Author Topic: patrol Vs 76 series  (Read 19469 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
patrol Vs 76 series
« on: February 08, 2011, 07:32:04 PM »
Ok If this is possible .

I am thinking of a new car and the list is pretty narrow I only want to spen $55K and the 2 options are the patrol and the 76 series.

The mrs likes the patrol and I must admit I have not looked at one since selling my series 2 in 2005 . But was impressed at the level of included items .
and a ripper price too at 50K . BUT ..the small engine size worries me and the clutches are a know problkem in all nissans .(IMHO)

The 76 series which is my dream tourer is not alot of bang for your buck in terms of included equipment but does have a nice big diesal.

I am not sure which is best and would like some opinions .

Jetcrew ???
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Re: patrol Vs 76 series
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2011, 07:34:45 PM »
If the 4.2TDi Patrol was still available it would be my choice, since it isn't the 76 series would win hands down and if I had to replace my 2006 4.2TDi Patrol the 76 Series would be my first pick without question.........Just don't tell anyone I want a Toyota ;D

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2011, 07:48:48 PM »
« Last Edit: February 08, 2011, 08:51:33 PM by Gunna Do »

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2011, 07:57:11 PM »
From a financial perspective, the Toyota is going to retain it's value far better than the Patrol.

I couldn't bring myself to buy a Patrol now, a new car that is already 10 (20?) years old. On the other hand, the 76 ain't exactly the latest design either, though it does strike me as the perfect basis to build a tourer on. Bar work, 35's, yummy.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2011, 07:59:22 PM »
I have driven both of the vehicals and yes the 76 is basic and I think would be a little uncomfortable without new front seats which I would replace in due corse.

I know that for 50k you should not have to repklace seats but nor should you have to replace clutches either. The v8 is a new engine whereas the 3.0 is still the same 10 year old one .

The simplicity of the 76 makes me think that is not going to date as quickley if that makes sense .I still get into 75 series utes and love em. Maybe its just nostalgia but new style cars seem to date very quickley.

I am thinking long term here so am worried about the patrol in relation to reliability. Niether car stands out more than the other and It's a very hard decision . At this rate I'll end up with a landrover LOL :D

Jetcrew :D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline billyo

« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2011, 08:36:26 PM »

Go the 76. You know you want the V8

« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2011, 08:45:30 PM »
Jetcrew, take a 76 Series for a test drive to get some idea of what they are like.  Whilst that big V8 engine is lovely, the rest of the vehicle is about as modern as my old 60 Series,

Bit your tongue  >:(  ;D

« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2011, 08:50:40 PM »
Bit your tongue  >:(  ;D

No offense meant jk, as I loved my 60, probably about as much as you do yours.

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2011, 08:51:48 PM »
At this rate I'll end up with a landrover LOL :D

I'd add the defender into the list of possible choices. If I had to get a new 4wd then I'd only be looking at a solid axle diesel, which for the moment only leaves you with 4 choices, Patrol, Jeep Wrangler 4 door, 76 Cruiser and the Defender. How long the patrol will stay on the list due to solid axles who knows ;D

« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2011, 08:54:43 PM »
None taken  :cheers:  ;D

Offline Captain

• My Cruiser & AORC Quantum
    • My online pics
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2011, 09:06:09 PM »
Hi Jetcrew,

I had a similair decision to make back in 2008 and previously owning a '03 GU3.0TD and prior to that an 80 series 1HZ, I have an idea of these vehicles. I was originally VERY interested in the 76 series and had my heart set on it. However, its total lack of safety features like ABS and multiple airbags was simply unacceptable in this era (now has driver and passenger airbag in post ~2009 models). If you have ever had ABS save family members, you will not be complacent about ensuring your vehicle has it.

Apart from the lack of safety, it is really much smaller than I thought, its not a 4 door troopie and is more in line with a Prado size. It does have the V8 diesel, but not the twin turbo, but its still a great engine IMHO. While its has the traditional live axles, it also is a mixed bag in that it has a modern engine - it will never run without a working battery like my 1HZ could.

I looked at buying another GU but have sworn off owning any Nissan due to their warranty support. I had the dual mass flywheel (clutch) issue only 5,000km out of warranty and it took consumer affairs to get involved before they coughed up ~40% towards a new one. And given a few other issues with Nissan Australia, I will never let my shadow darken their door again.

So now I was down to the Prado and was nearly about to sign on the dotted line. But their was this 200 series TTD V8 demo sitting there so I decide to go for a test drive. One word of caution DON"T!!! After driving a TTD there is no way i could buy a new Prado knowing what 650Nm of torque feels like. 

Fitted with KDSS a stock 200 has MORE wheel travel than a 2" lifted Patrol, don't let the IFS put you off. One reason I bought the GU over a 100 series TD was due to IFS and back then it was probably a good decision, but now KDSS has changed the equation.

Yes, a second hand 200 TTD would still be pushing your budget, but compared to what else is in the market, it was a no brainer for me and one that I have never regretted for a moment.

Captain
My GXL TTD 200 Landcruiser and AORC Quantum loaded with Kayaks and bikes (my Camprite now sold )

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2011, 09:06:53 PM »
Go the 76. You know you want the V8

so we will order 2 and get a discount hey. :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2011, 09:13:13 PM »
go the 76.  I have heard of too many people having too many problems with Nissan, and you can almost, IMHO, guarantee the tojo will still be kicking over first go in 500 000 ks, where as the nissan......

Offline RebsWA

« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2011, 09:15:38 PM »
Ok If this is possible .

I am thinking of a new car and the list is pretty narrow I only want to spen $55K and the 2 options are the patrol and the 76 series.

Jetcrew ???

Just curious where you are going to get a new 76 series for $55k?
You don't stop laughing because you grow old
You grow old because you stop laughing

2006 TD LandCruiser Troopy LX  -  2015 Jayco Starcraft Outback (a Caravan...)

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2011, 09:16:14 PM »
I've just been through this process. I wanted to update our GU, get something newer etc etc. I was pretty set on the 76 until I drove one. Very disappointing, went well - infact the engine is superb but that's where it ends. Leaf springs, lacking interior, less space, average offroad performance.

We are now keeping the GU, as there is little choice for a solid axle tourer. I am looking to update my daily drive, something stupidly quick and handles - that's 50K - plenty to choose from...

Good luck with your decision.

Offline markymark

• everyone seems normal until you get to know them
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2011, 10:01:04 PM »
If Nissan were to follow Toyota's path they would bring back the GQ Patrol, stick a new V8 diesel in it, leave the rest unchanged and then charge 60 grand for it...isn't that what Toyota have done with the 76? People would laugh at the price being charged yet Toyota get away with it. Better again, imagine a GU with a V8 like the 76's - they would sell like hotcakes. Coil springs, strong drivetrain, dual tanks, modern stuff with safety...people would happily pay 60 for that!

In reality, because they are going to run the GU alongside the new Patrol, the GU might score a detuned version of the Renault V6 turbo diesel, similiar to what they have done with the D22 and D40 Navara's.
Trak Shak, FJ Cruiser

« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2011, 04:58:57 AM »
Go the V8 option because it's what you really want.................go on admit it ( proof is below )  ;D , caught in the act of getting drool on a V8 diesel  ;D

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2011, 08:41:06 AM »
Mate go the Patrol! You know you miss your old one.

We have had no problems with ours and they are a very capable truck standard.

Daz

Offline schmik

« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2011, 08:59:30 AM »
I thought the latest 70 series wagons got airbags and abs?

mike

« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2011, 09:55:44 AM »
If the 76 had an automatic, I would save money and buy it.

On our trip to Cape Arid there were 2 76 series.
I did use the word "basic" to them, which is true, but that car is brilliant.
It tows effortless. Everytime when we checked our fuel, they said: "Mmm still half full. What about you?""grrrrrrr"
In soft sand with camper trailer it did 1500 rpm while I had 2500.
It is a very strong car and brilliant off road. But no automatic.

Offline torsion

« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2011, 12:10:00 PM »
BIG V8 diesel. 

« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2011, 12:27:36 PM »
If the 76 had an automatic, I would save money and buy it.

Same, would have never bough an auto 15 years ago but now I was disappointed when I went and had a look at the GXL 76 and found it did not come in an auto.  If they would upgrade to coils all round and an auto I reckon it would be pretty close to the perfect tourer.  They look real nice all decked out with lift, barwork, snorkel, winch ans roof rack,

« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2011, 01:01:00 PM »
It has the same engine as the 200 series which has an automatic paired to it.
See no reason why they can't do the same for the 76 series.
That with the factory fitted front and rear lockers............... :cup:

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #23 on: February 09, 2011, 01:17:31 PM »
Update,

Nissan are doing a deal on a new patrol and with a decent trade in on my old girl. But I still can't seem to bring myself to do it for some reason . The bitter taste in my mouth from previous dealing with nissan are still there and I am wondering if a new model is just around the corner given thier keeness to move stock.It drive s fine without a load but I'm not to keen on possible towing power from the CRD 3.0 (maybe an owner could comment)

Toyota are not as keen to deal which is typical when there is a 16 week wait on new car. Which would give me zero prep time for cape trip.

I am leaning towards waiting till after cape trip this year and seeing whats out there then as I don't want to make the wrong decision and we all know that once you drive out the lot your dollars are always going down.

I can see why so many struggle to make a decision. You would think that with limited chocies that it would be easier but it just makes you wonder if any of them are worth it. or if the old faithfull in the driveway is better kept and throw a few $$$ at her.

Jetcrew ???
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline 95cruza

« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2011, 01:38:58 PM »
Jetcrew,

I don't envy your decision - we are waiting on a new camper and once that's paid for - the missus wants to upgrade from the 80 series to a new D/C Hilux and even though I'm not even close to having the decide it's killing me - the old 80 has most things we want on it and does everything we need albeit a bit slow as it's a 1hz (reliable) and we own it - against massive money outlay - but new/more comfortable/safety features/will get an auto if do it/Dual Cab versatility/better economy - I just don't know either!!

On your problem - I drive the new troopies and 1 one of the GLX 76 series - it is a sweet engine and hard to go passed if your looking for a wagon.

Good luck

Cheers Phil & Wendy
2013 Hilux D/C & 2013 Ultimate XTRK
Have fun, your here for a good time not a long time.