Author Topic: older toyota landcruiser options  (Read 7591 times)

older toyota landcruiser options
« on: September 29, 2017, 10:59:01 AM »
hi all,

i have been toying with the idea of getting an older vintage toyota landcruiser/prado wagon for camping and 4wding purposes...

mainly choosing landcruiser due to availability of parts, accessories and knowledge...

i am looking for people's suggestions on preferred models, engine type/size, year make, petrol/diesel, etc...

i know this is a slightly loaded question  ;D  but it would be nice to have some real-world opinions as a starting point for my search...

thanks in advance...
« Last Edit: September 29, 2017, 12:24:51 PM by paceman »

Re: older toyota landcruiser options
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2017, 11:12:14 AM »
What style, wagon or 'tilly? What year? My 'tilly is a '93 diesel with after market turbo so, if that's the go, fire away.

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 11:23:30 AM »
What style, wagon or 'tilly? What year? My 'tilly is a '93 diesel with after market turbo so, if that's the go, fire away.

wagon, happy to hear views on year, fuel, etc...

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2017, 08:01:45 PM »

I have a 2000 model 100 series petrol that still only has 186k on the clock. Yes it loves fuel, had to put in a reconditioned motor in it back in 2013 and it had only done 137k back then. It has a few scatches on it from our travels Working remote but it's a great car and will hold onto it for a long time. Originally cost $17k but it's been decked out to what we want and it will hit the Kimberley next year for our 3 month trip.

The following users thanked this post: paceman

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2017, 08:09:24 PM »
I do like the simplicity of the poverty pack white 105 series with the NA 1 HZ.

« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2017, 08:19:12 PM »
I do like the simplicity of the poverty pack white 105 series with the NA 1 HZ.
whilst i don't miss how slow they are, my old 105 series was a very comfy touring vehicle that took us to some awesome parts of Oz  8) 8)
The following users thanked this post: paceman, plusnq

« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2017, 08:22:40 PM »
I have paid out the prado recently and decided against going for a new 200 (or 300 which is to be released next year) or the new prado which comes out in November. I will keep what I have and do what needs to be done over time, which is bugger all really.........for me its really only cosmetic stuff that has worn out, some of the internal plastics etc and I have found that you can get most of those parts really cheap off Aliexpress if you want to replace them. Mines got 115k on it now and still runs quiet and no rattles etc. I have been offered $40k for it but as it owes me only about $15k, after the payout, I'll treat it as such and just keep up the maintenance. Best part is I know the history.

I am going to keep driving it for a year while I decide what I want to buy for a work car, what I am finding as I get a bit older is I really don't give two sh!ts about driving the latest and greatest car anymore. One of my mates who is very very wealthy and in his lates 70's drive a GQ 4.2TD and its immaculate, but gets used for what its meant for. I want to keep mine somewhat like that.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, paceman

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2017, 07:08:06 PM »
The 80 series has always been a favourite landcruiser to me, owned two of them previously. I've not had any of the petrol ones personally, only N/A 1HZ diesels. I've had one standard and one GXL. I personally like the post 95 upgrade as I found the dash shape to be a little more appealing, but theres not a huge difference between them, but the GXL interior is certainly nicer and I much prefer the liftup tailgate compared to the standards barn doors.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2017, 08:01:51 PM »
We've got a 92 GXL turbo diesel (from factory) in the family that I'm looking forward to renovating in the near future

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2017, 12:54:43 AM »
My 80 series in my profile pic will be up for sale within a month. Just had a new paint kpb due to clear coat peeling. It's a 96 Winter Edition petrol auto  eith 235k pn the clock. 33s. 3 inch lift. Xrox bar. Long range tank etc etc.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2017, 01:22:13 PM »
would something like this be OK, on casual inspection?

mainly age, klms, motor etc?

https://www.carsales.com.au/dealer/details/Toyota-Landcruiser-1997/OAG-AD-15123700/?Cr=15

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2017, 01:31:30 PM »
would something like this be OK, on casual inspection?

mainly age, klms, motor etc?

https://www.carsales.com.au/dealer/details/Toyota-Landcruiser-1997/OAG-AD-15123700/?Cr=15
Looks like it's in better nick than our one!

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2017, 01:33:16 PM »
Looks like it's in better nick than our one!

200,000 klms OK for something like this?

any particular klms number to be looking for with this vintage of 80 or 100 series cruiser?

this one seems to be OK as well, turbo diesel with low klms...

https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Toyota-Landcruiser-1993/SSE-AD-4980312/?Cr=37
« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 01:40:45 PM by paceman »

« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2017, 01:44:13 PM »

200,000 klms OK for something like this?

any particular klms number to be looking for with this vintage of 80 or 100 series cruiser?

We've had a '93 1fz-fe in the family for 20 years. It is nearing 450,000 kms and has never had the head off and is still within factory compression tolerances. I would have a mechanical check over it, but those kms would be appealing to me rather than offputting. The only longer lived motor in an 80 is a 1hz. Not may multivalves made 500 km with no work. They all need a fair bit of money spent on them to keep them tip top. 80's need rear wheel bearings every 100 or so when used hard. Expect 19 lph from a manual and 22 odd from the auto - maybe more with the big rubber. multi valve auto diesels were 16+ in auto anyway.

« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2017, 02:04:50 PM »
We have the 90 series Prado 3.4 V6, the engine in them has a great reputation and we have put over 250,000kms on it over the last 10yrs (315,000km now) and the only non-maintenance part we have had to replace was the Aircon compressor. They go for fairly cheap and are more than capable for what most would want to do offroad. I guess it comes down somewhat to what you want to spend but a lowish km one certainly wouldn't be a bad choice.

« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2017, 02:06:30 PM »
We have the 90 series Prado 3.4 V6, the engine in them has a great reputation and we have put over 250,000kms on it over the last 10yrs (315,000km now) and the only non-maintenance part we have had to replace was the Aircon compressor. They go for fairly cheap and are more than capable for what most would want to do offroad. I guess it comes down somewhat to what you want to spend but a lowish km one certainly wouldn't be a bad choice.

prado's are certainly on the list too...

maybe even a sneaky landrover defender at the right price... :)

it's an interesting learning exercise, anyways...

« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2017, 02:13:54 PM »
you gotta go with the ugliest cruiser in history...

« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2017, 02:23:46 PM »
I've used an old HJ78 that was 25 years old at the time with 475,000km on it

We have a mate who has a HDJ80 with 650,000km on it (he did have a HZJ80 as well which he'd +T'd which was also over 600k) and that still gets daily use - in fact his wife uses it in preference to her Triton. Now also being used by his daughter to learn to drive in. He also has a 40 series ute with a 12HT in it as well, and that's his daily driver!

Realistically, I always prefer something with some K's on it over something low K's, as things need replacing often on a time basis (DOT3 fluid is only good for 2 years or 20,000km - but how many people change on the KM's rather than age?) as much as they need to be replaced on KM's. Also when you then start using it more, it protests and breaks things more I'm sure of it...

« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2017, 02:26:25 PM »

Yep, they even came with rust as standard!

The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2017, 02:30:54 PM »

At least they aint as ugly as the FJ Cruiser..  >:D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2017, 03:03:04 PM »
Hi Paceman, Over the years I have owned Six 4WDs two new the others all second hand, but my old 1990 1HZ 80 series is the best 4WD I have owned so far, bought it with 550,000ks on the clock for around $4900 unregistered five years ago, Since then spent another $6000 on it roughly things like front CVs, bearings right around rebuilt back diff and rebuilt the motor, I have done everything myself, Paints rough I will paint it one day. but been great reliable 4wd, , got 680,000ks on it now, Craig     
« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 03:28:57 PM by Craig Tomkinson »

« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2017, 06:25:55 PM »

I'd have one

« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2017, 06:28:52 PM »

If it ugly you are going for, make sure you grab the poo brown version.

« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2017, 07:20:07 PM »

And the rustiest, they were badly designed with water traps.

« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2017, 03:27:04 PM »
thoughts on this?

2006 Toyota Land Cruiser 100
2006 LC 100 4.7l V8 petrol 5sp Auto
250000k with full log books
ARB deluxe bullbar with fog light kit
Safari snokel
ARB roof cage and awning
2 inch Old Man Emu suspension upgrade
3x lightforce spotlights and LED lightbar
Brand new A/T tyres just fitted
New Alternator and battery
New front balljoints, tie rod ends and steer rack ends.
Pioneer bluetooth head unit with phone kit hooked through aerial on bullbar.
GME UHF and aerial
Towbar with electric brakes
Just had full detail
Car is in excellent condition for age and kms serviced every 10000ks with full log books.
Car will come with RWC and 6 months rego.

$25500 ono