 AM »
Hi Travellingduo welcome to My Swag

« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2011, 07:55:57 PM »