Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 504493 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1525 on: February 26, 2019, 04:04:57 PM »
Bugger.... would've been a good night too.

Bit of a heads up for the SE/Qld folks.

Drag challenge weekend is coming over the long week-end in May. (4th, 5th and 6th to be exact.)

This is a "tough as nails" challenge with 7 second street cars up to a 12:99 cut off.
Saturday, is at Willowbank, where you run ya best number and hit the road to Warwick.
Sunday, at Warwick, they do it all again over the 1/8 mile.
Monday, (Public Hol) its back to Willowbank and run again.

The trip will involve a distance of around 600klm by a set route, with mandatory photo check points along the way.
You can tow a box trailer with ya spares etc, but you to drive the car the whole distance.
600 odd K's might not seem like much, but these guys are doing it on full race engines.

In Nov last year, an XW falcon was driven 1500klm over 5 days, running a best of 7:36 @ 192mph. Impressive stuff.

I'll be there Sat and Mon..... I would love to be entered in this, but the Fleetwood won't run a 12 second pass.

The wife's Statesman however, with a 150 shot of giggly stuff, would/should run a 12 sec pass.
Footy Shorts Shane, has a Nitrous Oxide kit I can borrow.  8)

Can we see where this headed.....  ;D

Mrs Jeepers, hasn't even remotely seen the funny side of all of this yet and said, ya wanna gas something, gas the Caddy.

So, it looks like i'm just a spectator. 

« Reply #1526 on: February 26, 2019, 04:40:19 PM »
Bugger.... would've been a good night too.

Bit of a heads up for the SE/Qld folks.

Drag challenge weekend is coming over the long week-end in May. (4th, 5th and 6th to be exact.)

This is a "tough as nails" challenge with 7 second street cars up to a 12:99 cut off.
Saturday, is at Willowbank, where you run ya best number and hit the road to Warwick.
Sunday, at Warwick, they do it all again over the 1/8 mile.
Monday, (Public Hol) its back to Willowbank and run again.

The trip will involve a distance of around 600klm by a set route, with mandatory photo check points along the way.
You can tow a box trailer with ya spares etc, but you to drive the car the whole distance.
600 odd K's might not seem like much, but these guys are doing it on full race engines.

In Nov last year, an XW falcon was driven 1500klm over 5 days, running a best of 7:36 @ 192mph. Impressive stuff.

I'll be there Sat and Mon..... I would love to be entered in this, but the Fleetwood won't run a 12 second pass.

The wife's Statesman however, with a 150 shot of giggly stuff, would/should run a 12 sec pass.
Footy Shorts Shane, has a Nitrous Oxide kit I can borrow.  8)

Can we see where this headed.....  ;D

Mrs Jeepers, hasn't even remotely seen the funny side of all of this yet and said, ya wanna gas something, gas the Caddy.

So, it looks like i'm just a spectator. 

Thanks for the heads up..... driving a 7sec car over those distances would be interesting. Probably need a fuel tanker following.

I jumped for joy breaking 15’s all those years ago.

« Reply #1527 on: February 27, 2019, 05:47:05 AM »
Check some of these out weeds.

The commodore wagon at about 3:10 in, drove from Queensland to Victoria towing a box trailer and back again.

"ONLY" runs in the 8's, but a nice wheelstand just the same.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sMNWIyVYUk

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1528 on: February 27, 2019, 01:02:40 PM »
Sorry... I put this post up in the rant thread.. So now it's here..

Just one for Jeepers Creepers..
I know that it's a bit late, but I was trolling through back pages and found where your better half shows that
she is a true connoisseur of the classic motor vehicle..

So for some eye candy for her, I thought that I may post up some photos of some stuff that has come in recently..  :angel:
Not quite an Elanor, it's auto, but other then that has everything else including matching numbers..

And so as you don't feel left out, I added something for you too...  ;D
Puff

« Reply #1529 on: February 27, 2019, 02:18:36 PM »
Sorry Puff, even the Caddy is average..... they gotta be earlier than that.

Those Mustangs, do nothing for me huh.

I can appreciate the effort and money side of it, but they just don't wiggle my woggle.

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1530 on: February 27, 2019, 03:17:13 PM »
Sorry Puff, even the Caddy is average..... they gotta be earlier than that.

Those Mustangs, do nothing for me huh.

I can appreciate the effort and money side of it, but they just don't wiggle my woggle.

Same here.. Actually I'm a Chevy man..
Was just stirring the pot..  ;D
Puff

« Reply #1531 on: February 27, 2019, 03:25:27 PM »
Now, this does wiggle my woggle.....

Because, no-one ever said, it rides like a Lincoln.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2019, 03:37:27 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1532 on: February 27, 2019, 03:36:21 PM »
Some of these 7 second cars, can be a handful when you're running near 200 MPH on leaf springs.

Cars doing things the manufacture never intended. (watch the first clip to the end... wild Shit)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1IEWMRK-zMA

Huston.... we have lift off.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9axf55PareM

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1533 on: February 27, 2019, 07:16:21 PM »
Ok.. I'll do penance for my little stir..

Maybe this will float your boat..

Interesting vehicle.. Came out of the GM factory in Switzerland as RHD for some diplomatic mission..
Still has the Switzerland build plate.

Puff

« Reply #1534 on: February 28, 2019, 02:46:52 AM »
yeah baby, 1958... the first year of the quad head lights...... i'd have it beside my 64 in the shed.

« Reply #1535 on: February 28, 2019, 09:16:49 AM »
Check the windscreen, maybe modded for cameraman/camera???

This Ferrari 308 was discovered full of snow in the middle of nowhere in Colorado, the 308 film car from national lampoon Vacation!!
... at present undergoing restoration in our shop

« Reply #1536 on: February 28, 2019, 12:01:19 PM »
I'd rather have the driver.  >:D

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1537 on: February 28, 2019, 12:56:51 PM »
Check the windscreen, maybe modded for cameraman/camera???

This Ferrari 308 was discovered full of snow in the middle of nowhere in Colorado, the 308 film car from national lampoon Vacation!!
... at present undergoing restoration in our shop

Yes.  A GTB, my favorite car.. And US specs too.. Does it still run given the condition it would have been??

And Jeepers, the caddie was a massive insurance job after an engine fire. Megga dollars (plus monies thrown in by the owner) to get it back to
original. Everything was burnt back to the dash.. All panels off, a full strip and bare metal respray.. Everything in the engine bay was gone.
Engine was heat effected and needed a rebuild. Was a major effort to find original parts, specially things like a new wiring harness, the amplifier
unit for the electric eye, instrument cluster ect.. Made lots of friends in wrecking yards in Arizona and Nevada.. Took about a year to get it back
on the road.. The only things that arn't original is fitting an alternator and electric windscreen wiper motor..

Now sits in a special shed with its brothers.. Will dig up some photos in you want.. 
Puff

« Reply #1538 on: February 28, 2019, 01:02:58 PM »
I'd rather have the driver.  >:D
She'd kill us both before grabbing second....

« Reply #1539 on: February 28, 2019, 01:05:31 PM »
Yes.  A GTB, my favorite car.. And US specs too.. Does it still run given the condition it would have been??

And Jeepers, the caddie was a massive insurance job after an engine fire. Megga dollars (plus monies thrown in by the owner) to get it back to
original. Everything was burnt back to the dash.. All panels off, a full strip and bare metal respray.. Everything in the engine bay was gone.
Engine was heat effected and needed a rebuild. Was a major effort to find original parts, specially things like a new wiring harness, the amplifier
unit for the electric eye, instrument cluster ect.. Made lots of friends in wrecking yards in Arizona and Nevada.. Took about a year to get it back
on the road.. The only things that arn't original is fitting an alternator and electric windscreen wiper motor..

Now sits in a special shed with its brothers.. Will dig up some photos in you want..

Is the 58 yours?

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1540 on: February 28, 2019, 01:26:52 PM »
No mate.. No such luck.. It belongs to a gentleman in Toowoomba.. Along with a couple of others..

It came into a workshop owned by family friends.. I volunteered for the job of getting all things together
as a project as I have contacts in the US and grew up with these sort of cars.

All I got is a 67 Camaro..
Puff

« Reply #1541 on: February 28, 2019, 01:34:21 PM »
Toowoomba is just up the hill from here...... I should take the 64 up day and say g'day one day.

I'm popping the clock out of mine tomorrow so a mate Shane can have a look at it and get it going again.
It'll remained parked for a bit while he does it...... not driving the poor ol thing with a hole in the dash.

« Reply #1542 on: February 28, 2019, 04:47:29 PM »
All I got is a 67 Camaro..

Oh you poor bugger............... ;)

« Reply #1543 on: February 28, 2019, 04:50:09 PM »
I'm popping the clock out of mine tomorrow so a mate Shane can have a look at it and get it going again.
It'll remained parked for a bit while he does it...... not driving the poor ol thing with a hole in the dash.

I thought time stood still in them parts out there......................what use would a working clock be?

« Reply #1544 on: February 28, 2019, 05:09:02 PM »

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1545 on: February 28, 2019, 06:38:14 PM »
I thought time stood still in them parts out there......................what use would a working clock be?

Well he wouldn't want anyone to see a hole in the dash...
Besides it would let some engine noise through and spoil the silence... ;D ;D ;D

And Spada.. One little old Camaro pales in significance to a shed full of 1950's Cadillac's.. Well, money wise anyway..
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 06:43:48 PM by Brisbane Puff »
Puff

« Reply #1546 on: March 01, 2019, 03:47:55 AM »
67 was the last year for the quarter vents in the Camaro's from memory.

Hey Puff, whack up a pic and do you get it out much?

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #1547 on: March 01, 2019, 03:21:13 PM »
Local broker up here is selling an interesting collection from Ravenswood.

http://www.giffco.com.au/listings

Got a couple of Model T's,, couple of El Caminos, mid 50's chevs, 67 Camaro, 68 Charger....and much more.

Bang for buck, my pick would be this one - $20.5k for a 57 Chev. A little rough, but you'd easily get your money back - most are hovering around $100k at present

« Reply #1548 on: March 01, 2019, 05:20:16 PM »
Local broker up here is selling an interesting collection from Ravenswood.

http://www.giffco.com.au/listings

Got a couple of Model T's,, couple of El Caminos, mid 50's chevs, 67 Camaro, 68 Charger....and much more.
wouldnt mind this one
http://www.giffco.com.au/listing/1954-gmc-3800

Offline Brisbane Puff

« Reply #1549 on: March 01, 2019, 06:29:07 PM »
Strange thing about that is that it still has the Chev dash ?? No doubt that it is a GMC, (grill & tail gate & horn button) but I don't remember them having the Chev imprint on the dash..

And for Jeepers, a couple of pics..
RS model with the flared rear guards.
Full house 350 with solids and rollers.. (photo was taken before the wiper motor was changed for a Phoenix big block motor to clear the higher tappet cover)..
B&M turbo 700R4
Detroit locker.
Actually, don't get out much anymore as it scares the wife silly (too low to the ground, too noisy, too hot without air con ??) and getting too old.
1968 was the last with the quarter windows.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2019, 09:17:48 PM by Brisbane Puff »
Puff