Author Topic: Hi from Hobart  (Read 6706 times)

Offline jag001

Hi from Hobart
« on: October 04, 2011, 08:26:13 PM »
Hi there,

We're a family from Hobart with 1 little boy (18 months), I'm a full time graphic designer and brand manager, and my wife is a secondary school art teacher. We've just arrived back from a bit of a tour around Victoria where we picked up our eBay-purchased Pinnacle Camper Trailer all for under $4k... I still keep pinching myself that I got a camper that is that sturdy with that many options at that price. Yes its probably made in China and won't necessarily survive 20 years, but by then we'll be older and richer and will finally upgrade to a Cub. Unfortunately Pat Callinan was supposed to draw my name out so I could win a Patrol and a Cub camper but apparently he was under a bit of pressure to pick a random name....

Myswag has been brilliant in helping make the decision between all the budget campers, and after teeing the other options at the National 4x4 show in Melbourne I don't regret my decision one little bit!

Hopefully we'll have many trip and build-ups as the next few years progress, I love 4WDing and our little boy absolutely LOVES being outside.

Anyways thanks for a good forum, and please be gentle on our choice of camper  ;D

Jade
1998 Nissan Patrol Gu TI
2011 Pinnacle Off Road Trailer with mods!

Re: Hi from Hobart
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2011, 08:33:38 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Jade, $2 camper or $100k camper, as long as you are out and about and getting the kids to enjoy the outdoors it is all that matters. Enjoy your stay and join in the banter

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2011, 08:44:11 PM »
G/day jade
welcome

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2011, 09:01:10 PM »
Hi and welcome aboard.

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2011, 09:11:24 PM »
Welcome aboard Jade, hope you have many happy travels in your camper!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2011, 09:13:52 PM »
Welcome Jag, nothing wrong with your choice of camper, oh and lovely part of the world down there - love Tassie :cup:
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2011, 07:24:05 AM »

Offline gurules

• GU 4.2TD AND TRACK TRAILER EAGLE
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2011, 07:44:28 AM »
dosent matter what camper mate your gunna enjoy camping even if ya swag,on ya well done
oh is it true about you taswegiansyou know the operation lol
Never Ever Give up

« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2011, 08:02:34 AM »
Welcome to the forum Jade and family, look forward to some pics.

Offline gowalkabout

• Walkabout 4WD & Camping Accessories
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2011, 07:08:11 AM »
Welcome. always good to see more taswegians here
2007 Camprite TL8s
2012 Nissan Patrol GU8
Formally known as Tas130
www.gowalkabout.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/gowalkabout?ref=hl

« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2011, 07:18:57 AM »
Hi and welcome to Myswag, good to see some more Tassie people on here.

« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2011, 06:17:09 PM »
Welcome to the forum jade, look forward to some pics.

Tassie devils

« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2011, 06:25:25 PM »
Hello and welcome Jade

Offline richneet

« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2011, 09:28:51 PM »
Hi Jade, you went to the show at Sandown too then?   I was blown away with the size and the amount of gear that was being displayed there.
Look forward to your feedback on your trailer as I've been looking at them too for a while.

Great to see another Tassie member.

« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2011, 09:47:54 PM »
G'day Jade and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline Brutus

« Reply #15 on: October 14, 2011, 09:02:09 PM »
Good to see another southerner on here :cheers: I didn't go to the Sandown expo but did the one at the start of Sept which was a real eye opener. I will be making that an annual trip I reckon

Now all we need is some pics of your CT

« Reply #16 on: October 14, 2011, 11:39:53 PM »
Hi Jade and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

Offline jag001

« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2012, 10:26:50 PM »
Ok,

so here are a few pics of the trailer, took a while sorry - and in a week or so I'll get some serious detail shots!

more to come soon - the trailer is starting to work out very well for us, and made it up to the far NW coast of Tassie and down a bit of the west with no worries at all  :D
1998 Nissan Patrol Gu TI

« Reply #18 on: January 09, 2012, 06:28:14 AM »
Hi Jag, the camper looks good.
Were was the last photo taken.

Offline jag001

Hi from Hobart
« Reply #19 on: January 09, 2012, 06:49:18 AM »
Hi Trevor, it's the first campsite down at the Arthur River, unbelievably quiet spot over Christmas!
1998 Nissan Patrol Gu TI

« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2012, 09:37:03 AM »
G'day & Welcome. Thanks for writing such a nice intro.

From the look of the gas lantern, you'll be reading about LED lighting soon  ;D. Seriously, on my last camper it was so nice to be able to open the tent, flick the switch and have full illumination, as we set up after dark many times.

Offline jag001

« Reply #21 on: January 09, 2012, 03:25:04 PM »
Hi Julian,

you are quite correct  ;D I just picked up my projecta battery box the other day, and am just waiting for the LED strips to arrive before i wire it in next week - all dimmable (and the external ones multi colour to try and dispel insects where needed), one in the main tent area, one over the bed area, 2 reading lights near the bed, 3 in the awning, 2 inside the trailer, 2 in the tool box, and then the kitchen as well, although I haven't decided the absolute best way to do the kitchen lighting yet - its the place you need the most light so you end up with the least burns and cuts  :laugh:

Im also going to put in a couple of bars up under the roll out awning on the cruiser whilst I'm at it!

Anyone that might have met me before on the Delicaclub forum might remember my obsession with LED lighting  :cup:

Jade

1998 Nissan Patrol Gu TI

Offline hillbilly

« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2012, 11:01:01 AM »
G'day jade welcome to myswag. Nice setup with your Camper, and can't  complain about the price... We get out in our camper a lot with our girls 3 1/2 and 18 months and they love it. It is the best thing for them at their young age.

Hillbilly
2008 VDJ78R Troopy

http://hillbilliesinthekimberley.blogspot.com.au
hillbillyholidays.wordpress.com

« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2012, 09:23:32 PM »
Hi Jade!

Thanks for posting up the pics of your setup.

Sounds like you'll just about be a qualified sparky by the time you wire up all of those lights LOL!

« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2012, 07:32:48 AM »
Welcome.  Bit dry over the west coast when the pic was taken.