Author Topic: Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009  (Read 130477 times)

Re: Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009
« Reply #100 on: September 02, 2009, 06:59:42 PM »
I didnt realise Hem was American... ;D

« Reply #101 on: September 02, 2009, 07:04:12 PM »
God dammit, I aint no Yank!! but daughter number 3 was reading over my shoulder & said " Dad, you smell like a septic tank sometimes !!". Ungratefull little SH#T, this is the thanks I get for being nice to them!! I think Xmas just got canned >:D :cheers: Bevan.

« Reply #102 on: September 02, 2009, 08:22:50 PM »
Just can't let go of the toilet humour hey Bevan.  ;D  ;D

« Reply #103 on: September 02, 2009, 08:29:01 PM »
Darren
No mate HEM's not a Yank , he's much worse. He's a Lower riverite  >:D ;D >:D ;D
 Hem, do ya reckon you would have room in ya jigger for a feed bag /fish tub of wood? If so, I'll arrange some good stuff to take down with us, a bag or 2 in mine ,some for yours. This worse than waiting for Xmas, how long now? :'( :cheers: Bevan

« Reply #104 on: September 02, 2009, 08:33:36 PM »
Hahaha, seems like it .  I reckon we'll have a laugh or 10000000000 @ Crowdy. Will be great to meet you, reguardless of sense of humour. What time are you hoping to get there? Bevan

« Reply #105 on: September 02, 2009, 08:39:54 PM »
If somone has a ute or a wagon they borrowed then we could do a wood run on sat. Ill bring one of my saws.We will need much more than lostock. Ther will be that many people there will be 3 rows around it.

Darren
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 11:32:57 AM by darren »

« Reply #106 on: September 02, 2009, 08:42:44 PM »
We are planning to take some time off and travel up on the friday morning. Probably get up there early arvo. Looking forward to it no end. ;D Setup, beer, break out the guitar and chill. :cup:

« Reply #107 on: September 02, 2009, 08:50:39 PM »
 Darren
Sounds good , you bring the machine ,We"ll bring the muscle :cheers: We can fit sh%t loads in Hems truck, eh Mark >:D >:D Bevan

« Reply #108 on: September 02, 2009, 08:55:27 PM »
My biggest saw is a 3120 with a 44' bar. hope he has a timber jinker ;D
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 08:57:58 PM by darren »

« Reply #109 on: September 02, 2009, 09:03:21 PM »
Darren
 Yep, that's a saw :cup: Used to play with an 096 Stihl with a big lump of a bar years ago when I worked scholl holidays at a sawmill. I was trying to stir Hem up. We had a camping trip up to Gerrard stae forrest a while ago,Mark's ute got roped into the job of being the wood truck. We found an old log dump not too far from camp & gathered a few old butts of logs . I don't think he has forgotten that bit ;D ;D .Bevan

« Reply #110 on: September 03, 2009, 12:33:29 AM »
What about everyone bring as much as they can and we take it from there......the bags of wood at Diamond Head used to be $5 and the nearest wood run would probably be out the back of Kew which is a fair hike ??

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #111 on: September 03, 2009, 07:05:25 AM »
I will bring a trailer load of wood on Friday. Someone else can split it though. Will try and get out of it where ever I can.  :D

I'll set up camp early arvo (to keep Mr/s Snow company  :cheers:) so I'll get the missus to bring the loaded trailer over when she comes.

« Reply #112 on: September 03, 2009, 07:12:52 AM »
Are there fire pits, or should we bring drum(s)?

Offline Laith

« Reply #113 on: September 03, 2009, 07:25:53 AM »
No fire pits as such. Just the remains where fires have already been. I have always guessed that you can just make one where you want. (Ive always used an existing spot though).

« Reply #114 on: September 03, 2009, 07:42:35 AM »
Gronk
 Your idea is sensible, but you have forgotten the appeal of alcohol, a high powered tool with razor sharp  cutting chain spinning at high speed, and the sense of not only achievement but conquest over nature as you see the ute overloaded with wood. Then you have the satisfaction of destroying it all in one night and creating so much heat that you cant get within 20m of it.
Darren
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 10:20:41 AM by darren »

« Reply #115 on: September 03, 2009, 10:15:55 AM »
Sorry for being or sounding sensible !!! ;D

My saw's only a baby Huskie, and stone cold sober, I cut my leg ( 2 times ) while trying to start it the macho way ( holding it in one hand, doing a drop pull on the cord )

I'll hang back and do the splitting !!!!! That way I can only sever my foot !! ;D

« Reply #116 on: September 03, 2009, 10:23:55 AM »
Gronk
 Good to see that despite the fact you cut your leg the first time you didnt give up  :cup:. This is the type of determination we need 
Darren

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #117 on: September 03, 2009, 11:27:20 AM »
I'll throw some wood in the camper for fri night and my (baby) saw and a splitter. Good excercise eh. I'll throw in some pine from the mining reels up this way, It burns quick but throws out heaps of heat.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #118 on: September 03, 2009, 12:43:44 PM »
Gronk
 Good to see that despite the fact you cut your leg the first time you didnt give up  :cup:. This is the type of determination we need 
Darren

After the 1st time, I thought it was bad technique, after the 2nd time, the little light globe in the head went off !!! ??? ???

Offline Laith

« Reply #119 on: September 03, 2009, 05:35:53 PM »
You sound about as smart as me Gronk. I allways say I'll never ask the same question "more" than twice  ;D

Offline Laith

« Reply #120 on: September 03, 2009, 05:51:52 PM »
I'm sorry Gronk. I just realised how offensive my last post was. I'm sure (hope) you are way smarter than me  ;D

Offline TRUPM

« Reply #121 on: September 03, 2009, 08:19:04 PM »
Thanks bigjules. I'll do that actually.
Will see when it is coming closer to the time what we can arrange.
My wife loves camping, she helps me setup everytime and isnt worried about roughing it.
Might just do the quick over nighter setup for the first night, and we will probly stay the sunday night aswll.

How is it going down that way for fire bans?
We are already on restrictions here.
Holden Rodeo 3.0 TDi work/play ute with Coolabah Camper

« Reply #122 on: September 03, 2009, 08:29:38 PM »
3 Rows around the firepit????!!!!

Mate, Bullfrog forgot to tell you that we burnt ALL the timber you can get in the back of the Courier [with canopy] in just ONE NIGHT!!!

There wasn't even enough left next morning to cook brekkie but everyone who got within 10ft of the fire had singed eyebrows - rum drinkers were not allowed within 20ft for obvious reasons.

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
« Reply #123 on: September 03, 2009, 08:31:44 PM »
Mate  we'll be there for the weekend and Monday as well. Barnray

« Reply #124 on: September 04, 2009, 07:45:40 AM »
Sorry for being or sounding sensible !!! ;D

My saw's only a baby Huskie, and stone cold sober, I cut my leg ( 2 times ) while trying to start it the macho way ( holding it in one hand, doing a drop pull on the cord )

I'll hang back and do the splitting !!!!! That way I can only sever my foot !! ;D

Just don't mention ABS ;D