Author Topic: Remote Control Cars  (Read 105993 times)

Offline DeLuxHiLux

• Growing Old is Inevitable. Growing Up is Optional
Re: Remote Control Cars
« Reply #25 on: September 11, 2013, 10:23:25 PM »
Recently picked up a 1/10 nitro tamiya Subbie WRX, butler as a teenager had 8 7.2 and 8.4v cars. I used to work for:-)
 the Tamiya distributorover the school holidays doing warranty assessments. always wanted a "Supershot", had a Porsche 959, 2 hornets ( Anytime Baby!!!!!!!!, 1 massivly modded with big shocks all round and go-fast motor) a Grasshopper, a wild one, anAudi Quattro, a Falcon and a few others in various states of operation. I used to be buying tyres every other week!!!! Bottomless pit........bit like a 4x4!!!!!!!

Kids want me to resurrect my Hornet and Falcon, those big trucks look interesting too.........more $$$$$$ to spend
'07 HiLux with some "fruit
'11 Tambo Omeo

Back home in one piece!!!

Common Sense: So Rare, it's a SuperPower

Our half lap 2013  blog: www.deluxhilux.blogspot.com.au

Offline Jaysea

• To go where I have never been
    • My 4WD Site
« Reply #26 on: September 11, 2013, 10:43:38 PM »
For BeerGods sake fella's...........  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Why the hell do you guys keep doing this????

Now I feel the need to go out and get one. ;D ;D ;D ;D
As if I didn't have enough toys............

Myswag is starting to be to me, what a shoe shop is to a woman.

Now if the great wealth of knowledge out there can tell me how I explain to the wife, why I NEED one and can't breathe without getting it????

Cheers all

X2 >:D  >:D argh!
Jaysea

2012 Prado GXL + Adventure Camper

My build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17776.0
My photos & travels: www.lensontheroad.com
My facebook: http://tinyurl.com/k2haolg

Offline Red Dog 4x4

« Reply #27 on: September 12, 2013, 07:38:53 AM »
I really think you guys would like the traxxas Summit, it has a four channel radio hi/low trans, and remote locking diffs....

The Rig- 97 GQ Coil Cab with lots of goodies
The Trailer- 2002 Castaway camper with lots of mods....
Quad Build -http://cfmoto-forum.com/cforce-500-h-o/cforce-550ho-from-australia/

« Reply #28 on: September 12, 2013, 09:20:29 AM »
Ive have a traxxas rustler had it for about 10 years
or so can still get spare parts
also a couple of newer ones
Yes cant stop at just one     :cheers:

GRC

Offline sierrajim

Remote Control Cars
« Reply #29 on: September 12, 2013, 09:53:15 PM »
Check out www.thecrawlpit.com for some neat Australian scalers

« Reply #30 on: September 13, 2013, 10:37:13 AM »
Screw you Jamie now you have me thinking about the Hornet i had as a kid and then i find a hobby shop has opened down the road

Christ i may as well buy a remote control plane and a slot car while i am going

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #31 on: September 13, 2013, 11:57:57 AM »
 >:D >:D >:D >:D

I ordered a Traxxas Stampede VXL 4wd last night.

SWMBO couldn't believe it ??? ???

Had to convince her that the young fella will get hours of enjoyment out of it. >:D >:D >:D
It had nothing to do with dad wanting one your honour..... I promise  ;D ;D

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

« Reply #32 on: September 13, 2013, 12:15:52 PM »
The 1/4 scale speedway QLD Titles are on at Elimbah this Saturday, (just north of Brisbane). Starts at 12pm and is free for spectators.
2 stroke RC Sprintcars, Dirt Modified and Compacts.

Shane.

Offline Smithyworld

Remote Control Cars
« Reply #33 on: September 13, 2013, 02:19:31 PM »

I've recently bought my 11yo son a Traxxis Slash 2WD and it's been fantastic in every way possible. I got a standard one with a brushed motor and standard batteries which is plenty fast enough. He can upgrade to LiPo batteries and a brushless motor when he's older.

I posted some questions on DBW and got some good help: http://www.dirtbikeworld.net/forum/showthread.php?t=103673

TRAXXAS Slash 2WD
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/produc...ducts_id=37800

I second this! Bought my 5 year old one to take camping and he loves it. Heaps fast enough and so far indestructible. Meant to be water proof as well. 
Chris

Ford Ranger Wildtrak and Jayco Outback Eagle 2013

www.chrissmithphotography.com.au

Offline di008

« Reply #34 on: September 13, 2013, 04:54:41 PM »
The 1/4 scale speedway QLD Titles are on at Elimbah this Saturday, (just north of Brisbane). Starts at 12pm and is free for spectators.
2 stroke RC Sprintcars, Dirt Modified and Compacts.

Shane.
Where in elimbah mate?
Thanks Dan

« Reply #35 on: September 13, 2013, 09:30:46 PM »
I ordered a Traxxas Stampede VXL 4wd last night.

Where from, what did you pay for it?

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #36 on: September 13, 2013, 09:42:31 PM »
Where from, what did you pay for it?

Got it from RCHobbies.com.au

I ended up going for the 4wd with lipo battery & charger.

http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?products_id=71008

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #37 on: September 13, 2013, 10:43:15 PM »
My son got a HSP Brontasauras for Christmas, with the brushless motor and Lipo battery. Looks very similar to the Traxxas Monster Truck.

The first two weeks were great, then the nuts started chewing through rims or the wheels would just fall off. He got scared to use it because I was getting the sh.ts every time it fell apart. Sent it back to the manufacturers and they replaced a bearing, blaming us we had been using it in the wet, wouldn't replace the chewed out rim.

Now he has gone and stuck the battery charging cable into the receiver socket and blown that up. DOH!

So it is now just sitting there waiting to be fixed again, can't be stuffed with it which is a PITA as it was great fun when it worked, stupidly quick.
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #38 on: September 14, 2013, 03:39:12 PM »
Bought the Stampede today, batteries are on charge, should be able to test drive this arvo!

Offline Big Tread

« Reply #39 on: September 14, 2013, 03:54:00 PM »
Bought the Stampede today, batteries are on charge, should be able to test drive this arvo!

Concrete Skate parks are great for wizzing  around on, heaps of jumps and things.  Doesn't matter where you got though you'll always run into the only tree/post/rock etc ;D
-----------------------------------------
2007 VX Prado
Tambo Omeo

« Reply #40 on: September 14, 2013, 05:02:46 PM »
So how does it go

« Reply #41 on: September 14, 2013, 05:39:36 PM »
Even in trainer mode it is stupid fast but it is a lot of fun. I am glad I got the Stampede and not the Slash for the terrain across the road. Reverse seems to be a bit hit & miss so I probably should read the instructions tonight :)

« Reply #42 on: September 14, 2013, 07:44:07 PM »
Might have to get mine out tomorrow.  Although I think I am out of fuel at the moment,  bugger

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk 4

« Reply #43 on: September 14, 2013, 08:56:54 PM »
Aha pays to read the manual :)

Using Reverse: While driving, push the throttle trigger forward to apply brakes. Once stopped, return the throttle trigger to neutral. Push the throttle trigger forward again to engage proportional reverse.

« Reply #44 on: September 14, 2013, 09:00:10 PM »
Dam you blokes. I got get one

« Reply #45 on: September 14, 2013, 09:08:53 PM »
Don't jump in just yet, I may upgrade to a 4wd model and you can have a slightly used 2wd model cheap :)

« Reply #46 on: September 14, 2013, 09:18:30 PM »
This is what I use to terrorise the local cat population.  ;D ;D

« Reply #47 on: September 15, 2013, 06:55:49 AM »
OK I need to ask a question of the more informed RC users.

The Traxxas site has the Stampede as 2.4GHz the one I purchased came as 27MHz, did I get stooged and buy an old model? I prefer the 2.4GHz as it doesn't have an alloy antenna my son can break easily. Is it an easy upgrade?

Offline whitedg

« Reply #48 on: September 15, 2013, 07:56:15 AM »
27MHz was what I was using when I was into RC Aircraft and cars 25 years ago - I still have my old system in the garage somewhere.

2.4GHz is the latest in RC technology. It allows a better signal to the receiver and as the pick a "channel" when they bind, you can use multiple systems together (say at a meet with friends) without them interfering with each other. 27MHz need to be separated by the use of a peg board and a transmitter pound, so that someone doesn't turn on their transmitter and affect your model.

As far as I know, to upgrade you would need to purchase a new receiver and transmitter. Check out the range at Hobby King for some cheap prices on good gear. Something like this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__31671__HobbyKing_HK_GT2B_3CH_2_4GHz_Transmitter_and_Receiver_w_Rechargable_Li_ion_Battery.html might work.

whitedg

« Reply #49 on: September 15, 2013, 10:38:32 AM »
Thanks, I spoke with RC Garage who inform me the 2.4GHz Stampedes are not in AU yet, although other AU websites have them. Anyway as you have mentioned I can fit a Spektrum DX2, they're willing to do a deal on it which is the least they could do. The other option is keep a spare antenna handy which is $10, but a PITA to fit. The Slash comes with 2.4GHz, maybe I should have got that model.
http://www.rcgarage.com/accessories/radios/surface-radios/spektrum-dx2e-surface-radio-w-sr200-receiver.html