Author Topic: GQ patrol Mavrick  (Read 4465 times)

GQ patrol Mavrick
« on: June 05, 2011, 07:40:51 PM »
Ive been looking around for a 4b and a friend of mine has a 91 LWB Mavrick for sale
4.2 lt diesel 260 ks on the clock real tidy looking and straight has done a little of road work
new brakes springs and shocks new 2 1/2 inch exhaust and extractors around the $6 to $7k mark
whats everyones thoughts on these 4bs

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
Re: GQ patrol Mavrick
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2011, 07:42:26 PM »
yeah baby!!! Great truck!

the comp boys love em!

Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2011, 07:48:05 PM »
 Buy it before it goes to someone else.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2011, 07:50:05 PM »
Im new to the 4x4 stuff and dont really know alot about GQs

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2011, 07:52:25 PM »
Built plenty of race cars but need you guys to fill my head with info on 4bs

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2011, 07:53:39 PM »
Spotted a ST 4.2 EFI petrol GQ wagon at a local dealer today, asking $13,999. 4.2 D is getting hard to find a good one, they still hold their value pretty well. The one you mentioned would certainly be worth a closer look. :cheers:

Offline meimarocu

« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2011, 07:53:59 PM »
I have had 2, a ute for a few years.
And currently have a GQ TD42 wagon that is turboed.
Honestly.......Cant really complian.
They do have ther "quirks" like every thing, but in the 6+ years of
having the wagon she has not cost me much more than general
servicing.
Pro's....
Good engine & driveline strenght
Good base suspension
Easy for parts and to work on.

Cons.....
Would like a bit more room..I have 3 growing boys. Still have good room thou.
Runs a bit hotter than normal due to turbo.
I feel the body is not as good as an 80 series but has a better drive line.

For the money i recon you can go past a decent one
Buy it and enjoy.

Cheers Ian.
P.S try Patrol4x4.com.

« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2011, 07:55:30 PM »
taking it for a test drive tomorrow

« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2011, 07:57:24 PM »
Thanks Ian I will have a look :cup:

« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2011, 07:58:36 PM »
If the body is rust free and you like GQs  grab it. If you decide you don't want it PM me ;D

« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2011, 08:09:47 PM »
Hey dno its rust free I will let you know if I don't wont it
Nice part of the world down there were you live pass through there a lot
My son lives down in Tarwin Lower should catch up one day. My Son is in the scouts at Fish Creek
Often go down there to help out

« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2011, 08:12:09 PM »
Love the GQ  :cup: strong driveline and transfer case, easy to mod, the interior is a bit basic.

« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2011, 08:12:17 PM »
beast of a truck.. will last for ever if looked after

« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2011, 08:21:15 PM »
http://www.gqpatrol.com/buyingagq.htm
a list we put together years ago

« Reply #14 on: June 05, 2011, 08:29:27 PM »
Thanks for that LOST some good info there mate :cup:

« Reply #15 on: June 05, 2011, 08:50:02 PM »
It has the standard skinny rims on it
what will fit nicely on it not to big as it will be my everyday drive to work

« Reply #16 on: June 05, 2011, 08:52:28 PM »
33's

Offline stevo

• I used to have a handle on life........but it broke
« Reply #17 on: June 05, 2011, 09:20:55 PM »
G'day Brett
I had a 90 Mav for 5 years, same spec as what you are lookinmg at. Good strong base unit but not particularly fast. (Didn't worry me). Easy to get bits for, easy and cheap to service. Run for ever if it has been serviced regularly. I sold mine for about 7.5K 2 years ago, but it was immaculate condition with many new parts. Probably sold it a couple of k cheap. Brother in law just sold his for 14K up in Wagga. Had lots on it but a bit over priced but he got lucky. A set of 31s on wider wheels I reckon are sufficient if you are only touring. Get the Mav guard flares (not cheap) or some rubber extensions.
Isuzu MU-X Coronet caravan
The hearse does not stop at the bank on the way to the cemetery.

« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2011, 05:50:13 PM »
Hey guys what are the 4.2 diesels like with a turbo how much difference to power or economy
If I buy this 1 thinking about putting on a turbo

« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2011, 05:53:15 PM »
Silver top engine, good for plenty HP how much you wunna spent   ? I think you can gain 20Kw pretty easy.

Offline GeeQue

• Only God can judge me
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2011, 07:30:41 PM »
We've had one in the garage for about 10 years now.  The most reliable truck I have owned. The GQ is a true workhorse and even better with a turbo.  That said they will still do everything you ask of them in natural form, it just takes a little longer.  With regard to tyre size, I have an ST model with the factory flares and love my split rims and MRF tyres 750/16.

GeeQue

I thought it through and my worst brings out the best in you.