Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1729981 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4800 on: July 18, 2019, 03:53:26 AM »
I'm guessing Pottsy, that your assembly is going a tad quicker than mine too.

When we fitted the bonnet last week, the clumsy friggin painter dropped a hinge on the floor and chipped it.
The other hinge, when being tightened, showed up an issue that would require replacement.

On Monday, I found 2 chrome hinges on a 58 Lancer that had minor issues with pitting and the pins were shot.
Rebuilt both hinges and got them fitted yesterday with the help of a mate.

Rear bumper bar, all nicely painted flat black on the under side went on.
The left to right was wrong, too much fresh air on the left side.
On and off twice and now within 2mm of perfect and trust me, that's better than when they were new.

Paint the muffler in a heat proof aluminum colour (VHT) and whack that on.
Then piss around with the brackets and clamps to get the pipe poking out straight.

Day off today, not doing nuffin on the Austin today....  at all. Knees are rooted from this week.

I might though, give the front bumper bar a polish, then i'll mask it and paint the back of it.
Hmmm, a bit of fresh black on the mounting brackets couldn't hurt either.
I might slip up to Toowoomba and get some bits from Clarke Rubber for it too.
The Fleetwood needs to come out for a bucket of bubbles and a wipe over with a chamois.
Oh, the whitewalls, well, it would seem silly not to give them a touch up as well.

Think I might take a valium, grab a beer and sit down and watch Days of Our Lives.

« Reply #4801 on: July 18, 2019, 08:12:45 AM »
Couple of progress shots.

Masking up everything to do the black underneath was a turd of a job.

Just look at the pics, they'll tell the story i'm sure.

« Reply #4802 on: July 18, 2019, 08:15:39 AM »
and some more.....

The chrome hinges are a better look now than the painted ones too.... well, i reckon they are.  :cup:

I still think its a bit of a smurf mobile but hey, someone will love it...... won't they...  ???

Offline Chappie

« Reply #4803 on: July 18, 2019, 08:54:34 AM »
It looks a bit like the car from Harry Potter, someone will definately love it, just need to find the right one.
I think it is a cool car.
Well done Jeepers.

« Reply #4804 on: July 18, 2019, 09:08:57 AM »
If Harry Potter and Papa Smurf had a love child, the Austin would be it huh?  :D

« Reply #4805 on: July 18, 2019, 09:54:37 AM »
JC may be quicker than you assembling mine, but boy I can't wait to see the final product of your adventure, it's looking good. I like the chrome hinges, breaks up the blue a bit.
Keep up the good work.

« Reply #4806 on: July 18, 2019, 09:58:29 AM »
It looks a bit like the car from Harry Potter, someone will definately love it, just need to find the right one.
I think it is a cool car.
Well done Jeepers.
those ford anglias are worth diamonds now LOL

« Reply #4807 on: July 18, 2019, 01:06:02 PM »

I still think its a bit of a smurf mobile but hey, someone will love it...... won't they...  ???
does nothing for me, I would have sent it to the wreckers for scrap....lol

« Reply #4808 on: July 18, 2019, 01:19:13 PM »
Oh dear...  :'(

Offline Rusty

« Reply #4809 on: July 18, 2019, 01:25:30 PM »
Jeepers that fell out of the ugly tree and hit every branch on the way down  ;D
2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

« Reply #4810 on: July 18, 2019, 02:37:48 PM »
 ;D she no Cadillac...

« Reply #4811 on: July 18, 2019, 06:08:02 PM »
Built a boat today, all scraps again, yet to be polished.
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #4812 on: July 18, 2019, 06:54:05 PM »
Finally got around to installing a Pihole ad-blocking server on our home network...

Runs on a Raspberry Pi and works a treat...

https://pi-hole.net/

« Reply #4813 on: July 18, 2019, 07:22:10 PM »
Built a boat today, all scraps again, yet to be polished.

That will put a smile on some ones face, Grand kids ?

« Reply #4814 on: July 18, 2019, 07:42:02 PM »
Little miss fell in love with  these glass dolphins from an opp shop not far from where we were staying while on holidays the other day, So Ive just mocked them up with a cheap set of Christmas LED's [ AA battery powered ] to show her what they will be like when I mount them on a base,  to go on the side board in her room as a night  light .
« Last Edit: July 18, 2019, 07:44:19 PM by edz »

« Reply #4815 on: July 18, 2019, 08:05:28 PM »

That will put a smile on some ones face, Grand kids ?

First two due Sept, 10 days apart. One girl and one mystery.

Offline sparksy

« Reply #4816 on: July 18, 2019, 08:10:54 PM »
Found a old drill press a few years ago so thought Id start to bring it back to life. Its a KIRA NSD-340 made in Japan around mid 1970's.
The original 3 phase motor besides looking a bit tired was hard wired 3 phase star so as no 3 phase in shed fitted a new 3hase motor and a single phase to 3 phase VSD.
Ran it up to speed and noticed wobble in the chuck area. Found a old manual on google and after dismantling found it was missing the lower bearing. best part 6202 and 6203 bearings so after searching in shed found some and put it all back together.
Tomorrow is make up a stand and mount it up. Its a 3/4 size column so need to lift it up a bit 600mm. then start to remove the surface rust.
https://catalog.zenkiren.net/catalog_pdf.php?id=7108
« Last Edit: July 18, 2019, 09:13:40 PM by sparksy »

« Reply #4817 on: July 18, 2019, 08:40:39 PM »
 Tinkering and refurbishing older gear good stuff .. My daughter likes its name too [ Spelled exactly the same ] . ;D

« Reply #4818 on: July 18, 2019, 08:42:29 PM »
Found a old drill press a few years ago so thought Id start to bring it back to life. Its a KIRA NSD-340 made in Japan around mid 1970's.
The original 3 phase motor besides looking a bit tired was hard wired 3 phase star so as no 3 phase in shed fitted a new 3hase motor and a single phase to 3 phase VSD.
Ran it up to speed and noticed wobble in the chuck area. Found a old manual on google and after dismantling found it was missing the lower bearing. best part 6202 and 6203 bearings so after searching in shed found some and put it all back together.
Tomorrow is make up a stand and mount it up. Its a 3/4 size column so need to lift it up a bit 600mm.
https://catalog.zenkiren.net/catalog_pdf.php?id=7108
Nice find dude :)

Offline sparksy

« Reply #4819 on: July 18, 2019, 09:20:58 PM »
Thanks. 
Only bearings left are 2  6205's for spindle pulley. I think if I look hard enough should have them in shed.
Ive fitted a few VSD's to drills over the years. Easy to get speed right without having to change the belt position. Real handy for using holesaws.

« Reply #4820 on: July 19, 2019, 09:55:13 AM »
Thanks. 
Only bearings left are 2  6205's for spindle pulley. I think if I look hard enough should have them in shed.
Ive fitted a few VSD's to drills over the years. Easy to get speed right without having to change the belt position. Real handy for using holesaws.
I would have loved a VSD on my pedestal drill these last few weeks.
Even though mine is 16 speed the lowest is still not really low enough for notching with a 60mm hole saw through decent walled tube.

« Reply #4821 on: July 19, 2019, 01:55:56 PM »
That's all beautiful work, the lot of you :cup:

Hey Jeepers, how did you get to keep the old number plates, or was she still regoe'd ???

« Reply #4822 on: July 19, 2019, 03:16:20 PM »
That's all beautiful work, the lot of you :cup:

Hey Jeepers, how did you get to keep the old number plates, or was she still regoe'd ???

Back in May, I was cruising the PPQ site for the mates son, who bought the FB wagon and we ended up with KQQ160.
A week later, I checked for KQQ161 and it was available too, so just ordered it in black and white.
Its $475 worth of plates, but the car needs a good plate on it..... Simple.

« Reply #4823 on: July 19, 2019, 04:08:15 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Its $475 worth of plates, but the car needs a good plate on it..... Simple.
Should bring the total value up to $470 now.  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #4824 on: July 19, 2019, 04:31:11 PM »
Geez, they're a tough audience this week.  ;D