Author Topic: 40 years ago today....  (Read 3900 times)

40 years ago today....
« on: July 27, 2019, 08:59:59 AM »
A fantastic  rock album was released....AC/DC released Highway to Hell  8) 8)
https://tonedeaf.thebrag.com/acdc-40th-anniversary-highway-to-hell/
Hoping to see them again in the future if that ever occurs https://www.triplem.com.au/story/brian-johnson-confirms-hes-back-in-acdc-for-a-new-record-126451 , best part is my daughter's both love listening to Acca Dacca also, so I'd definitely take them to see a real rock band in action if that chance occurs.
Reckon I might crank thier tunes today just to mark the occasion 8) 8)
http://
« Last Edit: July 27, 2019, 09:02:44 AM by Rumpig »

Re: 40 years ago today....
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2019, 09:15:37 AM »
Great album from a great band...

New tour looking more and more likely, along with the new record...

https://musicfeeds.com.au/news/ac-dc-could-be-about-to-confirm-new-album-and-world-tour-with-brian-johnson/

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2019, 09:24:21 AM »
We really are that old

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2019, 09:41:37 AM »

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2019, 09:55:17 AM »
Still the most played music while travelling, aswell chilling on the front veranda of an arvo having a couple of coldies.
'Cheers'

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2019, 10:16:35 AM »
Quick family pic to mark the occasion...lol
The following users thanked this post: plusnq, archer63

« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2019, 12:23:25 PM »
Two good looking girls :cup:, but the scruffy bloke spoils things a bit >:D

« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2019, 01:15:07 PM »
Two good looking girls :cup:, but the scruffy bloke spoils things a bit >:D
yeah they are great kids, but no modelling career for me...lol
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

Offline KeithB

« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2019, 06:49:35 PM »
Rumpig, all I can say is that their mother must be good looking.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2019, 08:05:45 PM »
Rumpig, all I can say is that their mother must be good looking.
Keith
I see what you're saying Keith, I can read between the lines...lol

« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2019, 10:03:52 PM »
We really are that old

That old? I can remember when Led Zeppelin II was released when I was 15. Although Acca Dacca is a great band and great music, nothing compared to Led Zed, for me, when I was a kid. Having said that, I think I have all AC/DC's albums on CD. And two of their boxed sets. And assorted badges and paraphenalia LOL

These 2:
« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 10:11:04 PM by Troopy_03 »
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2019, 08:43:06 AM »
I remember my oldest brother getting Dirty Deeds for chrismas. It got flogged for a week on the old radiogram.
RIP Bon, AC/DC died with you. One of the greatest front men in history.

« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2019, 09:30:35 AM »
Used to watch ACDC in the Sundowner Hotel in Geelong in the mid 70's, $1.00 supper ticket to get in.

Saw Led Zep at Beaty Park Aquatic centre in 1971, opened with the Immigrant Song and then played the contents of Led Zep 4, No no one
had heard stairway to heaven before.
Finished with Whole Lotto Love.
Loudest concert I have ever been to.
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2019, 11:00:34 AM »
Definitely some great bands back then and over the years.  Real people making real music.  Then the stuff they call hits today, just plastic moulds of someone design.  Just doesn't cut it. 

« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2019, 02:18:56 PM »
I dunno, there are some great bands around these days, they just don't get much airplay on the radio.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2019, 04:15:03 PM »
I dunno, there are some great bands around these days, they just don't get much airplay on the radio.

There would have to be, or at least you hope there would be.  My comment was referring to the plastic ones that do get air time and called 'hits' 

« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2019, 09:36:55 AM »
There would have to be, or at least you hope there would be.  My comment was referring to the plastic ones that do get air time and called 'hits'

But that's more of a case of what you grew up listening to. Kids these days will be saying the same thing in 40 years time. And geez I remember some of the crap they used to play on the radio, day in and day out, back when our classic rock bands were struggling to get airplay.

« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2019, 12:31:30 PM »
Quote from: alnjan
Definitely some great bands back then and over the years.  Real people making real music.  Then the stuff they call hits today, just plastic moulds of someone design.  Just doesn't cut it.
agree.. and add to that how much it costs to see a "band" and have  few drinks these days its mad.....

« Reply #18 on: August 13, 2019, 12:51:21 PM »
That old? I can remember when Led Zeppelin II was released when I was 15. Although Acca Dacca is a great band and great music, nothing compared to Led Zed, for me, when I was a kid. Having said that, I think I have all AC/DC's albums on CD. And two of their boxed sets. And assorted badges and paraphenalia LOL

These 2:

Found a pic I posted on another forum, discussing AC/DC music collections.

« Reply #19 on: August 13, 2019, 01:36:13 PM »
unfortunately, i can only add a screenshot of my collection ;D don't have the physical media any more...

wish i still had them... envious of other people's collections... especially vinyl...

converted all to FLAC before selling... spent quite a long time accumulating bootlegs, unofficial recordings, etc...

« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 01:44:43 PM by paceman »
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #20 on: August 14, 2019, 08:04:47 AM »
unfortunately, i can only add a screenshot of my collection ;D don't have the physical media any more...

wish i still had them... envious of other people's collections... especially vinyl...

converted all to FLAC before selling... spent quite a long time accumulating bootlegs, unofficial recordings, etc...

That's quite a collection there mate. And I have all my stuff in FLAC too. Well the CD versions.

« Reply #21 on: August 14, 2019, 08:13:52 AM »
That's quite a collection there mate. And I have all my stuff in FLAC too. Well the CD versions.

thanks... took a long time to build up over the years...

some of the bootleg recordings from old tv shows, radio appearances, etc... give a great feel as to what they were like in the early days...