Author Topic: Batten Down the Hatches - Australia wide  (Read 166342 times)

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
Re: Batten Down the Hatches - Australia wide
« Reply #625 on: October 01, 2021, 04:29:11 PM »
We got 50mm yesterday and some wind damage around town. If the current two cells continue easterly, I’d imagine that we could get the same again today.
We actually found, yesterday, that the perimeter of the windows on the western side of the house, that aren’t under the attached carport, aren’t waterproof. Dribbles running down the inside wall. Still, this part of the house is 100 or so years old, so it’s not too surprising.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #626 on: October 01, 2021, 04:50:22 PM »
We got 50mm yesterday and some wind damage around town. If the current two cells continue easterly, I’d imagine that we could get the same again today.
Power’s just gone, so it may be a bit worse than yesterday ???
2019 LC78 (troopy)

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #627 on: October 01, 2021, 05:17:40 PM »
the Dalby cell has split and we should just get rain with any luck.

Mind you, its hard to tell sometimes.
Weatherzone is showing a third cell.
Looking at the BOM now, the nasty cell is heading straight through the Lockyer. Hope you guys are OK.
2019 LC78 (troopy)

« Reply #628 on: October 01, 2021, 05:20:52 PM »
Shitney copping a pasting.

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR033.loop.shtml#skip

mate said hail and pissin down in Goulburn today at his new joint.

« Reply #630 on: October 02, 2021, 04:29:38 AM »
Looking at the BOM now, the nasty cell is heading straight through the Lockyer. Hope you guys are OK.

This was, without doubt, the weirdest storm ever.

From early on, we were going to get body slammed.
Then the "cell" split in two.
Then it was trying to reform into one cell again.
Then the wind came, as windy as i've seen here and then some.
It was a massive storm front
I had the icon on screen marking our place. (Yes, i know where i live)
By all accounts and the radar, it should've been pissing rain.
Then the sun came out behind the storm just as the entire storm split up the middle.  ???
I was on the computer, Astrid cane in from the lounge with her phone saying the storm just split..... so it wasn't just me.

We did get some rain..... i'll check later, i reckon 3 to 5mm tops.

Weird friggin storm. ???

« Reply #632 on: October 02, 2021, 04:55:23 AM »
This was, without doubt, the weirdest storm ever.

From early on, we were going to get body slammed.
Then the "cell" split in two.
Then it was trying to reform into one cell again.
Then the wind came, as windy as i've seen here and then some.
It was a massive storm front
I had the icon on screen marking our place. (Yes, i know where i live)
By all accounts and the radar, it should've been pissing rain.
Then the sun came out behind the storm just as the entire storm split up the middle.  ???
I was on the computer, Astrid cane in from the lounge with her phone saying the storm just split..... so it wasn't just me.

We did get some rain..... i'll check later, i reckon 3 to 5mm tops.

Weird friggin storm. ???

It's the same here where we live. :) Tracking some of the storms when I've been home and waiting for the hit and suddenly it parts like Mosses and the Dead Sea and we miss the brunt of it. Yet 2klms as the crow flies, my parents can be hammered.  :o We only got about 3mm from both days. ;D

« Reply #633 on: October 02, 2021, 05:17:08 AM »
It's the same here where we live. :) Tracking some of the storms when I've been home and waiting for the hit and suddenly it parts like Mosses and the Dead Sea and we miss the brunt of it. Yet 2klms as the crow flies, my parents can be hammered.  :o We only got about 3mm from both days. ;D

Just checked now..... 2mm was all she wrote.

It was just crazy the way it split up the middle.

« Reply #634 on: October 02, 2021, 07:35:32 AM »
kewl photos....

& I love the way people are still going for a surf & swim with that in the background! ::)

« Reply #635 on: October 02, 2021, 07:36:36 AM »
Glad everyone's OK :cup:

« Reply #636 on: October 02, 2021, 08:58:35 AM »
Then the wind came, as windy as i've seen here and then some. (JC quote)

Reporters please note: not unprecedented! Not 1 in 100years, not catastrophic and not a hi Viz in sight!  :laugh: :laugh:
The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers

« Reply #637 on: October 02, 2021, 11:24:24 AM »
& I love the way people are still going for a surf & swim with that in the background! ::)
whats the problem, their wet anyway  ;D ;D

hows this shot from TheLeader
« Last Edit: October 02, 2021, 12:11:55 PM by Bird »

« Reply #639 on: October 13, 2021, 02:45:49 PM »
It seems, every man and his dog is forecasting super cells and massive hail SEQ Thursday afternoon. ???

What was going to be a massive run to Brisbane (drop cables), the sunny coast (drop intake with Shane), Brisbane (pick up cables),  Ipswich (for paint, and panel beating tools) then grab the wife and then home, I've shortened.
On the strength of the warnings, it'll be drop Astrid at work, sunny coast, pick up the cheese and kisses and home again.

They reckon, 2 inch hail..... buggered if i know.

hmmm, $45,000 worth of classic 60's Cadillac or the Logan Bogan Limo.....

Yep, statesman day tomorrow.

I'm going to very angry if they're wrong, very angry indeed.

« Reply #640 on: October 14, 2021, 03:57:33 AM »
some nice solid rain here at the moment (4am)

Little bit of rumble and flash..... but good rain.

« Reply #641 on: October 14, 2021, 05:19:22 AM »
some nice solid rain here at the moment (4am)

Little bit of rumble and flash..... but good rain.

Pool will be full in no time

The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers

« Reply #642 on: October 14, 2021, 08:34:48 AM »
A very noisy night at Crows Nest, with ~34mm just north of here.

Rain is OK but not thrilled about the idea of hail :'(

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #643 on: October 14, 2021, 08:40:30 AM »
Looks like a nasty little squall coming into CN in the next 10-15 mins. Keep your head down.
2019 LC78 (troopy)
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #644 on: October 14, 2021, 08:45:47 AM »
Watching it, thanks!

« Reply #645 on: October 14, 2021, 09:25:55 AM »
‘Absolute monster’: Severe storm warning
‘Double whammy’ supercell storm alert for Queensland and Northern NSW

Forecasters are bracing for flash flooding as a monster storm batters parts of one state, with rain drenching much of the east coast.

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/brisbane-gold-coast-bracing-for-flash-flooding-after-monster-storm-delivers-50mm-in-one-hour/news-story/238de74e78cf89b145d1237496c2bf0a

Then you look at BOM
http://www.bom.gov.au/qld/warnings/

Cancellation of Severe Thunderstorm Warning for Wide Bay and Burnett, Darling Downs and Granite Belt and Southeast Coast Forecast Districts. ,
Cancellation of Severe Thunderstorm Warning - Southeast Queensland for Brisbane City and Moreton Bay Council Areas. .
« Last Edit: October 14, 2021, 09:27:44 AM by Bird »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #646 on: October 14, 2021, 09:43:55 AM »
Then you look at BOM
http://www.bom.gov.au/qld/warnings/

Cancellation of Severe Thunderstorm Warning for Wide Bay and Burnett, Darling Downs and Granite Belt and Southeast Coast Forecast Districts. ,
Cancellation of Severe Thunderstorm Warning - Southeast Queensland for Brisbane City and Moreton Bay Council Areas. .

That’s hardly sensational though is it >:D
2019 LC78 (troopy)

« Reply #647 on: October 14, 2021, 10:20:17 AM »
Looks like a nasty little squall coming into CN

& that dumped another ~12mm fairly quickly.

Doing some looking online & found a private weather station only a few 00m away from the Park.

It's showing 53.1mm since midnight!!! :o

« Reply #648 on: October 14, 2021, 10:29:06 AM »
Are you guys in low lying areas? or up high?

Akubras and Drizabones on standby

« Reply #649 on: October 14, 2021, 02:01:15 PM »
Lower part of the Park, where a Creek runs through it, but 650m up!