Author Topic: Remote Control Cars  (Read 104603 times)

Remote Control Cars
« on: September 10, 2013, 05:18:28 PM »
Dropped into Tradesman roof racks this arvo and on the way out spied a hobby shop. Couldn't help myself so I decided to have a look as I've always wanted a remote control car. The sales guy convinced me I needed a Traxxas Stampede for my son :) Anybody know anything about these? I'm looking for something that will take the rough stuff at home or camping, reasonably fast but not stupid fast, capable enough to go over bush tracks etc.

http://www.rcgarage.com/cars/trucks/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html

Offline Mrs smith

Re: Remote Control Cars
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 05:29:05 PM »
Alright now I really want one ;D

Traxxas Stampede 4X4 VXL Bashing, Flipping, Water, Domination

Variflex

Remote Control Cars
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2013, 05:38:34 PM »
Careful, you can't stop at one ????

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2013, 05:53:08 PM »
Ive got heaps of rc trucks and cars, so much fun when out camping (fun for me not kids :P )

Stampede has been around for ages i think 15 years now and its one of the best that traxxas make, there is cheap copies around that are good for startup but if you want it to last buy the brand over noname ones.

Ive got a 12 year old Nitro Rustler that i can still get parts for, my son drives it around when ive got my dune buggy out.

2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

Offline hammy

« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2013, 06:05:15 PM »
I've recently bought my 11yo son a Traxxis Slash 2WD and it's been fantastic in every way possible. I got a standard one with a brushed motor and standard batteries which is plenty fast enough. He can upgrade to LiPo batteries and a brushless motor when he's older.

I posted some questions on DBW and got some good help: http://www.dirtbikeworld.net/forum/showthread.php?t=103673

TRAXXAS Slash 2WD
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/produc...ducts_id=37800

----------------------------------

...currently looking for a CT!

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2013, 06:10:13 PM »
I have a stampede with a brushless motor, it is stupid fast and not a lot of places you can use all the speed it has.
A standard stampede would be a pretty good starter, all parts are available and very well priced.

Cheers matt
2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2013, 06:24:38 PM »
Thanks guys, looks like I have been given the right advice.

Looks like this roof rack is going to cost me another $300 :)

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2013, 06:26:00 PM »
The young bloke has a Traxxis but I'm not sure which one. We got it through Tower Hobbies in the States - it worked out a fair bit cheaper than here after we joined their club.

It's been camping with us and charges ok through the inverter on the kamper. A bit of fun and exempt from the hoon laws  ;D

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline markpeh

Remote Control Cars
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2013, 06:40:57 PM »
Traxxas are the go. I have a 4x4 slash and it is awesome. Brushless motors are very good . This thing is faster than the nitros stuff was a few years ago. Even came with bfg km2's!

Trouble is now I want the one with low range and diff locks...

« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2013, 07:16:23 PM »
I have a traxxas nitro and it goes like the clappas. Just need a lot of space for it and it makes a bit of noise. Also have a couple of old Tamiya buggies, some are being done up, others are just in pieces.

« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2013, 07:17:49 PM »
Now I can't decide between the Stampede or Slash...

Offline ac cob

« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2013, 07:40:41 PM »
There's your decision right there...can't decide....get both! It really is no fun by yourself & so much more fun when you can chase each other around.  :police:
Poor planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part!
2008 Toyota Prado D4D GXL Manual
2013 Kimberley Kamper Special Edition

« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2013, 07:57:11 PM »
For BeerGods sake fella's...........  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Why the hell do you guys keep doing this????

Now I feel the need to go out and get one. ;D ;D ;D ;D
As if I didn't have enough toys............

Myswag is starting to be to me, what a shoe shop is to a woman.

Now if the great wealth of knowledge out there can tell me how I explain to the wife, why I NEED one and can't breathe without getting it????

Cheers all

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2013, 09:12:52 PM »
Thanks guys, looks like I have been given the right advice.

Looks like this roof rack is going to cost me another $300 :

Is that all they cost D4D???
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

« Reply #15 on: September 10, 2013, 09:13:52 PM »
Also have a couple of old Tamiya buggies, some are being done up, others are just in pieces.

ANYTIME BABY    :cup:

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2013, 10:28:41 PM »
Geez, this is bringing back fond memories of my old Tamiya Big Bear Datsun.
These were all the rage when I was a kid, had hours of fun with it.
Dammit D4D, now i want one of these traxxas beasts ;D ;D

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2013, 10:46:15 PM »
I can't believe I have been researching RC monster trucks for the last 2 hours. ???

I always wanted a Tamiya Optima when I was a young fella, but the olds would not be in it.

Well I might have to buy my 2 1/2 year old son a new Traxxas Stampede VXL 4x4.
I am sure he mentioned wanting one the other day. >:D >:D >:D

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2013, 10:56:03 PM »
I can't believe I have been researching RC monster trucks for the last 2 hours. ???

Same here!

I always wanted a Tamiya Optima when I was a young fella, but the olds would not be in it.

I wanted the Hornet and my folks got me a....

Jet Hopper! 
Still got it today (somewhere).

Saw a ready to run Hornet in the shops the other week for $230.  Problem is I've got 3 girls, ones 16 and the other 2 are into ballet.  Makes it hard to get this type of purchase past the finance queen.

« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2013, 12:39:37 AM »
Buggger !!!

Now I want one as well...... 8) 8)

Offline gec

• 5.7 V8 Powered GQ Patrol
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2013, 01:35:48 AM »
My son and I both run the Axial Wraith Rock Crawler buggies and we love em, so much fun to cruise around and crawl over stuff, and we fitted them with brushless motors so we can go fast as well, good bonding time.

Ex Western Patrol Club Member, growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional.

Offline neilsk

« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2013, 08:12:42 AM »
I have a brushless Traxas Slash. its an awesome short course truck. very quick. ive done all sorts of stupid things with it. the other day me and my mate were jumping campfires with them. his got stuck in the fire he was lucky i was close and quickly grabbed it out. no damage. awesome trucks.

2012 D40 Navara St and a MDC Tbox V3

Offline Red Dog 4x4

« Reply #22 on: September 11, 2013, 08:54:17 AM »
Ok having raced the petrol 10th scale out of the box class since I was 12 years old and that went till I was about 18 then progressed into the rock crawlers and slowly turned into this....

Before the crash- this one has a 13.5 turn brushless system with a Summit Hi/Low transmission in it so top speed for a crawler around the 50km/h mark 

then this happened =

And how it sits now, with $3000 in it -

And this is something I'm building at the moment with a slash 4x4 front end which is a little narrower than standard and a wraith rear end clocked this one at 60km/h

The Rig- 97 GQ Coil Cab with lots of goodies
The Trailer- 2002 Castaway camper with lots of mods....
Quad Build -http://cfmoto-forum.com/cforce-500-h-o/cforce-550ho-from-australia/

« Reply #23 on: September 11, 2013, 09:01:51 AM »
OK I see you can't stop at just one :cup:

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #24 on: September 11, 2013, 10:56:06 AM »
OK I see you can't stop at just one :cup:
No once the bug bites you its over.

Ive had around 20+ 1/10th scale and now im into the 1/8th scale, but it does not stop there, ive got quad copters small 3d helicopters and also getting into boats with the kids.

Its a wallet killer hobby but you can have a lot of fun with the right choices.
2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail