Author Topic: Ride on Lawn mowers  (Read 23010 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
Ride on Lawn mowers
« on: October 31, 2013, 05:08:50 PM »
Ok gurus of grass,

I have a 3000m2 block all flat lawn  ;D ;D

I had an L108 john deere for the pas 8 years it did 132hr in that time. I just sold it and got $1800 for it.

so I am now in the market for a new one. the JD gave me no trouble in the time I had it.

I just got a quote for the new D110 $3150  which seems pretty good can anyone recommend another brand in the price point I should also compare . Having regard for the low usage it will get and no steep hills or hard grass, or am I on the money just replacing what worked before, i note the motor is now built by JD not Briggs and stratton ?

I will get myself a poly trailer this time as well $348 from JD oh and a bull bar for $88 just It has one avail and we all know you need a bull bar on the ride-on. ;D ;D

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Re: Ride on Lawn mowers
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2013, 05:17:17 PM »
Why did you sell the old one. At 132 hours, it wasn't even run in.

I'll turn 500 hours tomorrow (on 497.8 now) on the Husky (22/42) and it should be good for well over a 1,000 hours.

If ya happy with the JD, then stick with 'em.

Mowers are like the women, no matter how good they look and perform, they all have someone who is sick of 'em at some point in time.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2013, 05:30:15 PM »

8 yrs old and I figured why not move it obtain 60% re-sale value and put 40% towards an upgraded one, guy at mower shop reckons I did well.(prob cause he will get another sale) but i just figured move it on before it costs me any money and i like a few features of the new one with the hose plug on top of cutter deck to wash under the deck after mowing.

$1350 change over seemed good for 8 yrs service  ;D ;D

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2013, 06:04:02 PM »
I recently bought a D120, got $100 off and a free bullbar thrown in, lucky cos I was mowing a block today for a friend and in the long grass was a stump and I hit it pretty hard, it would have done a heap of damage to the bonnet had I not had the bullbar.

I went for the  D120 cos i thought I would use the cruise control, but I don't. THe taller seat and more power is nice though.

we have a few acres to mow as well, its nice to get it all done quickly, now I am clearing areas out the front to mow as well.

I came from a 11hp greenfield so this one is luxury compared.

I use a steel tipping trailer that I bought second hand, works a treat and much better than a poly or plastic trailer.

iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2013, 06:37:48 PM »

Agreed, if it were a car it would have done the equivalent of 13200 km (at 100 kph).

No offence,  IMO People need to do a reality check on what they really need to replace when, and look at end of life maintenance and replacement cycles.

Cars, 300k.
Tractors 5000 to 6000 hours
Camper trailers?....

Oh well, if you have the spare $$$ then go for it. :cheers:
« Last Edit: October 31, 2013, 06:40:05 PM by Mace »

« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2013, 07:47:50 PM »
132 Hours in 8 years Gezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz , lets talk about 215 hours in 10 months  19 hp Cub Cadet
hYDRO  HEAL / TOE  . l do believe you have ripped your self off selling the JD off .  The mower shop has stitched you up a beauty there .  :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2013, 08:35:34 PM »
John Deere. I work on an L120, LT150 and X300, all really well built compared to the MTD that is also in the stable at work, stick with what you know. 

Squeeze them though, I had a glossy Australian JD catelog that I threw out this morning with the bins that I am sure listed the D110 at $2900.  Make sure it is Hydrostatic though.

You can drill two holes in the deck and put in a deck squirter for about $25, waiting o one for the L120

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2013, 08:57:05 PM »
John Deere. I work on an L120, LT150 and X300, all really well built

Hey, I would like to make my own deck, I know my mower is brand new but I can see it getting damaged, I have tried to level out the place as much as I can with the grader on the tractor, but I still take the mower in lots of places that I can get the tractor in..

anyway I would like to start fabricating my own deck, is it possible and have you seen many fabricated decks..

Peter,

Offline chillipepperz

« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2013, 09:44:11 PM »
I have the Husky YTH2648 with a fabricated deck. I highly recommend a fabricated deck, and for my use it has been fantastic. Copes with the rocks around here well. It's a big bugger though, and won't fit on my 7x4 trailer! Would be a task to make a fabricated deck I reckon, getting spindles etc perfectly aligned etc. but give it a go.
Alumina Hardtop Camper Build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2013, 09:58:06 PM »
Yes its going to be a long term project, but I need to make stensils of the original deck before its gets dented and all knocked up..

I had a trailer half finished on my workbench last time I pulled the deck off so I didnt trace it then.

next time I rip the deck off I will have to do some drawings..
mower has only done 11hours and I already have painted the inside of the deck, and now I notice the top of the deck has a dent and the paints chipped off so will need a spot of paint already.. so I need to get a deck started.

even if I sell the first one, then make another thats better for me. ohh I am dreaming again.

Peter,

« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2013, 11:12:51 PM »
Peter, go skip bin diving at the biggest supplier of your mower brand in the area.  Local JD here had 2 decks in the bin last week when I dropped off a mower for some engine repairs, both looked rebuildable, one still had the spindles on it but had some holes in the deck.  It is easier to patch up/rebuild a second old deck than build a new one. We regularly rebuild them at work as the kids tend to be a little less diligent about hitting rocks than we are. 

I am going to scrounge a 38inch to rebuild for my L120 as it has a 48 on it that is a bit to wide for my yard and doen't fit on my 8x4 trailer.

« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2013, 05:36:56 AM »
l am using a Kotota 18 HP 4wd diesel with a 36 in slasher on the ruff stuff . The little beast chugs along only if the slasher becomes a land plane dose it struggle . Recently it waded into grass that was over 1 m high , 1st cog , flat out & on it went  .
Works all day on 15 L of juice , & that works for me  :cheers:

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2013, 06:11:45 AM »
Peter, go skip bin diving at the biggest supplier of your mower brand in the area.  Local JD here had 2 decks in the bin last week when I dropped off a mower for some engine repairs, both looked rebuildable, one still had the spindles on it but had some holes in the deck. 

Great idea Thankyou, I might just do that.. thanks

Peter,

« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2013, 03:55:16 PM »
Yep, go the fabricated deck, i also have one on the Husky.

May not shoot quite as good, but tougher than nails.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2013, 03:55:48 PM »
Agreed, if it were a car it would have done the equivalent of 13200 km (at 100 kph).

No offence,  IMO People need to do a reality check on what they really need to replace when, and look at end of life maintenance and replacement cycles.

Cars, 300k.
Tractors 5000 to 6000 hours
Camper trailers?....

Oh well, if you have the spare $$$ then go for it. :cheers:

Fair call  ;D ;D ;D

I paid $2999 for it 8 years ago

It needed a service kit $80 a new belt $75 new blades $84.55 = $ 250ish

so I did not have to spend that plus got $1800 so in my pocket is $2050 I need to add $1150 and I have a new machine with 2 years warranty . get another 8 years = 131 per year in ownership.

All it would take is a $500 repair on 1 item of the unit and It would take 4 years of ownership to re-coup.

I turn my stuff over before it costs me money MRS car will go at 5 year mark (end warranty regardless of KLMS)

The only item I kept and now wish i had of sold when i could have got decent $$$ is my boat motor .. kept it an extra 2 years now it,s not worth anything to trade so i am stuck with it, will wear the hurt soon and then turn over every 5 years.

horses for courses but happy to pay $150 year in ownership for a ride on.

Some may think me crazy but I am very happy with the outcome for my $1150 outlay.

jet ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2013, 05:53:07 PM »

I used to have one of these with the standard 42 inch deck 20hp.  At the beginning and the end of every wet season I removed the deck (5mins) gave it a wire brush where necessary, gave it a pressure clean, put it in the sun to dry then resprayed the deck. When I traded it in after nearly five years the sales guy commented on how the deck looked like new. My bro in law however has pretty much the same machine 1 year older than mine. He has never worried about doing the same for his deck. He has rust holes right thru his deck.
Seriously, if you look after the deck, it will last.

Now I got one of these with a fabricated 52 inch deck 30hp.
My mowing time has been cut big time and it provides a much better cut. Yeah it chews a bit more fuel but who cares about the fuel economy of a ride on mower. I haven't bothered spraying this deck.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2013, 04:03:02 PM »
This arrived today  ;D ;D ;D ;D

got a good deal with the folding stuff in hand

$3350 with mulching plug / trailer and free home delivery ;D ;D

And it now has a double YES double stubbie holder   :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Jet ;D

Improvements over prev model

1, Much lighter steering looks like a new design steering rod set-up
2, quieter with blades on and off
3, under deck wash plug (plug garden hose in)
4, better access to grease nipples on deck
5, larger air filter
6, more cutter deck height adjustments
7 and the 2X can holder ;D

Thats all for now but I am very happy at this early stage
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2013, 04:17:53 PM »
You ever tried a cup holder out on a mower?

You'll have more drink in ya lap than lap.

Nice mower, but would look good with a set of flames painted over the front.  :D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2013, 04:32:33 PM »
You ever tried a cup holder out on a mower?

You'll have more drink in ya lap than lap.

My goodness Jeepers ....don't you know it's to hold the empty cans ;D ;D ;D ;D

who  mows with a full can in the holder ??? ???

This is why I could never own a zero turn ..you need both arms  ;D ;D

Jet :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2013, 04:39:36 PM »
I have tried the drinking while mowing, and it works fine. Yes I had a screw top, old juice container that I filled with water.

congrats on ya mower, they look great, I am loving mine..

I have been cleaning the bonnet and seat etc with MR. Sheen. it shines everything up nicely.
makes the seat a little slippery but thats fine.

I dont think the deck wash works that well but its better than nothing.

for ya 8 hour service take the deck off for practice, flip it upside down and inspect and sharpen the blades, only if ya want to.. I mainly took mine off to see where the grease nipples were, mine was covered in grass, turns out they are really easy to get to.
but only do the above if you want to.

I had to spray some lithium spray on my seat so it will adjust easier. I found it easier to put the seat all the way back everytime I get off.. But I have a stiff leg n hip problems.

I aint happy with the front wheels, the alignment is off and both front wheels point in, not happy with that and I cant see where to adjust it.

Peter,

« Reply #20 on: November 06, 2013, 04:45:02 PM »
Good call on the JD brand Jet. Just in case you want to mow a little faster, here's one you could consider. ;D ;D

« Reply #21 on: November 06, 2013, 04:48:51 PM »
Holy crap, i just got a stiffy.  ;D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2013, 06:44:25 PM »
I have tried the drinking while mowing, and it works fine. Yes I had a screw top, old juice container that I filled with water.

congrats on ya mower, they look great, I am loving mine..

I have been cleaning the bonnet and seat etc with MR. Sheen. it shines everything up nicely.
makes the seat a little slippery but thats fine.

I dont think the deck wash works that well but its better than nothing.

for ya 8 hour service take the deck off for practice, flip it upside down and inspect and sharpen the blades, only if ya want to.. I mainly took mine off to see where the grease nipples were, mine was covered in grass, turns out they are really easy to get to.
but only do the above if you want to.

I had to spray some lithium spray on my seat so it will adjust easier. I found it easier to put the seat all the way back everytime I get off.. But I have a stiff leg n hip problems.

I aint happy with the front wheels, the alignment is off and both front wheels point in, not happy with that and I cant see where to adjust it.

Peter,

Thanks for all the tips mate  :cup: :cup:

one of my fav improvements was the grease nipple for the deck being cut out of the plastic caps so it's easy to get too.

Agree on the front wheels I asked about this and the mechanic at JD said that the toe in is a result of the lightened steering so it is a trade off, not a biggy for me as I only do 20hrs a year  :-[ :-[

but could see for others who mow for living it may be of concern, after 7 odd years on my last mower the tyres still looked new so not an issue for me personally. I do like the lighter feel to the wheel though.

So far so good the MRS had a go and really likes the feel so all good, prob only complaint i have is the aggressive cut back on the motor cover means more of the engine and wiring is exposed. Not a major one for me but if I were mowing for a living in dust etc then it would be . Just seems to be alot of stuff exposed on the r/h side. also the engine seems to hit its rev limiter easily when blade are not engaged, I had to pull the throttle back slightly when just cruising  around with the little fella and the dog in the trailer. with blades engaged all good i give it full throttle.

will monitor sat the 8 hr service and seek advice then as it may just need a throttle adjustment or it is still bedding in as it has 30min of run time on it and still giving off that "I'm a new motor smell"     

But as said very happy with the price  I got. service took a bit of personality to massage to the right point . Ie show the guy the cash and tell him to pull his head in if he wants it.  ;D ;D after that all good  :cup: :cup:

jet ;D ;D 
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #23 on: November 06, 2013, 06:55:59 PM »
I think I am upto about 14 hours.

if I am mowing light grass then I have the revs down, I often call it the volume lever..

did you get a free john deer cap, I ended up getting 3, me, mum and the misus. but really aint just John deere caps they have the shops details on the side..

did you get a bullbar, it saved me last week when I was mowing a friends lawn and ran into a stump in long grass at full speed, well fast enough anyway. It would have done heaps of damage to the bonnet had I not had it.

Peter,

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #24 on: November 06, 2013, 06:58:40 PM »
So I wont worry about the toein with the front wheels, its still annoying though as the little tyre pimple things have gone off the front wheels, still there on the back wheels.

thinking I need more aggressive rear tyres next winter. these ones slip lots on my hill.

or I could just file off every second row of knobies.

Peter,