Author Topic: The tightarse thread  (Read 29055 times)

Offline Pebble

The tightarse thread
« on: February 09, 2011, 05:09:11 PM »
Alright so I was reading something similar on a mtb forum that's turned out to be great for a laugh.

What are some of the tightarse things that yourself or someone you know has ever done, camping related or not?

All I can think of at the moment is to say, yest I do keep the soaps from motel rooms, because we paid for them anyway. But I don't keep the tea/ coffee especially not if it's international roast, in fact if staying more than one night I'll take my own tea / cofee / milo ha ha.
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

Re: The tightarse thread
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 05:16:49 PM »
Pickup scrap alloy from roadside pickup and cash it in as well as anything else of value.

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2011, 05:37:47 PM »
We live in the dark.  ;D

I'd rather burn a candle than turn on a light...can't stand using any more power than absolutely necessary and am always switching lights off after me. Turn every power point off religiously after use and don't leave anything running. Power is not cheap out here and yes, I've got the solar panel things too. So, I think I'm pretty tightarse about power... ;D

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2011, 05:45:04 PM »
I used to drink any beer as long as it was on special.... ;D  I think I learnt it from my grandfather, who I lived with in my formative years he used to drink anything that was cheap....in those days it was West End Bitter....lol

My father used to tell me that I would drink "camel's piss".... ;D ;D

These days but I only drink what I like..... as I have got older I don't tend to be as much of a tightarse but still hate being ripped off and would rather not have it if I thinks it a rort....lol

Offline Johnny Trackabout

• GIDDY UP...WHOO BACK
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2011, 05:46:14 PM »
I use to work for a bloke who was such a tight arse, he wasn't allowed to eat strawberry Jam ....cause he had trouble passing the seeds ;D

JT

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2011, 05:52:20 PM »
Bloke I work with tells a yarn about his old Boss who was so tight he would straighten out old wire coat hangers instead of buying welding wire.
 My brother is so tight that if he handed you a $1 coin, you could here the 'roo on the coin gasping for breathe , he would hang on that much  >:D

Offline Campa

« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2011, 05:57:01 PM »
Every Christmas we look forward to the gift my wife's Auntie gives us  ;D. It is always the same gift card, from the same woman's clothing shop that expires in February the next year (2 months after Christmas).
Strangely enough Her birthday is in February and the gift card expires 12 months after purchase.  :laugh:

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2011, 06:00:33 PM »
Every Christmas we look forward to the gift my wife's Auntie gives us  ;D. It is always the same gift card, from the same woman's clothing shop that expires in February the next year (2 months after Christmas).
Strangely enough Her birthday is in February and the gift card expires 12 months after purchase.  :laugh:

That is Gold!!! :D

Offline Campa

« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2011, 06:03:04 PM »
That is Gold!!! :D

Were trying desperately to find who it is that is giving her these gift vouchers to change to a shop we like  :laugh:

« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2011, 06:25:09 PM »
Company I used to work for had the cleaners split the 2 ply dunny paper, so it went twice as far!!!

« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2011, 06:37:30 PM »
Had an old boss some years ago that was so tightarse that he squeaked when he walked.

Offline Campa

« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2011, 06:39:16 PM »
Had an old boss some years ago that was so tightarse that he squeaked when he walked.

I think I work for him now  :laugh:

« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2011, 06:45:00 PM »
Were trying desperately to find who it is that is giving her these gift vouchers to change to a shop we like  :laugh:

That's a classic!  :cup:

Offline camdyson

« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2011, 06:52:14 PM »
Years ago a mate and I used to write to each other (yes write - told you it was years ago!) regularly. We'd carefully open the envelope, and put our reply in, with the address scribbled out and "wrong address, try xxxxxxxxxx" on it, with xxxxxxxxxx being the other's address.

I reckon we got one envelope back and forth on one stamp over a dozen times - surprized no-one at Aust Post ever twigged it was the same 2 addresses repeated over and over!!! ;D

Cam
Set your chickens free

Offline craigtempo

• welcome to the party that never ends
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2011, 06:59:28 PM »
Alright so I was reading something similar on a mtb forum that's turned out to be great for a laugh.

What are some of the tightarse things that yourself or someone you know has ever done, camping related or not?

All I can think of at the moment is to say, yest I do keep the soaps from motel rooms, because we paid for them anyway. But I don't keep the tea/ coffee especially not if it's international roast, in fact if staying more than one night I'll take my own tea / cofee / milo ha ha.

dont forget the toilet paper  ;D

craig

« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2011, 07:01:48 PM »
A company I deal with send my bill in reused envelopes. I can't figure out if he is a tight arse or greenie.

« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2011, 07:04:36 PM »
We had a labourer that used to take home the left over concrete from a slab pour in buckets and pour his driveway, must of taken ages and looked like a patch work quilt, he lived close to the job so at least it did not set before he got home

« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2011, 07:06:14 PM »
Was he Italian :)

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2011, 07:12:23 PM »
new a bloke that would lean your empty coke bottle upside down then drink what was in the lid

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2011, 07:30:42 PM »
so tight he would straighten out old wire coat hangers instead of buying welding wire.

Sent my missus to Coles to buy 50 wire coat hangers for oxy/acet welding wire.
Cheap at twice the price. ;D
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline gruesome

• Don't follow me I'm LOST
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2011, 07:40:30 PM »
Worked with a bloke in a coal mine that used the same tea bag for a week, use to hang it up and dry it after every cup of tea,
cheers Andy
2001 Prado OME coils and springs, bfg 265/75/16, UHF, Warn 9000lb winch
dual batteries, snorkel, draw  system, TJM bar, hella lights
Complete Campsite trailer

« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2011, 08:07:56 PM »
Ha Ha got a Greek mate who's Uncle had a Taxi, when the extended family went to Warrnanbool for their get together, his Uncle use to take the Cab, drop the kids of at the beach for the day do the rounds  ;D I suppose you would call it a working holiday  :D

Offline Rowanb

« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2011, 08:19:28 PM »
Tight arse don't get me started, I have been doing all my own servicing for years, despite the fact some of the stuff I have worked on I swear the car was built around the oil filter, kinda like my 2.8 GU.

I had an old 2 Stroke YZ Yamaha a few years back and compression was a bit down so off came the head a few smacks with a soft blow hammer on the crown of the piston and viola instant compression, sold the bike a year later after once again "rebuilding it by hammer" lol sorry Yamaha Txxwxxmba but hey I'm sure you got ya pound of flesh out of me over the early years.
Row and Shaz.
Hubby and Wife team

Offline chunk

• One life, live it.
« Reply #23 on: February 09, 2011, 08:40:42 PM »
When I worked at BHP Port Kembla the migrants used to take a litre of marking paint home each day and use it to paint there houses, this paint was specific to BHP and was Kembla blue, green,yellow etc...and was matt finish.One bright spark started taking paint home from the paint line and after he had about 10 litres he painted his house. 2 weeks later the paint was still wet and he couldn't work out why until we told him that he had used baked enamel paint, took him months to get it all off.
Current Lifestyle 360.
2004 Land Rover Discovery td5 Classic.
2001 Land Rover Discovery td5.

Gone 1998 Land Rover Discovery 300tdi.
1995 Land Rover Discovery ES 3.9lt  V8.
1994 Land Rover Defender 200 tdi.
1984 Toyota Forerunner 2lt.
1982 Nissan 720 Duel Cab 2.2lt.
1974 Toyota Land Cruiser.

Offline playhard

« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2011, 09:05:27 PM »
I have an uncle that once gave me, my brother and 2 of my cousins a tin of used paint for Christmas. If I didn't know him I would have thought he was taking the p**s.