Author Topic: About time I said hello!  (Read 4679 times)

Offline OTBC

About time I said hello!
« on: January 08, 2011, 09:37:41 AM »
Apparently I have spent 13 hours on the site and now I feel bad for not introducing myself. Pleased to meet you!

My wife and I are tent users looking for a trailer so we can lose the half day packing chore which limits how often we go out. I'm not sure right now if I am looking for a decent trailer to store stuff in, and continue to use our tent (I love our Black Wolf Turbo!) or if I will stretch the budget and go for a camper trailer. I'm getting tempted...

We live in Brissie and love camping with our two dogs. As we get more kit and experience we are getting further and further away from civilisation, we are friendly people but prefer peace and quiet when away. We run our own business so time is precious, we hope to get away for a few long weekends this year and maybe a longer trip in the winter.

So far my wife likes the Vacationer, I like the Trackabout, but am looking forward to seeing the Modcon and Customline next week. I want to buy from a local manufacturer, like the idea of a hard floor but not sure the budget will stretch that far.

Re: About time I said hello!
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2011, 09:40:09 AM »
Welcome to myswag, hope you enjoy your stay. I think the idea to buy local is a good one. Both my campers have been from local companies.

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2011, 09:44:05 AM »
G'day OTBC,, great to hear from you. If you have either a CT or a tent based setup the packing is pretty much the same. Still got to pack the food/beer/clothes. The camper for the most part means you don't have to pack seperate sleeping gear like stretchers and matresses and keeps the vehicle less loaded or with more room to pack more stuff ;D. :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2011, 09:44:28 AM »
Welcome to the show, hope you enjoy your time with the rest of us friendly campers  :cheers:

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2011, 09:46:54 AM »
Hi guys and welcome to the asylum have fun shopping for a ct but it doesnt matter which way you go as long as your out and about :cheers:

Offline V8ute

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2011, 10:00:48 AM »
Welcome OTBC,
    It is good to see people supporting there local manufacturers. :cup:
I too had a blackwolf turbo tent, it was the best tent, but we moved to a camper for the hook on and go convenience. Like you, being self employed time is precious and this move to a trailer sure has made it easy! :cheers:
Have fun shopping.
 :cheers:V8ute.
08 Cruiser ute, 10 Outback Eagle.
Loaded ready to roll

Offline Tezza1974

• Hilux SR5 D4D & Lifestlye Podium CT
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2011, 02:29:24 PM »
Good luck in your search...I ams sure you will get what suits you...maybe pay the boys at Lifestyle Campers a visit....We are happy with ours...just an extra option for you to look at

Looking for that perfect place somewhere between Peace & Quiet

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2011, 02:31:44 PM »
GGGG'Day   :cheers:

« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2011, 03:47:18 PM »
Welcome Aboard  Take a seat & enjoy the ride  ;D   :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2011, 04:02:44 PM »

If you think your Blackwolf is great, and they are, wait until you've tried a camper. The tent will sell fast, so you won't have wasted your money  ;D

« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2011, 04:49:14 PM »
Hi OTCB

Welcome to the forum, take your time looking for a CT maybe even hire a few different styles to see what suits you.

« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2011, 04:53:09 PM »
Welcome.. Johnnos do a good camper as well up your way.. We love ours

Offline Fivid

« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2011, 06:43:28 PM »
Hi and Welcome.  We found the camper trailer a great asset to encourage more camping.  We keep it packed and ready to go with a few clothes and the basics food wise with a few long lasting things if we decide at short notice to head out for  weekend we just need beer, meat and a few other things in the fridge, hook up the camper and we are gone.

We still go travelling to places where we don't/can't take the camper so still have a tent and also a swag which we use for one nighters but the camper trailer certainly makes life easier and we do a lot more camping since we have had it, even if it is just a 10 min drive down the river!

Dave and Fiona
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2011, 07:30:31 PM »
Thats it in a nutshell .Pack up Treg up Make dust . Dont be a keybord camper get out there  :cheers:

Offline OTBC

« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2011, 07:38:35 PM »
Thanks for the warm welcome guys - is this the friendliest place on the internet?

We have Lifestyle and Johnnos on the list, as are Cub, hope to get around them next week. There are loads of local manufacturers here and lots with great reputations. I'm not that mechanically minded so reading all your reports have been really helpful.

Offline ferret

« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2011, 07:50:15 PM »
Welcome OTBC  :cheers: I reckon doing the research and making the decision which CT to buy is half the fun and all the folks here are full of it (good advice that is  ;D ) The down side of getting a CT is waiting for it to be built :'( TICK............TOCK..............TICK...............TOCK.............
So hop onboard and enjoy the ride 8)
2007 HILUX D4D DUAL CAB
2011 KK PLATINUM

tinkera

« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2011, 09:30:00 PM »
Welcome OTBC I found the CT the best therapy for the self employed.The wife and I go away go away come back refreshed.So jump in you won,t regret it enjoy the forum.TINKERA.

« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2011, 01:46:42 AM »
Welcome to MySwag!

Best of luck choosing your new camper!