Author Topic: Melbourne power outages  (Read 4574 times)

Offline duncan

Melbourne power outages
« on: January 28, 2018, 07:58:06 PM »
Looking at the distributors outage pages it looks like they are dumping lots of areas, ie causing outages to shed powers. I am impacted. Have been for the last 4 hrs. SE suburbs. In speaking to someone I found out they are turning it off by phase. Pot luck as to what phase you are on and which one they turn off.

Not happy, but not much you can do.

https://outagemap.unitedenergy.com.au/

Duncan

Re: Melbourne power outages
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2018, 08:04:38 PM »
I'll turn my air con off and send you some amps !!   ;D

Online GeoffA

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2018, 08:06:50 PM »
.... but Dan said the Hazelwood closure wouldn't have any impact.....

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2018, 08:08:33 PM »
Politicians tell you whatever they want.
Doesn't mean it has any relevance.
Just look at Trump's verbal spoutings.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2018, 08:10:51 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2018, 08:09:02 PM »
I'll turn my air con off and send you some amps !!   ;D

I'll leave mine on and watch the tennis while occasionally flicking over to cricket, that way I can provide score updates if you Duncan needs them

« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2018, 08:12:55 PM »
.... but Dan said the Hazelwood closure wouldn't have any impact.....
l reckon he will be sitting in air con this arvo . Maybe the  " Air Con  " is him talking  ???
l will run my Engal on solar of l have to       :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2018, 08:14:16 PM »
Unplanned outages have cost Ausnet heaps over the last 2 years.
My Bill has been paid for me, by this, since June last year.

Offline duncan

« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2018, 08:34:21 PM »
I'll leave mine on and watch the tennis while occasionally flicking over to cricket, that way I can provide score updates if you Duncan needs them

Thanks that's what I was wanting to watch. Getting updates on the phone. Not quite the same.

Offline duncan

« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2018, 08:36:02 PM »
Unplanned outages have cost Ausnet heaps over the last 2 years.
My Bill has been paid for me, by this, since June last year.

That sounds good. I am in a united energy area. Wonder if they pay?

Offline duncan

« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2018, 08:38:01 PM »
And what's more I had a drive around the nearby streets. No power trucks about. Lots of people with lights on and all their xmas lights. And I am in the dark  >:(

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2018, 08:50:59 PM »
After all the crap SA has put up with it is nice to see we are not alone.
Two days of 43 degrees and no outages here.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL
The following users thanked this post: duncan

Offline hainess

« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2018, 08:54:29 PM »

Thats because a third of your power is coming from another state.
https://www.aemo.com.au/Electricity/National-Electricity-Market-NEM/Data-dashboard#nem-dispatch-overview

Rod
The following users thanked this post: duncan

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2018, 06:09:46 AM »
Thats because a third of your power is coming from another state.
https://www.aemo.com.au/Electricity/National-Electricity-Market-NEM/Data-dashboard#nem-dispatch-overview

Rod
Not sure of my interpretation of that table, but seems to me that SA was importing 25% of their demand and Vic was importing 12% of their demand. Qld and Tassie were the only ones producing more than their demand.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Offline hawks667

« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2018, 06:34:14 AM »
Had both AC's in the house running all night...Even had to pull the doona up as it was a bit cool...
Prado 120 with all the fruit pulling an Aussie Jays Crusher.

Online GeoffA

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2018, 06:46:35 AM »

Offline hawks667

Prado 120 with all the fruit pulling an Aussie Jays Crusher.

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2018, 07:18:55 AM »
And maybe if we could all toughen up a bit and cut down on power usage all states would not have power outages. I find it a bit of overkill to have the A/C set on 18 and need to put on a jumper. Set mine at 24 in summer just to cool it down a bit. At night time we just use a ceiling fan.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2018, 07:24:38 AM »
Quote from: GeoffA
A/C units are supposed to be shut down at 10pm.....just saying....

... like ****wits going slow in teh fast lane, you ever think anyone would ever even get a warning let alone the bullShit about "MAXIMUM FINES CAN BE blah blah blah" ?

Offline corndog

« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2018, 10:00:17 AM »
The way the country has been going do you really think things like this were not going to happen???

« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2018, 10:20:52 AM »
My plan for next summer is to have solar panels to drive the air con during the day.  If the house is cool then the nights should be bearable.

Does anyone else do this?  Does it work for you?  Yet to get either panels or air con

« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2018, 10:30:58 AM »
Not sure of my interpretation of that table, but seems to me that SA was importing 25% of their demand and Vic was importing 12% of their demand. Qld and Tassie were the only ones producing more than their demand.

Different points in time will produce different results.

« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2018, 11:22:03 AM »

Super Jay won't allow an outage, not with an election coming up! Cranked up the batteries and the diesel gen sets.

Offline duncan

« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2018, 11:40:10 AM »
My plan for next summer is to have solar panels to drive the air con during the day.  If the house is cool then the nights should be bearable.

Does anyone else do this?  Does it work for you?  Yet to get either panels or air con

Until my power went off at 5pm yesterday. And even with solar, once the grid goes off you can't make use of the solar. You may be able to get around this with a fancy battery/solar set up and the ability to totally disconnect from the grid.

The reason for no grid power therefore no solar is they it can feed back to the grid and cause safety issues for workers.

Duncan