Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 504451 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1375 on: December 21, 2018, 01:27:22 PM »
I tried a couple of the Caddy Club runs.... ???

Went home smelling of mothballs and embalming fluid.

Offline geopaj

« Reply #1376 on: December 22, 2018, 10:57:54 AM »
Interesting yard art / garden bed at an Adelaide business! (Photo taken by me, not a ‘Google image’)

NT Pajero VRX (My build - https://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=47893 )

Sar Major Camper Trailer (My Build - http://www.myswag )

Offline lincolnland

« Reply #1377 on: December 22, 2018, 11:22:06 AM »
What a waste!

« Reply #1378 on: December 22, 2018, 02:39:25 PM »
Settle down, its only a Mustang.  :D

« Reply #1379 on: December 22, 2018, 03:13:45 PM »
Yep and doing what they do best ...........................................   Returning to the earth they come from ..  ;D

Offline geopaj

« Reply #1380 on: December 22, 2018, 07:30:57 PM »
Here’s another one...

3 doors down from my place the property is being redeveloped. I was particularly impressed with the brick layer’s daily driver work ute. I reckon it’s in amazing condition for a work ute still in active service! (I was equally impressed that the elderly driver is still laying bricks - I’ve seen them both on several building sites in Adelaide).

NT Pajero VRX (My build - https://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=47893 )

« Reply #1381 on: December 22, 2018, 07:33:07 PM »
Quote from: geopaj
3 doors down from my place the property is being redeveloped. I was particularly impressed with the brick layer’s daily driver work ute. I reckon it’s in amazing condition for a work ute still in active service! (I was equally impressed that the elderly driver is still laying bricks - I’ve seen them both on several building sites in Adelaide).

Love those old Val utes.... rare as rockinghorse Shit with no rust in em.

« Reply #1382 on: December 22, 2018, 08:01:02 PM »
Here’s another one...

I bet the old fellow still lays a good brick too, probably mixes mud, a barrow full at a time by hand, with no labourer or mixer in sight.
Love the ute, still remember a mate had one as his first car, backed it into a telegraph pole at my place and nearly put a dent in it.

« Reply #1383 on: December 22, 2018, 08:09:39 PM »
There's a few around on some of the old car pages on Farcebook:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/245704698893561/permalink/1539888219475196/?sale_post_id=1539888219475196

These guys are good to follow on Instagram for their finds (Bailey and Hutch IIRC - wife follows them for me...):
https://www.facebook.com/groups/245704698893561/permalink/1536977969766221/?sale_post_id=1536977969766221

« Reply #1384 on: December 23, 2018, 03:40:48 AM »
Here’s another one...

Haven't seen a VE ute in a long time.

Offline lincolnland

« Reply #1385 on: December 23, 2018, 05:53:41 AM »
What were the engines in those? 265 245 v8? Sweet real steel ride

Offline Streetkid

« Reply #1386 on: December 23, 2018, 07:14:21 AM »
What were the engines in those? 265 245 v8? Sweet real steel ride

Still had the slant six in Ve and 273v8
Happy Customline owner

« Reply #1387 on: December 23, 2018, 01:49:59 PM »
Knowing some people like the American stuff:
https://www.youtube.com/embed/hRMAQj0yA44
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #1388 on: December 25, 2018, 05:28:59 AM »
I've never understood the idea of collecting cars to allow them to deteriorate like that.
I've never understood how they can afford to do that either.

Its not like they are living in a mansion.

Cool to see the old Aussie ute in there. Would love to know the story on how it ended up in the USA.

Offline lincolnland

« Reply #1389 on: December 25, 2018, 07:20:36 AM »
Picked this sweet, 1 owner ride a few weeks ago for a mate. 74k. No rust. Sweet
« Last Edit: December 25, 2018, 07:35:58 AM by lincolnland »

« Reply #1390 on: December 25, 2018, 07:55:53 AM »
Wow  a neat survivor that will tidy up nicely, For a Falc that age the interior is in bloody good condition too .

« Last Edit: December 25, 2018, 07:59:42 AM by edz »

Offline geopaj

« Reply #1391 on: December 25, 2018, 08:15:22 AM »
Here’s my old girl...

It is ‘unrestored condition’ - original interior and a respray from the 80’s that had gone chalky but, thankfully, after some love polished up pretty good for old acrylic.

It has a couple of small spots of rust in the rear quarters behind the wheels which is on my ‘one day’ list.

Offline Hookie

« Reply #1392 on: December 25, 2018, 08:19:18 AM »
I've never understood the idea of collecting cars to allow them to deteriorate like that.
I've never understood how they can afford to do that either.

I wonder about the same thing. I see a lot of rural properties, and some of the stuff they have rotting in their yard is nicer than any of my stuff. Tools are another one that gets me, not only hand tools, but power tools sitting outside getting rained on and left to rot. Does my head in.

« Reply #1393 on: December 26, 2018, 05:32:27 AM »
I'm catching up with some wild bunch racers on the 6th Jan. Be a nice trip down memory lane.  8)
Be great to swap stories etc again.
Fun times, the Wild Bunch was nice and laid back, ya got a few bucks for each round you made it through.
It was good, fast, close racing too.
It seems soooo long ago now. Running 7:60 @ 174 mph in the ol Ford, was just a hoot.
Street cars run faster than that now..... makes me feel old and slow.  :'(

https://scontent.fbne6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/12400438_1670585509878599_7775261752960562365_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&_nc_ht=scontent.fbne6-1.fna&oh=10bc43f01f3336a7045787a8a11db207&oe=5C920B4E
« Last Edit: December 26, 2018, 05:38:58 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1394 on: December 27, 2018, 04:22:25 AM »
The owner OK'd a couple of pics.

« Reply #1395 on: December 27, 2018, 07:32:09 AM »
Now that is nice to see, would love to have that  to cruise around in ..

« Reply #1396 on: December 27, 2018, 09:24:33 AM »
Heading home from town in the 1978 HJ45 ute, heading towards me is a 1960/70s Peugeot 404 ute pottering into town... got to be a bit surreal for some of the visitors on the road who aren't used to the various old things that are on the road around here... Also saw one of the other 45/47s that is around town at the dump today as well.

« Reply #1397 on: December 27, 2018, 02:37:18 PM »
seen better days....

Built in 1979, it would've looked Shit hot doing a funeral. Pretty much beyond redemption now.
The tail-light "Infills" on these Caddy's turn to dust in the Aussie heat..... American heat as well actually.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2018, 02:40:52 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline moeite

« Reply #1399 on: January 03, 2019, 11:55:53 AM »
I bet the old fellow still lays a good brick too, probably mixes mud, a barrow full at a time by hand, with no labourer or mixer in sight.
Love the ute, still remember a mate had one as his first car, backed it into a telegraph pole at my place and nearly put a dent in it.

In the Valiant or the pole??
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com