Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 504467 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1550 on: March 02, 2019, 03:47:13 AM »
That looks like it could eat lightning and crap thunder.

Lots of cruise nights these days are late afternoon going into the evening.
The Ripley Cruise Night was a ripper if you're on the south side of Brissie.

Nice car puff, really nice.... more fun than sex with ya own sister. (and no horse tripping over itself on the grill)

Now get it out and drive it

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1551 on: March 02, 2019, 11:53:29 AM »
 ;D ;D ;D...Thanks Jeepers.. Long time ago used to go on the twilight cruise out to the Flinders View take away.. (think that's still the same one??..

Those days, used to have a white Cobra with Boss 302. Then a black 82 Camaro IROC with same sort of mechanics as this one..
Then a red Camaro IROC..

I recognised a couple of cars in your pics.. Most of the time, we went to Harry's Diner.. 
Puff

« Reply #1552 on: March 03, 2019, 11:09:22 AM »
They were on the good drugs in the 60's

http://oldconceptcars.com/

example

« Reply #1554 on: March 03, 2019, 11:38:55 AM »
George Jetson would drive that last one.

« Reply #1555 on: March 03, 2019, 12:56:45 PM »

« Reply #1556 on: March 03, 2019, 03:17:25 PM »
« Last Edit: March 03, 2019, 03:19:09 PM by Bird »

« Reply #1557 on: March 03, 2019, 04:41:09 PM »
Just get the silly bitch off the car.

Offline lurchwa

« Reply #1558 on: March 05, 2019, 11:38:42 PM »
This is my 65 Ford XP Hardtop
It a nice weekend cruiser and a bit of fun

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1559 on: March 06, 2019, 03:22:07 AM »
Now that is very very nice.. When I was young and silly always wanted a black one with the palamino upholstery.
Could never afford one then and now they are almost non existent. So much nicer then the XM..
Puff
The following users thanked this post: lurchwa

« Reply #1560 on: March 06, 2019, 04:01:47 AM »
Hey Lurch,

Could I assume that sleek hardtop has got a 347 stroked Windsor in it?

Nice car..... going by your user name, you'd be in W.A.
The plates look like Queensland plates on it?

« Reply #1561 on: March 06, 2019, 08:24:36 AM »
Could be original Victorian Rego too.

« Reply #1562 on: March 06, 2019, 09:04:20 AM »
comes up as current in WA and the wannabe ricer lancer has WA plates...…….and if I'm not mistaken the park is in Freo near little creatures brewery.....
« Last Edit: March 06, 2019, 09:05:56 AM by doc evil »

Offline lurchwa

« Reply #1563 on: March 06, 2019, 03:33:48 PM »
Hey Lurch,

Could I assume that sleek hardtop has got a 347 stroked Windsor in it?

Nice car..... going by your user name, you'd be in W.A.
The plates look like Queensland plates on it?
Assumed correctly mate
The personalised plates are a retro design thats available these days.
They are not exactly what I wanted but will do for the time being

Offline lurchwa

« Reply #1564 on: March 06, 2019, 03:36:38 PM »
Your right mate, the same type of plate was on the car when I bought it from Vic a few years ago.
I just kept it the same with WA rego & plate

Offline lurchwa

« Reply #1565 on: March 06, 2019, 03:42:56 PM »
comes up as current in WA and the wannabe ricer lancer has WA plates...…….and if I'm not mistaken the park is in Freo near little creatures brewery.....
Nah mate, wish it had of been closer to Little Creatures that day as was bloody hot!
Park was opposite South Beach Cafe in Freo

« Reply #1566 on: March 06, 2019, 04:08:45 PM »
My personal favourite of the early girls, is the XK.

The XL, of course, was only a face lift model and the XM looked like it had run under the back of a truck with the pushed down snout.
The XP, had that nice square look as you would know...doh.

The 347 should get it to shuffle along ok.

This is the XK I bought last year. It was only ever going to a fix and flip thing, but geez, it was nice to drive.
It was # 575 off the jig too, so a real early girl.  8)
Only 84,000 on the clock and was still fitted with the early "small ball joints"
It had lived a fairly charmed life I think.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2019, 04:10:39 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline lurchwa

« Reply #1567 on: March 06, 2019, 08:10:31 PM »
Your car looks in great condition for its age and has been/continues to be well looked after, dont see too many around these days in original condition.

Its interesting to compare the XK to the early Falcons in the US if you get a chance
I have owned all the models in the XP range over the years though this is my first 2 door.

The 347 really gets up and boogies but the car doesnt handle great at higher speeds, I think there is still a pucker mark on the drivers seat from the last time I tried it  ;D

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #1568 on: March 14, 2019, 06:14:10 AM »
I've been following this build for well over a year on Instagram. Not quite as slow as Project Binky, but close. Finally the beast has emerged....

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1569 on: March 16, 2019, 12:56:44 PM »

« Reply #1570 on: March 17, 2019, 03:38:16 AM »
Was there ever any doubt.....  :cup:

I would have pulled the plugs and flooded the cylinders with some WD40 for a while before attempting the start if it was me.
Let it sit for a day or two and then spin it over with the plugs out etc.

The car itself is a fairly well optioned Fleetwood too... factory air con, twilight sentinel.... I'd have it.

A white 63 Fleetwood Sixty Special next to a 64 Fleetwood Sixty Special..... yeah baby.

Those Fleetwood's, had so much more in extras in them over the series 62  (base model) and the De Ville's (Kingswood).
Even things like a 3 way internal mirror over the 2 way.... different seat springing, different sound deadening and underlay.
Massive effort by Cadillac, to make sure the person who stumped up the extra money, got some value.

« Reply #1571 on: March 17, 2019, 05:37:50 AM »
Not many folks who could say they pulled a wheelstand on the hub dyno.  :cup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PqG0SxQsUCQ

« Last Edit: March 18, 2019, 08:59:05 AM by Bird »

« Reply #1573 on: March 18, 2019, 10:01:34 AM »
Now this is kewl - they dont make road tests like that anymore "the HJ is a failure" ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaI0BjaFoTI
Road-testing the 1974 Holden HJ Premier | RetroFocus
"power steering is not a good thing - you should stay away from it"

Edit: the torana one
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKu9ID8231w

Road-testing the 1976 Ford Falcon 500 GXL Fairmont | RetroFocus
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SDnJAYeN6c

Road-testing the 1974 Chrysler Valiant 770 Charger | RetroFocus
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6yAozhmp6E

Gemini
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5tGnL5Rllo

VC Commodore LOL
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aeRCKWh26c

One for the panel van fans!
Van clubs in the 70s | RetroFocus
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiEhle5Lifs
« Last Edit: March 18, 2019, 10:44:48 AM by Bird »

Online GeoffA

« Reply #1574 on: March 18, 2019, 05:30:19 PM »

Rob. Original 1965 VIC plates would have been Jxx-xxx.