Author Topic: BATHURST 2017  (Read 25006 times)

Re: BATHURST 2017
« Reply #75 on: October 08, 2017, 03:54:06 PM »
Interesting link to the time sheets.
http://www.supercars.com/live-timing/

« Reply #76 on: October 08, 2017, 05:33:29 PM »
And on the biggest day of the year it's a HOLDEN first across the line  8)

« Reply #77 on: October 08, 2017, 05:38:11 PM »
Erebus- Reynolds and Luke Youlden,
Well played.
I have Blue Oval running through my veins, but they did an awesome job.

« Reply #78 on: October 08, 2017, 05:44:36 PM »
Next year you might get a Dongfu Hanzon IE-60 3 stroke  finish first and a couple of Wongton Shitzu's in second and third  ;D ;D

« Reply #79 on: October 08, 2017, 05:49:02 PM »
lf you wrote the story of the last 20 laps & wanted to put it on TV ,,,,,,,you would be thrown out the door ,  The Mountain tells its own story every year , & it just gets better & better     :cup:                 :cheers:

« Reply #80 on: October 08, 2017, 05:55:28 PM »
So very True Jamie.  :cheers:

« Reply #81 on: October 08, 2017, 05:58:16 PM »
Great drive from David and Luke, they stayed out of trouble all day and came out on top at the end.

Anybody know what happened to Larko? He did a piece at the start and at the end and nothing during the race?

« Reply #82 on: October 08, 2017, 06:01:11 PM »
Was he having  :cheers: amounts the crowd on the Hill    ??? :cheers:

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #83 on: October 08, 2017, 06:06:54 PM »
Well done David and Luke. Great drive and team work. So good to see Whincup, Tander, Bright and Mostert not in the hunt. Shame about Scotty. And where was Lowndsey. Non existent all weekend. At least one of my favs got the win.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #84 on: October 08, 2017, 06:08:04 PM »
Things to watch for.....

Rain making the result a lottery
T8 punting the opposition
Ford teams inventing newer and better ways to stuff up

FPR started out well but towards the end the team started to self implode

Gotta give credit to David Renolds  and Luke Youlden , great drive and a well deserved win
« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 06:45:03 PM by duggie »

« Reply #85 on: October 08, 2017, 06:13:22 PM »
Happy for Reynolds and Youlden to win. A couple of very nice blokes.
Luke Youlden drove our FPV GT-E at the FPV drive day.
Opened my eyes....

« Reply #86 on: October 08, 2017, 06:59:35 PM »
                                 F O R D

Found On  Road   Dead    this year at least  .
 Great last 30 laps   ,  harder to pick than a broken nose  :-* :-*   :cheers:

« Reply #87 on: October 08, 2017, 07:03:28 PM »
Wet races are boring....

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #88 on: October 08, 2017, 07:05:14 PM »
Bad luck DJR/Penske...but at least whingcup also had a shocker :)...and the DJR/Penske team is once again leading the championship.
Not sure about Larko as I was watching fox....but there is some conjecture elsewhere that his speech appeared to be strange...and nobody saw him after that...hope he hasn't had a stroke or something :(
Agree...fantastic result for Dave Reynolds.

« Reply #89 on: October 08, 2017, 07:08:09 PM »
Wet Races are boring , well said   ,   but the last 15 laps weren't  . Couldn't have written that in your wildest dreams .
Roll on Bathurst 12 Hour 2018  & 1000 , 2018       :cup:      :cheers:   :cup:

« Reply #90 on: October 08, 2017, 07:27:25 PM »
They have always said the that for the Bathurst race , The last place you want to be at the start is first .

Over the past 20 years only five drivers have won from pole position

« Reply #91 on: October 08, 2017, 08:32:19 PM »
 & then  , there was Next Year  to try & Beat the Mountain   :cup:

« Reply #92 on: October 09, 2017, 07:29:29 AM »
& then  , there was Next Year  to try & Beat the Mountain   :cup:

With what!!!!!!!

Kia's???????
Skoda's???????

how about a Tata just to mix things up........

And
Diesel utes.......WTF

Next will be electric V8 supercars........ ::)

12 hour will become the new proper race!

« Reply #93 on: October 09, 2017, 08:28:48 AM »
Tesla's towing trailers loaded with batteries around the mountain and these being played from the stereo ..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9XAC-BvUyo     Might even be good for those Tata's   
;D ;D

« Reply #94 on: October 09, 2017, 08:55:57 AM »
gotta love the comments on the age
http://www.theage.com.au/sport/motorsport/supercars-holdens-david-reynolds-and-luke-youlden-win-2017-bathurst-1000-20171008-gywpgf.html#comments

'What a joke.. Supercars? Really? Their not and haven’t been since the Nissan gtr’s destroyed them time and time again the stupid old boys club of v8 motor racing, they changed the rules and wrecked the race..
I was going there from 75 and back in the day it was truly “motor sport” from tough stay in the race car drivers who didn’t get multimillion dollar endorsements .. all of them are spoon fed go cart drivers who technically can drive but let’s face it.. they ain’t riding tt on the aisle of man which was Bathurst and used to be..
Holden and ford fans must be so proud that there are no longer any Holden’s or fords produced in this country.. and if anyone had any sense.. Bathurst would revert back to what it used to be .. a all in..'

« Reply #95 on: October 09, 2017, 10:15:42 AM »
I lost it when team members  started carrying the drivers out to the pit bay and standing them on a bit of wet carpet to keep their little race booties dry and would'nt  slip off the pedals " FFS Realy, are they that hopeless  " , "  Dry " they stood them on a bit of wet carpet !.
 Then the drivers  walked around as they changed positions on wet ground to get into the car ? ..
Wont be long before all we get is this beamed to our TV's for 6 hours .     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_6sXKsOx-o

« Reply #96 on: October 09, 2017, 10:45:35 AM »
I lost it when team members  started carrying the drivers out to the pit bay and standing them on a bit of wet carpet to keep their little race booties dry and would'nt  slip off the pedals " FFS Realy, are they that hopeless 

Its more to do with keeping moisture out of a hot cockpit and fogging up the windows but stopping your foot slipping off the brake pedal would be pretty important too.

« Reply #97 on: October 09, 2017, 11:30:21 AM »
The amount of gaps in those body panels tagged onto a roll cage with no door rubbers or seals around the poloycarb windows + the fresh air intakes allowing literaly litres of water into the cabin over the race period, they shouldnt be  worried about a miniscule smear of moisture from a pair of race boots ..
As to slipping off the pedals they mustnt use anti slip material on them any more like we had  too  to pass tech inspection .

Edit :
 Seems they dont  anymore or very minimal     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOjQkAj6r04

« Reply #98 on: October 09, 2017, 11:58:03 AM »
What i dont understand is why you guys waste your time watching it.  I no longer like F1 so i don't watch it. I have been going up the mountain for years and yes it has changed heaps, yes supercars is trying their best to stuff it up, but it is still a race i want to watch. To see first hand Scotties shootout  lap ,  even for a Red supporter, is something i will remember for awhile and i have seen some of the great laps up there. Second largest crowd in history so it still has something goimg for it. 

« Reply #99 on: October 09, 2017, 12:39:21 PM »
Bathurst 1000, Now virtualy the only race I see all year and love it for what it is, Makes you shake your head though with some of the BS   Super cars and  teams do .
As for the roundy roundy lead up races during the year they lost me when they changed to  Super cars around 1999