General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 05:46:15 AM

Title: BATHURST 2017
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 05:46:15 AM
So Winterbottom has mimicked Moffat's 1977 paintjob, bloody hell, it looks nothing like it.
In place of dicking around with vinyl stickers, the money could have been better spent on learning to drive better.

Can't say if I'll even watch it this year, boring as bat Shit now really.
Might watch the first 6 laps and the last 6 laps and call it quits at that.

Stick the V8 ute drivers in the "supercars" and see how they go banging panels.................. now that I would watch.
Stick the V8 Supercar drivers in showroom cars, HSV and the like, and see how they go...... now that I would watch.
Stick the radios and telemetry gear in the bin and use old fashion sign boards and drivers.... now that I would watch.

Geez, watching the German Sheperd from 4 doors up slip one up the poodle from across the road would have more entertainment value to what we're getting on the supercars front at the moment.

OH DEAR, I bumped your door and passed you... ever so sorry, please, just pass me back while I slow down.
OH THANK YOU, ever so much, I think i shall.
After you....
Oh no, after you...

For fukks sake, they're fukking race cars, now race the fukkin things or get out. 

Title: Re: BATHURST 2017
Post by: drenno on October 05, 2017, 06:13:14 AM
Pass that man a beer!
Post by: speewa158 on October 05, 2017, 06:19:14 AM
l have started to cool the  :cheers: , warm up the Narcho's & other health foods to sustain me through the ordeal  . Bring it on          :cup: :cup:
Post by: doc evil on October 05, 2017, 06:43:49 AM
have to agree with Jeepers.... :o :o :o :o  :cup:

Might go hunting this weekend..........
Post by: edz on October 05, 2017, 07:22:47 AM
You would think they would at least get the type of car correct .. Stupid journo's ... Copy n paste from under photo
"  Mark Winterbottom with Allan Moffat and the 1977 Mustang livery. Picture: Mark HorsburghSource:Supplied  " .
Mustang !! What Mustang !! I could have sworn Moff drove a Falcon XC Coupe that day .
Post by: Bird on October 05, 2017, 08:27:20 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Can't say if I'll even watch it this year, boring as bat Shit now really.
been saying that for years...

Might watch the first 6 laps and the last 6 laps and call it quits at that.
most people do this now.
8 hours of follow the leader? Even the commentators sound bored repeating the same Shit year in year out, and when something minor finally does happen, they switch to Daryl Eastlake mode.. "Someones come in to the pit - lets watch this - 12.002 - that's .001 second slower than the previous stop, they'll be disappointed with that and have to work on that..." cue: 12th man doing murray walker.

Stick the V8 Supercar drivers in showroom cars, HSV and the like, and see how they go...... now that I would watch.
I've suggested this many times.. apparently the production series nobody watches (cause V8 Taxi's have it in the contracts for TV stations not to promote it)

Stick the radios and telemetry gear in the bin and use old fashion sign boards and drivers.... now that I would watch.
Yep... pit stops with the wheel brace that comes with the car and factory rims ;D

For fukks sake, they're fukking race cars, now race the fukkin things or get out.
that's the thing, most circuits don't allow for much passing, its nothing but follow the ****in leader now. specially the street circuits. your watching a sport die a very fast death.
Post by: edz on October 05, 2017, 08:42:19 AM
Has anyone found links / footage to the Traditional Bathurst V8's race that James Brock won in 1999 in a modded Auscar [ drivers door fitted ] . This was the alternate break away race on the the traditional long week end held by CAMS.[  Bathurst 300 ] . Think Bob Jane sponsored it . And it was good racing to watch, basic mods cars moving around all down to driver talent without fancy techno / electro gizmo's .
Can only find the V8s footage from the following week end Bathurst race .
Post by: Gazza00 on October 05, 2017, 09:26:39 AM
"OH DEAR, I bumped your door and passed you... ever so sorry, please, just pass me back while I slow down.
OH THANK YOU, ever so much, I think i shall.
After you....
Oh no, after you...

For fukks sake, they're fukking race cars, now race the fukkin things or get out."

Was watching the Pommie touring cars on Speedweek on Sunday.  2030945866 x more entertaining that the current taxi racing here. They don't mind a bit of push and shove. Could you imagine the carrying on from the ladyboy sooks here.
Post by: Bird on October 05, 2017, 10:13:42 AM
Quote from: Gazza00
Was watching the Pommie touring cars on Speedweek on Sunday.  2030945866 x more entertaining that the current taxi racing here. They don't mind a bit of push and shove. Could you imagine the carrying on from the ladyboy sooks here.
Pom touring cars have always been like that LOL!!!  but **** they must carry some spare parts with em
Post by: Onion on October 05, 2017, 10:44:14 AM
Personally, I'd love to see ANY/ALL showroom cars with a couple of mods. Tyres, cage, exhaust and not much interior. Done. Now go race. And if you hit one another, man (or lady) up and get on with it. Introduce classes because a Focus can't compete with a Lambo outright, obviously.

Basically production cars + a few selective mods and different classes - AT THE SAME TIME ON THE SAME TRACK.

Reminds me of ducking to the shops to get milk, actually!

Everything else Jeepers said ->  :cheers:
Post by: Bigfish on October 05, 2017, 11:06:01 AM
Personally, I'd love to see ANY/ALL showroom cars with a couple of mods. Tyres, cage, exhaust and not much interior. Done. Now go race. And if you hit one another, man (or lady) up and get on with it. Introduce classes because a Focus can't compete with a Lambo outright, obviously.

Basically production cars + a few selective mods and different classes - AT THE SAME TIME ON THE SAME TRACK.

Half of em wouldnt last a lap....
Post by: Bird on October 05, 2017, 11:07:13 AM
Quote from: Onion
Personally, I'd love to see ANY/ALL showroom cars with a couple of mods. Tyres, cage, exhaust and not much interior. Done. Now go race. And if you hit one another, man (or lady) up and get on with it. Introduce classes because a Focus can't compete with a Lambo outright, obviously
you mean like it was in the 60/70's? would be awesome!.

agree...
(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/44/Valiant_Charger_E38_Bathurst_1971_%2815910649656%29.jpg)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJAqLwaeM1s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJAqLwaeM1s)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bbZplBfzBw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bbZplBfzBw)
Post by: Rumpig on October 05, 2017, 11:19:58 AM
Was only yesterday arvo after seeing the truck parade on the news that I realised Bathurst is on this weekend, ever since it went the pay tv route to have lost interest in the V8's. I'll likely watch some of the racing over the weekend, more so if rain is forecast  ;D
Post by: edz on October 05, 2017, 12:30:59 PM
Love the commentary on this bit of footage especialy at the 4:10 > > mark  ==    Household Ajax mixed with engine oil to deglaze the cylinder bores .. ;D ;D  Commentators got it wrong back then too .. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJAqLwaeM1s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJAqLwaeM1s)
Old car yard trick to hone the bores on  a smokey motor, high revs and a few good puffs of powdered AJAX or Bon Amy down the carby, give it a good clean and sell it out the door quick,  Re-bore in a can .. 1000 k's later she's using more oil than petrol .
 Known a few shonks to do it back in the day ..   ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 12:48:56 PM
Hey Edz, i'm not seeing any Caddy's in the clips.  :'(

Post by: Bird on October 05, 2017, 12:54:47 PM
this is my car for the new event
http://www.news.com.au/technology/innovation/motoring/500000-ford-falcon-gtho-phase-iii-heads-15-million-luxury-car-auction/news-story/dc8a0871e86e348a063620179f90ab1e (http://www.news.com.au/technology/innovation/motoring/500000-ford-falcon-gtho-phase-iii-heads-15-million-luxury-car-auction/news-story/dc8a0871e86e348a063620179f90ab1e)

$500,000 Ford Falcon GTHO Phase III heads $15 million luxury car auction

IT WAS left untouched, hidden under blankets in a Perth garage for 30 years. Now the lucky owner is cashing in on his rare Ford Falcon muscle car.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 01:03:48 PM
Its still got the old style TA's on it too.  :cup:

They were hopeless in the wet on a good day, can't imagine what they'd be like to drive on now. (if they don't delaminate getting out of the driveway)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 01:09:24 PM
Imagine the day, when many years from now, somebody opens a shed to find a 2012 Kia with only 250,000 klm on it.

OH WOW, and it's in black too...... barn find, barn find, barn find.
Post by: MDS69 on October 05, 2017, 01:27:19 PM

yeah it is called the Bathurst 6 hour. Great racing.

http://www.bathurst6hour.com.au/ (http://www.bathurst6hour.com.au/)
Post by: edz on October 05, 2017, 02:08:26 PM
No class Kev no class at all .. ;D
Post by: edz on October 05, 2017, 02:30:19 PM
Imagine the day, when many years from now, somebody opens a shed to find a 2012 Kia with only 250,000 klm on it.

OH WOW, and it's in black too...... barn find, barn find, barn find.
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKcAYMb5uk4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKcAYMb5uk4)
Post by: DannyG on October 05, 2017, 08:08:32 PM
I must be in the minority. I still watch the racing with enthusiasm.

I agree the old days of production cars was great but that was an era of muscle cars. Todays 'race sunday, buy monday' production cars are not as appealing.

Supercars has and continues to try and promote an even playing field to get close competitive racing. Its far from follow the leader, the racing for the most part is very competitive, on the edge driving, show casing some of the worlds most talented drivers  :cup:

Ill have the tv playing in my shed all weekend and we will have our traditional Bathurst day sunday where me and few mates sit and watch it all day. No negativity here, bring it on.

Already on Day 1 we have seen a few big spills, a couple of very fast laps and there will be plenty more stories to be told yet.....so strap in and get into you negative nancys  ;D
Post by: edz on October 05, 2017, 09:56:11 PM
Two night shifts and a wake up to go, The Waeco is out and  set to take its place beside the armchair for the coldies  on Sunday, Bacon ready for brekky,  the prawns are on order from the trawlers for lunch ...
 Wife and little Miss are on notice to vacate the premises for the day .."  Yes dear please leave something in the bank account,  go and have a nice day shopping " ..... " Hello bank Ive lost my cards, Oh you can put a stop on them great "   ;D
Bathurst is the one and only day of the year  I get the TV and house  all to myself without interruption . phones off the hook too ..
Post by: speewa158 on October 06, 2017, 06:13:21 AM
lt is truly the  1 Day of the year to watch TV uninterrupted .
Unless its to pick up a fresh  :cheers: that has been delivered to your chair by Said " Beer Wench " & food  .  :cheers:
Post by: kylarama on October 06, 2017, 06:45:45 AM
7:30am bbq breakfast and light the spit at a mates house with about 20 others.  Pick a few numbers out of a hat for the $5 and $10 sweepstakes.
Numbers swell to around 40 by lunchtime when the chicken and lamb souvas are ready. Plenty of drinks and laughs into the late arvo.

Post by: Bird on October 06, 2017, 08:59:46 AM
Quote from: DannyG
Its far from follow the leader, the racing for the most part is very competitive, on the edge driving, show casing some of the worlds most talented drivers  :cup:
you must watch a different event to most
Post by: duggie on October 06, 2017, 10:00:23 AM

Supercars has and continues to try and promote an even playing field to get close competitive racing. Its far from follow the leader, the racing for the most part is very competitive, on the edge driving, show casing some of the worlds most talented drivers  :cup:

Ill have the tv playing in my shed all weekend and we will have our traditional Bathurst day sunday where me and few mates sit and watch it all day. No negativity here, bring it on.

I am with you on this very special weekend of the year .   :cup:
Post by: DannyG on October 06, 2017, 10:06:44 AM

Nope, I watch every race all year.

Do you?
Post by: achjimmy on October 06, 2017, 11:39:49 AM
Iam tipping that after 8hrs of racing and the 5th Pace car comes out with 12 laps to go that the finish  will be the closest in years and the commentators will be besides themselves with excitement!

Can someone message me after the last pace car so I can watch the 12 lap sprint race to the end please
Post by: Pete79 on October 06, 2017, 11:43:00 AM
Nope, I watch every race all year.

Do you?
Not since it stopped being free.....

To be honest I probably would have missed the big one this year if it wasn't for this thread.
I had to go searching to see if there was any free telecast. Apparently Fox was kind enough to allow limited coverage to Channel 10 for this one race. Thanks, you're ever so kind to us plebs that can't afford (or don't want to give our hard earned to the grubs at) FOXTEL.... :( :(
Post by: doc evil on October 06, 2017, 11:49:39 AM

I agree the old days of production cars was great but that was an era of muscle cars. Todays 'race sunday, buy monday' production cars are not as appealing.

Already on Day 1 we have seen a few big spills, a couple of very fast laps and there will be plenty more stories to be told yet.....so strap in and get into you negative nancys  ;D

Hate to admit it, but I agree with Bird.... :o

V8 super snorers (I use that term as it has become as boring as bat guano) has lost its appeal since the "parity" rules came in. No opportunity to pass, the slightest tap and you're penalised, don't cross this white line, no kerb hopping, tyre bundles to "guide" drivers etc. Rules are farcical and penalties are delivered haphazardly with no consistency..........and who presides mainly over this, an ex driver.........

Now what future do we have, Turbo 6 with the same floor pan, roll cage (internal structure), suspension, gearbox, diff..............WTF
Getting rid of the V8 utes for Diesel utes...............WTF

No free to air coverage of all rounds, only the enduros...............WTF

AVESCO (who I believe still own the rights) along with TEGA and Channel 10 have destroyed the sport. and if not careful, will go the way of F1, now owned by the yanks.

As for the best drivers...........OMG, most of them couldn't drive a greasy stick, well you know where.............
Having worked trackside for quite a number of years, they are a bunch of stuck up arrogant spoilt brats. Have plenty of stories, but 1 incident stands out.
At Winton I was part of Racesafe doing recoveries. A driver for a well known team (in red  ;) ) ploughed off into the gravel trap at turn 11. Being a wet weekend (as it usually is at Winton), the racesafe boys had me hooked up very quickly to the car to drag it out. Said driver stood on the sill of the race car demanding that the racesafe Navara drive into the sandtrap and drive him back to the pits some 300m away.............................all so his shoes don't get wet.............he put on quite a performance to a point that it was quite embarrassing to say the least. It wasn't until race control told him he will be penalised for ignoring an official directive by an official that he begrudgingly trudged back to the pits.
Post by: Bird on October 06, 2017, 11:56:32 AM
Quote from: DannyG
Do you?
**** no, rather mow a 100 acre paddock with a spoon. To me - hasn't been worth watching more than the first 4 laps and last 4 laps for 20+ years. There doesn't seem to be much passing anymore -not even in highlights

When commentators sound bored, you know its Shitful.
"Lets go down to XYZ in the pits..."
"Thanks Fred... here is a tyre on a rim, its bald cause its a slick back to you guys..."

I like passing, close racing, tussling, out braking people - Not just passing at a pit stop...
Like bike racing - Watch a moto 3 race - 10 bikes for entire races within 2 seconds of each other - the whole pack to the finish line. Show me that in car racing... it just doesn't exist.> Theres 3 competitive teams and 20 there to make up numbers... or you'd have 6 cars racing around
EDIT: like this - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXIbUVyBSJU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXIbUVyBSJU)

Have numerous mates who did the yearly pilgrimage to the mountain for the 70/80's - some major old school 'Holdens are Shit' kinda fans... None have been in the 2000's at all. Most don't even watch it on tele anymore.

Anyway all the power to you if you enjoy it, I can think of lots of things to do for a whole day more exciting.

Quote from: achjimmy
Iam tipping that after 8hrs of racing and the 5th Pace car comes out with 12 laps to go that the finish  will be the closest in years and the commentators will be besides themselves with excitement!
its the only way to make it exciting...

Hate to admit it, but I agree with Bird.... :o
The day had to come.  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 06, 2017, 12:31:27 PM
A bit of Cadillac power around the mountain...... who'd of thunk it.  :cup:

https://www.streetmachine.com.au/street-machine-tv/1710/twin-turbo-v6-holden-supercar-laps-bathurst-video (https://www.streetmachine.com.au/street-machine-tv/1710/twin-turbo-v6-holden-supercar-laps-bathurst-video)
Post by: macca on October 06, 2017, 01:22:34 PM
Up on the mountain now, as I am every year,  good to catch up with    old mates and have a laugh, each to his own i guess

Post by: gronk on October 06, 2017, 06:51:48 PM
**** no, rather mow a 100 acre paddock with a spoon. To me - hasn't been worth watching more than the first 4 laps and last 4 laps for 20+ years.

If I can, I'll watch the whole race......but like Bird, the missus hates racing...but everyones different..

I begrudgingly got foxtel after channel 10 sold us out, and only watch it for the supercars..

As for the drivers couldn't drive a greasy stick ???......how many overseas drivers have come over and shown us how it's done .....none !!

Post by: Rumpig on October 06, 2017, 06:59:47 PM
Just checked the forecast for Bathurst over the weekend....Saturday nothing special, but Sunday is a 95% chance of 15 - 20mm  8) 8) 8)
Post by: DannyG on October 06, 2017, 07:13:38 PM
Just checked the forecast for Bathurst over the weekend....Saturday nothing special, but Sunday is a 95% chance of 15 - 20mm  8) 8) 8)

We can only hope! I bleed blue so for me so far I am loving the pace of the Fords  :cup:

As for some of the other comments in this thread......"I dont watch it and havent for years but Ill be negative towards it anyway"  ;D ;D Come on you blokes, life isnt that bad. I admit I went through a period where I lost a bit of interest between going from production cars to what we now know as the car of the future supercars but I really enjoy it now.

Ive lost interest a bit in Moto GP and like wise Nascar. I understand what your saying about the close racing, its the same with the Aussie Cars series ;) Its all to do with who is racing in them I suppose. Well it is for me.

If there is an Aussie racing wheel barrows on the world stage Id be interested.

I suppose you negative nancies think Sprint Car racing is boring as well?   >:D
Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on October 06, 2017, 07:48:01 PM
A bit of Cadillac power around the mountain...... who'd of thunk it.  :cup:

https://www.streetmachine.com.au/street-machine-tv/1710/twin-turbo-v6-holden-supercar-laps-bathurst-video (https://www.streetmachine.com.au/street-machine-tv/1710/twin-turbo-v6-holden-supercar-laps-bathurst-video)

OMG!! That tickels my special places better than SWMBO could ever do. Being a a lover of rice burners and the twin turbo GTR'S I can't wait till they're all turboed.

Personally, I have found the competition this year to be very enjoyable. The back and forth between DJR and Triple 8 has breathed some life into the series and now PRA are chimming in again  with Mostert and Cam Water's win at Sandown making things very unpredictable. I hate the 'rubbing is racing' bull Shit that used to go on. Love the strategy and all the technical developments these days.

I do agree that most of the racing only being available on Fox sucks but you can keep up with it on Chanel 10's catch up show which is on late at night after each race day. I record it and watch it later.

Come on couch time Sunday  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 06, 2017, 07:53:28 PM
l just want to watch fast   ,  Cars/Utes  go around the Mt Panorama  track   quickly   . Call  Taxi races  or what ever   , Sport  . Let the Mountain sort them out  .                         8) 8)                 :-*
Post by: macca on October 06, 2017, 07:53:33 PM
I'm with you Danny, well up to the point where you mentioned blue Dont like it dont watch it, simple.
BTW Scottie is one hell of a steerer, gunna be hard beat

Post by: D4D on October 07, 2017, 06:55:23 AM
Haters are always going to hate.

I try and watch Sandown and Bathurst each year. Looks like the reds need to lift their game as the blues might win it this year.
Post by: gronk on October 07, 2017, 07:34:31 AM
Haters are always going to hate.

I try and watch Sandown and Bathurst each year. Looks like the reds need to lift their game as the blues might win it this year.

S M is a qualifying freak, but like every bathurst, anything can and probably will happen........even if you don't like the racing, tune in for the last 1/2 hour !!
Post by: kylarama on October 07, 2017, 07:51:44 AM
888 cars spending a fair bit of time kissing concrete and touring the grass and sand.
When they are quick they look very ragged.

Apparently when Scotty Mac reset the practice lap record, it was on used tyres.

Bring on the top 10 shootout.

Post by: D4D on October 07, 2017, 07:56:25 AM
Anybody else still remember this race?
http://www.drive.com.au/new-car-reviews/godzilla-returns-to-bathurst-65370.html (http://www.drive.com.au/new-car-reviews/godzilla-returns-to-bathurst-65370.html)
Post by: paul.o on October 07, 2017, 08:01:38 AM
I'll probably catch the Top Ten Shootout this arvo and tune in and catch the last 7 hours or so of the race!!!!  ;D

Can't wait, as mentioned before, qualifying is one thing, Sunday is another beast entirely.

Bring it on!!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 07, 2017, 08:07:53 AM
I've got a mate in Touring Car Masters who'll be doing qualifying soon.

1964 Mercury Comet # 97, go get 'em Cusso.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 07, 2017, 08:24:01 AM
Oh friggin hell, no coverage of the touring car masters this morning.  ???

Post by: paul.o on October 07, 2017, 09:27:50 AM
Jeepers, I saw somewhere yesterday, probably on the Fox V8 website, you can get a free fortnight fox trial. Might help you out?
Post by: macca on October 07, 2017, 11:40:25 AM

Did you find out how he went? Pity i didnt see you post earlier, we had a big nite last nite and i couldnt muster the energy to walk the 100metres to the track to watch them, they sounded good tho. I'll let you know how he goes at one o'clock

Post by: edz on October 07, 2017, 11:49:31 AM

Is Captain Cusso racing roundy roundies now Kev ?
Post by: kylarama on October 07, 2017, 12:13:43 PM
Oh friggin hell, no coverage of the touring car masters this morning.  ???
Started about 4th in the reverse grid race, but looked like he dropped away.

Race 2 starting now.

Post by: macca on October 07, 2017, 12:26:04 PM
Here you go Jeepers, back in the field but i bet he's having fun(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171007/bd74767c6017a9e9a6721f0b920d013e.jpg)

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 07, 2017, 01:28:29 PM
yeah, that's Al, been at it for a while now....you should see the message I sent him at 6am this morning.

In Darwin, he had a loose on a corner, so ripped off 2 donuts before proceeding.... good driver, bit of a cowboy.... nice bloke.
Post by: MadMarv on October 07, 2017, 01:40:16 PM
Ive been watching Bathurst / touring car racing since i think the early 80s maybee even the late 70s and through all the changes over the years have always loved the big race ,nowdays we all love our v8s here at home , i think my wife loves them a little bit more than me ... yes there has been many changes over the years and whilst its no longer an enduro race its still for us a must watch every year .....
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 07, 2017, 03:00:51 PM
2:26.5241 for the Mercury Comet..... not bad, Cusso's in his late 50's.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 07, 2017, 04:38:53 PM
Well bugger me, I stand corrected.... Winterbottom can drive after all... it seems I was wr. wr.. wr.... wrong.  :-[
Post by: D4D on October 07, 2017, 05:05:27 PM
Scotty gave it a bit of jandal
Post by: kylarama on October 07, 2017, 05:05:30 PM
Well bugger me, I stand corrected.... Winterbottom can drive after all... it seems I was wr. wr.. wr.... wrong.  :-[
He has had a few poles here before.

But Scotty Mac just went next level!  His one lap commitment is 2nd to none.  Loved his reaction and emotion.

Post by: archer63 on October 07, 2017, 06:39:41 PM
Yes...Scotty just blew whingcups records away...hee hee  >:D
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2017, 06:46:14 PM
lt will be interesting what they can ring out of a V6 motor next year , but till them . Sit down ,  turn up the volume , Grab a coldie & relax in a state of excitement for the rest of tomorrow    :cup:  :cheers:   
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 07, 2017, 06:55:20 PM
Big raps to David Reynolds. He goes alright and I love his sense of humour. After Lowndsey, Dave is my next fav.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: archer63 on October 07, 2017, 08:05:45 PM
Yes...Dave Reynolds and team punched way above their weight today....fantastic effort for such a small team....and he also has a personality to boot !
Post by: duggie on October 08, 2017, 06:16:27 AM

BRING IT ON

Time to go racing
Post by: MarkVS on October 08, 2017, 06:19:54 AM
BRING IT ON

Time to go racing

Post by: GeoffA on October 08, 2017, 06:24:30 AM
Things to watch for.....

Rain making the result a lottery
T8 punting the opposition
Ford teams inventing newer and better ways to stuff up

Post by: edz on October 08, 2017, 07:06:58 AM
Sending  the rain gods a request to put in a big  appearance today  ;D  That will sort the steerers  from the drivers
Post by: DannyG on October 08, 2017, 07:22:20 AM
Things to watch for.....

I hope not. Id love to see Scotty get the win he deserves but there are a few more (Blue Ovals) behind him to pick up the pieces if he cant.

If I must see a Holden win then it would be nice to Davey get a win.
Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2017, 07:43:20 AM
Dam its raining here so l cant go outside today,,,,what to do   ??? ???
Might run a book of Bathurst disasters
 Rain
1/2 Wits in cars
Skippy
 Rocks
Trees
Walls
Speed
What could possibly go wrong     ??? ???  :-[ :-[ :-[            :cheers:
Post by: VAGRANT on October 08, 2017, 08:51:54 AM
I like how they have the camp grounds dump point in clear view for us when they cross to the commentary box, top left corner of the screen, enjoy. ;D
Post by: edz on October 08, 2017, 12:10:27 PM
Loved the driver using a window squeegy on a stick to demist his windscreen at 260 + K's down con rod with one hand while steering with the other ...  ;D ;D

Whats happened to the tech cross overs with Mark Larkham, He sounded like he was having trouble with his speech in the tech pieces before the race started [ bit like he'd had a stroke ]  ? .
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 08, 2017, 02:05:31 PM
Dam its raining here so l cant go outside today,,,,what to do   ??? ???
Might run a book of Bathurst disasters
 Rain
1/2 Wits in cars
Skippy
 Rocks
Trees
Walls
Speed
What could possibly go wrong     ??? ???  :-[ :-[ :-[            :cheers:

Not being able to see out the windows of the car they're driving.
Not being able to wipe the windscreen because your driver's arms are too short.

Just a couple more, hope that's ok.
Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2017, 02:06:07 PM
This would have to be the longest car wash on record  but quick    >:D  :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on October 08, 2017, 02:33:04 PM
How much coin does it take to run a team these days? And they are running a hand held squeegee to unfog the windscreen FFS.
Now they are asking the question about how safe that is to h ave in the vehicle? The exact thing i was wondering when i saw them doing it....wondered what might happen to it in a big crash? Could it impale you?
Post by: alnjan on October 08, 2017, 02:40:40 PM
How much coin does it take to run a team these days? And they are running a hand held squeegee to unfog the windscreen FFS.
Now they are asking the question about how safe that is to h ave in the vehicle? The exact thing i was wondering when i saw them doing it....wondered what might happen to it in a big crash? Could it impale you?

Pretty sad when technology has advanced that much the cars can't handle the plastic windscreens foggy up
Post by: gronk on October 08, 2017, 03:01:53 PM
Pretty sad when technology has advanced that much the cars can't handle the plastic windscreens foggy up

Would be easy to redirect warm air from the engine onto it, but unlike today, the cabin temps are usually sky high, so it doesn't get done.
Post by: Hairs on October 08, 2017, 03:54:06 PM
Interesting link to the time sheets.
http://www.supercars.com/live-timing/ (http://www.supercars.com/live-timing/)
Post by: Rumpig on October 08, 2017, 05:33:29 PM
And on the biggest day of the year it's a HOLDEN first across the line  8)
Post by: Hairs on October 08, 2017, 05:38:11 PM
Erebus- Reynolds and Luke Youlden,
Well played.
I have Blue Oval running through my veins, but they did an awesome job.
Post by: edz on October 08, 2017, 05:44:36 PM
Next year you might get a Dongfu Hanzon IE-60 3 stroke  finish first and a couple of Wongton Shitzu's in second and third  ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2017, 05:49:02 PM
lf you wrote the story of the last 20 laps & wanted to put it on TV ,,,,,,,you would be thrown out the door ,  The Mountain tells its own story every year , & it just gets better & better     :cup:                 :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on October 08, 2017, 05:55:28 PM
So very True Jamie.  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on October 08, 2017, 05:58:16 PM
Great drive from David and Luke, they stayed out of trouble all day and came out on top at the end.

Anybody know what happened to Larko? He did a piece at the start and at the end and nothing during the race?
Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2017, 06:01:11 PM
Was he having  :cheers: amounts the crowd on the Hill    ??? :cheers:
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 08, 2017, 06:06:54 PM
Well done David and Luke. Great drive and team work. So good to see Whincup, Tander, Bright and Mostert not in the hunt. Shame about Scotty. And where was Lowndsey. Non existent all weekend. At least one of my favs got the win.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: duggie on October 08, 2017, 06:08:04 PM
Things to watch for.....

Rain making the result a lottery
T8 punting the opposition

FPR started out well but towards the end the team started to self implode

Gotta give credit to David Renolds  and Luke Youlden , great drive and a well deserved win
Post by: GeoffA on October 08, 2017, 06:13:22 PM
Happy for Reynolds and Youlden to win. A couple of very nice blokes.
Luke Youlden drove our FPV GT-E at the FPV drive day.
Opened my eyes....

Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2017, 06:59:35 PM
                                 F O R D

Found On  Road   Dead    this year at least  .
 Great last 30 laps   ,  harder to pick than a broken nose  :-* :-*   :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 08, 2017, 07:03:28 PM
Wet races are boring....
Post by: archer63 on October 08, 2017, 07:05:14 PM
Bad luck DJR/Penske...but at least whingcup also had a shocker :)...and the DJR/Penske team is once again leading the championship.
Not sure about Larko as I was watching fox....but there is some conjecture elsewhere that his speech appeared to be strange...and nobody saw him after that...hope he hasn't had a stroke or something :(
Agree...fantastic result for Dave Reynolds.
Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2017, 07:08:09 PM
Wet Races are boring , well said   ,   but the last 15 laps weren't  . Couldn't have written that in your wildest dreams .
Roll on Bathurst 12 Hour 2018  & 1000 , 2018       :cup:      :cheers:   :cup:
Post by: duggie on October 08, 2017, 07:27:25 PM
They have always said the that for the Bathurst race , The last place you want to be at the start is first .

Over the past 20 years only five drivers have won from pole position
Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2017, 08:32:19 PM
 & then  , there was Next Year  to try & Beat the Mountain   :cup:
Post by: doc evil on October 09, 2017, 07:29:29 AM
& then  , there was Next Year  to try & Beat the Mountain   :cup:

With what!!!!!!!

Kia's???????
Skoda's???????

how about a Tata just to mix things up........

And
Diesel utes.......WTF

Next will be electric V8 supercars........ ::)

12 hour will become the new proper race!
Post by: edz on October 09, 2017, 08:28:48 AM
Tesla's towing trailers loaded with batteries around the mountain and these being played from the stereo ..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9XAC-BvUyo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9XAC-BvUyo)     Might even be good for those Tata's   
;D ;D
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2017, 08:55:57 AM
gotta love the comments on the age
http://www.theage.com.au/sport/motorsport/supercars-holdens-david-reynolds-and-luke-youlden-win-2017-bathurst-1000-20171008-gywpgf.html#comments (http://www.theage.com.au/sport/motorsport/supercars-holdens-david-reynolds-and-luke-youlden-win-2017-bathurst-1000-20171008-gywpgf.html#comments)

'What a joke.. Supercars? Really? Their not and haven’t been since the Nissan gtr’s destroyed them time and time again the stupid old boys club of v8 motor racing, they changed the rules and wrecked the race..
I was going there from 75 and back in the day it was truly “motor sport” from tough stay in the race car drivers who didn’t get multimillion dollar endorsements .. all of them are spoon fed go cart drivers (http://gatorchatter.com/styles/default/xenforo/smilies/lmao2.gif)who technically can drive but let’s face it.. they ain’t riding tt on the aisle of man which was Bathurst and used to be..
Holden and ford fans must be so proud that there are no longer any Holden’s or fords produced in this country.. and if anyone had any sense.. Bathurst would revert back to what it used to be .. a all in..'
Post by: edz on October 09, 2017, 10:15:42 AM
I lost it when team members  started carrying the drivers out to the pit bay and standing them on a bit of wet carpet to keep their little race booties dry and would'nt  slip off the pedals " FFS Realy, are they that hopeless  " , "  Dry " they stood them on a bit of wet carpet !.
 Then the drivers  walked around as they changed positions on wet ground to get into the car ? ..
Wont be long before all we get is this beamed to our TV's for 6 hours .     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_6sXKsOx-o (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_6sXKsOx-o)
Post by: DannyG on October 09, 2017, 10:45:35 AM
I lost it when team members  started carrying the drivers out to the pit bay and standing them on a bit of wet carpet to keep their little race booties dry and would'nt  slip off the pedals " FFS Realy, are they that hopeless 

Its more to do with keeping moisture out of a hot cockpit and fogging up the windows but stopping your foot slipping off the brake pedal would be pretty important too.
Post by: edz on October 09, 2017, 11:30:21 AM
The amount of gaps in those body panels tagged onto a roll cage with no door rubbers or seals around the poloycarb windows + the fresh air intakes allowing literaly litres of water into the cabin over the race period, they shouldnt be  worried about a miniscule smear of moisture from a pair of race boots ..
As to slipping off the pedals they mustnt use anti slip material on them any more like we had  too  to pass tech inspection .

Edit :
 Seems they dont  anymore or very minimal     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOjQkAj6r04 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOjQkAj6r04)
Post by: macca on October 09, 2017, 11:58:03 AM
What i dont understand is why you guys waste your time watching it.  I no longer like F1 so i don't watch it. I have been going up the mountain for years and yes it has changed heaps, yes supercars is trying their best to stuff it up, but it is still a race i want to watch. To see first hand Scotties shootout  lap ,  even for a Red supporter, is something i will remember for awhile and i have seen some of the great laps up there. Second largest crowd in history so it still has something goimg for it. 

Post by: edz on October 09, 2017, 12:39:21 PM
Bathurst 1000, Now virtualy the only race I see all year and love it for what it is, Makes you shake your head though with some of the BS   Super cars and  teams do .
As for the roundy roundy lead up races during the year they lost me when they changed to  Super cars around 1999
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2017, 01:50:03 PM
The sad thing is I used to love motorsport... most forms of it.. but many in their endeavor to make many of them a "better TV event" have ruined the live event (most of them) at the cost of real fans.
Similar thing has happened to footy and cricket etc.

The Bathurst car/bike weekend and the PI World supers and GP were must do events, Aussie superbikes, late 80's with the world supers at Oran watchin the factory Bimota's get owned by the local Yamaha squad as we sat over at the flip flop, the touring cars etc at Amaroo and Oran were always a minibus full event from the club.

Well the bikes went away at Bathurst as it got too dangerous (our club thru the Blizzards used to run much of them), the cars appear to only there for TV rights now..

The GP and Supers are now too $ and all designed around TV for Europe...

Anyway hope what ever they change it to changes it to be numerous brands and closer to road cars than NASCAR. (Not Any Street Cars A Reality)

I'll never understand why it was a bad thing for Holden/Ford V8's getting flogged all those years ago.
Post by: macca on October 09, 2017, 03:58:35 PM
I agree with you both, Supercars have stuffed it up big time. They have had plenty of time to change the format and have gone towards the V6 line trying to get sponsorship dollars from the car makers,  good luck with that one with our small volume market or they could have looked at an approach closer to NASCAR. I live twenty minutes from Sandown, around two hours from PI and about the same from Winton. Used to go to all those rounds now wouldn't waste my time.  But i have just got out of the car from a 1700km round trip to the Mountain and i would do it again tomorrow if they could fix them quick enough.
There is something about Bathurst  that makes the V8's special, it was the same feeling in the seventies as it is today, maybe in a different way. I can tell you one thing tho it aint that $h!t they call Coopers mid strength, why the hell cant they get a decent alcohol sponsor

Post by: alnjan on October 09, 2017, 09:33:52 PM
Biggest killer was and has been for too many years, that it hasn't been Holden v Ford.  The shell may look like the model but that is where a lot of the manufacture components ended.  When was the last time the vehicle manufactures looked at the motor racing scene for product testing.  Biggest shame you just don't get to see the real vehicles racing. 
Post by: rags on October 10, 2017, 06:41:48 PM
[quote author=alnjan link=topic=53269.msg923113#msg923113 date=1507548832  Biggest shame you just don't get to see the real vehicles racing.

A bit like what my old Uncle did in late 70's taking a stock Volvo 242GT straight from the showroom, throw a roll cage and harness in, a dealership sticker as sponsor and you had a Bathurst race prepared car. I think it was even driven from the Sydney dealership to the race track.
Finished the race and drove home. The car is still racing today in classic car races ( by someone else) but maybe with a few more enhancements.

Post by: alnjan on October 10, 2017, 08:12:48 PM
[quote author=alnjan link=topic=53269.msg923113#msg923113 date=1507548832  Biggest shame you just don't get to see the real vehicles racing.

A bit like what my old Uncle did in late 70's taking a stock Volvo 242GT straight from the showroom, throw a roll cage and harness in, a dealership sticker as sponsor and you had a Bathurst race prepared car. I think it was even driven from the Sydney dealership to the race track.
Finished the race and drove home. The car is still racing today in classic car races ( by someone else) but maybe with a few more enhancements.

The way racing used to be, old school and the manufactures really based their sales on winning Bathurst for it.  How things have changed
Post by: lukeycat on October 10, 2017, 08:30:44 PM
Bring on the tesla racing I reckon hehehe https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARzujfRiQ3c&feature=share

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 10, 2017, 08:31:07 PM
The way racing used to be, old school and the manufactures really based their sales on winning Bathurst for it.  How things have changed

What about the Volvo Station Wagon that was raced.  Was a turbo job, and blue in colour.
Can't remember who the driver/Team was.
Post by: rags on October 10, 2017, 08:37:14 PM
What about the Volvo Station Wagon that was raced.  Was a turbo job, and blue in colour.
Can't remember who the driver/Team was.

This one
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 10, 2017, 09:02:59 PM
Don't remember any looking like that.
I can remember it running around Calder early on.
Post by: rags on October 10, 2017, 09:11:32 PM
Just found this YouTube video, Bathurst 1967 with Uncle Spencer leading off
Who needs a safety car https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPtMWahFxes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPtMWahFxes)

Post by: edz on October 10, 2017, 09:32:56 PM
Hey Rags,  I believe my brother has a  Cortina that your uncle raced at some stage sitting in his garage .. Nicely  restored ..[  back to street trim though ] .
How great would it be to have Bathurst as casual as this again ...  Hitech ?  " well yes we do have a stop watch "  ;D ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 10, 2017, 10:09:14 PM
Memories of a long time ago.
Post by: edz on October 11, 2017, 09:54:38 AM
Memories from Sunday's race ..History repeating itself  Seto giving the Nissan on slicks a tickle on a half wet to dryish track https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1Ezbfk2RJs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1Ezbfk2RJs)  back in the day .
One of my all time favorite Bathurst clips to watch . Miss the race call of Mike Raymond too .
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2017, 10:31:09 AM
Quote from: edz
Miss the race call of Mike Raymond too .
I reckon the commentary also puts me off massively... No listening to the cars, just "experts" dribbling Shit hour after hour... repeating the same Shit year in year out - happens in MotoGP that I watch and Shits me to tears. Its like YouTube Vids with some rubbish music instead of the bikes/cars/trucks making their own music etc.
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2017, 08:54:29 AM
https://www.facebook.com/TodayTonight/videos/1577921592247291/ (https://www.facebook.com/TodayTonight/videos/1577921592247291/)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2017, 01:21:01 PM
Good story...excellent to see something getting used.

I can never understand, owning something and never driving it. Good on him....  :cup: