Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488814 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #1650 on: May 15, 2020, 06:02:45 PM »
Nice work, just in time for a weekend shakedown ride.

« Reply #1651 on: May 15, 2020, 06:25:11 PM »
What’s people’s preferred bike carriers ? Looking at a 3 bike that attachs  to the towball preferably because the turbo doesn’t have a hitch.

Looking at thule, Yakima and buzz rack . This style https://www.roofrackstore.com.au/yakima-justclick-bike-carrier-8002494-p-580987.html

« Reply #1652 on: May 15, 2020, 06:47:14 PM »
What sort of bikes will you be transporting? I'm not a fan of frame mounted carriers but with a towball mount there are not many options. I prefer Yakima, I have all mine keyed alike. Thule are also good. I had a similar rack to the buzz rack initially, I wasn't a fan when it was loaded up and sold it to buy the Yakima.

« Reply #1653 on: May 15, 2020, 08:04:43 PM »
What sort of bikes will you be transporting? I'm not a fan of frame mounted carriers but with a towball mount there are not many options. I prefer Yakima, I have all mine keyed alike. Thule are also good. I had a similar rack to the buzz rack initially, I wasn't a fan when it was loaded up and sold it to buy the Yakima.

Two MTb , thought of the 3 Bike to clear the spare wheel on the Cruza . But also could take the road pushy. I just know if I go hitch mount it’ll limit me . The falcon doesn’t have a hitch and the Cruza with Kaymar is the pits to change hitches on . It’ll only be on road

« Reply #1654 on: May 15, 2020, 08:29:33 PM »
Yes with the spare wheel you'll lose a bike spot, I had the same issue using the rack on the Prado. Something else to consider. I'm not sure how the Yakima/Thule clamp works, on my towball rack there was a plate with slots that mounted under the towball, this would lock into the bike rack when fitted to stop side to side swing. The plate would only fit on certain hitches. You're probably best off to go to a roof rack place and try the Thule and Yakima options, both to the car and your bike. The Thule roof rack mounted holders I bought originally wouldn't work with my MTB due to the shock mount position hence why I switched to Yakima.

« Reply #1655 on: May 15, 2020, 08:35:08 PM »
Yes with the spare wheel you'll lose a bike spot, I had the same issue using the rack on the Prado. Something else to consider. I'm not sure how the Yakima/Thule clamp works, on my towball rack there was a plate with slots that mounted under the towball, this would lock into the bike rack when fitted to stop side to side swing. The plate would only fit on certain hitches. You're probably best off to go to a roof rack place and try the Thule and Yakima options, both to the car and your bike. The Thule roof rack mounted holders I bought originally wouldn't work with my MTB due to the shock mount position hence why I switched to Yakima.

Thanks mate. They both give you standard 50mm balls that there Hitch locks around . No plate required the balls seem standard but are probably just to ensure it works

« Reply #1656 on: May 15, 2020, 08:43:44 PM »
I've been looking at a two bike ISI or Gripsport, but they are rare and hard to come by on the used market

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #1657 on: May 15, 2020, 08:47:51 PM »
I have Thule , have used it on my last 3 cars , on road and off ....
Currently on my SS ute , used on gravel roads , highways etc - ball mount is super secure .
I originally bought it for Fat bikes , now carrying a heavy e- mtb .

All Good , highly reccomended

A mate has an ISI rack and swears by it - again for e- mtbs .
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff
The following users thanked this post: achjimmy

« Reply #1658 on: May 17, 2020, 08:21:21 AM »
Thanks mate. They both give you standard 50mm balls that there Hitch locks around . No plate required the balls seem standard but are probably just to ensure it works

Good timing at Pushys

« Reply #1659 on: May 17, 2020, 01:41:34 PM »
Took the new toy out for a short play this morning and discovered it had a midget chainring on the front. Didn't think there was one, as I couldn't see the second shift lever as it is tucked under the brake lever.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1660 on: May 17, 2020, 05:46:12 PM »
Went out to Lysterfield this morning and it was pretty busy my mate went in the afternoon and it was chaotic.

Great day for it though

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1661 on: May 17, 2020, 06:13:23 PM »
One of my son's mates mentioned today that he's looking at getting a new Roscoe 8. They've been down to the LBS and checked them out. I mentioned to him that he could buy mine if he was interested. Gave him a price and him and his dad are thinking it over.
If it goes ahead I'm going for the Marin San Quentin 3 which is the bike I wanted from the get go.  See what happens.
Might be new bike day again for me soon.
Cheers, Mike.
https://www.bicyclesonline.com.au/marin-san-quentin-3-hardcore-hardtail?gclid=CjwKCAjwwYP2BRBGEiwAkoBpAh_LvRnspKE1bQN4Gs8D59eD1HuxpvQmyESKHZLIF7pto6q8J06enhoCLzMQAvD_BwE
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #1662 on: May 17, 2020, 07:57:59 PM »
Why go hardtail when you can have suspension ?

Edit....my MTB knowledge is almost zero !!

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #1663 on: May 17, 2020, 09:09:26 PM »
Hey guys im looking at giving the roadie a rest and getting into the dark art of mountain biking

As it will also be my work commuter so will have to fill some road duties as well should i be going for a single or double chain ring up the front

The work commute is 24k round trip and i dont really care about speed as i only do it to not feel guilty about my beer consumption on the weekend

Looking at the Giant Talon 1 which i can get in a single or double up front or specialized Rockhopper Expert 29

Was just worried i may spin out the high gear with the single chain ring on the front
If you're going to commute on it, I'd recommend 2x, due to the extra gears.  I ran 2 sets of wheels on my Norco hardtail when I was commuting and racing/rec MTB on the same bike...

I ran the bike 1x for a while, but couldn't get the proper gearing for anything I was using the bike for...

A demo is critical to getting an idea of what you like.  Trek dealers usually have a fleet of demo bikes you can borrow/hire that get you a discount on a new bike if you buy one, which is a great idea

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1664 on: May 18, 2020, 03:45:55 AM »
Why go hardtail when you can have suspension ?

Edit....my MTB knowledge is almost zero !!
Personal preference. I grew up riding hardtails, bmx etc, Hardtail bikes require a cleaner, more precise riding style. Full sus is a bit more forgiving if your line is not perfect.
I'm a lazy bike owner so less maintenance on the hardtail is a win for me. No rear shocks, linkages etc to worry about. Plus I'm not throwing myself off massive drop offs, rock steps etc. My capabilities probably don't warrant a full sus bike.  I may get one at some point, but not at the moment.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van
The following users thanked this post: gronk

« Reply #1665 on: May 18, 2020, 09:00:15 PM »
Got tired of using the compressor for bike tires  as only have the rattly aldi compressor in the shed And having to use an adaptor for the presta valves . So invested in a bontrager dual chamber pump 😄

Only used low volume so far not high pressure . But loving the big bloody dial for my Shite eyesight

« Reply #1666 on: May 19, 2020, 10:02:09 AM »
Got tired of using the compressor for bike tires  as only have the rattly aldi compressor in the shed And having to use an adaptor for the presta valves . So invested in a bontrager dual chamber pump

Only used low volume so far not high pressure . But loving the big bloody dial for my Shite eyesight
Mine goes to 220psi (lezeyne) but have tubulars for my Track racing, that will go to 290psi.

« Reply #1667 on: May 19, 2020, 11:56:35 AM »
Quote from: Foo
... that will go to 290psi.
that would make an impressive noise going off..

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #1668 on: May 19, 2020, 05:46:21 PM »
Mine goes to 220psi (lezeyne) but have tubulars for my Track racing, that will go to 290psi.

meanwhile I just need one that goes to maximum of 20psi and is detailed in 0.1 of a psi for the fatbike...

Topeak JoeBlow FAT works for me... https://www.topeak.com/us/en/products/floor-pumps/753-joeblow%C2%AE-fat

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #1669 on: May 20, 2020, 04:40:21 AM »
that would make an impressive noise going off..
Just a tad.

« Reply #1670 on: May 20, 2020, 10:17:42 AM »
Just a tad.

The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #1672 on: May 20, 2020, 08:01:15 PM »

Offline petrolburner

« Reply #1674 on: May 29, 2020, 07:56:48 AM »
With both kids nearly 8 and 6 I am getting back into riding and loving it! Carrying a few kegs more than when I used to be into it ???

Dusted off my daggy old commuter hybrid bike and an ancient old 26” hardtail giant for myself.

The kids meanwhile are rocking new wheels!!

I turn 40 this year and I think the kids need to buy dad a FS mountain bike for his birthday!!

Complete Campsite Fraser XTE

2013 Nissan Patrol Y62 ST-L