General => General Discussion => Topic started by: KeithB on February 07, 2020, 05:01:05 PM

Title: Driving to the conditions
Post by: KeithB on February 07, 2020, 05:01:05 PM
We just drove back to Sydney from Gosford in heavy rain with a lot of water and traffic on the road. I sat in the left lane at 80-90 kph which was the maximum that the limited visibility would allow. But cars were screaming past us at the posted speed limit of 110 kph, many with no lights on.

Just as I said to Denise that I thought an accident was inevitable, we came around a bend to see flashing red and blue lights on the shoulder lane with a van upside down about six metres off the road. It looked like nobody was hurt.

From then on, the traffic all slowed by alt least 20 kph. Why can't people drive to the conditions?

Keith
Title: Re: Driving to the conditions
Post by: Hairs on February 07, 2020, 05:21:52 PM
We just drove back to Sydney from Gosford in heavy rain with a lot of water and traffic on the road. I sat in the left lane at 80-90 kph which was the maximum that the limited visibility would allow. But cars were screaming past us at the posted speed limit of 110 kph, many with no lights on.

Just as I said to Denise that I thought an accident was inevitable, we came around a bend to see flashing red and blue lights on the shoulder lane with a van upside down about six metres off the road. It looked like nobody was hurt.

From then on, the traffic all slowed by alt least 20 kph. Why can't people drive to the conditions?

Keith
Keith,
People have become Sheep.
I travel up to 200km locally most days, sure not a lot of Km's in the scheme of things compared to professional drives, but the Shit I see does my head in

:(
Post by: Bird on February 07, 2020, 06:31:20 PM
Quote from: KeithB
many with no lights on.

thats the one that blows my mind... night / wet / pissin down / etc .... no lights on their black/dark cars..... ??? ???   why... saving power?
Post by: gronk on February 07, 2020, 06:56:40 PM
Normally I'd sit on 130 if I was allowed......even in the rain......but when it gets heavy and there is water on the road I'll be back down to 80.
A lot of the drivers don't understand what aquaplaning means let alone experienced it ? Can be scary, even at 80.

Went down to Sydney one morning on the M1 in winter....peak hour....fog......couldn't see a thing...sitting on 80, people flying past......was more scared someone would run up my arse !!
Post by: Hairs on February 07, 2020, 07:18:45 PM
Most people couldn't' drive a greasy stick up a Pigs arse.
Post by: Foo on February 07, 2020, 07:46:37 PM
thats the one that blows my mind... night / wet / pissin down / etc .... no lights on their black/dark cars..... ??? ???   why... saving power?

Don't forget the fog when you can only see 50mtrs in front of you!  >:(

Post by: Foo on February 07, 2020, 07:51:25 PM
Keith,
People have become Sheep.
I travel up to 200km locally most days, sure not a lot of Km's in the scheme of things compared to professional drives, but the Shit I see does my head in

:(

I do 900-1200klms a day in all types of weather and it is a head fork from my point of view and don't start me on the f-wits that take away even more breaking space in the wet. 65tns of B-double sliding towards you with one trailer one side the other on the other side is not sompin you want bearing down on you!!!  >:D

Post by: MarkGU on February 07, 2020, 08:03:35 PM
I do 900-1200klms a day in all types of weather and it is a head fork from my point of view and don't start me on the f-wits that take away even more breaking space in the wet. 65tns of B-double sliding towards you with one trailer one side the other on the other side is not sompin you want bearing down on you!!!  >:D

Im in the same vehicle you drive Foo.Cant believe that car drivers think we can stop in the same breaking distance as they can  >:(
Post by: KathyL on February 07, 2020, 08:28:34 PM
... many with no lights on.
In many states in the USA it is a legal requirement to have the headlights when if the wipers are being used - wish it was the same here because at least it would get people thinking about being safer on wet roads ...
Post by: xcvator on February 07, 2020, 09:31:51 PM
On a lot of European cars the lights come on when you turn on the ignition and don't go off untill you turn the ignition off
Post by: Moxley on February 08, 2020, 12:13:13 AM
Some people don’t know how to drive to conditions, but most do. Most people slow down.

Post by: #jonesy on February 08, 2020, 06:52:01 AM
Or the ones that don't turn on their headlights, but only the park lights.
Post by: rags on February 08, 2020, 07:39:06 AM
On a lot of European cars the lights come on when you turn on the ignition and don't go off untill you turn the ignition off

As does my base model GX Prado
Post by: Bird on February 08, 2020, 02:14:55 PM
yea but most of those euro cars have turn signals that never work too :P
Post by: alnjan on February 08, 2020, 02:49:16 PM
yea but most of those euro cars have turn signals that never work too :P
yeah but there on the wrong bloody side.  go to indicate and the wipers go on or you indicate and the wipers don't move.
Post by: rockrat on February 08, 2020, 06:00:23 PM
Couple of lucky people here, but also shows how much people rely on others to keep them safe. Apparently because there was no road closed sign they assumed it would be safe!

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/flood-warnings-in-nsw-as-rain-buckets-down/news-story/19d56bfdb84bc43166f3cc743549a7ab

Post by: Bigfish on February 08, 2020, 06:20:44 PM
Couple of lucky people here, but also shows how much people rely on others to keep them safe. Apparently because there was no road closed sign they assumed it would be safe!

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/flood-warnings-in-nsw-as-rain-buckets-down/news-story/19d56bfdb84bc43166f3cc743549a7ab

And later on it shows the brain dead twats driving between the road closed signs.  Pity the twats that do this aren,t swept off and drown....maybe, just maybe, a few more idiots drowning might get the message through..
Post by: gronk on February 08, 2020, 06:25:57 PM

TRAPPED in floodwaters ....fair dinkum....why do we breed really dumb people. ?
Even in a 4wd ( 4wd means it's a bit higher than a car ), you never drive thru floodwater unless you are sure how deep it is....or you see some other schmuck go thru and figure it's OK ...
Post by: MarkGU on February 08, 2020, 08:54:16 PM
Water near Manila nsw. Water flowing into lake Keepit dam  :cup:

https://www.facebook.com/adam.memorey/videos/3136325126397287/UzpfSTEwMDAwMDE4MDc2Njg5ODozMzAyNzcwNjc5NzM4OTI1/ (https://www.facebook.com/adam.memorey/videos/3136325126397287/UzpfSTEwMDAwMDE4MDc2Njg5ODozMzAyNzcwNjc5NzM4OTI1/)
Post by: Fizzie on February 09, 2020, 08:05:41 AM
And later on it shows the brain dead twats driving between the road closed signs.

Yep, Brissie news last night showed some idiot drive up to the road closed signs, pause, then drive around them & continue on down the road ::)

& they were only in some little toy car, not a fourbie >:D
Post by: KathyL on February 09, 2020, 03:22:53 PM
Amazing to see soooooo many drivers in completely fogged up vehicles driving through torrential rain on the M1 today - given that most vehicles have air-conditioning it is frustrating that they think the air-conditioner is only for cooling their vehicle and don't know about using it with a little bit of heat to defog the windows ...

On days like today maybe the overhead message signs could also be used to suggest people turn on the aircon with a little bit of heat to defog windows ...
Post by: Paddler Ed on February 09, 2020, 03:31:12 PM
Amazing to see soooooo many drivers in completely fogged up vehicles driving through torrential rain on the M1 today - given that most vehicles have air-conditioning it is frustrating that they think the air-conditioner is only for cooling their vehicle and don't know about using it with a little bit of heat to defog the windows ...

On days like today maybe the overhead message signs could also be used to suggest people turn on the aircon with a little bit of heat to defog windows ...

I think it's actually people running with recirculate button on instead of having fresh air...

We plodded back up the New England Highway today at between 90 and 100 quite happily - had a bit of rain, but not too bad and the 80 doesn't seem to notice the camper on the back which is nice...
Post by: Fizzie on February 09, 2020, 05:01:25 PM
Talking about how easily things can be moved by water.

Just saw this about floodwater coming down the Condamine River

https://www.facebook.com/495024250534471/videos/vb.495024250534471/121088879286291/ (https://www.facebook.com/495024250534471/videos/vb.495024250534471/121088879286291/)

Have a look at the tyre lying in the creek bed at ~1 minute mark.

We all know how heavy & awkward tyres are, but see how little water it takes to move one :o

Sorry for those who don't FacePlant.
Post by: Hairs on February 09, 2020, 06:38:43 PM
If you know this dick,
Let them know they have become a Facebook sensation.
https://m.facebook.com/1618685488/posts/10220313770907259/?notif_id=1581236656665602&notif_t=share_wall_create&ref=notif&sfnsn=mo
Going out of their way to spray people with flood water.
Well done dickhead.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200209/d226f8536ef37b43e07cf9df9c13fb86.jpg)
Post by: rockrat on February 09, 2020, 08:08:01 PM
If you know this dick,
https://m.facebook.com/1618685488/posts/10220313770907259/?notif_id=1581236656665602&notif_t=share_wall_create&ref=notif&sfnsn=mo
Going out of their way to spray people with flood water.
Well done dickhead.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200209/d226f8536ef37b43e07cf9df9c13fb86.jpg)
Might put a dent in sales if it's a company vehicle.
Post by: Hairs on February 09, 2020, 08:31:39 PM
What I've read online,
There has been some nasty Shit that has gone their way.
Yes, there should be some flack, but the death threats and other crap doesn't need to be posted.
Whether it be an employee, the owner, they acted like a dick.
Karma will do her thing.
Post by: xcvator on February 09, 2020, 08:35:08 PM
I couldn't see any death threats, and from posts that people have screen shots of deleted posts it would appear to be the owner, but it's certainly a prick act   >:( >:(
Post by: Hairs on February 09, 2020, 08:40:56 PM
I couldn't see any death threats, and from posts that people have screen shots of deleted posts it would appear to be the owner, but it's certainly a prick act   >:( >:(
A lot of earlier posts have been deleted.
Hmmm

Post by: edz on February 09, 2020, 10:22:37 PM
Just watched that vid .. What a ****N WANKER ..
Two tow trucks loaded with  three jacked up Nissan patrols that had obviously been out playing in the wet around here and came  to grief, went past work headed to the mechanical shops ..
Post by: shakey55 on February 10, 2020, 05:45:34 AM

https://www.facebook.com/495024250534471/videos/vb.495024250534471/121088879286291/ (https://www.facebook.com/495024250534471/videos/vb.495024250534471/121088879286291/)

We all know how heavy & awkward tyres are, but see how little water it takes to move one :o

How good is that, watching water flow down a river that has not had water in it for some time.  Cool

Post by: Spada on February 10, 2020, 07:05:41 AM

Thats a pretty cool video. But when I saw the big pipes down the bank, all I could imagine was some water harvester wondering how long till they can suck it dry again  >:D
Post by: Fizzie on February 10, 2020, 07:20:38 AM
Yep, great to see it fill so quickly ;D

Must have been a big dump of rain somewhere!

Was wondering what the straight lines were ???
Post by: Fizzie on February 10, 2020, 07:21:36 AM

Apparently now removed, or at least "Not Found"
Post by: Hairs on February 10, 2020, 07:30:22 AM
Apparently now removed, or at least "Not Found"
It was bound to be removed.
Post by: Pete79 on February 10, 2020, 12:26:48 PM
Meanwhile things in Tempe are reportedly “fully sick” at the moment.
Drivers are apparently following the advise of the locals and have been more then happy to “send it” whenever instructed. ;D ;D

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200210/9d613fe2fa257ff7a2b1362b4c30f77c.jpg)

https://au.news.yahoo.com/nsw-weather-sydney-floods-as-state-sees-most-rain-22-years-092656577.html (https://au.news.yahoo.com/nsw-weather-sydney-floods-as-state-sees-most-rain-22-years-092656577.html)
Post by: doc evil on February 10, 2020, 09:23:56 PM
Not just the bogans........

https://www.facebook.com/111416688885713/posts/2509847899042568/ (https://www.facebook.com/111416688885713/posts/2509847899042568/)
Post by: bmwfreak on February 11, 2020, 08:14:36 AM
Note the Winnebago style vehicle also going past in the background 😳
Post by: Foo on February 11, 2020, 02:35:16 PM
Plowed into flood waters last night in the B-double. Had a wall of water higher than the cab go over me.

By the time I figured out that it was water over the road at the bottom of the hill, it was to late. I can tell ya, me bumbhole had a death grip on the seat.

Hit it at 80kmh and even though it was only 18" deep, it had a good flow and slowed the truck real fast.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Post by: chester ver2.0 on February 12, 2020, 08:24:36 AM
Plowed into flood waters last night in the B-double. Had a wall of water higher than the cab go over me.

By the time I figured out that it was water over the road at the bottom of the hill, it was to late. I can tell ya, me bumbhole had a death grip on the seat.

Hit it at 80kmh and even though it was only 18" deep, it had a good flow and slowed the truck real fast.

Quit you moaning you just got out of having to take it to the wash pad when you get back to the depot  ;D
Post by: Bird on February 12, 2020, 08:32:31 AM
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/6626275/did-this-driver-make-it/?cs=1507 (https://www.theleader.com.au/story/6626275/did-this-driver-make-it/?cs=1507)

Sutherland Shire SES is appealing for public assistance to find out whether a motorist who drove across Audley Weir causeway at the height of Sunday's deluge is safe.

A camera at the site captured the vehicle in two metre deep water at 5.38pm.

"Okay, so we need your help please!," the SES said in a Facebook post.

"On Sunday afternoon a 4WD was spotted entering a flooded Audley Weir.

"We have exhausted every avenue to make sure the person in this photo is OK.

"We have no intention of trying to get whoever this is in trouble, we just want to know that they are OK and got out alive.

"The water was 2m deep per the flood gauge when this, and other images where taken.

(https://nnimgt-a.akamaihd.net/transform/v1/crop/frm/m9vLL79wG9rkYqcLgNT6gJ/148344b3-aea8-4d50-9d19-0b59da5d60a9.jpg/r59_92_771_537_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg)
Post by: Pottsy on February 12, 2020, 08:55:01 AM
When will these idiots learn. How do these clowns get on for insurance, if you dry thru floodwaters
your insurance should be null and void.
Post by: Foo on February 12, 2020, 09:27:24 AM
Quit you moaning you just got out of having to take it to the wash pad when you get back to the depot  ;D

Post by: Bird on February 13, 2020, 10:57:50 AM
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/6626275/did-this-driver-make-it/?cs=1507 (https://www.theleader.com.au/story/6626275/did-this-driver-make-it/?cs=1507)

Sutherland Shire SES is appealing for public assistance to find out whether a motorist who drove across Audley Weir causeway at the height of Sunday's deluge is safe.

A camera at the site captured the vehicle in two metre deep water at 5.38pm.

"Okay, so we need your help please!," the SES said in a Facebook post.

"On Sunday afternoon a 4WD was spotted entering a flooded Audley Weir.

"We have exhausted every avenue to make sure the person in this photo is OK.

"We have no intention of trying to get whoever this is in trouble, we just want to know that they are OK and got out alive.

"The water was 2m deep per the flood gauge when this, and other images where taken.

(https://nnimgt-a.akamaihd.net/transform/v1/crop/frm/m9vLL79wG9rkYqcLgNT6gJ/148344b3-aea8-4d50-9d19-0b59da5d60a9.jpg/r59_92_771_537_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg)

A 4WD, which tried to cross flooded Audley Weir at the height of Sunday's deluge, managed to reverse to safety.

"They made it out," Sutherland Shire SES said in a Facebook post update.

"We have just received footage proving that the vehicle managed to reverse out.

"This driver was incredibly lucky, if the vehicle did go any further it would have been pushed off the road by the force of the water and the occupants would have likely not survived.

"The NSW SES has completed over 250 Flood / Swift Water Rescues due to the rainfall over the weekend, the vast majority for people like this who drove into floodwater."
Post by: Bird on February 13, 2020, 03:22:17 PM
Watch as the floodwaters roll into the dry Bega River.

The Brogo Dam is now full and spilling over, after the dam was at 10% capacity a few days ago.

This video is slightly sped up, but you get a sense of how quickly the water was moving.

https://www.facebook.com/abcsoutheastnsw/videos/2530518980548535/ (https://www.facebook.com/abcsoutheastnsw/videos/2530518980548535/)
Post by: Pottsy on February 13, 2020, 04:40:51 PM
Nice to see. :D
Post by: edz on February 13, 2020, 05:36:04 PM
And thats why you dont camp in dry river beds ..  ;D
Post by: Pete79 on February 13, 2020, 06:01:12 PM
And thats why you dont camp in dry river beds ..  ;D
Lol. Like those yanks that did Survivor on the mighty Herbert River all those years ago.... ;D

https://youtu.be/hT3jwG9_iNI (https://youtu.be/hT3jwG9_iNI)

I remember watching them build that camp, pissing myself laughing at the stupidity...

That and when they where sitting in the water complaining that there was no fish in the river. Then as they’re talking the cameraman goes under water and pans to the side, literally half a meter away from them is a nice big sooty grunter... ;D
Post by: Fizzie on February 14, 2020, 08:53:19 AM
Watch as the floodwaters roll into the dry Bega River.

Yep, great to see another River fill :cup:

But ...

~35 seconds through the clip, the camera pans across to the right & there are 2 little kids, 50m away from everybody else, right at the edge of the water ::)

All it takes is for one of those kids to slip, & by the time anybody got there, he'd be 10 m's away, somewhere under 1/2m of fast-flowing liquid mud :'(

C'mon parents - yeah, it's exciting but how about thinking at the same time ??? >:(
Post by: edz on February 15, 2020, 11:36:41 AM
V6 petrol by the sound ofit and drives to the conditions just fine ...must have one hell of a water proofing / rust proofing job done to it ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qykdV_bi8Rw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qykdV_bi8Rw)  ;D ;D
Post by: Foo on February 15, 2020, 02:00:39 PM
What an idiot!  ::)

Post by: Squalo on February 20, 2020, 01:07:39 AM
If you know your vehicle well and it has good tyres, and you're a competent driver - there is often no need to drop to the speed that people who don't tick those boxes have to travel at in rain.

Post by: #jonesy on February 21, 2020, 07:15:53 AM
You are pretty much right, but still need to adjust a bit. Wet roads should change the way you driven but not by half.

If the road is wet the coefficient of friction is reduced  (less grippy). Braking distances are increased and corner speeds reduced.

So if you loose it on a bend or lock up you were going too hard. Aquaplaning is very rare. 
Post by: edz on February 21, 2020, 11:13:10 AM
[quote ]
 competent driver

The most critical component in the whole deal ...   Most are just very average Steerer's ... .
Post by: Hairs on February 22, 2020, 07:24:18 PM
See my post in the Daily Rant.
Why do people think they can tailgate when it is pissin down, visibility 0?
Dash Cam Australia, people to it when it is dry, what hope have they when it's wet.
The road is a scary place.
I followed  a P plater the other day,  sat four or more car lengths back, I got the impression they were not real confident.
Yet dickheads over took me, tailgated them(P plater), over took and cut infront on double white lines.