Author Topic: To keep or not to keep.... exhaust  (Read 5184 times)

Offline feisty

To keep or not to keep.... exhaust
« on: March 14, 2017, 09:48:18 PM »
For those that have upgraded your exhaust did you bother to keep the original?
Two years ago I went to a mild steel beaudesart 3" system from the factory stainless system.
Trying to clean up atm and wondering if keeping the original is worthwhile.  If not do I take it to the recyclers or whack it on ebay (I can't imagine there would be much demand)
Comments appreciated.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle
The following users thanked this post: hillbilly

Re: To keep or not to keep.... exhaust
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 11:15:29 PM »
I kept mine. Dunno what for but I did.

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 06:01:06 AM »
mine is in landfill somewhere

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 06:05:42 AM »

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2017, 06:21:14 AM »
Ha ha I was worse I scored one first of somebody else as I was going to mod it then never got around so when I went the redback I let them chuck it. Next scrap run the first system wil go. I couldn't  think of a more painful job than to remove a few year old aftermarket exhaust and re installing oem

« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2017, 06:49:15 AM »
mine is in landfill somewhere

recycled into something  ;D

« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2017, 06:52:12 AM »
When I had my cruiser exhaust done in 2015 I asked the installers the same question.  They said, 'Why?'  Why would you want to keep the old one, the new one will last a very long time.  So I left it with them to chuck into their bin.   Kevin

Offline Wunderlust

• NoSetPlan.com.au
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2017, 11:39:54 AM »
I sold my factory fitted for $150 after fitting the Beaudesert exhaust.
No Set Plan - Our Aussie Adventurehttp://www.nosetplan.com.au

Online GeoffA

« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2017, 11:50:49 AM »
I sold my factory fitted for $150 after fitting the Beaudesert exhaust.

You did extremely well.... :cup: :cup:

Offline Wunderlust

• NoSetPlan.com.au
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2017, 12:09:54 PM »
Yeah it only had 10,000 km on the clock.
No Set Plan - Our Aussie Adventurehttp://www.nosetplan.com.au

Offline 6knights

« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2017, 12:44:26 PM »
Very interesting reading as I have a 3 inch beaudesert system sitting in my shed waiting for me to get the time to fit it.

a couple of questions:

what was the performance gain like after fittment

and  is there any tips to undoing the 4 nuts of the back of the turbo without stripping off the bolt or do they undo without any trouble?

Thanks, Trevor
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2017, 01:07:50 PM »
Very interesting reading as I have a 3 inch beaudesert system sitting in my shed waiting for me to get the time to fit it.

a couple of questions:

and  is there any tips to undoing the 4 nuts of the back of the turbo without stripping off the bolt or do they undo without any trouble?

Thanks, Trevor

Start spraying wd40 on them now and every couple of days to let it get into the thread, will save some sore knuckles and lots of new swear words

Offline feisty

« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2017, 02:30:15 PM »
I did it in a mate's workshop. With a lot of good tools. I'd go one step further than GG and suggest one of the Wurth brand sprays or this one from Bunnings at about $25. Give it a few sprays the day before and you shouldn't have too many issues

Feisty

Offline feisty

« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2017, 02:31:55 PM »
Performance increase was great but then I put it on the same time as a steinbauer chip and safari intercooler. Btw the beaudesart system went on like a dream as many others have reported.

« Last Edit: March 15, 2017, 02:33:57 PM by feisty »
Feisty

« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2017, 02:37:54 PM »
Quote from: D4D
x3

Offline feisty

« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2017, 04:11:38 PM »
Ok that was easy. Thanks all. Going to the recyclers tomoz

Feisty

Offline feisty

« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2017, 04:55:11 PM »
Carrying on the theme do I keep the original intercooler?

Feisty

« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2017, 10:05:18 AM »

a couple of questions:

what was the performance gain like after fittment

Thanks, Trevor

On my ZD30CRD Patrol I reckon I gained about 10-20KW. But it did start an issue with boost surge.
A Tillix kit sorted that and then another couple of killerwasps on top. :cup: :cup:
Bonus is a sweet note. I opted for a resonator instead of the full blown muffler.

Very happy with my Beaudesert zorst.  :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2017, 11:19:44 AM »
A mate at work did a lot of work to his Patrol.

1st up, he cut the baffles out of the stock exhaust, then got a 3" system and couldn't give the old system away. I ended up chucking it in the recycling skip for him.

He then went a larger front mounted intercooler, modified air box and a chipped it.

It goes like a cut cat now, not as good as the BT50, but OK ;D, a lot more torque lower in the RPM range than standard. He is still having issues with it and it occasionally throws codes and has to be re-set, so it is a work in progress.

« Reply #19 on: March 16, 2017, 04:45:41 PM »
Until I can afford to get an aftermarket exhaust for the 200, I'm always on the lookout for an original centre muffler  !! But seems most have chucked theirs ??  ;D

Offline 6knights

« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2017, 04:59:38 PM »
Carrying on the theme do I keep the original intercooler?

Anything up front I would be keeping feisty as kangaroos don't mind what they wipe out when you hit one, it could be useful so you can get back on the road again till you get repairs done.

Offline feisty

« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2017, 06:50:50 PM »
Anything up front I would be keeping feisty as kangaroos don't mind what they wipe out when you hit one, it could be useful so you can get back on the road again till you get repairs done.
Good idea. Don't even know where it is so it is staying. 
Although insurance replaces things with new. Just have to keep a sharp eye on my repairer who loves doing a sneaky profit making maneuver or two but that is a for another thread one day. Pays to see the quote I say. Shame it rarely happens in today's world.

Feisty

Offline 6knights

« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2017, 08:49:17 PM »

Performance increase was great but then I put it on the same time as a steinbauer chip and safari intercooler. Btw the beaudesart system went on like a dream as many others have reported.

Where did you get your intercooler from feisty, and was it very hard or fiddly to fit it?

Offline feisty

« Reply #23 on: March 18, 2017, 04:34:11 PM »
Where did you get your intercooler from feisty, and was it very hard or fiddly to fit it?
I had Darren at autocraft in geelong get one for me. Apparently safari only do two batches a year.
I also had him fit it cos I'm lazy.
He did it in an hour. Looked pretty easy. Horns had to be relocated.  It's a fair bit noisier than standard though.

Feisty