Author Topic: Remote Control Cars  (Read 105962 times)

Re: Remote Control Cars
« Reply #275 on: April 05, 2014, 07:17:23 AM »
Thinking of offloading the Stampede as my son prefers his $50 special :-[

Perfect running order, been used a handful of times, only one small bump, additional fast charger, all original boxes etc. Let me know if you're interested.

http://www.rcgarage.com/stampede-2wd-monster-truck-rtr-12-turn-550-modified-motor-xl-5-esc-battery-charger-3605.html

The Stampede is now officially for sale as my son hasn't wanted to play with it for months. It needs to find a new home where it will get lots of use.

Offline DirtyJ

« Reply #276 on: April 16, 2014, 08:24:59 PM »
I went cheap to see if I was going to get hooked. My HSP 1/16th 4x4 is now in the shed with lots of worn bits and broken axles after too many 3m high jumps.
The truck was less than $150 when I got it but had to add lipo batteries. Spent just as much on a decent spectrum radio set which made a massive difference to driving.

Long story cut a bit short... Buy one of the top name brands first up. Anything less and you're just throwing it away.

I would definetly pay the extra for brushless and lipo though. The extra run time and power are worth it.

My 2 cents...

Sent from somewhere I wish I wasn't, using Tapatalk

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
« Reply #277 on: April 21, 2014, 09:14:34 PM »
Would anyone recommend an online shop where they sell the AXIAL SCX10 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 1/10 4WD RC Truck ??
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

Offline RallyDog

« Reply #278 on: April 21, 2014, 09:19:14 PM »
You could try RC Planet thay have free shipping or power slied racing in QLD. Hope this helps.
Dicko

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
« Reply #279 on: April 21, 2014, 09:48:28 PM »
Thanks Dicko
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

Offline MrNoodle

« Reply #280 on: April 21, 2014, 10:02:59 PM »
I got a traxxas nitro rustler in the shed.  I wish I had of bought a battery one.  It just sits there

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: 1302toby

Offline froggy

« Reply #281 on: April 22, 2014, 07:41:38 AM »

Would anyone recommend an online shop where they sell the AXIAL SCX10 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 1/10 4WD RC Truck ??
try tower hobbies in the US. I can give you a discount code that takes care of most of the postage cost. Also depending on what model you get they can split the payment over 3 months if it helps.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0095P?FVSEARCH=axial+%3Cb%3Escx-%3C%2Fb%3E10

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #282 on: April 22, 2014, 03:37:37 PM »

I got mine from Mild to Wild RC mate.

Was about the best price about 8 months ago on vehicle and charger. They are Brissy based
Cheers, Craig

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #283 on: April 22, 2014, 04:27:01 PM »
Does anyone by any chance have any wheel bearings in an
8x4x3 mm ?
I'm struggling to get any down here in Wodonga.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #284 on: April 22, 2014, 04:34:57 PM »

Offline evolution

« Reply #285 on: April 22, 2014, 04:44:51 PM »
Thanks mate, I'll give them a try tomorrow.  ;D

Evo

« Reply #286 on: April 22, 2014, 04:57:28 PM »
Can also recommend these guys

Oz RC Models, Unit 31, 115 Robinson Rd East, Geebung QLD 4034, phone:(07) 3265 4547.

They are also online http://stores.ebay.com.au/OZ-RC-MODELS

Offline evolution

« Reply #287 on: April 22, 2014, 05:13:21 PM »
thanks mate, Its a bit hard as the tracker was missing the wheel bearings. So Im not 100% sure what bearings its supposed to have. The down side is the local hobby shop didn't have any at all grrrrrr.

Evo

Offline Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback

« Reply #288 on: April 26, 2014, 06:01:07 PM »
My wife bought me one of these today http://www.tamiyashop.com.au/shop/tamiya-58449-tamiya-2009-tt01e-tt01-typee-chassis-p-90014195.html

I need to learn a lot about how they all work so I can make it better and faster.

Offline RallyDog

« Reply #289 on: June 09, 2014, 07:35:52 PM »
Slow build took me over 12 months to build a hpi 5sc kit 1/5scale.

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #290 on: June 09, 2014, 09:37:13 PM »
Very appropriate with the running of the the Finke Desert Race just being run.

Looks awesome.

« Reply #291 on: February 02, 2015, 07:07:55 AM »
« Last Edit: February 02, 2015, 07:11:55 AM by D4D »

« Reply #292 on: June 20, 2015, 12:05:41 PM »
Bugger, purchased a cheaper unit from Jaycar for Xmas for the young fella and it failed twice. Got my money back yesterday so big thumbs up to Hallam Jaycar. Went up the road to the hobby shop and upgraded to a brush less unit which has now been charged and get a run today. http://www.hallamhobbies.com.au/index.php?ID=8&DID=8121&PID=235

Of course puchased extra batteries and bits today from hobby king and looking at converting my Revo 3.3 to electric, the noisy engine is not allowed at too many parks any more.

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #293 on: June 20, 2015, 12:12:20 PM »
I went brushless years ago, can't beat it.
2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

Offline markg66

• yippee ki yay MF
    • Murrumba Pistol Club Inc
« Reply #294 on: June 20, 2015, 01:35:36 PM »
I'm still on fuel, can't beat topping up the fuel tank and going for it again, not to mention the lovely smell of Methanol and nitro-methane in the morning................
Jayco 2000 Eagle Outback.
If it isn't 50% off it aint a discount.

« Reply #295 on: July 05, 2015, 11:26:03 AM »
I'm considering buying a small Scalextric set. Can't decide between 1/64 or 1/32.

1/64 - track looks more interesting

1/32 - bigger cars

« Reply #296 on: September 23, 2016, 05:10:05 PM »

« Reply #297 on: December 08, 2016, 08:57:16 PM »
Since I was a kid in the 80's I wanted a Tamiya Hornet.  Well my neighbor came home with one last weekend for his boys (yeah right), inspiring me to get my own.

Visited a hobby shop today with the view of getting The Frog, cause I couldn't be a copycat.  As cool as they are and the whole retro thing, reality is its 32 year old technology.

Hopefully come Saturday I'll have a Traxxas Rustler.

No LiPo batteries or brushless motors, but good cheap fun and plenty of scope for future hop ups.

« Reply #298 on: December 08, 2016, 10:19:59 PM »
I got my 9 year old a hornet for his birthday. It was on sale at Toyworld for about $275. I like the fact I can fix 32 year old technology lol. He had heaps of fun with it.......the body is fairly cactus but everything else has held up pretty well.  :cheers:

« Reply #299 on: December 08, 2016, 11:16:57 PM »
Go to garage sales,You can get lucky...  got three Tamiya Hornets and radio's for $20, They had been pretty well trashed but built one decent one out of the three  and had spares ..
When the daughter got tired of it after a year or so,  we gave them away to a neighbours kid .