General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on December 25, 2018, 04:28:17 PM

Title: So whats the plan for 2019 & beyond
Post by: speewa158 on December 25, 2018, 04:28:17 PM
OK you read the post title  , whats the plan .   ???   
               Go on dream a bit bigger  , frighten yourself a bit , step out there  . m
                   OK  lm looking at traveling in the cooler months & sitting in the warmer months  .
Anybody can do it  , As Moe said  " The longest journey starts with the 1st step  "  So whats the plan  ,   ???your not here for ever make it count  .
                                                   :cup:     :cheers:
Title: Re: So whats the plan for 2019 & beyond
Post by: Hairs on December 25, 2018, 04:48:39 PM
I just want get through this week.
Liver, be Strong  :cheers:
Post by: lincolnland on December 25, 2018, 05:05:06 PM
Visit the 2 corners i didnt get to see on the simo trip a coupler months ago.
Post by: Rumpig on December 25, 2018, 05:16:02 PM
Pick up the new van early mid year, and spend rest of year working my ring out to try and pay for it...only about 25 more years of work and I might be able to retire
Post by: rockrat on December 25, 2018, 05:28:17 PM
Got offered a new job last Friday, will start early February.
Post by: D4D on December 25, 2018, 05:57:37 PM
Win $30M lotto on Saturday
Post by: 6knights on December 25, 2018, 06:05:57 PM
For me it is a repeat of 2018 ,  Work for me only next year l hope it decides to rain a bit more often and getting child #3 through year 12 ???  (just spent the last 12 months getting child #2 through yr 12)

beyond that hoping to fit in No.3 tassie trip with the kids before starting on the final child going through yrs 11 and 12.......Then i'm free of school ties :cup:
Post by: Hairs on December 25, 2018, 06:13:21 PM
Got offered a new job last Friday, will start early February.
Awesome  :cup:
Post by: speewa158 on December 25, 2018, 06:17:19 PM
Get out there grasp the chicken , ring every ounce of goodness out of it .
Live the dream or plan how to live the dream ,      DREAM   BIG   .    You can do it     :-*
                                                   :cup: :cheers:     so do it     :cheers:
Post by: Hookie on December 25, 2018, 07:12:21 PM
I'm going back to school. I was told when I was young I'd be a loser if I didn't go to university, so I did. Now all my mates who did trades are living the dream and raking in the money and I have a bachelor's and master's in computer science that's not worth a pinch of Shit around here and I'm too old to get an apprenticeship so I'm doing a civil eng degree, so that at least when I'm bitching about the job market I can say I have 2 bachelor's and a master's and I still can't get a decent job.
Post by: alnjan on December 25, 2018, 07:21:09 PM
I'd like to say that we will be doing more then we did this year but really can't see much changing next year from this year
Post by: rockrat on December 25, 2018, 07:34:58 PM
Awesome  :cup:
Thanks Hairs. I’m looking forward to it. I will be spending around a week each month in NZ and Tassie - hopefully that means I’ll get a chance to try out fly fishing.
Post by: Hairs on December 25, 2018, 07:53:39 PM
Thanks Hairs. I’m looking forward to it. I will be spending around a week each month in NZ and Tassie - hopefully that means I’ll get a chance to try out fly fishing.
Happy Days mate.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Hairs on December 25, 2018, 07:57:16 PM
I'd like to say that we will be doing more then we did this year but really can't see much changing next year from this year
I'm hearin ya Al.
Nose to the grind stone, we do what we can.
Hey mate, we are heading to The Gorge Australia Day weekend,
You & Jan are more than welcome to join us.
It's a Grafton 4wd club run.
Pm me for more info.
Travel safe.

Post by: Pottsy on December 25, 2018, 08:50:34 PM
Hopefully the wife's health will continue to improve, big family reunion in Bendigo in March, wife to have knee replacement ( fingers crossed) and then start some travels, extended trips. Bit like Speewa, travel the cooler months and sit out the summer.
Now for the stars to align.
Post by: McGirr on December 25, 2018, 09:16:20 PM
We are going to finish our remote work we have done for 4 years here at Bidyadanga and semi retire at the end of 2019. Take all my super out, buy a new van and car, deck the car out for what we need , work for 6 to 8 months a year in a different field ( not sure what yet, but will find something ) and travel for 4 months.

Life is too short. Time to slow down and smell the Rose's as they say

Post by: Jillsy on December 25, 2018, 10:38:47 PM
We have one firm plan in place...go to the 2019 Myswag.org National Meet!  If you don't already know about it...find out HERE! (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?board=67.0)
Post by: glenm64 on December 25, 2018, 10:41:09 PM

We are going to finish our remote work we have done for 4 years here at Bidyadanga and semi retire at the end of 2019. Take all my super out, buy a new van and car, deck the car out for what we need , work for 6 to 8 months a year in a different field ( not sure what yet, but will find something ) and travel for 4 months.

Life is too short. Time to slow down and smell the Rose's as they say

Breaking the mould this world locks us into. I've tried to keep things simple and get out and do as much as we can. Been watching and reading your travels Mark. I only hope in 5 years time I have your courage and do something similar.
Wishing you and Penny the best. Keep posting please, you keep many of our dreams alive.

Post by: McGirr on December 26, 2018, 01:20:12 AM

Breaking the mould this world locks us into. I've tried to keep things simple and get out and do as much as we can. Been watching and reading your travels Mark. I only hope in 5 years time I have your courage and do something similar.
Wishing you and Penny the best. Keep posting please, you keep many of our dreams alive.

Thanks Glen, we are all different with various goals in life. Personally, I would rather sit in an old persons home with 10,000,000 incredible memories rather than having 10,000,000 regrets by not doing a lot of things and then it’s too late. The way we do things is not for everyones cup of tea  ;D but I must say it’s great to see a lot of people slowly taking the plunge and breaking the mould.

Post by: DannyG on December 26, 2018, 06:31:00 AM
I wont be breaking any moulds :(

Work, finish building new house and get it to a place where the yard is useable.......... that'll be 2019 in a nutshell.

Bigger picture besides wanting family to be healthy and happy of course is to keep matching employer super with my own salary sacrifice, create as much wealth as possible for retirement and to buy another property near the beach to either downsize and retire or have as a holiday home. Build a small caravan/hybrid camper.

I only have 15 years to get it done  ???
Post by: speewa158 on December 26, 2018, 06:46:06 AM
l want to go fishing on the beach & catch fish then eat them   . Not to sure which beach so l might try them all . Think big & frighten yourself  .             :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Kangaron on December 26, 2018, 07:14:42 AM
After a health scare this year, have changed my attitude to life.
Am going to sell up in Melbourne and move to our country house.
Buy a new Oiler and TVan.
Make 2019 the last winter I spend in Vic, until old and decrepit.
Post by: ScarpsD40 on December 26, 2018, 07:24:43 AM
December 2018 should have finally seen the end of middle age redundancy & work exile, (not that I ever found the time to sit around the house and do nothing).

Have started a new part time gig with an IT services company based in Essendon that I will utilise to open the door to several other part time IT gigs for the next few years till I have my retirement funds.

It’s ok for those of you that have utilised my ‘other services’ I intend to keep them going as they form part of a retirement & travel plan.
Post by: Marcus73 on December 26, 2018, 07:32:23 AM
Stay off the smokes
Myswag meet
Expand business
Get my butt into my own house again
Post by: krisandkev on December 26, 2018, 07:52:34 AM
Wife is booked in to have both knees done. 
Time to sell our 2015 Bushtracker, originally a 3 year plan so the sad time has come. Bloody good van, we had fun in it and did all we wanted to do.  :'(
Use our camper for some short trips. (Last year we took back our camper trailer from the kids as it appears they prefer a unit on the coast. It was worth a try, wanted them to use it and get their kids out and about and experience this brilliant country.)
Trip to America and Canada towards the end of the year.
And the number one thing, MAKE IT TO THE NEXT NEW YEAR!  ;D

Kevin

Post by: Mitch92 on December 26, 2018, 04:04:22 PM
Pay off my Dmax completely, hopefully by mid year.
Post by: JusyApples on December 26, 2018, 04:16:23 PM
Another baby due in March so my goal is to get heaps of sleep before then

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 26, 2018, 05:27:13 PM
After giving our trip to the USA the big raspberry this year, we really want to try to get there in 2019 as well. Maybe around October/Nov.
The dollar value will play a part, as i'd really like to bring back some American iron from the trip.
Would kill to bring in 2 or 3 classics from the 50's and 60's
Gotta get Country Lane Classic Cars to fly and be successful.
Would love to turn over around 25 cars a year.
Do some work on the place we're in now. Eight years of renting took its toll in wear and tear.

If the market kicks a bit in Tin Can, we may sell that in 2019.... might not too.
I'm keen to see my dear old Mum hit 96 in August.
The wife kicks off in a new job here on Jan 9th.

That's about it I think.....  ???
Post by: Fizzie on December 27, 2018, 10:42:17 AM
Young bloke has just finished Grade 12, so we can now plan holidays without worrying about school times ;D, so hope to get away a bit more in quieter times ;D
Post by: grmas1 on December 27, 2018, 03:57:44 PM
Up until a month ago it was going to be same old work school holiday trip somewhere.

It all changed with a phone call from a company that is a supplier to my company in the supply of Bus bodies 4 weeks ago. "What do I have to do to get you to work for me?" was the first question. I provided a response that was not only met but given some more. As a result I start as the National Contracts manager for a top 3 company in the industry Jan 21.

Holiday plans will have to be reset but this is something I worked towards when doing my Masters in Management from 2014-17 after 23 years as an aircraft Engineer for Qantas.

Apart from that I am going to do a off road course so i can take the FJ where it loves to go.
Post by: speewa158 on December 27, 2018, 04:38:38 PM
 grmas1
That's very exciting for you  :cup: 
Post by: Bill on December 27, 2018, 07:14:22 PM
I plan to just keep my work life balance as it is.
I make decent money, I get 9 weeks per year off ( 4 weeks free and 5 weeks I pay for) that I can take darn near whenever I want with little notice before hand. Which is great with my Misses being semi retired and can she take as much time off whenever she wants.
And my job isn’t overly physical.

Post by: DrewXT on December 28, 2018, 09:42:53 PM
I'd really like to be offered a redundancy....

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Post by: richo9923 on December 29, 2018, 06:01:26 AM
Move house (1st Feb), Move work locations (Mid Feb), build veggie patch, buy animals for the purpose of eating, live a good life!

I like to keep life as simple as possible
Post by: speewa158 on December 29, 2018, 08:13:19 PM
Move house (1st Feb), Move work locations (Mid Feb), build veggie patch, buy animals for the purpose of eating, live a good life!

I like to keep life as simple as possible
Don't ware  a watch , then freedom cant keep time       :cheers:
Post by: richo9923 on December 30, 2018, 05:19:05 AM
Don't ware  a watch , then freedom cant keep time       :cheers:

The only time I really wear a watch is when I need to get dressed up for special occasions or when I need people to think I'm kinda smart and can tell time on a watch with hands, other than that the good lady tells me when I need to be somewhere and gives me plenty of warning
Post by: Bird on December 30, 2018, 03:37:09 PM
Quote from: DrewXT
I'd really like to be offered a redundancy....
with everyone at my work being replaced by the 457 visa 7/11 people i dont think its far away which isnt a good thing at my age in IT
Post by: D4D on December 30, 2018, 03:41:20 PM
Win $30M lotto on Saturday

We won lotto last night :)

2 x Division 6, total of $30, not retiring in 2019...
Post by: speewa158 on December 30, 2018, 04:56:40 PM

All of us are coming to your place to drink the winnings   ,    is this Cool  ???
Post by: wakychapmans on December 30, 2018, 05:31:44 PM

WOW... congrats man...

we won Powerball this week. $12.61

Was planning on investing it in a fitted out 79 series and a Tvan... but may just settle for spending it on next weeks ticket instead...
Post by: Bird on December 30, 2018, 07:16:23 PM
WOW... congrats man...

we won Powerball this week. $12.61

Was planning on investing it in a fitted out 79 series and a Tvan... but may just settle for spending it on next weeks ticket instead...
rarely bother with lotto anymore.. poor mans dream, fools game... more players pays more than they get back than winners.
Told the bloke at the local not to get excited (which he does for $10.00) unless its 5 figures.
Post by: wakychapmans on December 30, 2018, 07:58:21 PM
rarely bother with lotto anymore.. poor mans dream, fools game... more players pays more than they get back than winners.
Told the bloke at the local not to get excited (which he does for $10.00) unless its 5 figures.

that's my thinking exactly...

but over the last 12 months... we're actually around $40 in front. We bought the very first ticket and then only ever spend winnings from the "account" on new tickets.

It's a bit of a laugh really. We don't take it serious. But it's fun...

Post by: sparksy on December 30, 2018, 10:37:53 PM
Thinking of retiring. Had a shoulder reconstruction done last September, so resigned from job of only 4 months as when I had the other one done 13 years ago I was off work for 17 weeks and didnt think it was fair for the company to keep my job open.
Then wife had hip replacement 6 weeks ago so been looking after her since. Getting used to sitting around so might have to make it more permanent.
So hope next year is better health wise and as far as working might have to look at casual. Not many full time jobs going for a pushing 60 Industrial electrician over here in Perth. If I can get a few weeks work every couple of months that will suit me.
Post by: grmas1 on December 31, 2018, 07:14:05 AM
Up until a month ago it was going to be same old work school holiday trip somewhere.

It all changed with a phone call from a company that is a supplier to my company in the supply of Bus bodies 4 weeks ago. "What do I have to do to get you to work for me?" was the first question. I provided a response that was not only met but given some more. As a result I start as the National Contracts manager for a top 3 company in the industry Jan 21.

Holiday plans will have to be reset but this is something I worked towards when doing my Masters in Management from 2014-17 after 23 years as an aircraft Engineer for Qantas.

Apart from that I am going to do a off road course so i can take the FJ where it loves to go.

Forgot to add I am going to go hard in the PaddleNSW Ocean Ski Harbour Series, i won the short course (7-10km) title for 40-49 Men this year and am going to step up to the long course (14km) in 2019 and play with the big guns (read former ironmen). Training 2-3 mornings a week on Botany Bay before work with a squad of elite paddlers.
Post by: Foo on December 31, 2018, 01:28:34 PM
I intend to keep breathing and annoy the crap out of idiots and fools.  ;D

Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on December 31, 2018, 04:38:44 PM
retiring and going full-time touring on march 1 !!
Post by: Hairs on December 31, 2018, 05:18:55 PM
Awesome kev,
Safe travels.

Post by: Hairs on December 31, 2018, 05:19:44 PM
I intend to keep breathing and annoy the crap out of idiots and fools.  ;D

Thought that would be a given.

Post by: speewa158 on December 31, 2018, 05:45:40 PM
Theres a lot to said for doing that    :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: rags on December 31, 2018, 08:10:16 PM

Good stuff Kev
Post by: Rob Mac on December 31, 2018, 08:19:22 PM
Well, (thats a hole in the ground) I'm pretty happy to be alive and still reasonably healthy. PET scan late November showed the orange glows from 3 years ago are black and no new glows, my Onco was happy, I was extra happy!!. Early Christmas present.
Next year, plans Nat meet, (my Onco says I can take one of my 3 monthly hormone implants with me, so I can have 6 months away, woohoo . Just got to get a GP to inject it, buggered if I want to push that sucker into my stomach), Berri for a week or two, Adelaide area, York Peninsula, then to Darwin mid June for a re-union. then down the west coast, just need to be back in Brissy mid Sept for next implant.
Lovin this retired life.
All the best to you all.
Post by: Foo on December 31, 2018, 08:41:02 PM
with everyone at my work being replaced by the 457 visa 7/11 people i dont think its far away which isnt a good thing at my age in IT

My wife has a friend in India that is in IT and he gets paid $23000 a year and gets moved around the world. He couldn't believe how much I made as a truck driver!  :o

Post by: Hairs on December 31, 2018, 09:06:41 PM
Safe Travels Rob,
See ya soon.
Happy days mate.

Post by: alnjan on December 31, 2018, 09:22:30 PM
Well, (thats a hole in the ground) I'm pretty happy to be alive and still reasonably healthy. PET scan late November showed the orange glows from 3 years ago are black and no new glows, my Onco was happy, I was extra happy!!. Early Christmas present.
Next year, plans Nat meet, (my Onco says I can take one of my 3 monthly hormone implants with me, so I can have 6 months away, woohoo . Just got to get a GP to inject it, buggered if I want to push that sucker into my stomach), Berri for a week or two, Adelaide area, York Peninsula, then to Darwin mid June for a re-union. then down the west coast, just need to be back in Brissy mid Sept for next implant.
Lovin this retired life.
All the best to you all.

Sort of puts life into perspective. 

As Hairs says, Safe Travels
Post by: Rob Mac on January 02, 2019, 10:27:11 PM
Safe Travels Rob,
See ya soon.
Happy days mate.

Cheers Jon, prepare to be surprised He He , ya never know where I might pop up !!!
See you all soon,  :cheers:
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on January 03, 2019, 07:32:39 AM
Hi all, Wife and I had three sons finish up school to grade 12 in last two years so hopeful they will find a job, have one daughter still in primary school she is 11 so a bit to go for her, We own everything so very lucky there, I turn 55 and been working cleaning schools as a causal cleaner and loving this job, better than the stress of a charter boat skipper, we are starting to travel more with the old pop up van I rebuilt and loving it, couple of good trips planned for this year with the hole family, Safe life and happy travels everyone, Craig     
Post by: GBC on January 03, 2019, 08:50:35 AM
Been in hospital since nye. Nothing too bad compared with other people on the ward. Getting perspective again is never a bad thing.
Post by: speewa158 on January 03, 2019, 04:36:07 PM
Been in hospital since nye. Nothing too bad compared with other people on the ward. Getting perspective again is never a bad thing.
GBC
      Get your A into G & drag your Raggety Arse out of there it full of sick people that cant co Camping . Now don't do that again , people will worry  .                :cheers:
Post by: GBC on January 03, 2019, 04:41:53 PM
Cheers mate, I’ve taken myself off all the painkillers and begging for a discharge. Not my scene at all. I’d rather cop some pain at home than be drugged to the eyeballs in here.

Post by: speewa158 on January 03, 2019, 07:00:51 PM
GDC
 lm not saying ditch the drugs , they supply comfort  . Just get out of hospital & go home . Discharge yourself with the pain killers they work just as well at home .

Then go camping  , sitting at camp with  a fist full of drugs &  :cheers:  That should work    :cup:
But lm not a doctor so l cant advise you , can l   .,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, :cheers:
Post by: GBC on January 03, 2019, 07:22:57 PM
GDC
 lm not saying ditch the drugs , they supply comfort  . Just get out of hospital & go home . Discharge yourself with the pain killers they work just as well at home .

Then go camping  , sitting at camp with  a fist full of drugs &  :cheers:  That should work    :cup:
But lm not a doctor so l cant advise you , can l   .,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, :cheers:

Some of the stuff they’ve had me on makes the hangover movies look tame. Not sure driving when you can’t feel your feet is going to end well. 🤣
Post by: Bad Scott on January 03, 2019, 07:25:13 PM
National Meet, camping, lots of banter
Post by: ScarpsD40 on January 03, 2019, 07:34:16 PM
National Meet, camp fires, lots of banter
Fixed it for you
Post by: JusyApples on January 05, 2019, 06:23:05 PM
While visiting the family in Forster last week I found some land I fell in love with overlooking the beach. Unfortunately with the wife being on maternity leave shortly it’s going to be tough adding another mortgage.

So our plan is to sacrifice some things like Foxtel, holidays, jetski etc to get the job done.

Post by: speewa158 on January 06, 2019, 06:03:48 AM
Only 1 more sleep till we head off to Ceduna to collect our New  ( to us ) Glamper    :cheers:
 Complete Camper  Exodus 14  with all the toys  , That will be a whole new adventure . Then 2 weeks shake down trip home  . 8)                        :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:    :cheers:
lf you happen to see 2 Swaggers with Huge Smiles :D planting yet another member sticker on a hybrid wave  :cup:
Post by: Pottsy on January 06, 2019, 09:18:09 AM
Only 1 more sleep till we head off to Ceduna to collect our New  ( to us ) Glamper    :cheers:
 Complete Camper  Exodus 14  with all the toys  , That will be a whole new adventure . Then 2 weeks shake down trip home  . 8)                        :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:    :cheers:
lf you happen to see 2 Swaggers with Huge Smiles :D planting yet another member sticker on a hybrid wave  :cup:
Hi Speewa, congrats on the new mobile home, not sure which way your shakedown tour is heading but I can recommend the Coffin Bay Area if you are heading down the coast. Good caravan park, great feed at the yacht club and delicious Coffin Bay Oysters plus a day spent in the National Park is well worthwhile.
Pottsy
Post by: speewa158 on January 06, 2019, 10:11:20 AM
Thats exactly the direction we are heading , hopefully we can find suicidal fish somewhere . Anyhow wats the rush home     ???        :cup: & its only a couple of weeks or so        :cup:      :cheers:
Post by: Pottsy on January 06, 2019, 10:58:34 AM
Thats exactly the direction we are heading , hopefully we can find suicidal fish somewhere . Anyhow wats the rush home     ???        :cup: & its only a couple of weeks or so        :cup:      :cheers:

Fishing, um, Venus Bay, MT Camel Beach, Sheringa, Elliston, Coffin Bay, Tumby Bay, plenty to choose from.

Good luck and tight lines.
Post by: MarkVS on January 06, 2019, 11:53:27 AM
National meet, selling home and moving.

Mark VS
Post by: Niley on January 06, 2019, 12:17:44 PM
Lovin this retired life.
All the best to you all.

Thats great news Rob, will be good to catch up at the National Meet. We are heading North after the meet, however our agenda is not as easy going as yours.

Neil
Post by: moeite on January 06, 2019, 12:37:00 PM
Our plan for 2029 and beyond is to do more of what WE want to do and less of what others (friends, family, etc) would like us to do. We're retired and spend FAR to much time and energy doing what others want.
Post by: Ozsnowman on January 08, 2019, 08:24:43 AM
Now that I have the van up and running, to actually use it is my main aim. Other than that a new tug would be nice so I can go somewhere with hills, but that's a pipe dream right now.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on January 08, 2019, 09:39:33 AM
Bought a house at the end of last year so camping is on hold for a while and focusing on kicking the mortgage in the butt for a bit.
We went on a Mediterranean cruise in 2018 and found we loved it so saving for the Alaskan cruise in 2020
And after getting both the tide and the wind wrong at Hawks Nest and just about dislocating my shoulder paddling back up the river i stopped at the local Quintrex dealer on the way home and am thinking very hard ;D
Post by: Bigfish on January 08, 2019, 10:22:31 AM
Our plan for 2029 and beyond is to do more of what WE want to do and less of what others (friends, family, etc) would like us to do. We're retired and spend FAR to much time and energy doing what others want.

Come on mate....dont you know grandparents are obliged to look after grand kids at their parents call?    ;D ;D   Yep.....time flies so look out for yourself.  The younger set will cope.
Post by: edz on January 08, 2019, 10:31:41 AM
To be That Bloke GUNNASDUNNIT in regards to finaly getting a relocatable non canvased walled home way from home built .. years of delay through injury / recovery and the lack of motivation it bought, Is over .  As to staying around our current location, that is going to be  put under the microscope also  .
Post by: Fizzie on January 09, 2019, 08:02:02 AM
Bought a house at the end of last year so camping is on hold for a while and focusing on kicking the mortgage in the butt for a bit.
We went on a Mediterranean cruise in 2018 and found we loved it so saving for the Alaskan cruise in 2020

Umm, Chester, hate to be a pain in the bum :angel:, but you do realise that going camping is just a bit cheaper than an Alaskan cruise, don't you ??? >:D
Post by: Hairs on January 17, 2019, 07:45:08 PM
My plan has changed.
Work hard,
Laugh,
Love,
Respect,
Distance myself from toxic people,
Hold a hand out to those that need someone.
Surround myself with good people, because they will bring the best out of me.
Happy Days & Safe Travels Swaggers

Post by: Rumpig on January 17, 2019, 08:38:47 PM
My plan has changed......

so has ours....we won't be picking up our new van this year now, more on that hopefully next week though.
Post by: Hairs on January 17, 2019, 08:47:12 PM
so has ours....we won't be picking up our new van this year now, more on that hopefully next week though.
Hope ya get it sorted.
Patience Grasshopper.

Post by: Rumpig on January 17, 2019, 09:05:02 PM
Hope ya get it sorted.
Patience Grasshopper.

won't say any more on it for now, but there's abit of a story to go with it....hopefully I get sorted what I need to very soon.
Post by: noel_w on January 18, 2019, 06:39:36 AM
18 months till retirement. Sell up the 4 walls in the big smoke and buy a shed in the bush, hopefully with a house with it. Have been hoping for a redundancy but thats not gonna happen. Life in IT at my age means I have found a little niche and am staying there till the gold watch comes. Too old to learn all the new stuff we are implementing so on the slow wind up. Plans to turn left at the Bruce Hwy and see what happens after that.
Post by: Steffo1 on January 18, 2019, 08:09:42 AM
18 months till retirement. Sell up the 4 walls in the big smoke and buy a shed in the bush, hopefully with a house with it. Have been hoping for a redundancy but thats not gonna happen. Life in IT at my age means I have found a little niche and am staying there till the gold watch comes. Too old to learn all the new stuff we are implementing so on the slow wind up. Plans to turn left at the Bruce Hwy and see what happens after that.

Hope you do better with Centrelink than I did, when the time comes, Noel. I had the pleasure of a "First Encounter" with them last week, after attaining retirement age. :D
Post by: Pottsy on January 18, 2019, 11:42:02 AM
Hope you do better with Centrelink than I did, when the time comes, Noel. I had the pleasure of a "First Encounter" with them last week, after attaining retirement age. :D
One of the best things you can do with Centrelink is get the ball rolling early, if you plan to retire get in and see them 6-9 months prior and get all the associated paperwork etc and get it lodged as soon as you can and give them more rather than less info, otherwise they just keep stringing you out.
Post by: MarkGU on January 18, 2019, 11:45:50 AM
my 2019?

Looking like a job change, better money &more time with the family. 8)
 Another Variety Bash in May. ;D
 Only people who appreciate things i do for them & no back stabbers from now on.  :-\
 Planning our next long trip away  :cheers:

Bring on 2019  :cup:
Post by: Steffo1 on January 18, 2019, 02:46:09 PM
One of the best things you can do with Centrelink is get the ball rolling early, if you plan to retire get in and see them 6-9 months prior and get all the associated paperwork etc and get it lodged as soon as you can and give them more rather than less info, otherwise they just keep stringing you out.

Yep. Pottsy, did all that just to find out I am eligible for Zilch, not even a health card and "No", it's not because I'm wealthy but more to do with the good woman being 4 years younger than I and still working.
We even went through their Financial Adviser System, which I would recommend to anyone. It's a free service and makes sorting things out a lot easier, be it good or bad.

Noel, I hope you get something so I know that not all of my past taxes are supporting bludgers, druggies and their ilk.
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2019, 02:56:46 PM
you should have gone in stoned off your tits with painted on track marks, ripped flanno, jeans down to your knees with a pair of 12week old stained Y fronts on, crushed packet of durries, coughing like a 50 yr 10 pack a day smoker, borrowed 10 kids and pinched them all as you walked in teh door so they cried and screamed..

Going in there looking like a decent human will NEVER get you anywhere with those ****s.
Post by: Pottsy on January 18, 2019, 02:58:15 PM
Yep. Pottsy, did all that just to find out I am eligible for Zilch, not even a health card and "No", it's not because I'm wealthy but more to do with the good woman being 4 years younger than I and still working.
We even went through their Financial Adviser System, which I would recommend to anyone. It's a free service and makes sorting things out a lot easier, be it good or bad.

Noel, I hope you get something so I know that not all of my past taxes are supporting bludgers, druggies and their ilk.

Yep it's one of the times being with a younger women just doesn't pay. ;D ;D
Post by: noel_w on January 18, 2019, 03:03:53 PM

Thanks Steve, not sure I will get anything from what my online super calculators tell me. I need to see a financial person sooner or later I think. I was looking at downsizing my home asset level but now am not so sure. One guy (not an adviser) told me if I guy a more expensive house I may be entitled to some benefits. I know my super will keep me afloat if it has to but have some plans to supplement it from some shed output.
Steve I hear your comment loud and clear and totally concur. Worked all my life to pay taxes and looking like ending up not getting a brass razoo. But if I didn't work I would be dragging it in. Just doesn't add up.

Post by: Rumpig on January 18, 2019, 03:59:37 PM
you should have gone in stoned off your tits with painted on track marks, ripped flanno, jeans down to your knees with a pair of 12week old stained Y fronts on, crushed packet of durries, coughing like a 50 yr 10 pack a day smoker, borrowed 10 kids and pinched them all as you walked in teh door so they cried and screamed..

Going in there looking like a decent human will NEVER get you anywhere with those ****s.
my misses actually works on the counter in one of those places, I really appreciate you referring to her and her work colleagues like that heaps.... maybe try posting a cheerful post for a change, your negative ones are getting a bit much  :cheers:
Post by: briann532 on January 18, 2019, 04:18:01 PM
……………… Well on a lighter note ???

I plan to finish the bathroom down at the property, build a 3 bedroom cabin with verandah and build a carport for my van.
Also hope to add an electric gate at home and do some gardening.

Plans plans plans.....
Well I've put it out there now so I'll see how I go.

As far as swagging goes, just hope to get down there as much as I can and sacrifice as much timber to the beer gods as possible.
Offer a few legs of lamb and copious mead and now I can even "return and earn" the empties. Win Win.  :cheers:
Post by: JusyApples on January 18, 2019, 05:39:47 PM
my misses actually works on the counter in one of those places, I really appreciate you referring to her and her work colleagues like that heaps.... maybe try posting a cheerful post for a change, your negative ones are getting a bit much  :cheers:
Tell you what respect to anyone working at Centrelink. Been in there once after our first child. I could imagine the crap they put up with every day

Post by: wakychapmans on January 18, 2019, 06:08:55 PM
at this stage...

want to try and get away with the wife, the dog and the camper once a month for a simple weekender.

would also like to try and get away for a weekend bikepacking trip once a month as well. if I can get Tucker trained more... then he will come with me. So that might be referred to as bike/dog packing.

Other than that... listen to the news a lot less. Relax more.
Post by: KingBilly on January 18, 2019, 06:53:52 PM
Mine is simple.  Wake up each day.

Post by: Alan Loy on January 18, 2019, 09:25:05 PM
Some people don't understand the difference between making policy and having to implement it, nor do they understand who makes the decisions that mean staff levels are such that they keep you on the phone for hours.

But it does give you the sh1ts !!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 19, 2019, 06:33:27 AM
Sometime during 2019,it would be nice to see it rain out here at some point.
Post by: Rowlie on January 19, 2019, 07:14:21 AM
"Thanks Steve, not sure I will get anything from what my online super calculators tell me. I need to see a financial person sooner or later I think. I was looking at downsizing my home asset level but now am not so sure. One guy (not an adviser) told me if I guy a more expensive house I may be entitled to some benefits. I know my super will keep me afloat if it has to but have some plans to supplement it from some shed output.
Steve I hear your comment loud and clear and totally concur. Worked all my life to pay taxes and looking like ending up not getting a brass razoo. But if I didn't work I would be dragging it in. Just doesn't add up."

Noel,
You really MUST see a financial adviser. Not the Centrelink guy. I am a self funded retiree who thought he knew it all. My adviser is younger than my kids (and he is their adviser too now) so he should be around for a while. Boy does he know his way around the system. If you get a good one and he/she can find you entitlements - particularly the health card - I understand he/she can do the Centrelink work for you.
Post by: Steffo1 on January 19, 2019, 08:22:11 AM
"Thanks Steve, not sure I will get anything from what my online super calculators tell me. I need to see a financial person sooner or later I think. I was looking at downsizing my home asset level but now am not so sure. One guy (not an adviser) told me if I guy a more expensive house I may be entitled to some benefits. I know my super will keep me afloat if it has to but have some plans to supplement it from some shed output.
Steve I hear your comment loud and clear and totally concur. Worked all my life to pay taxes and looking like ending up not getting a brass razoo. But if I didn't work I would be dragging it in. Just doesn't add up."

Noel,
You really MUST see a financial adviser. Not the Centrelink guy. I am a self funded retiree who thought he knew it all. My adviser is younger than my kids (and he is their adviser too now) so he should be around for a while. Boy does he know his way around the system. If you get a good one and he/she can find you entitlements - particularly the health card - I understand he/she can do the Centrelink work for you.

Rowlie, by no means was I suggesting Noel not get outside advice. I was saying that the C/link adviser got us through the government stuff smoothly. They don't have a vested interest in your finances and just let you know where you stand with regard to your assets etc, as they stand at the time, as opposed to an "Adviser" who is trying to manage your money for your benefit and his income.
Also, after hearing horror stories about what to expect at C/link centres, I have to say that the two we visited (Deception Bay and Mitchleton) were operated efficiently and  we had no issues whatsoever.
Post by: JusyApples on January 19, 2019, 09:35:39 AM
Rowlie, by no means was I suggesting Noel not get outside advice. I was saying that the C/link adviser got us through the government stuff smoothly. They don't have a vested interest in your finances and just let you know where you stand with regard to your assets etc, as they stand at the time, as opposed to an "Adviser" who is trying to manage your money for your benefit and his income.
Also, after hearing horror stories about what to expect at C/link centres, I have to say that the two we visited (Deception Bay and Mitchleton) were operated efficiently and  we had no issues whatsoever.
I had a plan to win the 100mil give some away to my family, some to charity and never work again. But I will be back at work 2pm Monday can’t wait.

Post by: Rumpig on January 20, 2019, 01:25:00 PM
Some people don't understand the difference between making policy and having to implement it, nor do they understand who makes the decisions that mean staff levels are such that they keep you on the phone for hours.

But it does give you the sh1ts !!
:cup: 100% correct you are.

Tell you what respect to anyone working at Centrelink. Been in there once after our first child. I could imagine the crap they put up with every day

there is a real reason they have a full time Security guard / come Bouncer inside thier office, and that they have lock down and evacuation procedures for both staff and the other "clients" also. When my misses worked at Medicare they never had to call the Police to her work, but now her location has merged with Centrelink, Police being called to thier office is a fairly regular thing. Numerous people are banned from centres all around the country due to thier behaviour (they actually have a special phone number to call if they need to speak to someone), I wouldn't last a week working there putting up with the behaviour of many of thier "clients", I'd react in a way that would leave me unemployed. I have plenty of stories I could tell of what goes on at thier centre, the real scary part is that hers is one of the better centres to work at compared to certain other centres.
Post by: Kangaron on January 20, 2019, 02:03:19 PM
Sounds like a fun place, am glad I will never have to go to one.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 20, 2019, 02:28:36 PM
:cup: 100% correct you are.
there is a real reason they have a full time Security guard / come Bouncer inside thier office, and that they have lock down and evacuation procedures for both staff and the other "clients" also. When my misses worked at Medicare they never had to call the Police to her work, but now her location has merged with Centrelink, Police being called to thier office is a fairly regular thing. Numerous people are banned from centres all around the country due to thier behaviour (they actually have a special phone number to call if they need to speak to someone), I wouldn't last a week working there putting up with the behaviour of many of thier "clients", I'd react in a way that would leave me unemployed. I have plenty of stories I could tell of what goes on at thier centre, the real scary part is that hers is one of the better centres to work at compared to certain other centres.

You'd be big enough and ugly enough to give someone a decent slap.
You'd be like me i reckon, only so much lip can tolerated before said lip develops a nasty split.
Post by: rockrat on January 30, 2019, 09:14:42 PM
Although I passed the medical for my new job with ease, my BMI puts me on the border of obese. The old man had a heart attack at 57, then a stroke, diabetes and finally succumbed to brain cancer when he was 64. So I am determined to get my butt in gear and get back to my healthy weight range before I turn 50 in December. I need to lose about 15kg so hopefully with a change of diet and committing to riding to work each day, I won’t have to give up too much  :cheers:
Post by: edz on January 30, 2019, 09:52:10 PM
Have a look here Rocky ...   

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnTIXh8Nnj0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnTIXh8Nnj0)
                                      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z42IebO1lTI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z42IebO1lTI)
                                      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yVpIvZcItQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yVpIvZcItQ)
                                      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhIrO--tzyM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhIrO--tzyM)
Post by: rockrat on January 31, 2019, 06:59:40 AM
Have a look here Rocky ...   

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnTIXh8Nnj0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnTIXh8Nnj0)
                                      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z42IebO1lTI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z42IebO1lTI)
                                      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yVpIvZcItQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yVpIvZcItQ)
                                      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhIrO--tzyM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhIrO--tzyM)
Thanks Edz, will do.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on January 31, 2019, 07:33:13 AM
Umm, Chester, hate to be a pain in the bum :angel:, but you do realise that going camping is just a bit cheaper than an Alaskan cruise, don't you ??? >:D

Yeah but i dont like to do things in halves
Post by: Rumpig on February 03, 2019, 08:17:36 AM
well it took 3 weeks, but with our deposit money finally repaid back to us now, I will reveal why our plans changed.......
We had a Lifestyle AT2 van on order that we were supposed to receive this May, orderded it back in 2018 at a Brisbane show. Out of the blue 3 weeks ago I received a phone call telling me the company owner had concerns over the weight of the van, and in short the sales guy I was speaking with was suggesting this was due to the layout of the van we had chosen and the extras we had added to the van....i was made to feel this was our fault with the way he worded the conversation, even though we only really added things that were on thier list of extras available (internal gas heater, another solar panel, and a third battery...we went for thier separate shower and toilet set up they had as an option also). I was informed the owner was no longer going to be making the AT2 van, and that 9 of thier customers were getting the same phone call we were getting. We were given the option to continue on with our build or we could cancel our order and get our deposit back,  but basically if we went ahead with it we'd end up with a van that had no payload...told we'd have to pack it very sparingly, but knowing how bad most manufacturers are with thier weights, this likely really meant no chance of ever staying legal with it on the road . So if the owner of the company has concerns with  it's weights, then we would be foolish to go ahead with such a build was our decision, but apparently last I had heard atleast 2 of the 9 people contacted were still going ahead with thier builds (could be more, that was the morning after the initial calls I was told that number).  Lifestyle are now going to make a dual axle version of the van to overcome the staying legal issue, they have made one van already and possibly I think finished the second one recently also....they wanted to check the weights of the second van and couldn't give us any pricing on what the new set up would cost.
Upside to this all is we bought a secondhand van for less then half the cost of what we we were going to spend originally, the misses suggested I could buy a brand new work Ute with the money saved, and this is what I'll be doing
Post by: Bird on February 03, 2019, 08:20:36 AM
well it took 3 weeks, but with our deposit money finally repaid back to us now, I will reveal why our plans changed.......
We had a Lifestyle AT2 van on order that we were supposed to receive this May, orderded it back in 2018 at a Brisbane show. Out of the blue 3 weeks ago I received a phone call telling me the company owner had concerns over the weight of the van, and in short the sales guy I was speaking with was suggesting this was due to the layout of the van we had chosen and the extras we had added to the van....i was made to feel this was our fault with the way he worded the conversation, even though we only really added things that were on thier list of extras available (internal gas heater, another solar panel, and a third battery...we went for thier separate shower and toilet set up they had as an option also). I was informed the owner was no longer going to be making the AT2 van, and that 9 of thier customers were getting the same phone call we were getting. We were given the option to continue on with our build or we could cancel our order and get our deposit back,  but basically if we went ahead with it we'd end up with a van that had no payload...told we'd have to pack it very sparingly, but knowing how bad most manufacturers are with thier weights, this likely really meant no chance of ever staying legal with it on the road . So if the owner of the company has concerns with  it's weights, then we would be foolish to go ahead with such a build was our decision, but apparently last I had heard atleast 2 of the 9 people contacted were still going ahead with thier builds (could be more, that was the morning after the initial calls I was told that number).  Lifestyle are now going to make a dual axle version of the van to overcome the staying legal issue, they have made one van already and possibly I think finished the second one recently also....they wanted to check the weights of the second van and couldn't give us any pricing on what the new set up would cost.
Upside to this all is we bought a secondhand van for less then half the cost of what we we were going to spend originally, the misses suggested I could buy a brand new work Ute with the money saved, and this is what I'll be doing

I reckon long term you'll be happier anyway - AND a new truck :)
Post by: Rumpig on February 03, 2019, 08:27:57 AM
I reckon long term you'll be happier anyway - AND a new truck :)
reckon you are right there
Post by: Bird on February 03, 2019, 08:36:32 AM
Quote from: Rumpig
reckon you are right there
So whats the new tug gonna be? + Drop hitch :)
Post by: Rumpig on February 03, 2019, 09:13:45 AM
So whats the new tug gonna be? + Drop hitch :)
no new tug, that's what the 79 is sitting in the garage for....new ute won't have a towbar on it, might just get a workmate hilux, though debating on if to get a petrol or diesel. Thought about a Triton as they are cheap, but I not sure yet...likely go the Toyota.
Post by: alnjan on February 03, 2019, 11:36:22 AM

So I guess the upside is the Manufactures are aware of their weights and trying to do something about it.  We have looked at the AT2 and they are becoming a pretty large unit.  Interesting to see what they bring out to replace it.  Good that you got your money back. 
Post by: Rumpig on February 03, 2019, 03:20:18 PM
So I guess the upside is the Manufactures are aware of their weights and trying to do something about it.  We have looked at the AT2 and they are becoming a pretty large unit.  Interesting to see what they bring out to replace it.  Good that you got your money back.
yes it is a good thing they are looking at thier weights....i did wonder if it's by thier choice alone, or if it has arisen through other reasons?
Post by: alnjan on February 03, 2019, 03:48:51 PM
yes it is a good thing they are looking at thier weights....i did wonder if it's by thier choice alone, or if it has arisen through other reasons?

True.  When looking at the different weights of different camper/hybrids/vans apart from being a bit of a minefield at times, you have to seriously wander with some of the figures. 
Post by: speewa158 on February 03, 2019, 05:38:32 PM
l might just make an Exodus with a 14 & take it to the horizon  . Stay a while then go somewhere else . That seems to be a plan  .                            :cheers:                  :cup:
Post by: ivan on February 03, 2019, 07:57:23 PM
i have taken 12mths leave from Ambulance after 23yrs. Back to being a carpenter for council . Every weekend off 9day fortnight NO night shift. See how it is going at the end of the year. So far this year I have camped every second weekend.
Post by: rags on February 03, 2019, 08:34:35 PM
i have taken 12mths leave from Ambulance after 23yrs. Back to being a carpenter for council . Every weekend off 9day fortnight NO night shift. See how it is going at the end of the year. So far this year I have camped every second weekend.

Congratulations Ivan, I would imagine after 23 years in the job you will need that time away and maybe more. I'm aware of the toll the job has on you good folk,  and time away can only be a positive.
Post by: loanrangie on February 03, 2019, 08:39:28 PM
Hopefully a new job/career and take it from there.