Author Topic: Buying meat in Bulk  (Read 13560 times)

Buying meat in Bulk
« on: August 26, 2016, 09:22:03 PM »
Found this place while lookin for Jerky

http://www.lemahpark.com.au/what_you_get/
Out Macedon way, free delivery, and money goes to farmer not Coles/woolies

thoughts...

Re: Buying meat in Bulk
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2016, 09:56:06 PM »
Good find Bruce, you interested in  going halves in a side when I get home ?

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2016, 08:12:16 AM »
I now get my beef from these guy's
http://www.ourfarmtoyourplate.com.au
From what Im hearing meat prices are set to roar
As more and more Aussie beef and lamb goes overseas
We're left with a shortage and pay more for it
Aussie farms for Aussies are dying in the ass
Support them now if you can

Adam
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2016, 10:48:53 AM »
Quote from: xcvator
Good find Bruce, you interested in  going halves in a side when I get home ?
quite possibly

« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2016, 11:10:01 AM »
Missus had been buying the bulk meat packs from Costco. Locally sourced meat and it is actually pretty good. Not as good as your local butcher but better than the duopoly.

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2016, 04:23:28 PM »
I've been having some great results with Aldi meat.
Home grown, but not sure how much they screw the farmers down though.
Hopefully not too much......

Prices are great and meat is good too.

Offline below sea level

« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2016, 05:49:14 PM »
I've been buying my meat from local farmers for a couple of years now. It's stupid how much cheaper it is.

It helps to have an extra freezer in the garage when you buy half a cow at a time!

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2016, 06:09:40 PM »
I've been buying my meat from local farmers for a couple of years now. It's stupid how much cheaper it is.

It helps to have an extra freezer in the garage when you buy half a cow at a time!
We do the same with our local farmer.
The just split the meat in meal portions, run it through the vacuum sealer and into the freezer.
Usually get about a month to 6 weeks before we need to replenish...
« Last Edit: August 27, 2016, 06:11:35 PM by Bill »
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Champin

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2016, 06:30:25 PM »
I went quaters in a beast from my bosses farm a few years back and we got a butcher to cut it up for us. Worked out super cheap. I've heard of people going to stock markets and buying a cow or what ever and giving it straight to the butcher to do the deed. Great way to do it if you have enough freezer space. I ended up giving a fair bit of my quater to family as I didn't realise just how much meat there was. We also were given the choise between sausages or mince and rolled roasts etc.
 I'd say go for it Bird,

Offline cruiser 91

« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2016, 07:06:01 AM »
SA Foodland meat prices. South of Adelaide.

Chuck & Gravy beef, Mince all $15.99 per kilo.........I mean really? Chuck & Gravy @ $16. I remember late 1980's real Mince 99c kilo with fat. Where's the fat today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you can't get it!!!!!!!!! Todays premium mince is the pits!
12 months ago mince was 2kilo for $8.00
Rump $19.99 12 months ago $8.00 per kilo
T Bone $27.99 12 months ago $14.99 per kilo
King Henry $31.99 12 months ago $21.99
Scotch $34.99 12 months ago $24.99

Prices are the same at our local butcher.

Prices have already gone through the roof.

Will not buy from coles, aldi and woolworths out of principle, keep the $$$ in Aus where we can.

A couple of facts............commercial property owners are strangling retailers, electricity prices have skyrocketed, workcover is around 2% of wages, business insurance is also huge and raised every year.     

However, liquor stores are the making a killing, its the business to be in at the moment.

« Last Edit: August 28, 2016, 07:28:54 AM by cruiser 91 »
Hell's Gate, Worlds End, South Australia.

« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2016, 07:29:51 AM »

However, liquor stores are the making a killing, its the business to be in at the moment.

They have always been the business to be in?  When was the last time a liquor chain or independent when belly up?

« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2016, 07:34:22 AM »
Years ago in Cowra I met a retired meat classer. He was looking for a wollies I told him I knew of an Aldi and Coles in town?  He said nope wollies use MSA classed meat. He reckon MSA had a higher standard than that used by others? I gotta say other than the independent we use wollies meats always good. Have since met another farmer who if they don't use there own will buy wollies meat on quality.

« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2016, 09:23:31 AM »
I have had two lots of meat from my boss and at $8kg from his own farm = bargain. ;D Pretty much have always got my meat from real butchers for most of my life. Fork the supermarket meat, they don't sell you the good stuff at all as all the good meat is exported.  ;)

50kg of meat for $400 of grass and grain feed is a lot of bloody goodlyness of tasty meat.  :cup:

« Last Edit: August 28, 2016, 09:25:33 AM by Foo »

« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2016, 10:55:49 AM »
Quote from: Foo
Fork the supermarket meat, they don't sell you the good stuff at all as all the good meat is exported.  ;)
I reckon it would taste better than the grizzle and muscle riddled coles Shit too

50kg of meat for $400 of grass and grain feed is a lot of bloody goodlyness of tasty meat.
do u deliver? :P

Offline Markoutback

• Living the dream
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2016, 08:21:34 PM »
There is a farm gate butcher just out of Yarra Glen which sell the best meat. As you drive up there drive you can see the cows, sheep, goats grazing. Full of flavour and tender beats the local butcher and supermarket hands down.
Ford ranger with a cub camper in tow

Offline fergy

« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2016, 10:10:50 PM »
Had lamb chops Thursday from  a local farmer here, pork chops Friday again from a local farmer here, tonight pulled a pork roast and a bag of lamb cutlets out of the freezer for the missus to cook during the week.
I get my beef from a mate that works at Harvey beef MSA export quality in 20 kg boxes can't beat it

Often get clients at work ask is I want half a beast, only ever had one bad one, wasn't bad meat just that it was meant to be a whole lamb but was more like a three legged alpacca, he still hasn't lived that one down, another good reason to buy local  >:D >:D >:D
1996 Suzuki Sierra    2008 jayco hawk now gone 1978 millard pop top
Iveco daily 4x4
WR450F
The following users thanked this post: davey s

« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2016, 10:30:49 PM »
Years ago in Cowra I met a retired meat classer. He was looking for a wollies I told him I knew of an Aldi and Coles in town?  He said nope wollies use MSA classed meat. He reckon MSA had a higher standard than that used by others? I gotta say other than the independent we use wollies meats always good. Have since met another farmer who if they don't use there own will buy wollies meat on quality.

MSA is an interesting one - I looked at it quite a lot at uni (Masters of Economics with a major in Ag and Resource Economics)

Basically, the consumer relies on signals for quality - we buy a bit on price, we buy a bit on (perceived) quality, we buy to suit a purpose and we buy on the advice of the seller. As the meat market shifted into the supermarket, we no longer had the signal of the butcher telling us what was good and what was not (hence the plethora of premium grade/extra lean/whatever someone will pay more for) so the MSA scheme came up as a result of that, to quote the first of the articles below "the Meat Standards Australia (MSA) voluntary meat grading system which was aimed primarily at providing an accurate prediction of beef eating quality for the domestic market."

Here's some articles on it (written by quite a few of the lecturers I have had) that aren't restricted access - found via Google Scholar:
The aggregate economic benefits to 2007/08 from the adoption of meat standards Australia
Product and branding innovations in the Australian beef marketing system
Current usage and future development of the Meat Standards Australia (MSA) grading system

We currently have some cow coming our way as we've been helping a friend with feeding their slaughter beast this year through the drought with left over bread from the supermarket the wife works at.

« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2016, 09:58:39 AM »
There is a farm gate butcher just out of Yarra Glen which sell the best meat. As you drive up there drive you can see the cows, sheep, goats grazing. Full of flavour and tender beats the local butcher and supermarket hands down.
any info on this one?

Offline listo

« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2016, 10:06:20 AM »
$7.90 a kilo here at the butcher for a side of beef or a full beast. Average weight is 120/240 kg of meat.
Now to see if the owner of the place my olds caretake will sell one & how much for a country kill.

« Reply #19 on: August 29, 2016, 10:27:33 AM »
Another option Wazbot mentioned
http://tarratendercuts.com/

« Reply #20 on: August 29, 2016, 11:22:08 AM »
Bruce, There is a butcher shop Melbourne side of Coldstream on the East side of the Highway.
Bunch of shops set back with a car park.
He deals straight off the farm.  Not sure if it's the one meant by Mark.

« Reply #21 on: August 29, 2016, 11:53:37 AM »
Interesting read on the ABC about cattle prices - so many producers have had to destock, they are now struggling to buy replacement stock (further exaggerating the high prices as no new stock will be bred)

One of the problems with not offering support to the farmers in times of drought is this high price that we have ended up with...

« Reply #22 on: August 29, 2016, 12:11:46 PM »
Quote from: Paddler Ed
Interesting read on the ABC about cattle prices - so many producers have had to destock, they are now struggling to buy replacement stock (further exaggerating the high prices as no new stock will be bred)

One of the problems with not offering support to the farmers in times of drought is this high price that we have ended up with...

That's one of my thoughts, I'd rather the profits go to the people who do the hard work in the first ****in place than the parasites at coles/woolies.

I guess understanding how much meat you get in 20/30etc kg's is one issue..
also be nice to get a mix of beef, pork, lamb etc instead of just one.

theres a few of em round Melbourne
http://bit.ly/2bKteCk

http://beefatthefarmgate.csentinel.com/
http://grassvalefarms.com.au/ WUK WUK! - sounds like 3 stooges meat... LMAO
https://www.farmhousedirect.com.au/blog/general/grass-fed-or-grain-fed-beef
http://www.thefarmersmarket.com.au/
http://www.milawaorganicbeef.com.au/
http://www.braelandsbeef.com.au/
http://www.otwayprime.com.au/
http://www.bannockbrae.com.au/
http://www.lambdirect.com.au/
http://www.bunbarthabeef.com/
http://www.leeuwingrassfedbeef.com.au/
http://www.bulokefarm.com.au/
http://www.wbgbeef.com.au/
http://koallahfarm.com.au/
« Last Edit: August 29, 2016, 01:02:20 PM by Bird »

« Reply #23 on: August 29, 2016, 02:49:39 PM »
This is the one at Coldstream.
http://littlecreekbeef.com/contact

http://www.gatewayestate.com.au/
Just out of Coldstream with a variety of produce too.
Cafe too so you can relax while you sort out what you want.

Another place worth a look.
http://www.yarravalleyfood.com.au/our_members.asp?category=10

« Reply #24 on: August 29, 2016, 03:18:12 PM »
Quote from: Cruiser 105Tvan
This is the one at Coldstream.
http://littlecreekbeef.com/contact

Drop into my old work at the Coldstream Hills Winery while I'm there :)