Author Topic: Hot House (Roof Ventilator) Cairns FNQ  (Read 7957 times)

Hot House (Roof Ventilator) Cairns FNQ
« on: January 06, 2015, 12:19:04 PM »
G'day all,
We moved house a few weeks back, and found the new place to be stinking hot inside, even though it had 3 x whirly birds on the roof... anyway, got talking to Andy from Andy's Sheetmetal at Supply Rd Bentley Park.... he put me onto his Roof Ventilator system, essentially it's a ventilated ridge cap, no moving parts, survive cyclones etc..... I got him to install 3 of them up along the roof line, and this morning I cut in 14 vents into the eaves...... instantly the house is cooler..... money well spent.
So if you're living in a hot house, give Andy a call..... I believe he freights them off all over the place.... and they're locally made etc..
He's been making them for years now, and they survived cyclone Larry and Yasi on house roofs around Tully/Innisfail etc.... Good bloke, good business, just thought I'd give him a plug, and maybe get a few others houses cooled down.

http://www.andyssheetmetal.com.au/contact-us/

Re: Hot House (Roof Ventilator) Cairns FNQ
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2015, 01:28:53 PM »
Our neighbour put whirly birds on the roof [ tile ] and only dropped a few degree's in the roof cavity, He was dissapointed at the results till I talked him into fitting  eave vents, ended up dropping the roof cavity temps by 8 to 10* c on average..

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2015, 02:16:09 PM »
Similar idea but at a fraction of the cost.
Install one WhirlyMate in the vicinity of the WhirlyBird.
Did not take any readings but was a very noticeable difference, no need for the a/c

« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2015, 02:20:05 PM »
Do these things work for tile roofs as well?

« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2015, 02:24:02 PM »
Neighbour fitted 3 whirlybirds in his tiled roof.. hes wrapped with the results... Gotta find out if he has the whirlymate installed too...  he didn't mention it though

Offline terravista

« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2015, 02:43:13 PM »
Standard type whirlybirds seem to work reasonably well in areas that have a breeze when it's hot.
Many days in Brisbane have stinking hot temperatures building up in the roof but no breeze. No breeze means the only way the hot air can get out is by seeping out the whirlybird holes, not sucked out by the rotation of the vanes. Unless there are eaves vents these do not work effectively.
There are whirlybirds with motors to help them out, but they don't come cheap.
Concrete roofs without sarking have plenty of ventilation between the individual tiles, but having sarking effectively seals this more natural ventilation off.
These ridge vents combined with eaves vents certainly look like to be effective and better in appearance than the big round lumps. Definately worth contemplating if you have a hot roof space.

« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2015, 02:58:13 PM »
Hot air rises, very simple.
They are a must for any roof.

« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2015, 03:27:26 PM »
If you realy wanted to play around ... Solar panel /  battery and a couple off car thermo fans mounted high up and vented along with eave vents for those windless late afternoons to quickly draw heat out of the roof space  ...  ;D
One other tought is to cover the eave vents with a light hesian and a small spray set up to wet it, draw air in through it and it acts like a Koolgardi meat safe cooler .
« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 03:30:35 PM by edz »

« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2015, 04:40:44 PM »
If the air temp in the roof cavity is higher than ambient, the Whirly will work, breeze or no breeze.
If the air temp in the roof cavity is equal or less than ambient, it dosn't matter, doh!
Forget extra vents in the eaves. All houses have vents in the wall cavity, down low [hot air rises]
very simple.

« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2015, 05:04:30 PM »
A bucket load of "discussion" on whirlpool on roof ventilation  ;D

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/843539

Eave vents are a big no no in fire prone areas.

Seen the static type ventilation shrouds years ago, the ones up north look shmicko.

Carry on!   :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2015, 07:53:26 PM »
My roof had whirly birds, and yep, if I had added the eave vents it probably would of cooled the roof cavity as well. However, I'd rather the static roof vents as the whirly birds don't tend to do so well in cyclones....... where as these roof vents are low profile, and so far in the last few big cyclones have survived 100%...... anyway, I'm happy  :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2015, 08:21:53 PM »
Quote from: Barrabart
I'd rather the static roof vents as the whirly birds don't tend to do so well in cyclones...
I dunno, they'd spin well... :)

« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2015, 08:28:40 PM »
anyway, I'm happy  :cheers:

Same here mate, fridge works well and beer is cold.  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2015, 09:22:08 PM »
Andy put his system in our house.
Quieter than the whirlybirds we had in our old house.
Im happy with it.
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2015, 09:25:40 PM »
I just need someone to get up on the roof to fit a couple upstairs

« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2015, 11:19:30 PM »
I dunno, they'd spin well... :)

Sure would.......... be good to watch, especially if they launch off!!!!!!!

« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2015, 11:21:49 PM »
Andy put his system in our house.
Quieter than the whirlybirds we had in our old house.
Im happy with it.

Good stuff Bill,,,!!!!!!!!

Reckon he's onto a good thing!

« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2015, 11:23:39 PM »
Same here mate, fridge works well and beer is cold.  :cheers:

Good to hear!!!!!!!!//////////// Cold beer achieved, half the worlds problems solved!! :cheers:

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2015, 06:30:27 AM »
Andy done our place about 8 years ago , we got a full lenght one on the ridge cap , works well .

« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2015, 06:34:22 AM »
It's all about the  airflow they will move. The standard whirlybirds are fairly average, you can get motorized ones that shift twice the air. cSR now have a really neat system that measures outside, roof, and inside temps and runs pulling air from the roof during the day and when outside drops below the ambient inside your house it starts moving the air from inside so it can be replaced with cooler outside air. Similar to the whirlymate above but automatic.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2015, 06:40:11 AM by achjimmy »