Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 504477 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1500 on: February 15, 2019, 03:11:01 PM »
Hey, Jeepers, I was cleaning the top shed today and came across this. Would it be any good to anyone wanting to do a mint resto or would they just get a newie from the US of A?If no one wants it, it's going to landfill.
Free to a good home.

From memory, a 50mm coupling won't fit it.

« Reply #1501 on: February 15, 2019, 04:37:35 PM »
Mate, don't trash it.
Its worth bugger all... sort of, but would very cool on the correct car.  8)
I'll grab it off you and use it something in the future.

Thank you for that.

Bugger ya, I went to Tin Can and back yesterday too....

Please pop it on the shelf and i'll arrange to grab it off you soon/ish.  ;D

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #1502 on: February 15, 2019, 06:23:05 PM »
Popped up on FB.
Not an original, so maybe a bit pricey?

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1503 on: February 17, 2019, 04:31:32 AM »
We took a run over to the Ripley Cruise Night (believe it.... or not) last night.
Never been before, so lots of cars I've never seen and wicked cross section of models, styles etc.
I put a link on here, plenty of piccies to look at.
Click on the first pic and go from there.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2464795183550438&type=3
« Last Edit: February 17, 2019, 05:14:38 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1504 on: February 17, 2019, 11:20:44 AM »

Just when you think there are no more barn finds... We find another barn find.
Today's dusty offerings: A sleepy set of RX3 Savannas.
Whitey is a 12A GT, rusty red boi is a 10A GSII.
The GT is allegedly a one owner.
They're being sold as a pair, and as of today with 5 days left to run on the auction, you'll need 80 large to land them.  (Delusional)

« Reply #1505 on: February 17, 2019, 03:15:35 PM »
How much if you called the barn a shed and washed off the dust?

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1506 on: February 17, 2019, 03:21:11 PM »
How much if you called the barn a shed and washed off the dust?

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
agree.. 80k for the pair restored... more like it

Finding unmolsted (Bankstown jobs) is pretty hard these days

« Reply #1507 on: February 19, 2019, 01:13:18 PM »
Peter wherritt sticking it to the car makers     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaI0BjaFoTI  the side videoettes are a good watch too .

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #1508 on: February 19, 2019, 09:55:29 PM »

Just when you think there are no more barn finds... We find another barn find.
Today's dusty offerings: A sleepy set of RX3 Savannas.
Whitey is a 12A GT, rusty red boi is a 10A GSII.
The GT is allegedly a one owner.
They're being sold as a pair, and as of today with 5 days left to run on the auction, you'll need 80 large to land them.  (Delusional)
Used to have an RX3 running a 308 on LPG that did sub-11's down the quarter...

Picked it up at a clearance sale for $600 - sold out for $15k with the rotary back in it suitable as a daily driver, fully restored...

In no way (to my mind) is an RX3 worth $40k, even as a barn find

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #1509 on: February 19, 2019, 10:02:37 PM »
Used to have an RX3 running a 308 on LPG that did sub-11's down the quarter...

Picked it up at a clearance sale for $600 - sold out for $15k with the rotary back in it suitable as a daily driver, fully restored...

In no way (to my mind) is an RX3 worth $40k, even as a barn find

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
pardon   88k.... reserve not met!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ****in drug money!!!!

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/254122316544

« Reply #1510 on: February 20, 2019, 03:15:06 AM »
Be a cool Caddy to own...... everyone needs to set off tear gas at some time.
Photo won't lift across... ???

Assad, Rafat
[Former Syrian Minister of Defense and
 brother of Rafez El Assad, the President of Syria]

Armored 1987 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham
 currently in the possession of a Cadillac enthusiast and  collector in France

Description of the car by Ronald Kimball, founder of Executive Armoring Corporation:
This is  one of the seven bullet proof Cadillac's, sold in 1987 to Rafat Assad,  brother of Afez, President of Syria.
It has a 110 volt system for electrifying the door handles to electrically shock anyone attempting to enter the vehicle with the intention of kidnapping the passengers. 
A black box with the two red covered switches with a small key [in the trunk] is the box for the tear gas deterrent system.
That system has four tear gas grenades hidden inside the four fenders, two front and two rear, to fire or disperse tear gas at anyone attempting to stop the vehicle and kidnap the occupants.
The buzzer is to warn the occupants that tear gas may enter the vehicle.
The protection level is 4, to protect against the M 16, AR 15, AK-47 high powered rifles and automatic weapons.

This Cadillac was one of an order of twelve vehicles (7 Cadillac's and 5 Chevrolet Blazers) for Rafat Assad, to be distributed among his family members living in France at the time. The vehicles were identical except for the color.

They were all shipped to France, via the port of Marseilles.  The cost of armoring such a vehicle is approximately $65,000 USD.
The engine is the standard engine supplied by the General Motors factory.
The roof, floor, firewall, gas tank and battery were all protected.
The plastic container under the hood, for the Smoke Screen System, has to be filled with anti-freeze (the liquid normally placed in the radiator).
This liquid is then pumped to the copper tubing that is connected to the exhaust manifold, and when the exhaust manifold is hot, and the engine is running, the anti-freeze burns and turns into a thick white smoke that emits from the exhaust pipes in the rear of the vehicle.

« Reply #1511 on: February 20, 2019, 05:59:36 AM »

Assad, Rafat

Description of the car by Ronald Kimball, founder of Executive Armoring Corporation:
This is  one of the seven bullet proof Cadillac's, sold in 1987 to Rafat Assad,  brother of Afez, President of Syria.
It has a 110 volt system for electrifying the door handles to electrically shock anyone attempting to enter the vehicle with the intention of kidnapping the passengers. 
A black box with the two red covered switches with a small key [in the trunk] is the box for the tear gas deterrent system.
That system has four tear gas grenades hidden inside the four fenders, two front and two rear, to fire or disperse tear gas at anyone attempting to stop the vehicle and kidnap the occupants.
The protection level is 4, to protect against the M 16, AR 15, AK-47 high powered rifles and automatic weapons.

This Cadillac was one of an order of twelve vehicles (7 Cadillac's and 5 Chevrolet Blazers) for Rafat Assad, to be distributed among his family members living in France at the time. The vehicles were identical except for the color.

They were all shipped to France, via the port of Marseilles.  The cost of armoring such a vehicle is approximately $65,000 USD.
The plastic container under the hood, for the Smoke Screen System, has to be filled with anti-freeze (the liquid normally placed in the radiator).
This liquid is then pumped to the copper tubing that is connected to the exhaust manifold, and when the exhaust manifold is hot, and the engine is running, the anti-freeze burns and turns into a thick white smoke that emits from the exhaust pipes in the rear of the vehicle.

THUNDERBIRDS ARE GO!!!!! :D

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #1512 on: February 20, 2019, 06:50:03 AM »
Been some nice cars pop up for sale here recently.
The 31 Ford has a mustang v8 in it.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

« Reply #1513 on: February 20, 2019, 07:30:04 AM »

Assad, Rafat

This armored Cadillac was recently [6/2002] acquired by French Cadillac enthusiast and friend, Christophe Barat. He kindly supplied the photos and information for this entry. Christophe has been in contact with the customizer; he got this reply (in summary): This is one of one of seven bullet-proof Cadillacs that were sold in 1987 to Rafat Assad, the brother of the President of Syria.  The 110 volt system is for electrifying the door handles to electrically shock anyone attempting to enter the vehicle. The black box with the two red covered switches with the small key is the tear gas deterrent system. This system has four tear gas grenades hidden inside the four fenders, two front and two rear to fire or disperse tear gas at assailants. The
buzzer is to warn occupants that tear gas may also enter the vehicle. The protection level is "4", to protect against the M 16, AR 15, AK-47 high powered rifles and automatic weapons. We have produced more than 1,000 such armored passenger vehicles since 1977. This Cadillac was one of an order of twelve vehicles (7 Cadillacs and 5 Chevrolet Blazers), all of which were for Rafat Assad and his family members residing in France at the time;  they were all shipped to Marseilles, France, as I remember. Mr. Assad is Syria's exiled ex-Minister of Defense. The cost of armoring such a vehicle was (and still is) approximately $65,000. The engine is the standard engine supplied by the General Motors factory. The roof, floor, firewall, gas tank and battery were all protected. Christophe says the car window glass is 2 inches thick ...yet all windows operate! The small rear vents also are armored with 1-inch thick polycarbonate similar to that used in jet fighters. Doors, radiator, firewall, roof, floor, seat backs, wheel wells and hood all are armored. The central console has switches for a multi-tone police horn, a PA system; there are six more unidentified switches. There is a tank in the trunk that holds oil to create an oil lick in the path of any pursuing vehicles. In the trunk are: a second battery, an oil reservoir to slick up the road in case of pursuit (it is controlled from the driver's seat), a 12V-110V power inverter feeding the outside door handles (there is a 110V power feed there too but it is possible that a piece of equipment is missing). Microphones allow conversations to be heard clearly at a distance of 150 feet. A smoke screen can be created, through the exhaust system. Two alarm sirens controlled from the driver's seat are loud enough to scare away any would-be assailants. Individual hinged openings in each door allow occupants to fire weapons from inside the car. The bumpers are mounted solid with the chassis and would be helpful in ramming the car free if closed in by other vehicles. Two high-powered searchlights are mounted behind the grill; two others are integral with the rear bumper to blind the drivers of any vehicles in pursuit. A receptacle mounted under the trunk, opened up from the driver's position, will release mails in the

« Reply #1514 on: February 20, 2019, 07:48:39 AM »
Few kewl units around lately (click to enlarge)

really like these!

« Last Edit: February 20, 2019, 07:51:53 AM by Bird »

« Reply #1515 on: February 20, 2019, 09:57:54 AM »
Piece on the ABC about Shaggin' wagons:
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-02-01/retro-focus-panel-van-clubs-in-the-1970s/10766540

Video:
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-02-01/van-clubs-in-the-70s-retrofocus/10767746

Had a client that bought a DB5 a few years back for himself as a birthday pressie, was halfa mil from memory, He figured if he decided he didn't want it he could ship it to the UK and sell it there where one sold at a similar time (fully restored) for 1 mil GBP, looks like the current ones I can see for sale are well in excess of 1 mill now so looks like he did well.

Offline bagpuss

• Living the dream
« Reply #1516 on: February 20, 2019, 07:42:08 PM »
Yeah used to race a sports sedan with crossflow head. I can help you with anyth8ng to do with the motors and transmissions , the rest I am vague on. Good luck .

Thanks for the offer of help when im done with the body and starting the motor ill give you a shout
Thanks Mike  :cheers:

« Reply #1517 on: February 21, 2019, 08:03:13 PM »
Never got to go here but it was on my radar, Bugger too late now.
https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/gosford-classic-car-museum-closes-its-doors

And a link with a link within to the clearing auction
https://gosfordclassiccars.com.au/

« Reply #1518 on: February 23, 2019, 12:28:09 PM »
This will be a massive car club night tomorrow night I reckon at Dandenong Drive in..
https://www.lucasfilm.com/productions/american-graffiti/
http://www.lunardrive-in.com.au/movies
American Graffiti - One Night Only! (M)
Drama Comedy 1hr 53 mins Website Trailer

Running on Sunday Feb 24 only as part of our Classic and Rod car show.
All welcome, but please come early!

On the last day of summer vacation in 1962, friends Curt (Richard Dreyfuss), Steve (Ronny Howard), Terry (Charles Martin Smith) and John (Paul Le Mat) cruise the streets of small-town California while a mysterious disc jockey (Wolfman Jack) spins classic rock'n'roll tunes.

It's the last night before their grown-up lives begin, and Steve's high-school sweetheart, a hot-to-trot blonde, a bratty adolescent and a disappearing angel in a Thunderbird provide all the excitement they can handle.

« Last Edit: February 23, 2019, 12:32:05 PM by Bird »

« Reply #1519 on: February 23, 2019, 12:48:12 PM »
Grab a six pack, a camera and a comfy chair and park ya self out side the place.

I was listening to A. G. soundtrack while I've been doing some work (massive service, auto service, re-spray the front bar) on the ol girls Statesman today.

« Reply #1520 on: February 23, 2019, 01:32:23 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Grab a six pack, a camera and a comfy chair and park ya self out side the place.

I was listening to A. G. soundtrack while I've been doing some work (massive service, auto service, re-spray the front bar) on the ol girls Statesman today.
hopin to tag along with a mate in one of his cars :)

« Reply #1521 on: February 24, 2019, 07:17:46 AM »
hopin to tag along with a mate in one of his cars :)

Hey Custard Lips, how'd ya go at scamming a ride along?

Offline Niley

« Reply #1522 on: February 24, 2019, 12:39:31 PM »
Landcruiser Prado & ?????

« Reply #1523 on: February 24, 2019, 01:10:20 PM »
Be interesting to attend

Yes I posted about this 5 posts above including auction links.

Never got to go here but it was on my radar, Bugger too late now.

And a link with a link within to the clearing auction
https://gosfordclassiccars.com.au/

« Reply #1524 on: February 25, 2019, 08:48:13 AM »
Hey Custard Lips, how'd ya go at scamming a ride along?
Na he didnt end up going...