Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1731368 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4925 on: August 28, 2019, 05:36:23 AM »
While I've been laid up with the flu, or whatever I have, the poor old Austin hasn't seen much done to it.
On Saturday, i dropped the old grey motor back to a short block..... man, i was stuffed by then.
On Sunday, it was up on the roof and cleaning the gutters ready for some rain this week.. man, i was rooted after that. (worn out)
On Monday, removed 4 wheels and went and had them balanced..... barely had the energy to put the bastards back on.
Yesterday, fitted one of the remaining new door rubbers and made a slight start on the second one...... stuffed six ways to sunday after that.
Today, after 12 days of being crook, I feel marginally better, so hopefully I can finish the rubbers and have the Austin right soon.

I don't recall ever being this crook before.

Offline Palmer

« Reply #4926 on: August 28, 2019, 07:45:01 AM »
After reading about travel buddies and such on here, I decided to drag my Dick Smith 12V portable stove out to give it another crack, so am charging up the batteries sitting on my workbench so I can test it again

« Reply #4927 on: August 29, 2019, 05:26:30 AM »
Nah, hmmm...left to do.

1. Finish trim on the dash............................. 2 hours.
2. remove and refit the seats with new covers. 2 hours minimum.
3. Full once over underneath.... to be sure..... good hour or 2.
4. White walls are now down for Monday........ half a day gone, going to Slacks Creek for 'em.
5. Left side door rubbers.............................. 2 to 6 hours.... turds to do.
6. One window channel needs attention.......... 1 hour
7. Road test............................................... maybe...oh, say half a day.
8. polish the little turd to an inch of its life..... 2 hours.
9. general clean up inside and out................. 3 hours minimum.

Bloody nora, this has taken friggin ages.

1. done
2. done
3. done
4. still to be done
5. done
6. done
7. partly done, needs be run now with the wheels balanced and rotated.
8. today hopefully
9. today if i'm not too knocked up.

« Reply #4928 on: August 29, 2019, 09:38:12 AM »
Bloody nora, this has taken friggin ages.

1. done
2. done
3. done
4. still to be done
5. done
6. done
7. partly done, needs be run now with the wheels balanced and rotated.
8. today hopefully
9. today if i'm not too knocked up.

If you had your bloody flu shot it would have all been done by now. ;D :D ;D :D

« Reply #4929 on: August 29, 2019, 09:45:28 AM »
If you had your bloody flu shot it would have all been done by now. ;D :D ;D :D

;D ;D ;D  :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #4930 on: August 29, 2019, 10:29:46 AM »
That thought has passed my mind, but thanks for pointing it out....  :cup:

« Reply #4931 on: August 30, 2019, 04:25:53 PM »
stuff me, did 4 hours of hand polishing and i'm stuffed.

The flu seems to be gone, but with went any energy I had.
Last night, I was buggered and hit the rack at 7:30 and got up at 5am.

4 hours work and I can barely keep my eyes open.

« Reply #4932 on: September 01, 2019, 06:48:26 AM »
Spent 10 hours making and installing some cupboards in the camper - details here  :D http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=55167.msg994646#msg994646

« Reply #4933 on: September 01, 2019, 11:44:53 AM »
And done... except for the white walls...... that'll happen this week.

« Reply #4934 on: September 01, 2019, 03:43:43 PM »
Some maintènance on the 80,
Replaced the rear right door lock actuator, was working every now & then.
Still don't know why I have no power to the upper tailgates one.
Unless the central door locking gismo in te drivers door has failed on that circut.
Hmmm
Bring on day light saving so I've got more sun light 'cheers'
« Last Edit: September 01, 2019, 03:45:48 PM by Hairs »

Offline Raym

« Reply #4935 on: September 03, 2019, 09:53:52 AM »
Following on from the post in "what made you smile"

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=55753.msg992852#msg992852

Getting a bit fancy & finished this yesterday.

Need to use a whiter timber & a different finishing process.  I applied danish oil straight to the red & yellow colouring & the timber darkened causing them to lose their "pop". Almost turned it back of but went ahead & added the gold gilding. Wasn't as bad as I first feared.

« Reply #4936 on: September 03, 2019, 10:21:23 AM »
Following on from the post in "what made you smile"

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=55753.msg992852#msg992852

Getting a bit fancy & finished this yesterday.

Need to use a whiter timber & a different finishing process.  I applied danish oil straight to the red & yellow colouring & the timber darkened causing them to lose their "pop". Almost turned it back of but went ahead & added the gold gilding. Wasn't as bad as I first feared.

Nice Raym, what wood did you use?

Offline Raym

« Reply #4937 on: September 03, 2019, 01:10:46 PM »
Nice Raym, what wood did you use?

Old bit of very dry mango.  Finished size 13 inch x 21/2 inch

« Reply #4938 on: September 06, 2019, 03:28:18 PM »
Useless at mechanical stuff so I stick to timber, couple of chairs for the grandkids. Probably clear Estapol to finish.

Offline Palmer

« Reply #4939 on: September 06, 2019, 07:37:02 PM »
Useless at mechanical stuff so I stick to timber, couple of chairs for the grandkids. Probably clear Estapol to finish.
Unlike me, who is pretty useless with both...

« Reply #4940 on: September 06, 2019, 07:44:01 PM »
Unlike me, who is pretty useless with both...

You sound like me. Only missing two things, skills and tools 😂😂😂

« Reply #4941 on: September 08, 2019, 01:58:45 PM »
Added a couple of side rails to the chairs and knocked up a table this morning.

« Reply #4942 on: September 08, 2019, 11:01:38 PM »
Noice!!! :cup: :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

« Reply #4943 on: September 09, 2019, 07:26:53 AM »
Very nice. ;)
The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

« Reply #4944 on: September 09, 2019, 11:59:40 AM »
I put some stickers on my shed wall......the wife and kids call it Bogan Central  ;D

Not quite shed related but I want to start dabbling in the world of meat smoking so I bought an el-cheapo Bunnings smoker to give it a try.
First attempt was a success. A small brisket and and a Pork shoulder tasted fantastic.

« Reply #4945 on: September 09, 2019, 12:38:20 PM »
Not quite shed related but I want to start dabbling in the world of meat smoking so I bought an el-cheapo Bunnings smoker to give it a try.
First attempt was a success. A small brisket and and a Pork shoulder tasted fantastic.

looks awesome...  :cup:

are these smokers just timber smokers?

any process you would like to share on how you did these?  very interested to try...

« Reply #4946 on: September 09, 2019, 12:44:53 PM »
looks awesome...  :cup:

are these smokers just timber smokers?

any process you would like to share on how you did these?  very interested to try...

Thanks. It is really simple. Buy the $65 3 in 1 smoker grill from Bunnings along with a big bag of charcoal and bag of wood chips to your liking (I bought apple wood).

Set it up with the coals on the bottom shelf, water in the dish in the middle shelf, meat on the top rack. Open vents so as the internal temp is sitting at 100 or so degrees, put wood chips in foil and stab holes in foil, sit on top of or near red hot coals on the bottom coal shelf.

Wait 4-18 hours depending on the meat you are cooking and the internal temp you want your meat to be. Wrap meat in foil once it reaches temp, allow to rest for an hour or so.

Calve and eat the most moist, tender and nicest flavour meat you have ever eaten ;)

Of course there are variations to this, youtube is your friend. Google barrel smoker.

« Reply #4947 on: September 09, 2019, 01:07:20 PM »
Thanks. It is really simple. Buy the $65 3 in 1 smoker grill from Bunnings along with a big bag of charcoal and bag of wood chips to your liking (I bought apple wood).

Set it up with the coals on the bottom shelf, water in the dish in the middle shelf, meat on the top rack. Open vents so as the internal temp is sitting at 100 or so degrees, put wood chips in foil and stab holes in foil, sit on top of or near red hot coals on the bottom coal shelf.

Wait 4-18 hours depending on the meat you are cooking and the internal temp you want your meat to be. Wrap meat in foil once it reaches temp, allow to rest for an hour or so.

Calve and eat the most moist, tender and nicest flavour meat you have ever eaten ;)

Of course there are variations to this, youtube is your friend. Google barrel smoker.

very comprehensive... thanks mate...

« Reply #4948 on: September 09, 2019, 01:25:39 PM »
very comprehensive... thanks mate...
but its far from that simple... trust me and the 5 roasts in the bin...

« Reply #4949 on: September 09, 2019, 01:30:11 PM »
but its far from that simple... trust me and the 5 roasts in the bin...

Really? You must be fussy mate, how can you bugger it up?

Cook meat until it is to yout liking and eat.....simple??  If it is a bit tough doing the skewer poke test leave it longer.

This is the first time I have used this little barrel smoker but I have done heaps of slow cooked smoked meat just on the barby in a real primitive method and they always turn out pretty good i thought.