General => General Discussion => Topic started by: crackacoldie on November 29, 2010, 09:30:45 AM

Title: How do you like your steak cooked?
Post by: crackacoldie on November 29, 2010, 09:30:45 AM
With so many likeing to BBQ up when away camping, just thought it would be interesting to see how we all like our steaks.

Title: Re: How do you like your steak cooked?
Post by: cancan on November 29, 2010, 09:45:27 AM
If you ask my brother how he likes his steak he tells you to put a fence around it to keep it on the plate
Post by: Crimso on November 29, 2010, 09:52:02 AM
Medium rare to rare. Definitely don't enjoy a "well done" steak.
Rare, tender, full of flavour & juices.
Post by: BigJules on November 29, 2010, 10:25:50 AM
If you ask my brother how he likes his steak he tells you to put a fence around it to keep it on the plate

Yep, a good vet should be able to get it on it's feet  ;D.

I like mine rare to medium rare, the better the steak the rarer it should be.
Post by: blackstump on November 29, 2010, 10:29:38 AM
wipe its a$$ and send it through

Post by: Alloy C/T on November 29, 2010, 10:49:42 AM
A minimum of a inch and a quarter thick  , 250-280grm no more than 2 min per side turned only once and "rested"for another min , pink in the middle , to me its not the size of a steak but the quality, now if we're talking Roo fillet its another story  , 30 to 40 seconds a side turned only once ,rested for 1min and then sliced nice and thin ,almost bleeding in the middle , yum yum.
Post by: Bird on November 29, 2010, 11:22:59 AM
Why would people want it bleeding?? If I wanted that I'd throw the steak away and eat the blood pad from under it in the tray.

Steak needs to be cooked right thru.
Post by: darren on November 29, 2010, 11:24:40 AM
At least this is better than the coffee thread.. There probably all vegos anyway..
Post by: DAZnBEC on November 29, 2010, 11:33:48 AM
Definately medium rare to medium. With a beer on the side.   :cheers:
Post by: D4D on November 29, 2010, 11:42:03 AM
You have to eat Steak tartare once in your life  :-X
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steak_tartare

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2e/Tatar-1.jpg/800px-Tatar-1.jpg)
Post by: Fivid on November 29, 2010, 11:42:47 AM
I chose Blue, but it has to be good meat to have it blue.  I never order a blue steak in a restaurant if I have not eaten there before and know their quality.  Same with buying meat from a butcher, if I know them and their standard then a nice thick steak, basically seared each side with the middle at room (body?) temperature is simply the best way of eating it.  I must admit, I used to think any blood at all was bad but for best flavour blue is certainly the way to go.
Post by: darren on November 29, 2010, 12:47:29 PM
You have to eat Steak tartare once in your life  :-X
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steak_tartare

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/2e/Tatar-1.jpg/800px-Tatar-1.jpg)

I had that in Germany. A german BBQ would be strange . With no BBQ what do you have to stand around and talk sh*t
Post by: Alloy C/T on November 29, 2010, 01:40:36 PM
Receipe for real Deuchland "gehaktuss'[pardon the spelling,been a long time] ,
 500grm mince, the best you can get with min fat ,
 1 raw egg ,
 fresh ground black pepper to taste'
 pinch of salt,
 3-4 spigs of parsley finely chopped,
 1large onion finely chopped,
 Crack egg into bowl and whisk with fork,  add mince and with very clean hands combine egg and mince, add onion-pepper-salt and parsley and work thru with hands ,
when done chill for for a while in fridge so mix stiffens a bit ,
 spread on a crusty style bread with another slice of onion and a dab of mustard ,  yum yum specially with an icy cold "Becks"
Post by: AKB on November 29, 2010, 01:48:11 PM
Sitella, a local winery in the Swan Valley do the best steak tartare I've ever had.  It's cute though when you place the order the waitress looks and informs you that it's raw.  I can only imagine how many have been sent back.
Post by: LJs GU on November 29, 2010, 01:49:16 PM
"gehaktuss'... = sounds like cactus... = what I reckon I'd feel like.  :-X
LJ
Post by: darren on November 29, 2010, 02:14:18 PM
Receipe for real Deuchland "gehaktuss'[pardon the spelling,been a long time] ,
 500grm mince, the best you can get with min fat ,
 1 raw egg ,
 fresh ground black pepper to taste'
 pinch of salt,
 3-4 spigs of parsley finely chopped,
 1large onion finely chopped,
 Crack egg into bowl and whisk with fork,  add mince and with very clean hands combine egg and mince, add onion-pepper-salt and parsley and work thru with hands ,
when done chill for for a while in fridge so mix stiffens a bit ,
 spread on a crusty style bread with another slice of onion and a dab of mustard ,  yum yum specially with an icy cold "Becks"

I didnt mind it when i was over there. I might give your recipie go.

If i can convince the fam i will be able to ditch the stove and gas bottle on the camper too
Post by: baldheadedgit on November 29, 2010, 03:13:43 PM
Why would people want it bleeding?? If I wanted that I'd throw the steak away and eat the blood pad from under it in the tray.

i'm on your side, like mine dead.! :cup:
Post by: Disco EMU on November 29, 2010, 03:29:51 PM
"Cut the head and the tail off ... wave it across a candle and put it on the plate"

I love a rare steak or even better black and blue! Burnt on the outside and still kickin' on the inside ... got me salivating just thinking about it.

Craig
Post by: Baz on November 29, 2010, 03:40:12 PM
Got to be deader than a dead thing on a dead day....... ;D

Any trace of the red stuff, and it may as well be still alive.

Baz
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on November 29, 2010, 03:41:50 PM

Medium Well.  Not bleedy but still juicy.  Well coloured through out, with no redness to be seen.  Definitely not cremated, and definitely not Moo-ing!

Fussy Kit_e
Post by: chunk on November 29, 2010, 04:40:14 PM
Meat should be eaten cooked, not half cooked, quarter cooked and definitely not still mooing you wouldn't eat half cooked chicken so why would you eat half cooked meat. And yes you can still have a tender juicy well done steak if it is cooked properly.
Post by: mr_cougar79 on November 29, 2010, 05:04:48 PM
I like my steaks medium well,Dont like crunchy steaks and certainly wouldnt be able to stomach blue steak :-(
Post by: darren on November 29, 2010, 06:38:25 PM
Perhaps this thread should include your favorite type of meat, just like the coffee thread

Here is a link to mine

http://www.churchofeuthanasia.org/e-sermons/butcher.html
Post by: GOLDIE on November 29, 2010, 06:48:56 PM
Medium with either mushroom or pepper gravy. With chips on the side
Post by: flamingoose on November 29, 2010, 06:55:05 PM
Meat should be eaten cooked, not half cooked, quarter cooked and definitely not still mooing you wouldn't eat half cooked chicken so why would you eat half cooked meat. And yes you can still have a tender juicy well done steak if it is cooked properly.

Two totally different beasts mate!

There are no harmful bacteria in beef to upset your stomach.

Chicken and pork however must be well cooked or you will spend the night on the can!
Post by: hairymick on November 29, 2010, 07:49:01 PM
Well done. Any pink in the middle, it goes back on the grille. charred on the outside and fully COOKED  on the inside. Oh yeah, and vegies and LOTS  of gravey and micky is one happy little camper ;D

(http://i609.photobucket.com/albums/tt171/Redback_2009/Camper/Bunya%20Mountains/BunyaPentaxM173.jpg)
Post by: cancan on November 29, 2010, 08:57:08 PM
We mostly buy export King Island rib fillet. I take it out of the Kyro pack, let it get to room temp, spay it with virgin oil and put it on a very hot plate for 3-4 minutes, turn it for another 3-4 minutes the put it on a wire rack and close the BBQ lid. Once its cooked i let it cool down and then I slice it up. Perfect...well depends on how many beers I have had before I start.
Post by: OffRoadDave on November 29, 2010, 09:21:52 PM
Gotta be medium to medium well for me, not keen on burnt to a cinder, but I'd take it any day over blue or any form of rare, the thought of eating raw meat turns my stomach.
Post by: D4D on November 29, 2010, 09:27:33 PM
We mostly buy export King Island rib fillet. 

Yeah the King Island fillet is what we normally buy too
Post by: Diksta on November 29, 2010, 09:33:18 PM
Yep, a good vet should be able to get it on it's feet  ;D.

I like mine rare to medium rare, the better the steak the rarer it should be.

i am with you Big Jules, medium rare to rare thou my brother likes it blue which is a little to much for me
Post by: Beachbums on November 29, 2010, 10:31:03 PM
Blue for me.  :cheers:
Post by: Alan Loy on November 30, 2010, 08:17:07 AM
I'm a medium rare man myself however this assumes that the meat is good quality.

Marinating the meat is a worthwhile addition, particularly if you are not sof the quality.

Who marinates their meat?
Post by: Yoda42 on November 30, 2010, 08:31:46 AM
Well done for Yoda, medium for Mrs Yoda. Scotch fillet is the cut of choice.

Yoda is very particular about his BBQ, and Mrs Yoda is very happy about that ;D
Post by: DANBRI on November 30, 2010, 08:45:02 AM
Can somebody turn the myswag forum back on.
Post by: Paul.Helm on November 30, 2010, 11:43:20 AM
Medium to medium rear.

For me NewYork yearling or Rib eye at a weight of 250-300gms minumum.

Seard for 3 min each side, then in the webber Q200 oven while marinated with masterfoods redwine & garlic, or soy honey & garlic or the smokey BBQ for 15min each side. Very nice.............
Post by: Symon on November 30, 2010, 11:50:49 AM
Blue all the way.
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2017, 05:16:53 PM
Got to be deader than a dead thing on a dead day....... ;D

Any trace of the red stuff, and it may as well be still alive.

Baz
agree
Post by: Foo on October 12, 2017, 05:28:26 PM

No wonder ya a grumpy chit. Ya got sore gums and jaw from tryin to eat boot leather all the time!  :angel:  ;D

Post by: Bird on October 12, 2017, 06:40:26 PM
No wonder ya a grumpy chit. Ya got sore gums and jaw from tryin to eat boot leather all the time!  :angel:  ;D

(https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/400x/60233858/theyre-picking-on-me-again-make-them-stop.jpg)
Post by: Steffo1 on October 12, 2017, 06:56:03 PM
Not while you're wearing blue ;D
A nice maroon shade would be the go, as my steak!
Post by: discoteddy on October 12, 2017, 07:15:16 PM
Medium rare, rib eye fillet cooked on the oz pig grill!!!!!

Disco teddy
Post by: callmejoe on October 12, 2017, 08:08:54 PM
If you cannot chase it around the plate. Its OVER COOKED.

Blue as can be
Post by: tryagain on October 12, 2017, 08:19:10 PM
(http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/list/000/028/432/ThreadNecro.gif?1259372448)
Post by: xcvator on October 12, 2017, 11:19:12 PM
Knock it's horns off, wipe it's arse and put it on the plate  :cheers:
Post by: Bad Scott on October 13, 2017, 03:46:31 AM
Self saucing steak  :cheers:
Post by: GBC on October 13, 2017, 05:46:48 AM
Two totally different beasts mate!

There are no harmful bacteria in beef to upset your stomach.

Chicken and pork however must be well cooked or you will spend the night on the can!

Chicken, yes no blood.

I had my first ‘medium’ pork fillet the other day and it was excellent. It has taken years to get my head around it but the local chef convinced me to give it a go. The guys on Masterchef have also been rabbitting on about medium rare pork. Have a google and a try. Personally I think I’ll revert back to cooking the arse out of pork and keep the beef for medium rare.
If you like sitting on crappers for weeks on end, google up ‘chicken tataki’ - yes, Japanese people eat blue chook.
Post by: Rumpig on October 13, 2017, 05:52:34 AM
A bit of blood never hurt anyone, the cow is dead already so no need to crucify it more  ;)
Post by: plusnq on October 13, 2017, 10:00:54 AM
A bit of blood never hurt anyone, the cow is dead already so no need to crucify it more  ;)

Lol
Post by: Pete79 on October 13, 2017, 10:36:51 AM
Chicken, yes no blood.

I had my first ‘medium’ pork fillet the other day and it was excellent. It has taken years to get my head around it but the local chef convinced me to give it a go. The guys on Masterchef have also been rabbitting on about medium rare pork. Have a google and a try. Personally I think I’ll revert back to cooking the arse out of pork and keep the beef for medium rare.
If you like sitting on crappers for weeks on end, google up ‘chicken tataki’ - yes, Japanese people eat blue chook.

The over cooked pork thing is from our grandparents era, when pig farming was much less industrialized.
These days with selective genetics, hygiene standards and vastly improved farming practices the over cooked chop should be history.

Having said that, I still prefer my pork medium.

But steak has to be bleeding.
Cut thick, dusted with rock salt only (no marinades and stuff), cooked over coals. Once it has colour on the outside it's done. The only colour on the inside is red. ;D
Post by: loanrangie on October 13, 2017, 12:46:26 PM
I like mine still mooing.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on October 14, 2017, 07:03:45 AM
Hi All, My favorite is My own Home killed 3 year old grass fed bullock once dead hung in the cold room for a two weeks. Best cut for me is a T bone cut not to thick then grilled with no char marks till just cooked past medium so there is no blood but still rearly juicy, if its good meat should be able to eat it with just a fork, Craig 
Post by: Fizzie on October 14, 2017, 09:23:15 AM
Interesting to see so many people reckon steak should be bleeding on the plate, but not many have voted that way ???

No, meat's got to be cooked! :D
Post by: gronk on October 14, 2017, 09:30:31 AM
Hi All, My favorite is My own Home killed 3 year old grass fed bullock once dead hung in the cold room for a two weeks. Best cut for me is a T bone cut not to thick then grilled with no char marks till just cooked past medium so there is no blood but still rearly juicy, if its good meat should be able to eat it with just a fork, Craig

Now that sounds about right.  But for us mere mortals, getting a really nice piece of meat from anywhere is hard, so I tend to not buy much at all. Don't you hate it when that nice piece of steak from the butchers gets off the hot plate and there is gristle through it, or it just doesn't melt in the mouth like it should.
To eat a steak with a fork......aahh, now that is a memory ??  The last time eating with a fork was some baby back ribs in New York !!
Post by: Rumpig on October 14, 2017, 10:12:11 AM
Interesting to see so many people reckon steak should be bleeding on the plate, but not many have voted that way ???

No, meat's got to be cooked! :D
can't say I'd voted when I replied in the thread, many others likely did same
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on October 14, 2017, 11:10:25 AM
Hi gronk, that does sound tasty, It just a memory for me now to, We sold our house block and our share of the family farm at Cootharaba too my older brother, we live in Cooroy now, Misses was sick of living there I was sick of my brother, So we ate the last of our steers last year, gee I miss great meat, If we buy meat now We just buy MSA rib filet from my butcher in Gympie, and do buggers or salad with it, its very nice but not as good as home killed meat, Craig 
Post by: shanegtr on October 14, 2017, 02:30:04 PM
Rare for me, and the same with lamb.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on October 14, 2017, 03:20:56 PM
Hi All, I find it very strange, meat is just protein like fish or chicken, Theres no way I would eat chicken or fish half cooked, so blows my mind people eat half raw meat, But each to there own, Craig
Post by: Troopy_03 on October 14, 2017, 05:35:28 PM
Hi All, I find it very strange, meat is just protein like fish or chicken, Theres no way I would eat chicken or fish half cooked, so blows my mind people eat half raw meat, But each to there own, Craig

No way would I eat undercooked chicken, way to easy to get crook like that, but steak rare, and fish raw are fine.  ;D
Post by: Bird on October 14, 2017, 05:41:52 PM
No way would I eat undercooked chicken, way to easy to get crook like that, but steak rare, and fish raw are fine.  ;D
surprising how often it is served up not properly cooked...
you should see some of the results from the lab we get in testing sometimes... ****in terrifying..
Post by: Troopy_03 on October 15, 2017, 10:48:49 AM
I'm bl@@dy paranoid about undercooked chicken after seeing how crook a mate got many years ago.
Post by: Pete79 on October 22, 2017, 07:04:34 PM
Exactly like this.....

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171022/0699577f1eb15822ad016fcb19bf6e1e.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171022/36221813cbf4de8982f898d261b751f6.jpg)

And getting washed down with a ice cold Little Creatures that was brewed in Fremantle. ;D
Post by: Bird on October 23, 2017, 08:02:30 AM
Quote from: Pete79
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171022/36221813cbf4de8982f898d261b751f6.jpg)
that looks like it will be nice once you cook it.
Post by: Hefty on October 23, 2017, 09:37:35 AM
I normally eat it medium rare and voted as such, but the best steak I ever tried was "Cave man steak".
Salt, pepper and olive oil on both sides of a good-quality, inch thick steak and then cooked DIRECTLY ON THE CHARCOAL! 30 seconds a side, flick off any significant charcoal chunks with the tongs and then DIG IN!!
I was skeptical at first but, I kid you not, it was delicious and even helped bring my taste back from medium to medium rare for normal bbq steak.
The only thing is, it's the kind of technique you can't do for a large group of people all at once because half of them probably won't eat it!

cheers,
Jono.
Post by: Rumpig on October 23, 2017, 11:39:34 AM
Yuuuuummmmm....cooked to perfection
fixed it for ya mate ;D
Post by: Bird on October 23, 2017, 11:56:29 AM
Quote from: Rumpig
fixed it for ya mate ;D

not fuggin likely.. may as well throw the blood pad between to bits of bread and chew on that.