Author Topic: Remote Control Cars  (Read 104597 times)

Re: Remote Control Cars
« Reply #300 on: December 09, 2016, 05:52:37 AM »
My first was a Hornet, that was a long time ago. I have a supershot in the shed and a couple of others. Always on the lookout for a bargain, would like to pick up a Frog next

« Reply #301 on: December 09, 2016, 06:43:57 AM »
Toyworld have got a ready to run Hornet on special for $250 and Hearns Hobbies want around $350 for a ready to run Frog.  Both come with a 7.2v 1800mh battery and 2 hour 240v charger.

The Traxxas Rustler is $350 rtr and has a 8.4v 3000mh batt and 4amp 12v charger, perfect for camping.  The Traxxas looks a bit more robust with a ton of aftermarket parts available, plus its fully waterproof.

The whole retro reliving my youth still does have its appeal though.

« Reply #302 on: December 09, 2016, 08:54:32 PM »
This found its way into the back of my car this arvo.

Its still there too. Haven't figured out how to tell the wife....

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #303 on: December 09, 2016, 09:31:03 PM »

Tell her the tax return paid for it!
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline timmyh80

« Reply #304 on: December 10, 2016, 05:12:28 AM »
Don't know if anyone has seen these, but thought it an appropriate addition to the thread.

http://www.vaultrc.com/product/oztrek-rc-camper-trailer/
Oztrek rc scale camper trailer was designed to mimic  the Australian classic 4×4 camper trailers you see in real life.

« Reply #305 on: December 10, 2016, 07:33:46 AM »

Won it in a raffle?

« Reply #306 on: December 10, 2016, 07:48:44 AM »

I nearly had the same dilemma last weekend,  but with a Harley   ;D

« Reply #307 on: December 10, 2016, 07:52:56 AM »
Wouldn't fit in the boot? Hahaha

« Reply #308 on: December 10, 2016, 07:54:48 AM »

Tell her you lost a bet  >:D

« Reply #309 on: December 10, 2016, 08:40:37 AM »
It was purchased with some cash leftover from the sale of my dirt bike earlier this year. I might have sold the bike for more than what I told her...

She wants a new home stereo. So I might go and get her one as a distraction.

As the old saying goes. It's easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission.

Won it in a raffle?

The search history on the computer over the last week kinda makes it less convincing...
« Last Edit: December 10, 2016, 08:43:38 AM by kylarama »

« Reply #310 on: December 10, 2016, 08:42:10 AM »
It was purchased with some cash leftover from the sale of my dirt bike earlier this year. I might have sold the bike for more than what I told her...

Unless she reads myswag ;D ;D ;D

Offline fergy

« Reply #311 on: December 10, 2016, 09:53:18 AM »
wrap it up with Chrissy paper and put to you from santa on it
sneak it under the tree on Christmas eve
if asked just tell her santa must have brought it
question her Christmas spirit if she keeps asking >:D >:D
1996 Suzuki Sierra    2008 jayco hawk now gone 1978 millard pop top
Iveco daily 4x4
WR450F

« Reply #312 on: December 10, 2016, 10:24:59 AM »
Tell her you lost a bet  >:D

Ouch   >:D

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #313 on: December 10, 2016, 10:36:39 AM »

The search history on the computer over the last week kinda makes it less convincing...

You can delete search history... ;)

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

Offline 2010banditsa

• Cheers- It's 12 O'clock somewhere
« Reply #314 on: December 10, 2016, 11:39:07 AM »
man i wish i hadn't seen this thread again.... oops now it'll come up in my posts
Isuzu MUX
2013 Goldstream 16' poptop with bunk
Van- http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31445

« Reply #315 on: December 10, 2016, 01:09:55 PM »
I wasn't quick enough on the delete Drew...

All good now though. There's 2 big boxes wrapped and under the tree containing a reasonably expensive Sony stereo now. I'm so in the good books when she gets home.

Traxxas is currently on charge, but forgot to get AA batts for the controller.

« Reply #316 on: December 13, 2016, 09:45:41 PM »
So the battery has had about 6 charges since Saturday arvo. Apparently the Rustler is a good bit of gear. So miss 9 and miss 6 tell me! They've had about 85% of the run time...  It has battle scares.

These things have a beginner mode on the esc. You can lock it to 50% max throttle for the kids.  In full mode it goes pretty good, so I'd imagine brushless with Lipo's would be a handful.

Offline 2010banditsa

« Reply #317 on: September 24, 2019, 04:42:59 PM »
digging up an old thread.....

Reckon ill be getting an offroad car for the son. Hobby Habit in Adelaide seemed ok and have been importing their own "Hobby Plus" units. Anyone heard of them or tried them? Still not cheap by any stretch of the imagination.

https://www.hobbyhabit.com.au/HBP-C161011SC-BLS.html?ref_cat_id=Radio-Controlled-Vehicles-Electric-Off-Road-Cars
Isuzu MUX

« Reply #318 on: September 24, 2019, 04:53:53 PM »
digging up an old thread.....

Reckon ill be getting an offroad car for the son. Hobby Habit in Adelaide seemed ok and have been importing their own "Hobby Plus" units. Anyone heard of them or tried them? Still not cheap by any stretch of the imagination.

https://www.hobbyhabit.com.au/HBP-C161011SC-BLS.html?ref_cat_id=Radio-Controlled-Vehicles-Electric-Off-Road-Cars
Four things would be top of mind for me:
1. Is it age appropriate for your son?
2. Can you get spares easily?
3. Is it a brushless motor?
4. Is the battery a standard size / form factor.

You could also go to your local RC car club and talk to some club members.

Hobby King is an online retailer (out of Hong Kong / China I think). They have reasonable gear at reasonable prices.

Offline 2010banditsa

« Reply #319 on: September 24, 2019, 04:59:23 PM »
Hey Rockrat, thanks for responding. to answer your questions...

he's 10, so a bit advanced for him, but I'm willing to hel;p him out with it
Hobby Habit import all the spares, so yes very easy which was one of the attractions
yes mate, brushless, 4wd, and lipo battery
not sure about the .shape, i'll suss that out

cheers for that.
Isuzu MUX

Offline 2010banditsa

« Reply #320 on: December 11, 2019, 12:05:12 PM »
Draggin it up again..... my son really wants a car for Christmas, now thinking of getting the ECX Torment as a starter to learn and see how he goes (hes 8 so not too fast required). Getting decent 12v capable charger and battery as well. Trawled through the previous messages and cant see anything on these units, although plenty of online reviews say theyre ok value for money. Could prob get for 20 or 30 dollars cheaper ordering online, but cant be arsed and want to stitch up for Christmas. Anyone know anything about these Torments?  :cheers:

https://www.modelflight.com.au/ecx-torment-1-18th-4wd-rtr-short-course-truck-grey-orange.html
Isuzu MUX

« Reply #321 on: December 11, 2019, 02:52:47 PM »
If you want a really good car for bashing I have a Arrma Typhon and it is pretty good Ive had it for 4 years now. Its brushless 1/8 4x4 buggy and Bloody fast on 4s. does around 80kmh, I have thrown a 6s battery in it once and it clocked 103km/h. It has copped a flogging with heaps of jumps and crashes and is still going. My Son has a little 1/10 VRX spirt it is also a 4x4 buggy which started out brushes until the ESC Shit itself, I purchased a cheap brushless motor and ESC and it flys too.

good fun to take camping and on the beach

Offline 2010banditsa

« Reply #322 on: December 11, 2019, 03:15:11 PM »
thanks for the suggestions Tug, but i'm looking for something cheaper to get him going and then see if he likes it...
Isuzu MUX

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #323 on: December 11, 2019, 03:34:41 PM »
My son has a $50 car from Target that he loves... But I'm tipping you want something better than that...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #324 on: December 11, 2019, 08:18:57 PM »
Just ask if they can get spares.