Author Topic: Need a new lunch esky.  (Read 2744 times)

Need a new lunch esky.
« on: December 02, 2019, 10:33:51 PM »
I’ve been using my small old esky for a few years and it’s been ok, handle and lid have recently broken.
 It’s also struggling on 30+ degree days, ice packs defrosted by lunchtime. It was a promo product from a supplier so I can’t get the same one again.

Any suggestions? 10-15L size should do the job. It usually lives in the car or rear canopy so has to deal with those heat conditions.

Need a new lunch esky.
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2019, 06:36:27 AM »
Can’t really go wrong with any of the roto molded ones.

I had 2x 15L Bunnings ones that I used in the back of my little Jimny (they were the only ones that fitted behind the seats) and they kept ice for about 2 or 3 days in the summer and about a week in the cooler months.

Around this part of the world Tropical Ice boxes are one of the best local eskies. https://www.tropicaliceboxes.com/shop/4/44/tropical-ice-box-10litre-second.html

I used to have an Evakool 110L as well, it was a great esky, just too big for us. I expect their smaller units would also be good quality.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
Re: Need a new lunch esky.
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2019, 07:46:28 AM »
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2019, 10:17:00 AM »
A mate set up  a WAECO 35 he got on discount  + extra off deal, coupled it with a 180W solar panel, in the box on his truck [ Does have foam insulation inside the box and vented .. Ice cold drinks etc,    hasnt missed a beat now for about 5 years .. Truck lives in the sun all day everyday on building sites.

Offline sharkcaver

• My ramblings:
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2019, 11:14:22 AM »
Go see Aaron at Go camping Overlanding, Erindale Rd, Balcatta. He is producing some mint roto moulded eskies, not sure if he does any that small though??

Tell him I sent ya.

https://www.facebook.com/GoCampingwa/posts/2738998176165595

« Last Edit: December 03, 2019, 11:16:24 AM by sharkcaver »
An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0

« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2019, 11:57:09 AM »
I carry a 13lt Dometic in my van for work. During summer I’ll freeze a 1 litre bottle of water and it keeps everything cool all day easily

« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2019, 01:14:42 AM »
Cheers guys, just found a $40 BCF voucher at home so looks like I’ll be getting it from there. The dometic  one looks the goods.

I could probably keep the 12v one going off my second battery, no room for solar panel though.

Red roads have good gear but I think the bcf voucher wins out!!!

« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2020, 10:27:21 PM »
Ended up with a Dometic 13L jobbie. So far it works well, sitting in the cab all day on a 35° day, te 2 ice packs we still hald frozen by the time I got home in the arvo. It's a big unit though but obviously the insulation works.