Author Topic: New Nissan Patrol Pictures  (Read 22034 times)

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
Re: New Nissan Patrol Pictures
« Reply #25 on: February 16, 2010, 02:44:38 PM »
Well...I don't particularly mind the look although if there ever was a lovechild of a current Pajero and Prado and you fed it Twinkies all day, it would probably look like the new Patrol.

I still reckon the series 3 (and now 4) Discovery is the best looking 4x4 on the market, not because its pretty, but because its practical.  It just looks like it was meant to go off the road.

And while on the subject.....the new All Mode 4x4 is strikingly similar to Land Rovers Terrain Response system.  While the purest in me says these take all the skill out of 4WDing but, if you think about it knowing how these systems work (I'm assuming the Nissan system is similar to LR's) they actually make 4WD more enjoyable as well as safer.  LR's system, while enabling the vehicle to go much further than the average driver would be able to, it has enough in it to ensure if you do get stuck, there are options to get out of trouble.  Things like leaving an extra cm in suspension height adjustment so you can back off a rock that you've become hung up on.  It also adjusts braking, throttle response, stability and traction control to suit the terrain your traversing.  

I think its great that manufacturers are actually using all this new technology to make 4WDs safer as well as more capable.  I just wish I had $90k to buy one.  So like many others here, I have what must be one of the last of the traditional 4WDs and it will have to serve me many years unless I win Tatts or something. ;D

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #26 on: February 16, 2010, 02:49:33 PM »
A change to IFS is one issue, but adding IRS is a significant other...

Looks aside, they either grow on your or don't.

I bumped into a new Disco owner a little while back when crossing the desert. For three days we towed the poor thing over dune after dune. The suspension was obviously too soft for task (as to be expected of any ladden 4wd with factory springs really - so I'm not having a go at the Disco there) but the issue with IRS as I saw it: When the vehicle bottoms out at the base (etc) on a dune, the belly would dive into the sand wash of the momentum. It was painful. Whereas live axle rear, you don't have the low slung lower wishbone mount in the centre.

Just an observation.

« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 03:11:00 PM by DANBRI »

Offline GSK33

• Tent
« Reply #27 on: February 16, 2010, 02:59:52 PM »
7 speed Auto, cool ;D

Offline toad

« Reply #28 on: February 16, 2010, 03:29:57 PM »
Filthy....
Might change my mind when ARB gets hold of em and kits em out, but until then that is FILTHY..

Filthy? What does that mean? Good or Bad? Same as Fully Sick? Please forgive this traditionalist.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #29 on: February 16, 2010, 03:35:24 PM »
Filthy....
Might change my mind when ARB gets hold of em and kits em out, but until then that is FILTHY..

Filthy? What does that mean? Good or Bad? Same as Fully Sick? Please forgive this traditionalist.

In this case I would suggest it means "bad".

« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 03:55:16 PM by NewcastleKnight »

Offline Doug.b

• Dislike keyboard Heroes
« Reply #30 on: February 16, 2010, 03:38:56 PM »
I have a Suzuki grand vitara which has the 4x4 mode (4H - 4H lock - 4L lock - N) and I think it works fine for what I do.
I know that the gv doesn't have the clearance and power as the bigger 4wds have but for the weight and power ratio the gv packs a punch.
I think Suzuki has been using 4x4 mode for a while now. It is amazing what new technology can do. (I remember that you use to get out of your 4wd and manually lock your wheels)

If I had the money I would love to buy one.

Doug

2012 PAJERO VRX  - Adventure offroad camper  - Cape York 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35363.0

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #31 on: February 16, 2010, 03:53:13 PM »
If I had the money I would love to buy one.

I wouldn't. (Even if I had the money). I recon its ugly but I guess these things grow on you sometimes.

Too many doo da's to go wrong for me. I guess some day I will have to own something similar but not until I have to.

Offline blackstump

• ''LIFES TO SHORT TO BE SMALL''
« Reply #32 on: February 16, 2010, 04:21:28 PM »
After witnessing first hand on the weekend, a v8 Sahara,  towing a KK, up a long climb, I want one.
Now my trusty ol Land Rover, is no slouch with assorted power mods, but this thing reeled me in and spun me round like a spinning top. And I wasnt towing anything   ??? :'(
To make things worse, he didnt have a run up either.  >:(

Now if this butt ugly Nissan could do that, then geez, there is alot to be said for these modern vehicles.

IS THERE A PROBLEM OFFICER

Offline GSK33

• Tent
« Reply #33 on: February 16, 2010, 04:31:47 PM »
After witnessing first hand on the weekend, a v8 Sahara,  towing a KK, up a long climb, I want one.
Now my trusty ol Land Rover, is no slouch with assorted power mods, but this thing reeled me in and spun me round like a spinning top. And I wasnt towing anything   ??? :'(
To make things worse, he didnt have a run up either.  >:(

Now if this butt ugly Nissan could do that, then geez, there is alot to be said for these modern vehicles.

Leading the line-up, an engine that makes new Patrol the most powerful vehicle in its class, is Nissan’s newly developed ‘VK56VD’ 5.6-litre direct-injection petrol V8 engine with VVEL (variable valve event and lift). Developing 298kW of power and 550Nm of torque, the new unit if said to offer maximum performance and smooth response. It is mated to a new seven-speed automatic transmission with a wider range of gear ratios than its predecessor, to give the off-roader the ability to deliver power faster.

Should be enough power here, Hate to be paying the fuel bill though ;D

Offline MnMs

• 'Specialist Trip Stirrer'
« Reply #34 on: February 16, 2010, 04:44:00 PM »
Hmmmm, the jury is out here.

It seems to be a mash up with a Range Rover Sport, a 200, and a Patrol.  ???

I do agree that they are all beginning to look similar. Though when the 200 came out, there was a lot of growns about how it change so much in look from the 100/105 for the worse. However, it has since become a more widely accepted look. And I'll give you the drum, when mine is up for renewal in a couple of years.....the 200 will be our choice of grunt at this stage.
How about the Serenity!!!!!!!

2010 Land Cruiser Twin Turbo Diesel V8 with mods.
Jayco Outback Expanda 18.57-6.

« Reply #35 on: February 16, 2010, 08:49:58 PM »
There is a bit of video action of the new Patrol on the test track here,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNEnWWmUviA&feature=player_embedded

« Reply #36 on: February 16, 2010, 09:02:22 PM »
Given the location, was expecting something to blow up. Must not have been the 3L diesel motor :laugh:

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
« Reply #37 on: February 16, 2010, 10:00:50 PM »
Developing 298kW of power and 550Nm of torque

Should be enough power here, Hate to be paying the fuel bill though ;D

Gee I bet Toyota releases the Lexus 5.7 (270kw / 530Nm) V8 Petrol with 6 speed auto in the 200 series about the same time as the New Patrol goes on sale here in Oz...

« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2010, 11:39:31 PM »
Filthy....

Fella's Prado v Terracan, its quite simple.
One is quality Japan Toyota the other is something known as Hyundai......
Man their nearly as bad a mooso's and those Great Wall Motors chinese 4wd's - bwwwaaaahhhhh LMFAO..... sorry couldn't help myself...

No need to gloss it up - yep they are worlds apart  ;D

;D ;D ;D

No need to gloss it up......you obviously haven't driven a Hyundai, nor know anything about them..

What was it they used to say about those Jap cars 15 yrs ago ????

Bit of long term memory loss I think !!!   ;D ;D

Offline GSK33

• Tent
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2010, 11:53:09 PM »
Filthy....

Man their nearly as bad a mooso's and those Great Wall Motors chinese 4wd's - bwwwaaaahhhhh LMFAO..... sorry couldn't help myself...

;D ;D ;D

No need to gloss it up......you obviously haven't driven a Hyundai, nor know anything about them..

Bit of long term memory loss I think !!!   ;D ;D

Great wall should be a good car in 15 years then :cup:

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #40 on: February 17, 2010, 07:56:43 AM »
Filthy....

;D ;D ;D

Bit of long term memory loss I think !!!   ;D ;D

I know nothing about the inner workings of a Hyundai however, anedotal evidence tends to suggest they have improved out of sight over the last half a dozen years.

At the end of the day people buy their vehicles based on a lot of issues and I don't believe anyone, on a forum like this,  buys a new vehicle of any persuasion unless they are satisfied that it will provide them with what they want.

« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 09:12:08 AM by NewcastleKnight »

« Reply #41 on: February 17, 2010, 08:25:37 AM »
I've ridden in Gronk's Terrifying Can and it goes pretty well, it seems well put together, is plenty comfortable and man can he pull ripper donuts in it. Besides, its a European designed 4by made in Korea, big deal.

I think there is a little too much snobbery going on in this thread, so cut it out Gronk orright. :cup: ;D ;D :cheers:

« Reply #42 on: February 17, 2010, 08:30:29 AM »
I think there is a little too much snobbery going on in this thread, so cut it out Gronk orright. 1st Place Grin

Oh, all right !!!!!  in that case, yeh, the Prado is probably just as good as my Hyundai then !!!!!! ::) ::) :P

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #43 on: February 17, 2010, 08:50:25 AM »
Owning a 2007 NS pajero, I must say that IFS and IRS is not all that bad, it all comes down to user choice. What we must all consider here, speaking from experience, is that the commercial reality is that the TRUE off road nuts form a very small percentage of car sales, so the industry must, unfortunately and much to my disgust, accommodate for the soccer mums and school runs. This is the world we live in unfortunately.

I have always Loved the Patrol for what it could do off road, unfortunately looking into the current state of play, it is outdated and overpriced for what the current models deliver against its competition.

I think the biggest problem with the new patrol is that it is going to be too little to late, much like the 380 was for MMA. The new LC200 has already proven to be one capable vehicle with a whole heap of new technology and seeing first hand what will be coming for the series two due for release end of next year, the price of the new L200 will fall drastically with lost more refinements being offered in place.

Having reviewed the Video posted up, it appears that the suspension travel is very limited which is probably going to be a massive down fall for this particular model, hence why Nissan Australia has offered to keep the current model on sale for a further 3 years.

Owning an IFS IRS vehicle I must state however that there has been very few situations where I have not been able to follow a Gu or a LC up a track with similar modification.

My truck runs a 2 inch lift, 32" Mickey t's and only uses the factory locking Center diff and traction control to get through. I have spent considerable time modifying my suspension, incorporating land cruiser long travel shock absorbers and alike, which has yielded in substantial amount of travel over stock, saying that it is still less then a  live axle truck which often leads to wheel in the air action. However around town, the car is superb, it does the weekly shopping comfortably and without needing sea sickness tablets to drive around unlike my brothers heavily modified Nissan.

Many people criticize the Pajero for not having a ladder chassis and so forth so it's not as strong, however, once again first hand, you go and get a new prado and get a new pajero, twist them up on some moguls and try and open the rear prado doors and more times then not, you won't be able to do so due to chassis/body flex. No such issues on the Pajero.

What most people don't know is that the Pajero actually runs a separate sub chassis front and back, and there are many kits available that offer a 6" lift to fit 42" tires. The lift itself takes approximately half a day to fit as it simply spaces the chassis away from the body as per normal ladder frame.

Unfortunately what we must all come to terms is that the day of the true off roader is limited and numbered, sooner or later the burocrats and pencil pushers who don't even know what 4x4 means will get their way and live axle trucks will case to exist, unless you want a ute of a 75 series.

Anyhow, I hope this vehicle does well and perhaps it will sell well being aimed more at the general public, but as I said above, it think it's to little to late, both Toyota and land cruiser are starting to take the market over in vast numbers.

BTW i'm not trying to Advertise for pajeros, they have many faults, mearly stating that IRS and IFS can be made work. (CAN but as is more oftern teh case from factory Can not)

Ok I'm done

HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

Offline Adventure Guy

Re: New Nissan Patrol Pictures as well as THIS LINK IS A MUST SEE !!
« Reply #44 on: February 17, 2010, 06:26:51 PM »
Sorry Doug.b, to hi-jack your post, and to gronk and darren, I get what you mean  :cheers:

Because we are talking about Nissan, Prado's and alike, have a ganda at this, it's crazy stuff and you would not want to be nursing a hang over   >:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyl7ytk1YIw
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 06:31:45 PM by Adventure Guy »

Offline Doug.b

• Dislike keyboard Heroes
« Reply #45 on: February 17, 2010, 09:26:40 PM »
that's OK adventure guy

I just posted it for everyone to see and to have a look.

To me it doesn't matter what the make of 4wd is or how big it is. We all have our own opinions for what suits us and for the budget we have. The main thing is that we still get out and enjoy this country of ours.

Doug.b

P.S - still wouldn't mind the new nissan (if I could afford it.) 
2012 PAJERO VRX  - Adventure offroad camper  - Cape York 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35363.0

Offline Diksta

• Where I Should be
    • http://picasaweb.google.com/gbney01
« Reply #46 on: February 17, 2010, 09:44:22 PM »
new shapes and looks grow on you, when the 200's came out i didn't like them but there are more and more of them getting around these days, and i would quite like one when it is time to upgrade from the 100 series.

and for all the Datsun diehards i imagine it will be the same, the clip look impressive, but i didn't thin they would go away from the live front end.

Diksta
2016 200 Series
1983 60 Series
POTM November 2009 Winner :cup:
2009 POTY Winner :cup:
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=49966.new#new

Offline torsion

« Reply #47 on: February 17, 2010, 10:03:02 PM »
I think there is a little too much snobbery going on in this thread, so cut it out Gronk orright. 1st Place Grin

Oh, all right !!!!!  in that case, yeh, the Prado is probably just as good as my Hyundai then !!!!!! ::) ::) :P

Hey Snow, common tell the truth you have ordered a Great Wall debacle havn't ya.
Ok Ok, hangon eas up their you two young fella's. You havn't asked me what I drive yet......................me excel's is a top rig, or was that a lantra  ;D ;D ;D ;D bwwwwahhhh....... sh_t I crack myself up.   

« Reply #48 on: February 18, 2010, 08:51:12 AM »

Oh, all right !!!!!  in that case, yeh, the Prado is probably just as good as my Hyundai then !!!!!! ::) ::) :P

Hey Snow, common tell the truth you have ordered a Great Wall debacle havn't ya.
That's not as dopey as it reads Torsion, I drive the R9 Izuzu which Great wall has knocked off to create the SA220. Only they don't offer it in 4x4 :cheers:
« Last Edit: February 18, 2010, 08:58:53 AM by Snow »

Offline Flightrisk

« Reply #49 on: March 21, 2011, 11:03:13 PM »
I have been fortunate enough to drive the new Patrol both on road and off road and am blown away to say the least! Stacks of power from the 5.6l V8. It is hard to believe that you are driving a vehicle that is as big and heavy as it is. More like a sports car than a fourby. Off road the vehicle is exceptional. I only hope that all the nay-sayers get a chance to drive this thing offroad as it really does go against alot of conventions such as IFS/IRS being no good in the bush. The one I drove is the top of the range middle eastern variant which has the hydraulicly linked suspension much like the Prada and LC200 option. Driving along heavy rutts and bumps the suspension just bobs along like nothing is happening. The auto is awesome but the descent control takes a bit of getting used to. I am very interested to see these be released and see how they sell. I can;t imagine they will be cheap but then again, theres no shortage of LC200 Saharas getting around. The only real concern is the size of the beast. It is bigger than the LC200!