Author Topic: Keep an eye on your grinder...  (Read 7074 times)

Re: Keep an eye on your grinder...
« Reply #25 on: June 02, 2011, 07:53:10 PM »
Shite  :o

Have heard of some horror stories with these things. Very easy to get over confident when using one and its too easy to snub the safety gear.

Offline Pauly

• Whats This?
« Reply #26 on: June 02, 2011, 08:59:58 PM »
Im an ex roofer and we used them heaps with no dramas, except swarf in the eyes. A year ago I was using a mates 9" grinder cutting my boat. His gaurd had a problem comming lose which I didnt know, cutting down the guard had slipped out of the way and my hand went straight onto the disc. Funny thing as soon as I felt it I thought this wont be pretty. Not much pain, no blood just a nice neat slit from top to bottom, luckily just touching the bone, not cut but burnt.

I use a 4.5" one near enough everyday with the real thin blades on them with no probs.

Cheers Pauly

New ride 2005 Landcruiser Sahara, Mickey T,s, dual batts Arb Sahara Bar, HID lights :)

Self made camper

« Reply #27 on: June 02, 2011, 09:36:05 PM »
Same thing happened to my old neighbours son in Roma BarraBart, he died in his mates arms at work before anything could be done. Very sad incidents that don't need to happen.
Listo

Yeah no good 'eh mate............. the only glint of goodness that can come out of these fatalities, is if people learn from them, and prevent the reocurence of the same type of incidents.

« Reply #28 on: June 02, 2011, 09:59:36 PM »
9" grinders have been banned on every site I've worked on.

Every tool demands respect, even the humble old screwdriver can cause a lot of damage when people don't use them properly.

So true.. See what a Krone tool will do when you punch down a cable a slip.... ;D At least 3 or 4 stitches.. >:(

« Reply #29 on: June 02, 2011, 10:48:30 PM »
Do not buy cheap discs that can be half the problem

« Reply #30 on: June 03, 2011, 06:22:24 AM »
I've been a tradie for 18 years and 9 inch grinders still scare the stuffing out of me.

I was speaking to an emergency ward nurse a few years back at the height of the home renovation TV shows.  She was saylng the rise in diyers and weekend warriors will various tool injuries clogging the emergency wards was unbelievable.
If she had her way, 9 1/4in power saws, 9in angle grinders and step ladders over 6ft would be banned from the general public.

« Reply #31 on: June 03, 2011, 07:51:49 AM »
Yeah those DIY shows do worry me a bit.  By all means there are many things people can do themselves, but they need to have an understanding of how to use the tools - and unless they get proper training (and how many DIY'ers do?) the risks are terrible.

« Reply #32 on: June 03, 2011, 07:59:10 AM »
Better homes and gardens the other week had old mate witha bunnings mig welding backwards???? The results spoke for themselves...

« Reply #33 on: June 03, 2011, 08:12:27 AM »
Sissors are dangerous as well, especially if you run with them.

« Reply #34 on: June 03, 2011, 08:30:14 AM »
Still remember my father running a power saw into his leg just above the knee..luckily no major blood vessels cut but 30 odd stiches and saw dust comming out of the leg for months was probably a good outcome.