Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488937 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #1400 on: September 14, 2019, 04:47:54 PM »
My son and I took his new bike for a shakedown ride on the Yarra trails today. My matchy matchy OCD is now etched into my subconscious. I realised at the trails, we both have green bikes, we both have black kit and we both have black POC helmets ;D

« Reply #1401 on: September 15, 2019, 05:55:00 AM »
Rider down.  :-[

Had three riders fall in front of me in the first race of the meet and I had nowhere to go. Slammed into one of the girls that was already down and sliding along the boards and she was taken away to hospital.  :'(

Slammed my head onto the track really hard and thought that I would never stop sliding along the boards.  :laugh: Once I stopped and I did an assessment of myself and there was no nasty injuries I looked for my bike, it was near 15mtrs away back behind me. :o Checked it over and all was good there except for some scratches on the rear stay and front fork leg. My new $200 skin suit and $00 helmet were also unscathed but I started getting a little spacey in the head, so I guess a bit of concussion crept in.

It's so much nice coming off on the boards as opposed to the concrete and asphalt tracks.  ;D

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

« Last Edit: September 15, 2019, 06:05:13 AM by Foo »
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #1402 on: September 15, 2019, 02:26:58 PM »
So... a 29er wheel does fit in the frame of my 20 year old Cannondale - now to sort out braking...

Anyone have any cable disc calipers hanging around?

I'm building it up into some form of gravel mongrel really, so it's probably going to end up 700x38s on it, and stay with the flat bars (but fit some more modern widers ones) as it is an all XT cockpit so quite nice... the rest? well, it's a bit of a mongrel now - up until the rear mech died it was nearly all XT.

Offline topcat

« Reply #1403 on: September 15, 2019, 04:47:44 PM »
Rider down.  :-[

Had three riders fall in front of me in the first race of the meet and I had nowhere to go. Slammed into one of the girls that was already down and sliding along the boards and she was taken away to hospital.  :'(

Slammed my head onto the track really hard and thought that I would never stop sliding along the boards.  :laugh: Once I stopped and I did an assessment of myself and there was no nasty injuries I looked for my bike, it was near 15mtrs away back behind me. :o Checked it over and all was good there except for some scratches on the rear stay and front fork leg. My new $200 skin suit and $00 helmet were also unscathed but I started getting a little spacey in the head, so I guess a bit of concussion crept in.

It's so much nice coming off on the boards as opposed to the concrete and asphalt tracks.  ;D

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Goodonya Foo - keep her going - skin grows back eventually  :cheers:
Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"

« Reply #1404 on: September 15, 2019, 04:56:19 PM »
Goodonya Foo - keep her going - skin grows back eventually  :cheers:

Thanks TC, not much chance of me giving it away this side of 90yrs.  ;D

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #1405 on: September 17, 2019, 06:45:43 PM »
Not yet, but great idea now that it is getting better weather.

I'd be up for a Harcourt trip.

Sounds good mate never been there but its on the list. Did Redhill on the weekend the weather was spot on.

Sing out if you head over there and I'll see if I have anything on
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #1406 on: September 17, 2019, 07:47:59 PM »
Sounds good mate never been there but its on the list. Did Redhill on the weekend the weather was spot on.

Sing out if you head over there and I'll see if I have anything on

Will do, keen to get back up there.

The following users thanked this post: cruza driver

« Reply #1407 on: September 18, 2019, 09:36:01 AM »
I've not used Di2 but I'd go SRAM AXS, if you need it today, as it is wireless or wait for Shimano to release a wireless version.

For your use case, yes you can program the shifter to do whatever you want so it would work.

I ran DI2 for a while but went back to mechanical on the latest road bike. if you have say Shimano 105 and you go to DI2 yes you will notice the difference but coming from Ultegra i did not see much benefit and it was just one more thing to remember to charge and can go wrong.

The main benefit was you could run a second set of remote shifter buttons up on the flats so on a long climb you did not have to reach forward to grab a gear if you needed it

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #1408 on: September 21, 2019, 03:13:30 PM »
Great ride out at Silvan this morning perfect conditions

Not sure why pic is grainy but anyway
« Last Edit: September 21, 2019, 05:24:26 PM by cruza driver »

Offline 6knights

« Reply #1409 on: September 22, 2019, 09:09:45 AM »
I used to ride bikes a lot in my younger dragster days and still miss it so l am thinking that l would get another bike and get back into it again, it's will be used as a ride for pleasure bike as l am not into the racing game at all. 

The other option some put to me was a hybrid bike but l don't know anything about them.

question is does anyone know anything about these bikes good or bad,  I am 186 cm so this one should fit  me according to their website. Any thoughts?

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/parkinson/men-s-bicycles/merida-big-nine-100-2018-xlge-29-/1229006934

2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

« Reply #1410 on: September 22, 2019, 09:39:29 AM »
question is does anyone know anything about these bikes good or bad,  I am 186 cm so this one should fit  me according to their website. Any thoughts?
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/parkinson/men-s-bicycles/merida-big-nine-100-2018-xlge-29-/1229006934

It's a good entry level bike that will do what you want. It has lower end spec components and quick release hubs so you won't be riding it down any double black diamond trails. At that price point they're all much of a muchness, it's about does it fit and do you like the colour. It might be a bit big being an XL, I'd try an XL and L and see what fits better. An XL 29er is a long reach bike which means your back will be bent more and you'll be riding less upright.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2019, 09:42:25 AM by D4D »

Offline 6knights

« Reply #1411 on: September 22, 2019, 02:52:21 PM »
It might be a bit big being an XL, I'd try an XL and L and see what fits better. An XL 29er is a long reach bike which means your back will be bent more and you'll be riding less upright.

Thanks D4D looks like there is more investigating to do on what is going to work for me
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

« Reply #1412 on: October 06, 2019, 02:07:03 PM »
Rode some of the Great Victorian Rail Trail this weekend. Great ride with lots of cool stuff to look at. This tunnel is straight through the mountain and 200m long, we rode it a few times :)

Offline bagpuss

• Living the dream
« Reply #1413 on: October 06, 2019, 03:35:54 PM »
Can any one please help I've blown the rear shock on my bike its a Manitou SPV 3 way air shock oil is pissing out from the rebound adjuster the size is 165mm long any Ideas were i mite get a new shock thats not the cost of a new bike
The bike shop not worth fixing as the bike is on 26" wheels so best to by a new bike    ???

Thanks Mike

« Reply #1414 on: October 06, 2019, 04:05:44 PM »
Can any one please help I've blown the rear shock on my bike its a Manitou SPV 3 way air shock oil is pissing out from the rebound adjuster the size is 165mm long any Ideas were i mite get a new shock thats not the cost of a new bike
The bike shop not worth fixing as the bike is on 26" wheels so best to by a new bike    ???

Thanks Mike

Any of these help?

https://www.ebay.com/b/manitou-shock/bn_7024783483

« Reply #1415 on: October 06, 2019, 04:07:17 PM »

Try here http://www.astroboyracer.com.au/

« Reply #1416 on: October 06, 2019, 04:11:58 PM »
Try here http://www.astroboyracer.com.au/

How did you get the link to light up blue and be usable? Every time I put a link in, it's just plain black type.  ??? Never used to be like that.

« Last Edit: October 06, 2019, 06:00:30 PM by Foo »

« Reply #1417 on: October 06, 2019, 04:50:13 PM »
How did you get the link to light up blue and be usable? Ever time I put a link in, it's just plain black type.  ??? Never used to be like that.

easiest is to put [url ] link [/url ] with no spaces in it...

or paste link in the text box here, then highlight it - then click the button just below the I for Italic

The following users thanked this post: Foo

Offline bagpuss

• Living the dream
« Reply #1418 on: October 08, 2019, 07:57:31 PM »
Thanks for the help guys ill look in to them and let you know how i go

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #1419 on: October 10, 2019, 06:42:02 PM »
Rode some of the Great Victorian Rail Trail this weekend. Great ride with lots of cool stuff to look at. This tunnel is straight through the mountain and 200m long, we rode it a few times :)

Before the trail went through the Cheviot Tunnel we use to drive through it  ;D

« Reply #1420 on: October 10, 2019, 07:20:00 PM »
Quote from: cruza driver
Before the trail went through the Cheviot Tunnel we use to drive through it  ;D
That was a long time ago now..

« Reply #1421 on: October 10, 2019, 07:45:44 PM »
Here you blokes go, never get a puncture again and has offroad suspension WW1 style ..Spring wheel ... ;D 8)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2019, 07:47:18 PM by edz »

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #1422 on: October 11, 2019, 09:47:00 PM »
That was a long time ago now..
Sure was I had a VS V8 ute...you know the rest  8)

« Reply #1423 on: October 12, 2019, 05:55:18 AM »

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1424 on: October 27, 2019, 03:38:49 PM »
My son and I have been riding out at our local MTB Club tracks. Me on my Aldi 29er and him on his LBS 24 inch MTB. What an absolute blast. So different to BMX racing. The line between having a phat ol time and eating Shit is so fine it's not funny. Slowly getting better at the climbs. Cannot fault the Aldi bike. If it breaks tomorrow I reckon I've got my moneys worth out of it. His 24 inch is showing signs of abuse. I happen to have my  old 26er in the shed which I'm giving a birthday to so he can have it. Very addictive and lots of fun. Been shopping for a new bike for myself.  Leaning towards this.
https://www.bicyclesonline.com.au/marin-san-quentin-3?gclid=CjwKCAjw3c_tBRA4EiwAICs8CgcUjtOq6RND1pO3hYWcZ9zKIYhwgywkZY2fnCTLtuTZqqu3XpwtuBoCVE0QAvD_BwE
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van