Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 504435 times)

SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1475 on: February 03, 2019, 08:01:57 AM »
I guess this is the right place.

The 40th anniversary of Mad Max event is on this weekend.
https://www.thecourier.com.au/story/5883341/mad-max-40th-draws-big-crowd-video-gallery/?cs=62#slide=2

The following users thanked this post: edz

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1476 on: February 03, 2019, 10:39:20 AM »
That would have been GREAT  to go to, One of my all time favourite films thanks Pete .. :cup:

« Reply #1477 on: February 03, 2019, 12:55:34 PM »
Bugger, I was just down the road and didn't know it was on.  :-[

« Reply #1478 on: February 05, 2019, 07:13:14 AM »
This is piss funny when half way through, the narrator talks about the Cadillac being economical.  ???

Most uneconomical car I've ever owned, most loved car I've ever owned.... but stuff me, you drive past a servo and the left indicator goes on automatically.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4Khi7rtnbM

« Reply #1479 on: February 07, 2019, 04:34:21 PM »
I finally got around to changing the gearbox on the power front seat in the 64 Caddy today.

Unbolt the seat and tip it back and used a car stand on each side to support it.
I now have access to the power motor and gearbox.
Some rough bastard in the states, has had a go at this once before.

The two bolts that hold the motor and gearbox frame to the seat are missing and its zip tied there.  ???
First job, was remount that with bolts and yeah, they're a turd to do, but ya kind of need them.

Four hex head bolts each side of the box releases the 6 cable drives from the box and another two bolts and the gearbox slips off the drive shaft.
The motor can stay where it is, as it works fine.
Split the box open to find second gear seized. (good reason the seat didn't forwards or backwards since we owned it.)

I've got another box I bought last year for $125 USD that's reco'd and ready to roll.

I figure it might be good to check all the drive cables.
Cool, the Blue cables aren't connected at the screw drives on the seat. (Another good reason the seat didn't back or forth)

5 out of six cables are free as a bird (Not You) with one a bit tight.
WD40 is a wonderful product, hung the cable, lubricated the Shit out of it and its all good.

Slide the box back on the drive shaft making sure its engaged the drive itself.
With everything bolted up, its snug as a bug.

Refit one cable in the morning and lower the seat back into position and bolt down and we should be working in all 6 directions.

Its a bloody robust system for moving a seat.
The thing could be used to jack the car up.

All this for power seat.

« Reply #1480 on: February 07, 2019, 04:48:17 PM »
I finally got around to changing the gearbox on the power front seat in the 64 Caddy today.

Unbolt the seat and tip it back and used a car stand on each side to support it.
I now have access to the power motor and gearbox.
Some rough bastard in the states, has had a go at this once before.

The two bolts that hold the motor and gearbox frame to the seat are missing and its zip tied there.  ???
First job, was remount that with bolts and yeah, they're a turd to do, but ya kind of need them.

Four hex head bolts each side of the box releases the 6 cable drives from the box and another two bolts and the gearbox slips off the drive shaft.
The motor can stay where it is, as it works fine.
Split the box open to find second gear seized. (good reason the seat didn't forwards or backwards since we owned it.)

I've got another box I bought last year for $125 USD that's reco'd and ready to roll.

I figure it might be good to check all the drive cables.
Cool, the Blue cables aren't connected at the screw drives on the seat. (Another good reason the seat didn't back or forth)

5 out of six cables are free as a bird (Not You) with one a bit tight.
WD40 is a wonderful product, hung the cable, lubricated the Shit out of it and its all good.

Slide the box back on the drive shaft making sure its engaged the drive itself.
With everything bolted up, its snug as a bug.

Refit one cable in the morning and lower the seat back into position and bolt down and we should be working in all 6 directions.

Its a bloody robust system for moving a seat.
The thing could be used to jack the car up.

All this for power seat.

And you did all this without hurting yourself or no mishaps? :D

« Reply #1481 on: February 07, 2019, 05:45:16 PM »
I did slice a finger slightly on a sharp edge.
I was holding a torch in my teeth at one point and turned my head.

Friggin hurt as the torch was knocked out of my mouth, but that's all.  :cup:

« Reply #1482 on: February 07, 2019, 06:02:26 PM »
I did slice a finger slightly on a sharp edge.
I was holding a torch in my teeth at one point and turned my head.

Friggin hurt as the torch was knocked out of my mouth, but that's all.  :cup:
Thought the tale was too good to be true. :D

« Reply #1483 on: February 08, 2019, 08:17:11 AM »
Went out the shed really early this morning and bolted the seat back down and all that crap.
I now have a fully operational 6 way power seat in the car.  :cup:

I've got to still dick around with a few bits and bobs, but all working.

While I was there, I was thinking, Shit that's a lot of wires going to door.
I guessed there would be 12 or 14 wires, so I counted them.

It has 22 electrical wires coming from the A pillar to the drivers door.  :o
All 8 power windows (4 main, 4 quarter vent) operate off the drivers door.
So does the idiot lock-out switch to prevent passengers pissing around with the windows.
Then you have the 6 way seat operation from there as well.
You get 2 straight forward switches and one joy stick style switch.   

And 5 separate vacuum lines as well.
Cadillac in the 60s used a fair bit of vacuum to run stuff, like door locks, boot release and even some of the Air Cond system is operated on vacuum.

Some of it, like the air cond, can be quite a complex system, but hey, considering this was 1964, I guess its pretty good.

« Reply #1484 on: February 09, 2019, 06:57:31 AM »
couple of pics of the job.
In case you're wondering about the steering wheel angle, it has an adjustable column. 

« Last Edit: February 09, 2019, 12:55:28 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1485 on: February 09, 2019, 01:07:30 PM »
I hope this works, cool old pic from the 70's.

https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0?ui=2&ik=f6848cbe68&attid=0.1&permmsgid=msg-f:1624943442609856292&th=168cf573a4dc5f24&view=att&disp=safe

« Reply #1486 on: February 09, 2019, 03:30:02 PM »
And this is just a small selection of what he has...

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-02-09/rare-james-bond-aston-martin/10788876

Also has a decent amount of Australian stuff as well by all accounts.

« Reply #1487 on: February 09, 2019, 03:55:01 PM »
Very cool story Ed.

Makes me want to come down for a visit.

« Reply #1488 on: February 09, 2019, 03:58:43 PM »
Very cool story Ed.

Makes me want to come down for a visit.

Hot Rod run in December typically runs out to his shed(s), but I've not managed to get on it - I know the organiser well, and have a mate who is in the club.

When it gets sorted I'll let everyone know...

« Reply #1489 on: February 10, 2019, 09:20:39 PM »
I might half a chance to get my hands on a Windsor powered XP Futura 4 door.  Was built about 12 years ago, but assembly never completed.  All the bits are there to complete it.  Just need to convince the owner I'm a worthy recipient...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1490 on: February 11, 2019, 08:08:40 AM »
I might half a chance to get my hands on a Windsor powered XP Futura 4 door.  Was built about 12 years ago, but assembly never completed.  All the bits are there to complete it.  Just need to convince the owner I'm a worthy recipient...

Money should make you a worthy recipient.

« Reply #1491 on: February 11, 2019, 09:45:56 AM »
This one is not so much about money.  Selling well below value, but one of his good friends has his hand up first.  However friend hasn't stumped up any cash yet (few months now) and wants him to finish the car.
I'm happy to pay the asking price today and take it as it sits.

« Reply #1492 on: February 12, 2019, 08:28:34 AM »

« Reply #1493 on: February 14, 2019, 01:50:30 PM »
Did my P plate test in one of these - when I had a broken leg ... :D Never get away with it these days LMAO!

Datsun 120y coupe
Dunolly, Victoria
$6,999
Datsun 120y coupe will be sold with current REGO,

Original engine & transmission
Original colour
56271 miles

« Reply #1494 on: February 14, 2019, 02:06:55 PM »
Lol!  My mates got an identical coupe, colour and everything.  Bought it spur of the moment when it came into his workshop.

Sent it up to a friend to have some minor rust repaired and came back with a full respray.  Still sports stock hubcaps.
No idea what he'll ever do with it.  It will never get driven (dispite having club reg) and he doesn't sell stuff...

We've nicknamed it Cameron. 

« Reply #1495 on: February 14, 2019, 02:33:29 PM »
Quote from: kylarama
Lol!  My mates got an identical coupe, colour and everything.  Bought it spur of the moment when it came into his workshop.

Sent it up to a friend to have some minor rust repaired and came back with a full respray.  Still sports stock hubcaps.
No idea what he'll ever do with it.  It will never get driven (dispite having club reg) and he doesn't sell stuff...

few years ago mate asked me to go with him to pickup his new 2 door sports coupe... Funny how your mind plays tricks on you... he wouldnt say what it was...
Was picturing in my mind something like this

But no, it was a bog stock white 120Y coupe.. horrible with the 4speed in it, but I think the Stanza 5sp fitted up, but he never got round to it..

« Reply #1496 on: February 14, 2019, 03:51:54 PM »
I'M in Dunolly ATM, never seen that 120Y around.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

« Reply #1497 on: February 14, 2019, 04:23:10 PM »
I'M in Dunolly ATM, never seen that 120Y around.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk
apparently this ad is viewable if you have stalkerbook but not if you dont. ??? Awesome stalkerbook logic there.
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/628463124254673/?ref=feed_rhc

« Reply #1498 on: February 14, 2019, 06:28:17 PM »
Many years ago, a guy in the car club I was in had a couple of 120y 2 door sedans.....much better looking the the coupe in my opinion, but he also found out there was a homologated wankel type engined version in the US of A. As his were rally cars, he was extremely disappointed cams wouldn't acknowledge the US homologation. I suspect this was enforced as it was only a year or 2 after the demise of group G rally cars.
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #1499 on: February 14, 2019, 07:24:48 PM »
Never ever knew of them,  For their day they would have been giant killers too...    Quote :  Using peripheral ports, two plugs per rotor and a four-barrel carby its 120hp raised the top speed of the Datsun 1200 to 175km/h or 40 more than the original 1200cc four-cylinder.

http://datsun1200.com/modules/mediawiki/index.php?title=Rotary_engine
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 07:31:41 PM by edz »