33 (16.2%)
Medium Well
25 (12.3%)
Well Done
17 (8.3%)
Charcoaled
4 (2%)

Total Members Voted: 202

Author Topic: How do you like your steak cooked?  (Read 17972 times)

How do you like your steak cooked?
« on: November 29, 2010, 09:30:45 AM »
With so many likeing to BBQ up when away camping, just thought it would be interesting to see how we all like our steaks.

Re: How do you like your steak cooked?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 09:45:27 AM »
If you ask my brother how he likes his steak he tells you to put a fence around it to keep it on the plate

Offline Crimso

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 09:52:02 AM »
Medium rare to rare. Definitely don't enjoy a "well done" steak.
Rare, tender, full of flavour & juices.
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/19406-2/Burrum+Camp.jpg

« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2010, 10:25:50 AM »
If you ask my brother how he likes his steak he tells you to put a fence around it to keep it on the plate

Yep, a good vet should be able to get it on it's feet  ;D.

I like mine rare to medium rare, the better the steak the rarer it should be.

Offline blackstump

• ''LIFES TO SHORT TO BE SMALL''
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2010, 10:29:38 AM »
wipe its a$$ and send it through

IS THERE A PROBLEM OFFICER

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2010, 10:49:42 AM »
A minimum of a inch and a quarter thick  , 250-280grm no more than 2 min per side turned only once and "rested"for another min , pink in the middle , to me its not the size of a steak but the quality, now if we're talking Roo fillet its another story  , 30 to 40 seconds a side turned only once ,rested for 1min and then sliced nice and thin ,almost bleeding in the middle , yum yum.

« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2010, 11:22:59 AM »
Why would people want it bleeding?? If I wanted that I'd throw the steak away and eat the blood pad from under it in the tray.

Steak needs to be cooked right thru.

« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2010, 11:24:40 AM »
At least this is better than the coffee thread.. There probably all vegos anyway..

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2010, 11:33:48 AM »
Definately medium rare to medium. With a beer on the side.   :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2010, 11:42:03 AM »
You have to eat Steak tartare once in your life  :-X
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steak_tartare

Offline Fivid

« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2010, 11:42:47 AM »
I chose Blue, but it has to be good meat to have it blue.  I never order a blue steak in a restaurant if I have not eaten there before and know their quality.  Same with buying meat from a butcher, if I know them and their standard then a nice thick steak, basically seared each side with the middle at room (body?) temperature is simply the best way of eating it.  I must admit, I used to think any blood at all was bad but for best flavour blue is certainly the way to go.
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2010, 12:47:29 PM »
You have to eat Steak tartare once in your life  :-X
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steak_tartare

I had that in Germany. A german BBQ would be strange . With no BBQ what do you have to stand around and talk sh*t

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2010, 01:40:36 PM »
Receipe for real Deuchland "gehaktuss'[pardon the spelling,been a long time] ,
 500grm mince, the best you can get with min fat ,
 1 raw egg ,
 fresh ground black pepper to taste'
 pinch of salt,
 3-4 spigs of parsley finely chopped,
 1large onion finely chopped,
 Crack egg into bowl and whisk with fork,  add mince and with very clean hands combine egg and mince, add onion-pepper-salt and parsley and work thru with hands ,
when done chill for for a while in fridge so mix stiffens a bit ,
 spread on a crusty style bread with another slice of onion and a dab of mustard ,  yum yum specially with an icy cold "Becks"

Offline AKB

« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2010, 01:48:11 PM »
Sitella, a local winery in the Swan Valley do the best steak tartare I've ever had.  It's cute though when you place the order the waitress looks and informs you that it's raw.  I can only imagine how many have been sent back.

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2010, 01:49:16 PM »
"gehaktuss'... = sounds like cactus... = what I reckon I'd feel like.  :-X
LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2010, 02:14:18 PM »
Receipe for real Deuchland "gehaktuss'[pardon the spelling,been a long time] ,
 500grm mince, the best you can get with min fat ,
 1 raw egg ,
 fresh ground black pepper to taste'
 pinch of salt,
 3-4 spigs of parsley finely chopped,
 1large onion finely chopped,
 Crack egg into bowl and whisk with fork,  add mince and with very clean hands combine egg and mince, add onion-pepper-salt and parsley and work thru with hands ,
when done chill for for a while in fridge so mix stiffens a bit ,
 spread on a crusty style bread with another slice of onion and a dab of mustard ,  yum yum specially with an icy cold "Becks"

I didnt mind it when i was over there. I might give your recipie go.

If i can convince the fam i will be able to ditch the stove and gas bottle on the camper too

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2010, 03:13:43 PM »
Why would people want it bleeding?? If I wanted that I'd throw the steak away and eat the blood pad from under it in the tray.

Steak needs to be cooked right thru.

i'm on your side, like mine dead.! :cup:

Offline Disco EMU

« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2010, 03:29:51 PM »
"Cut the head and the tail off ... wave it across a candle and put it on the plate"

I love a rare steak or even better black and blue! Burnt on the outside and still kickin' on the inside ... got me salivating just thinking about it.

Craig
Craig
2000 Landrover Discovery Series II TD5
2001 Jayco Finch

Offline Baz

« Reply #18 on: November 29, 2010, 03:40:12 PM »
Got to be deader than a dead thing on a dead day....... ;D

Any trace of the red stuff, and it may as well be still alive.

Baz

« Reply #19 on: November 29, 2010, 03:41:50 PM »

Medium Well.  Not bleedy but still juicy.  Well coloured through out, with no redness to be seen.  Definitely not cremated, and definitely not Moo-ing!

Fussy Kit_e
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 03:44:27 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

Offline chunk

• One life, live it.
« Reply #20 on: November 29, 2010, 04:40:14 PM »
Meat should be eaten cooked, not half cooked, quarter cooked and definitely not still mooing you wouldn't eat half cooked chicken so why would you eat half cooked meat. And yes you can still have a tender juicy well done steak if it is cooked properly.
Current Lifestyle 360.
2004 Land Rover Discovery td5 Classic.
2001 Land Rover Discovery td5.

Gone 1998 Land Rover Discovery 300tdi.
1995 Land Rover Discovery ES 3.9lt  V8.
1994 Land Rover Defender 200 tdi.
1984 Toyota Forerunner 2lt.
1982 Nissan 720 Duel Cab 2.2lt.
1974 Toyota Land Cruiser.

Offline mr_cougar79

• facebook
« Reply #21 on: November 29, 2010, 05:04:48 PM »
I like my steaks medium well,Dont like crunchy steaks and certainly wouldnt be able to stomach blue steak :-(
Name:Matt (VK2ZMT)
2003 HZJ105 GXL 4.2 DTS Turbo Diesel cruiser,2"OME lift,285 Cooper ST Maxx's, .Tough Country Camper (Ex Rental),

« Reply #22 on: November 29, 2010, 06:38:25 PM »
Perhaps this thread should include your favorite type of meat, just like the coffee thread

Here is a link to mine

http://www.churchofeuthanasia.org/e-sermons/butcher.html

Offline GOLDIE

« Reply #23 on: November 29, 2010, 06:48:56 PM »
Medium with either mushroom or pepper gravy. With chips on the side
Cheers, Ryano
Ready to Roll

2010 Goldstream Storm - 2006 Toyota Landcruiser GXL

Offline flamingoose

« Reply #24 on: November 29, 2010, 06:55:05 PM »
Meat should be eaten cooked, not half cooked, quarter cooked and definitely not still mooing you wouldn't eat half cooked chicken so why would you eat half cooked meat. And yes you can still have a tender juicy well done steak if it is cooked properly.

Two totally different beasts mate!

There are no harmful bacteria in beef to upset your stomach.

Chicken and pork however must be well cooked or you will spend the night on the can!