Author Topic: Hi all from a soon to be camper owner  (Read 8836 times)

Offline ralphedward

Hi all from a soon to be camper owner
« on: December 23, 2010, 07:20:06 PM »
Hi everyone

After years of wanting a camper I've finally made the plunge. I initially looked around and ran a million and one ideas through my head, weighed them up against my bank balance and decided that I would stick with the tent (as I don't get a lot of time to get out lately).  Then I sat back, had a good hard look at myself, told myself to stop making excuses and took the plunge (it helps that I've had a gutfull of sleeping on the ground).

Long story short, I've ended up buying a Tambo Cooper, delivered at the end of Jan 11,  and am now waiting like an excited little boy at Christmas time (ironic timing).   Unfortunately for my bank balance, but fortunately for me, I discovered this site and I'm now about to make further additions to my original purchase. 

I've got years worth of mods that are already swirling around in my head thanks to this site - can't wait to get started!

Only 35 or so sleeps to go!

SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.

Re: Hi all from a soon to be camper owner
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2010, 07:33:28 PM »
G'day Mark and welcome to Myswag. Nice work with the camper purchase.  :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2010, 07:52:25 PM »
Hi Mark

Well done on the purchase you wont regret it, we too took the plunge after several years hiring different CT's and are going to use it for the first time over the Xmas break.

I have already added a full 12 volt system with 1000 watt inverter, pole carrier and relocated the spare wheel carrier with many more mods swimming around my head thanks to this forum.

Enjoy your Tambo when it arrives and we hope to see you out amongst it some day.

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2010, 08:14:16 PM »
Well done, we had a Tambo and they're excellent

Offline Ray-C

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2010, 08:15:26 PM »
Gday Mark welcome to myswag   :cheers:
C:\Users\Ray\Pictures\2010-08-01 tom price\tom price 017 email.JPG

Offline fugwurgin

• Living the dream travelling Oz with my family
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2010, 08:45:33 PM »
Ahhhhh!!!! i remember waiting for my first camper trailer... the worst 5 weeks of my life.

The sleepless nights, the anxious wait, the "just shut up about it" from the missus. lol.
My advice is stay away from this forum, it is DANGEROUS! although the people are friendly.
Welcome to the forum. i too am a new member and have already got some great tips and ideas for mods.

Congrats on your purchase and (try) to enjoy your christmas. im sure you will.

Anth
one fiance, one 3 yr old son, one Off Road Camper Trailer and one hell of a good time! Doin it CT style, waltzing all over this great land.

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2010, 09:26:06 PM »
Thanks for the welcome,

She What Must Be Obeyed (SWMBO) has had enough of my continual chatter about the camper and plans for the future.  At least the family know what sort of pressies Santa should bring me (hint - hint).

I tried to start off with a basic trailer but knew that as soon as I get it I'll want to load it up and try it out, so to the standard trailer was added elec brakes, a treg hitch and a 85 ltr water tank (SWMBO & the 2 girls like showers). Next addition was an inner spring mattress and I'm just about to add a stone guard with extensions (after looking at a mates trailer after a 2 week trip) & walls for the annex.  If I stay on this site much longer I may just have to extend the mortage on the house.

Luckily I have time before I will do any longer trips, 3 - 4 days seems to be all we can spare at the moment,. so I can spend time looking into the electrics and such.

Anyway, Merry Christmas to you all,  hope santa is kind to you all.

« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2010, 09:45:12 PM »
Check out my Tambo build thread for more ideas on mods
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=2272

Offline Humbolt

« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2010, 09:49:55 PM »
Welcome and congrats on the big plunge.
If i had a dollar for the amount of times i was told to stop talking about the camper during our wait, i would not be working :)
Good luck with the wait, it will be painful but worth it!!

« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2010, 10:00:20 PM »
Welcome to the Froum, top choice on the camper, have a look at mine and you might get some ideas

Offline JORDO

« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2010, 05:31:21 AM »
hi mate and welcome  :cheers:
CHEERS JORDO

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2010, 01:50:27 PM »
Nice purchase, they are a great camper trailer.Oh, and welcome aboard. :cheers:
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline BigDougie

• Enjoy Today for who knows what the future holds!
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2010, 06:13:05 PM »
Welcome aboard Mark, the wait will be all worth it, was like a kid being given a bag of lollies when I picked up my CT today. :cheers:
Our Maverick and New to us Trackabout Overlander RF

"Smile and Wave boy's, Smile and Wave"

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #13 on: December 25, 2010, 08:23:36 PM »
BigDougie,

I'm bloody envious, great chrissy present.  Thankyou to all the others who have commented on the Tambo (and campers in general).  I spent a lot of time researching, and testing, before diving in and found what I wanted in my own back yard (Tambo are manufactured locally). A big point in their favour was their reputation for after sales and service which has eased my mind immensely.

As I've said before I've got plenty of time before I do any long trips which means that with the amount of information that I can glean from this site means that SWAMBO and the kids will be staying in apparent 5 star comfort!!!!!!!

Offline weso

• be good or be good at it !!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 64eh.com
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2010, 12:11:45 PM »
Gday Mark welcome along
64 EH(premier sedan)gone but will never be forgotten, 64VAN(windowless panel van),
2008 Nisan Navara, leisure matters ranger hard floor

« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2011, 10:45:59 AM »
G'day & Welcome Mark.

The big day is getting closer, and you'll get it at a good tie to go camping. After the full on heat of summer, the rains should have past over.

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2011, 11:59:54 PM »
Yes Big Jules and others,

The day is getting closer and subsequentially the costs are escalating.  I've been reminded a few times that this site is dangerous as one can get far too many ideas.  None the less all the ideas I've garnered from this site have been fruitfull.  By the time I pick my trailer up the only thing that I will be lacking, from my first beliefs, is an elec system and thanks to this site I now have more ideas than my feeble little mind is able to cope with in that aspect as well.

My thanks and appreciation goes out to the members of this site, and especially to the moderators, as someone who frequents a few sites but rarely communicates, I've found this site to be very friendly and not bound to some of the flaming and cronyism that afflicts many others.  Crongratulations to you all!

« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2011, 01:42:07 AM »
Welcome to MySwag!

Enjoy your new camper!

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2011, 07:57:27 PM »
Only two weeks to wait now! ???

Santa has been good to this patient little camper.  The add on's to the Tambo have grown exponentially  and I couldn't be happier.  My first outing has been booked, unfortunately I'm not going to be the first to sleep in it,  the kidlets have booked that privilege whilst it is getting weathered in my driveway.  A trip to Lake Eyre is now locked in for later in the year that just wouldn't have happened without this purchase.

The ideas and the growth potential for my future camping experiences have certainly been enhanced by being on this site!

16 sleeps to go ---- maybe!!!!

« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2011, 09:04:49 PM »
Not long to go then, make sure you get some pics up when you get it

Offline chrisroche

« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2011, 09:23:55 PM »
g'day Mark,

good choice on the Tambo, look forward to seeing the pics.

Chris
Are we there yet?

2011 Pathfinder...Lifestyle Camper

Offline tambodaryl

« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2011, 09:58:52 PM »
Hi Mark,
            Welcome and congratulations on the purchase of the Tambo, you will not be disappointed.  The after sales service is great.  I bought a Tambo second hand last year and have spent a few months adding an electrical system. (I'm in the electrical game).  If you would like to have a look at what I've done PM me and you can come and have a look if interested.
Bet you can't wait, then get out there and enjoy.  Off to Tidal River all of next week to enjoy the Tambo.
Regards Daryl.

Offline balfang

• "My sister & I - can't really see any resemblance"
« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2011, 11:27:33 AM »
Gidday Mark,

Congrats on your pending delivery. Sounds like your giving birth, but the plus side is, it won't be anywhere near as painful  ;D

Any CT is a brilliant way of enjoying our great land, so enjoy the new baby when it arrives.

I'll smoke a cigar for ya  8)

Cheers Balfang (Keith)  :cheers:

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #23 on: January 21, 2011, 09:20:14 PM »
The wait is getting to me - need more beer ;D

I've checked out your set up GG and garnered a few ideas, time and location are on my side.  SWMBO and I are buying a new factory for her business (she's a Mechanical Engineer, not too bright but she can lift heavy things ;D, who specialises in mechanical vibration isolation, ie , mounts) and as I'm in charge of the factory purchase the first priority is a workshop area and room for the camper  ;D  I could be lost for weeks at a time in the new toy shed!!!!!!!!

I am (or was) in the elec game as well Daryl so I am interested in looking at what you've done and talking through ideas,all I have to do now is work out what my needs are!  As it stands I wont be going away for more than 3 or 4 days at a time for the near future so I have time to work out what it is I want.

Like Keith suggested, I'm awaiting the birth of my new baby - cigars at the ready. :cheers:

« Reply #24 on: January 21, 2011, 10:18:22 PM »
As all the others have said earlier, welcome to Myswag and congrats on ordering your first ct.
Hubby and I are eagerly awaiting our first ct too after decades of tent camping.  Just can't wait! Expecting it about the end of Feb, so by then you will have the privilege of using yours - exciting eh.
Enjoy the site,
Sharyn