Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319676 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #400 on: June 10, 2019, 03:28:23 AM »
Hope you busted the branch/frond that nearly gotcha MDS69.

« Reply #401 on: June 13, 2019, 08:30:56 AM »
Just saw this: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/whizrider-the-car-seat-25x-smaller-than-a-booster?utm_content=campaigns_one_column4_hero_image&utm_source=sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=bck-06122019emerging&utm_term=#/

Basically a harness / vest that your kid wears & then fastens on to the existing seat belt, rather than using a booster seat as such.

Says they exceed US Safety Standards - would they meet / comply with ADRs / Road Rules ???

« Reply #402 on: June 13, 2019, 10:21:54 AM »
Quote from: Fizzie
Basically a harness / vest that your kid wears & then fastens on to the existing seat belt, rather than using a booster seat as such.
why ? what advantage is there?

As for the ADR's I'd say no it wouldn't -  but someone may know.

« Reply #403 on: June 13, 2019, 10:44:25 AM »
Says they exceed US Safety Standards - would they meet / comply with ADRs / Road Rules ???

Generally, from my understanding, US vehicle safety standards are far laxer than those here. I'd be reasonably certain they wouldn't meet Aus standards as they stand, I don't see it offering much more protection than a standard set belt either.

« Reply #404 on: June 13, 2019, 12:33:06 PM »
What is the only animal on Earth that can become extinct, yet re-appear at any time later?
Jelly fish.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

« Reply #405 on: June 13, 2019, 02:43:10 PM »
What is the only animal on Earth that can become extinct, yet re-appear at any time later?
Speewa

Offline Hookie

« Reply #406 on: June 13, 2019, 03:53:41 PM »
Generally, from my understanding, US vehicle safety standards are far laxer than those here.

I don't think they're more lax, just different. One example is the land rover defender 110 that was banned for not having airbags. US fans of Japanese cars have also long lamented that the skyline GT-R was banned for import too, because it was too stupidly fast.

« Reply #407 on: June 13, 2019, 04:03:35 PM »
I don't think they're more lax, just different. One example is the land rover defender 110 that was banned for not having airbags. US fans of Japanese cars have also long lamented that the skyline GT-R was banned for import too, because it was too stupidly fast.
Skyline is but a toy... you can have a Hennessy F5 :)
http://hennesseyperformance.com/vehicles/hennessey/venom-f5/

1600 bhp Hennessey Twin Turbo V8 Engine
    Top speed: 301 mph
    0-186 mph: < 10 sec.
    0-249 mph-0: < 30 sec.

« Last Edit: June 13, 2019, 04:24:26 PM by Bird »

« Reply #408 on: June 13, 2019, 04:11:30 PM »
why ? what advantage is there?

As for the ADR's I'd say no it wouldn't -  but someone may know.

Advantage would be that they take up a lot less room, especially when not being used, & you could have them there for Justin.

My BiL is a good example - one of his kids has moved back to Oz, with his 3 kids under 6, so Grandma & Granddad now have to act as taxi occasionally, which means getting child seats, putting them in the car for one arvo & so on :'(

Talking on another forum & most people agree that they wouldn't meet ADRs / Standards.

« Reply #409 on: June 13, 2019, 05:13:22 PM »
Doubt very much they would come close to the AS/NZS standard.
Our standards have a few requirements that I believe are unique. Eg top tether strap for any with am inbuilt harness.
 Booster seats "lift" the child up to be the same size as an adult. This vest pulls the seatbelt down to the correct "starting" position.  Looking at the photos near the shoulders there is a bend in the belt that in an impact the belt will straighten up before starting. To work (i.e. kid has already moved forward Siem distance)

As for US standards not sure but in the E.V. thread was a link to a prototype 4WD that prooudly claims doesn't have airbags because it has seatbelts.

« Reply #410 on: June 16, 2019, 11:29:30 AM »
What do we all know about the date on Swap 'n Go gas cylinders via the BGS ???

Picked one up t'other day & it's stamped 6 09.

Just dropped back past them to check & the man in the red shirt said that's it'll be fine a they're tested every time they're refilled & so on.

So is he right, or am I going to take it back in 6 months time to be told, Sorry, mate - she's out of date so we can't take it ??? :'(

Offline corndog

« Reply #411 on: June 16, 2019, 11:42:45 AM »
Would think that it would have to have a current date stamp on it to be filled. Think that is the law. I know others that fill bottles will not do it if they don't. There is no proof the bottle has been tested if not stamped. On the other hand if it has a stamp, it's no proof it has been tested. Cost money to do both. That should be the answer for it all. and some take out of date cylinders anyway.

« Reply #412 on: June 16, 2019, 12:32:32 PM »
Just dropped back past them to check & the man in the red shirt said that's it'll be fine a they're tested every time they're refilled & so on.

So is he right, or am I going to take it back in 6 months time to be told, Sorry, mate - she's out of date so we can't take it ??? :'(

Yes the man in the red shirt is right, the bottles are tested/certified before each fill.

« Reply #413 on: June 16, 2019, 12:42:54 PM »
Hmm, OK then.

So I'm wondering if it will be OK to swap them there, but if you tried to have it just refilled at the servo or wherever, would they then say no ???

« Reply #414 on: June 16, 2019, 12:44:23 PM »
Have a read of this.
https://www.elgas.com.au/blog/400-10-reasons-why-swapngo-is-better-than-refilling
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #415 on: June 16, 2019, 01:01:33 PM »
Thanks Pottsy.

& carrying on from that: https://www.elgas.com.au/blog/396-gas-bottle-cylinder-testing-facts

Which means that I was right - till I pealed off the yellow label & found a new test date 5-19 hidden under it! :-[

« Reply #416 on: June 16, 2019, 02:42:24 PM »
Thanks Pottsy.

& carrying on from that: https://www.elgas.com.au/blog/396-gas-bottle-cylinder-testing-facts

Which means that I was right - till I pealed off the yellow label & found a new test date 5-19 hidden under it! :-[

That's handy!

« Reply #417 on: June 17, 2019, 08:14:15 AM »
I don't think the BGS worry/inspect dates.
Well my last out of date bottle
got swapped without question!

« Reply #418 on: June 17, 2019, 12:31:12 PM »
I don't think the BGS worry/inspect dates.
Well my last out of date bottle
got swapped without question!

They don't check because they know the bottle will be refurbished, certified and refilled if passed.

« Reply #419 on: June 19, 2019, 11:51:03 AM »
Hows these outstanding members of the public ..
When you see this stuff, and the dad - it all makes sense.. but do you believe they could ever be useful to society?

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/attack-mine-god-help-yours-father-s-vile-threats-to-bashed-top-cop-20190618-p51yx3.html
« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 12:23:03 PM by Bird »

« Reply #420 on: June 19, 2019, 12:09:34 PM »
   Doubt they would ever be useful with that attitude.
Unfortunately.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #421 on: June 20, 2019, 07:43:57 PM »
Dunny Seats - We have a Kohler dunny and the seat has cracked, son dropped/slammed it. Do I need to get the specific Kohler seat for the dunny or are they standard fit?

« Reply #422 on: June 20, 2019, 09:02:51 PM »
Dunny Seats - We have a Kohler dunny and the seat has cracked, son dropped/slammed it. Do I need to get the specific Kohler seat for the dunny or are they standard fit?

Is a back to wall Kohler suite? If so you first need a seat with concealed seat fixings.
Although the are unversial fit seats a lot of the pans today have a unique shape and so the best fit is the original seat.

Ah I'm glad I'm not on the tools these days, toilets use to be simple to fit and fix, and we had our caroma or fowler handbooks to give us any necessary info. Today they are all these fancy toilets that are a Bugger to fit n fix.

Then you have the likes of Kohler who have exclusive to Reece range just to confuse all.
The following users thanked this post: D4D

« Reply #423 on: June 21, 2019, 06:37:58 AM »
Is a back to wall Kohler suite? If so you first need a seat with concealed seat fixings.
Although the are unversial fit seats a lot of the pans today have a unique shape and so the best fit is the original seat.

Ah I'm glad I'm not on the tools these days, toilets use to be simple to fit and fix, and we had our caroma or fowler handbooks to give us any necessary info. Today they are all these fancy toilets that are a Bugger to fit n fix.

Then you have the likes of Kohler who have exclusive to Reece range just to confuse all.

Thanks Rags, looks like a trip to Reece with a picture.

« Reply #424 on: June 21, 2019, 06:53:15 AM »
Thanks Rags, looks like a trip to Reece with a picture.

Take a couple of measurements as well. The centres of the fixing holes of the seat. Can you get to the nut holding on the seat or are they hidden inside the throne. The more info they have the better

The following users thanked this post: D4D