General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Campfire on March 29, 2012, 08:44:27 AM

Title: Anybody into SCUBA Diving
Post by: Campfire on March 29, 2012, 08:44:27 AM

Any swaggers in the group hard core bubbleheads ( SCUBA Divers)  I sometimes take my camper trailer to locations not necessary for the surface views ( mountains, beaches etc), but more so for the undersea locations.

I like to frequent South West Rocks and dive fish rock cave ( cave diving the island) and other locations.

I have been planning for a while now to do a weekend down south coast near Jervis Bay and hook up with a local dive charter to scuba dive with seals  ( when in season).

I've done a bit of wreck diving both here in Aussie and overseas, and this resulted in me taking up amatuer underwater photography. I say only half of my photos on any trip are what I consider OK the rest are deleted, I'm no expert at it and still see myself as a learner even after doing for the last 2.5 years.

I've dived with sharks a few times and do enjoy close up encounters with grey nurse sharks in the
protected marine areas.

Where ever possible ( coastal camping locations) , I try to take my scuba diving equipment with me.

While it is great to see rainforests , mountains, beaches etc, taking my dive gears also allows me to see the beauty and diversity of the underwater environment also.

For those interested , a simple open water cause through PADI, NAUI, SSI can cost around $300 - $400. This will allow you to go as deep as 18 meters. Advanced courses after that can take you to 30 or 40 meters deep. For the adventurous, there are tech Rec courses out there which can take you beyond 40 metres.

I have my own gear , but many people I know simply hire it through a local dive store.

Campfire

Title: Re: Anybody into SCUBA Diving
Post by: Eagle Outback on March 29, 2012, 08:49:24 AM
Mate I'm not game to, as we have a boat, and have had to many visits from large great whites over the year's, so i stay above the water
Post by: Manjimike on March 29, 2012, 08:55:15 AM
I used to have my Naui advanced and used to spend a lot of time on the wrecks in Darwin Harbour. Lady Musgrave Island was also a favourite when in the area  ;D ;D
Post by: Renno on March 29, 2012, 09:23:24 AM
I try to get out a couple of times a week, when I was in Sydney 4 a week was very common and easy to do, Every Thursday night then beer and pizza and a few on the weekend. Since moving up north the lack of shore diving has reduced the amount of times I get out however the diving is sensational. Heaps of Leopard Sharks up here at the moment and Manta Rays have been a regular visitor for the last few months, the GNS are starting to come in and once the water cools a bit more they will be everywhere.

We used to come up and camp at  Clarkes Beach  (http://www.clarkesbeach.com.au/our_parks/clarkes_beach_holiday_park/) and dive with  Sundive  (http://www.sundive.com.au/). I still go with Sundive who are a great bunch and occasionally  Blue Bay Divers  (http://[url=http://www.bluebaydivers.com.au/) who are a new operator and get out to some of the deeper spots like Windarra Banks.

Let me know if you get this far north, A good trip would be SWR, Wooli then here....

Here's one from last week. The water has cleared up a lot this week so hopefully I can get a cracker on Saturday.
Renno :cheers:

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 29, 2012, 09:28:01 AM
I am a dive master, have done most of my diving in Melbourne all year round. Of late I have not been in the water due to may factors but I must get back into the deep soon, I miss the freedom when under the water.

I have had some great dives and many when training others to learn the skill, when in Fiji I did a shark dive with two tiger sharks which was a real buzz and I will post up some pics when I get the chance. Should start packing the gear when we go away but a lot of the time the camper is pretty full.

Post by: Campfire on March 29, 2012, 09:48:00 AM
Reno,

Very impressive underwater photos, it's obvious you have had a bit of practice at this, alot better than the crap I'm turning out, sometimes I get lucky but on average on 40% - 50% of my photos turn out.

Seem to loose alot of red even though I'm using a red filter lense, I've learnt to angle the flash away from divers I'm taking pics of so it doesn't shine back to much.

The shots you have are so clear and defined, not faded or dark. I presume the shots of the leopard shark and manta ray was in very clear water with good vis.

What depth were you at, I'm presuming around 10-15 meters looking at the light and colour. Correct me if I am wrong.

Do you do much wreck diving?

Excellent shots , thanks for posting them

Campfire :cup:

Post by: Campfire on March 29, 2012, 09:59:49 AM

On a similar topic, how imPressive is James Camerons deep sea visit to the Marinana Trench in his submersible . I can't wait to see the underwater cinematography from that trip.

Lately I've also been that docuementary on the Great Barrier Reef which is currently showing on TV.

Campfire
Post by: Renno on March 29, 2012, 10:13:00 AM
I'm still learning myself, only had the camera for about 2 months. I hope to learn a bit from  Ross's Course (http://www.sundive.com.au/dive-byron-bay/photo-courses/p/28) which I am doing in a couple of weeks. I still don't have a shot good enough to blow up and stick on the wall. Most of the Shots are in the shallower side of Julian Rocks from the Nursery to the Needles. About 10-15 deep. So far I haven't had a dive where its been clear and good vis, has with been raining and good vis (very dark) or sunny and poor vis or big current.
I used to do a bit of wreck diving in Sydney. Still a member of St George Scuba Club  (http://www.stgeorgescubaclub.org.au/news.php). They do a deep wreck dive once a month, I pulled my twin set apart since being up here and use it as a spare set for visitors. Occasionally get up to dive the Brisbane. 
This one was from SWR 2 weeks ago, the vis was poor, about 2m and it was rough. I only took 2 pics and spent a bit of time looking for teeth on the bottom for my young bloke. I canned the second day it was that bad.

Took my young bloke out for his fist open water dive (shallow) last month and he saw a turtle. Pretty Excited...

Post by: Campfire on March 29, 2012, 10:40:32 AM
South West Rocks is a great place to dive, I set my Camper Trailer up at the Eco Park Resort, and usually go see one of the local dive charter shops. My las dive there I found 3 x Grey Nurse Teeth in the shark gutters. Local dive operator showed us where to look, it was fun diving fish rock cave, plenty to see.

Always enjoy going back there. Nasty thing though the holiday park where I stay( Eco Park Resort) has a cafe which does ( wait for it) a " Deep Fried Mars Bar with Icecream"  I was game to try it but the wife gave me the typical " forbidden fruit speech "  and once she  got off the female soapbox about how unhealthy it was she ended up helping me finish it off with a bit of persuasion .

They also do it with snickers bars also.

Campfire
Post by: LC on March 29, 2012, 10:51:47 AM
We have been into the diving for about 15 years, I have done about 600 dives during that period, my wife a few less, although we have slowed down a bit since our son was born, but he is now getting to the age where he can do have a go in shallow waters so hopefully we will get back into it as the young fella gets a bit older. In the past we have dived on the President Coolidge in Vanuatu, Gizo in the Solomons, Walindi in PNG, the Maldives, Bay of Islands in NZ and reasonable number of places up and down the east coast. Had a dive on the ex-HMAS Adelaide in January. It will be good to go back to it each year and watch it grow as an artificial reef.

Living at Nelson Bay has meant we have some very good shore dives in the past, but unfortunately the council has done something (or stopped doing something) that has caused the currents to change and one part of the marine park is now getting covered in sand and the dive site is just about wrecked. Fortunately the dives off the coast are still worth the effort. A couple of pics that I have taken over the years with my Sea & Sea camera (eventually I will do something about getting a digital camera that I can take diving).

(http://i579.photobucket.com/albums/ss231/lcandlp/Wal-PNG-6.jpg)

(http://i579.photobucket.com/albums/ss231/lcandlp/Wal-PNG-10-2.jpg)

(http://i579.photobucket.com/albums/ss231/lcandlp/Mulloway001.jpg)
Post by: KieranR on March 29, 2012, 10:36:45 PM
Yep, I'm a scuba diver, love it, cant get enough of it.  I just enjoy being under there checking out seeing whats going on, Did some diving at coral Bay at xmas, not real deep stuff, but amazing fish life and coral formations, oh and a couple of the big toothy buggers around aswell.

I also enjoy my spear fishing (free diving), which is a bit exciting when trying to fend of sharks that are after your recently speared bluebone and coral trout..

Kieran
Post by: Teabag on March 29, 2012, 11:07:54 PM
Yes, been around SCUBA diving my whole life. My old man was heavily into it and was a BSAC leader diver in the early 70's as there was no NAUI, FAUI, PADI or SSA then. I haven't done much in recent years as I was spoil as a young fella and got a little bored with it. Rarely get wet nowadays. Have dive all the wrecks in Darwin Harbour, all the wrecks off Honiara (Soloman Islands including Munda, Gizo and Upi and PT109.) Have dived Fiji, Vanuatu and the President Coolidge (touched the Lady), much of PNG, Rabaul, Madang, Tonga, Western Samoa, Marshall Islands, Guam, Micronesia. I must admit I do now find reef diving pretty boring(crazy I know) but mostly enjoy wreck diving. Living in the Soloman Islands in the late 70's early 80's was awesome, going diving every weekend with the old man as I would snorkel. I was also into spearing but gave that up after a couple of very scary situations........I'm only Advanced qualified but have countless deep dives under my belt. Deepest was 58mtr multi level dive on Benegi 2 in the Solomans. It's a shore dive and I really wanted to hit the stern which the old man an I did, with an interesting story along the way. Best dive was night dive on Benegi 1, again in the Solomans. I was nearly going to Indonesia this month with the old man to dive HMAS Perth that sunk in Sunda Strait with the USS Houston. This year was the 70th Anniversary of the sinking. My Grandfather was a sailor on it when it sunk ( survived to be POW on the Burma Railway) and its a demon my old man want to clear. Plans fell through but still on the drawing board..........
Post by: Crazy Dog on March 29, 2012, 11:15:16 PM
That's a fantastic record Paul. :D . Wish I could have done the same but failed at 7 ft in the Singapore chamber when in pussers :-[.. Oh well --- maybe in the next life. The Perth dive would be amazing after the history and tragedy of the sinking.

Hope you get to do it one day.

Grrr!!! :D
Post by: fridayman on March 30, 2012, 05:50:20 AM
I've done my rescue divers, but never found the time to finish my dive master. Maybe some day... Dived a few spots in Oz when we were over a couple of years ago. Enjoyed the dive at South West Rocks. Also done some diving in South Africa, Jamaica and Red Sea in Egypt. Still haven't seen Mantas though :(

Would love to take my dive gear with on our big trip next year, but will have to see about space..
Post by: Bird on March 30, 2012, 10:07:37 AM
Was when I fitted into a wetty..

Did most of NSW coast, and then to Solomons, Honiara for a wreck dive, Upei Island, some awesome drift diving and sharks etc
Most were done with Dave http://www.davidireland.com/index1.htm (http://www.davidireland.com/index1.htm)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 30, 2012, 10:53:07 AM
Was when I fitted into a wetty..

Lost, you have nothing on a bloke I was instructing on an open water course a few years ago. From memory he had 28kg in his weight belt, while doing a remove and replace on it he dropped it to the bottom, what a bugger of a thing to bring back up and put back on

Post by: Campfire on March 30, 2012, 11:23:43 AM
Recently in the last 12-18 months, a British aircraft carrier sunk near Shri Lanka has just been opened up to recreational divers , prior to that I would say less than 50 people in the world would have dived it. Only problem is the wreck is sitting in water around 50 metres deep.

I think it's called HMS Hermes  (correct me if I'm wrong).

Campfire
Post by: BrindiCruiser on March 30, 2012, 12:20:56 PM
Wow there are some pretty hard core divers here.

I did a bit with my dad when I was 13, and then picked it up again when I was at Uni. Lady Musgrave, North West Island, varius random dives on the reef and in Moreton Bay. My last dive was at South West Rocks about 5 years ago.

I was all keen to dive on the Yongala last year, but got Deep Vein Thrombosis just before the flight there, and did not like the idea of doing a relatively deep dive with a clot in my system.

Will try and do a dive or two at Xmas from Kingscliff, in Nth NSW.
Post by: gowalkabout on March 30, 2012, 12:50:17 PM
Yeah another divemaster here  ;D most of my diving has been here in Tassie chasing crays and abalone, although i have done a dive in Singapore and a few dives in NSW.
Post by: Campfire on March 30, 2012, 12:55:49 PM
The amount of money I have pumped into diving over the last 14 - 15 years, I could have easily bought a new camper trailer.

No regrets though..... :cheers:
Post by: Bird on March 30, 2012, 12:59:54 PM
Lost, you have nothing on a bloke I was instructing on an open water course a few years ago. From memory he had 28kg in his weight belt, while doing a remove and replace on it he dropped it to the bottom, what a bugger of a thing to bring back up and put back on

Yea, I cant get my rooted leg into the wetsuit more than my blubber.
Same thing, I was helping on a few course, and had a few huge chicks there...
28kg of weight? fawk...
Post by: BigJules on March 30, 2012, 06:29:01 PM
I was a mad keen diver, have about 650 logged dives, the majority of which would be around Sydney or Nelson Bay.

I've dived PNG, Fiji and Hawaii, and possibly elsewhere but have forgotten.

I was always a keen spearo as a kid, and though diving would be snorkeling without having to hold your breath. I always struggled with the price of the course, but when my local dive shop went bankrupt the owner started doing courses for cash at my uni, $110. He was a good instructed but a pretty ordinary human.

I then joined the Hawkesbury Scuba club, became president, got my Dive Master quals and lived for diving. All my friends were into it, and we'd HO several times a week. I even told my first wife she had to learn how to dive if she wanted me to marry her. She hated me going away every weekend and having so much fun. She got her ticket too.

I bought a 4.2m Zodiac and got great use out of it. After I bought a bloody great expensive house my diving took a back seat, then a child, divorce, work, marriage, another child have all taken their toll.

For about two years I've been having war trouble which has prevented me from going, despite some almost irresistible invitations.

I think my favourite spot is Nelson Bay, so it's sad to hear it is currently not so flash.

Went to 68m on a wall dive in PNG, simply amazing. It was so light and bright, and I'll admit diving in Sydney became less appealing after that. 25m and grey, yeah....

Post by: Campfire on March 30, 2012, 07:01:51 PM
Nelson Bay is a great dive, I've always been keen on Broughton Island. I'm the only one in my family that dives, wife isn't too crash on it. Kids are OK with snorkeling but diving hasn't really been a big ticket item with them.

I guess like some, once family, career, online/ part time post graduate studies, home renovations  etc became more of a dominant focus, diving in some aspects took a little bit of back seat, I still dive but not as much as I use to. With what little free time I have now, it's usually around family focused activities.

I have taken a keen interest in apnea diving and spearfishing which is easy to do and simple ( no bells and whistles required).  Once or twice a month I might take my kayak out a few hundred metres offshore , drop anchor and jump in with a speargun to chase some table fish, other times I might just drop in a line and relax.

Deepest I've ever been on a wreck dive is 52 metres ( overseas dive trip).

I would love to do Truk, haven't been there yet but hope to one day.  Would also like to scuba dive Cocos Keeling islands / Christmas Island locations.

Campfire
Post by: Renno on March 31, 2012, 11:54:09 AM
I know this is not a photograph thread. Just showing you guys whats around up here at the moment... and to entice you back in the water.
Took these this morning at Julian Rocks, Byron

Post by: Renno on March 31, 2012, 11:57:48 AM
Few more from this morning.
Renno
Post by: jtctlc on March 31, 2012, 07:44:48 PM
Another keen diver.  I've managed to work my way through to instructor and so far have done about 900 dives.  As mentioned above before marriage, children and houses I used to dive heaps including working as a DM on the local dive shops boats.

I don't have renno's great images but diving today in Jervis Bay was great with 15m+ of visibility and water temp was about 18 deg.  Funny though must have been a day for grey nurse sharks as there was a small 3 - 4 ft one at the docks this morning.  For those familiar with JB and the docks it was out the front of Double Decker Cave.

jtc
Post by: Campfire on March 31, 2012, 07:48:46 PM
Anybody ever tried those new shark skins which are a new alternatives to traditional wetsuits, just curious if they are any good. They do thin but have been told they have very thermal properties.

Campfire
Post by: BigJules on April 01, 2012, 09:29:37 AM
I've always hated wetsuits, can't stand to get too hot. I'd rather be cold than risk getting overheated. 3mm shortie was my favourite, though I have a collection including a semidry.

I had a couple of wetsuits ruined, they seemed to be melting. I couldn't work out what was causing this random degradation of the material until one day I noticed that the high mount stop light in my company Falcon seemed to be loose. Damn globe has been dangling on the top of my dive tub and melting my wetsuits whenever I aplied the brakes.
Post by: Campfire on April 01, 2012, 10:22:37 AM
I did an overseas wreck dive in a brand new Mares Tropical Wetsuit 3m
, by the end of the dive holiday they looked like a set of old overalls from a workshop, ended up with a lot of grease on them from an old WW2 wreck/ tanker.

Wetsuit was more for protection from sharp metal and wreck damage than for thermal protection.

I now use that wetsuit  for spearfishing around rocks etc, and save my new 3mm wettie for tropical diving and open water spearfishing.

Campfire
Post by: BigJules on April 01, 2012, 10:43:07 AM
Anywhere north of Nelson Bay and I wear shorts. Swam into a large growth of fire coral whilst free diving on the wreck of a Cessna in PNG once  :-[.

I have thought that a lycra shirt would be a good idea, to protect against stingers. I've got the body for it too ;)
Post by: Campfire on April 01, 2012, 10:56:49 AM

I have thought that a lycra shirt would be a good idea, to protect against stingers. I've got the body for it too ;)

I have a mate who is into Lycra, we  often joke about his colour being hot pink, as he belongs to the leg & chest shaving, latte siping, tour de France wanna be, road bike racing crowd ( he takes it very serious).

He would make a very bright and streamlined diver though.

Campfire  :cheers:
Post by: Teabag on April 01, 2012, 02:50:13 PM
I wear a 1mm Adrenalin suit. Takes the chill off and good protection......Plus no need for heaps of weight.....
Post by: speewa158 on April 01, 2012, 03:01:25 PM
l feel the need , the need for nitrigen  . PADI (Pay Another Dollar In ) Dive Master ,Underwater Photo nut , logged about 1000+ dives since 1984 when it all began . When l 1st got Scuba pox it would be treated by diving all weekend & 1 or 2 night dives a week .
Last dive l did was in the Shark Tank at the Melb aquariam . Great fun . Now it all seems to hard but lots of fun  ;D   :cheers:
Post by: Campfire on April 01, 2012, 03:33:44 PM
I might of been out of the sport years ago if it wasn't for the amount of money I pumped into it.

In hind sight I should have just done Open Water and Advanced, owned my own wetsuit, snorkel, mask, fins, weight belt which I can use for snorkeling anyway, and maybe just hired the tanks, regs & BCD.

I have all my own gear so I stayed with it to get my money's worth out of it, and even know it doesn't take long for gear to become obsolete.

Personally I can see value in the Advanced and Rescue Divers, but unless I was working in the industry, I wouldn't have done any more courses after that ( just my own personal opinion).

I enjoy the simplicity of free diving with or without a speargun. Sometimes I just enjoy putting on my free diving fins, mask, snorkel  and head out with nothing more than an underwater camera.

I do like the idea of trying to develop oneself in apnea diving, diving deeper and longer within a safety margin. Always best to go with a safety number for shallow water blackout etc.

Campfire

Post by: gowalkabout on April 01, 2012, 06:01:04 PM
I wear a 1mm Adrenalin suit. Takes the chill off and good protection......Plus no need for heaps of weight.....

ROFLMAO I wouldn't want to try that down here. I wear a 5/7mm cressie semi dry.  ;D
Post by: Teabag on April 01, 2012, 06:47:17 PM

ROFLMAO I wouldn't want to try that down here. I wear a 5/7mm cressie semi dry.  ;D

Don't do cold water diving.....iIf I have to wear anymore than a 3mm wetsuit, I don't get in the water.....spoilt I know......
Post by: deepop on April 05, 2012, 08:24:06 AM
Yep, another one here.

Did a lot of dives over a number of years - Solomons, Vanuatu, even did one in the Corinth Gulf, Greece.   Lots of Melbourne diving, some in SA and QLD.

Not so much over the last few years - kids, house, marriage...............you know how it goes.

Will be happy to get back into it when time permits.
Post by: DeBe on April 05, 2012, 01:55:39 PM
Started diving late 60s using a 4Cft clisby compressor driven with a MK10 Villiers engine, air hose was reinforced garden hose with 100Psi. Diving on wrecks & crayfish gathering. Diving was self taught. Now days use a Power Dive 12V 4Cft compressor just for Cray fish. N70ZZ batery gives 2Hrs of diving.
Post by: Renno on April 06, 2012, 04:22:17 PM
Here's an unedited compressed video I took yesterday at Byron. Vis was really bad and a lot of surge.Still a great dive.
Was by myself which I think made spending an hour with these amazing creatures so much better.
 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_Ohmilmtjc&feature=youtu.be#)

Post by: Campfire on April 06, 2012, 04:28:58 PM
Nice video footage Renno, visibility looks OK, video footage is nice and reasonably clear, colour good,
Are you using a red filter lense with that.

Nice Manta Ray close ups.

Diving is great stuff hey  :cup:

Campfire
Post by: speewa158 on April 06, 2012, 08:59:35 PM

Diving is great stuff hey  :cup:

Campfire
[/quote]
Get High Go Down ;D
Post by: Campfire on April 06, 2012, 09:19:33 PM
I find it interesting for years you are taught and told to always dive with a buddy and never dive alone, yet PADI now teaches a Solo Divers Course.

While I have dived Solo on the odd occasion, it's not something I prefer to do as a regular practice and would say 95% of my dives have always been with a dive buddy.

The few Solo dives I have done were shore based shallow dives around 10-15 metres.

My last dive course was a Nitrox one, and found it was great for diving with, I noticed I wasn't as fatigued as you would normally get after finishing a dive.

Campfire
Post by: kochy on April 06, 2012, 10:57:34 PM
My wife and I owned a Dive Shop in Gladstone for some years in the eighties. Was a PADI Instructor and commercial diver then Charter Boat Skipper for some years working from Gladstone to Thursday Island. Most famous wreck I dived was the Pandora that sank after hitting the Great Barrier reef bring back the mutineers of the Bounty. Also I have dived the Quetta which is QLD worst ever sea disaster for loss of life it sank almost at the tip of Cape York, the ships bell and artifacts and a lot of the bodies are on Thursday Island.
Post by: Campfire on April 07, 2012, 10:53:56 AM
Kochy,

I was in Gladstone for work towards the end of last year, it was my first visit to the region. I couldn't get over how many people own boats in that area. I also find out they have more boats per head of population then anywhere else in Australia.

I remember a few places I went fishing after work had croc warning signs ( near power station), whats the diving like off shore ( not too many toothy enhanced friends I hope) .

While my trip there was brief and I may have not seen all areas of Gladstone, I didn't see too much in the way of advertising or shop fronts for diving.

What's the diving like up that way?

Campfire
Post by: Victim on April 09, 2012, 02:17:11 PM
I am a keen and avid diver with a whole one (1) dive under my belt  ;D

So we just returned home from spending a week in Port Douglas, whilst there we went out to the reef on the Quicksilver tour.. We did a dive with the instructors and it was the most amazing, sensational, blow your mind experience ever!!

Definatley keen to do it again and hopefully solo one day!!!
Post by: Campfire on April 09, 2012, 02:48:33 PM
I am a keen and avid diver with a whole one (1) dive under my belt  ;D

So we just returned home from spending a week in Port Douglas, whilst there we went out to the reef on the Quicksilver tour.. We did a dive with the instructors and it was the most amazing, sensational, blow your mind experience ever!!

Definatley keen to do it again and hopefully solo one day!!!

Victim,

That first step into the magical underwater world is a mind blowing experience and leaves you bitten by the diving bug.  I enjoy dives which have good visibility, weather  & sealife.  Some of my best dives have been around 10-15 metres, not deeper ones.

Sometimes I come across the odd new diver with ego who buy all the high tech gear and has an obsession to dive as deep as possible like it's for bragging rites or something, they sit on the bottom for a few minutes playing with their computers, and dive gadgets and then find they have to return to the surface due to deco times and air supply. On more than one occasion I've seen one of these guys remind everyone in the dive group know how deep they went like it was some kind of competition.

As a beginner if you are out diving in a group you should only dive what your comfortable doing, don't go with subtle peer pressure if a few what to do something a little more challenging than what your use to. Good dives can be found in the shallows just as much as the deeper more challenging ones.

A safe dive is the best dive of all.

Campfire
Post by: MrHorsepower on April 09, 2012, 03:01:04 PM
Never dived with tanks, just snorkel and mainly hookah (uncle was an Abalone diver) but havent been diving for years (fear of sharks has set in) because I have only ever dived on Yorke Peninsula it is a very real fear as I know they are out there (have seen BIG white pointers from boats while fishing) I do miss it and the Crayfish though....Michael..
Post by: scubalou on April 16, 2012, 01:00:13 AM
Another keen diver here.

Learnt to dive in UK - British Sub Aqua Club Advanced Instructor, PADI instructor too. Done over 1000 dives. Used to own a live aboard dive boat from Port Douglas. Dived all over the place - red sea, med, Florida, Thailand, Indonesia, Vanuatu ...

Try to get to the reef as often as I can. Even met my husband Grant (ulti) at Ryde Underwater club in Sydney.

Lou
Post by: Finners on April 16, 2012, 11:27:54 AM
Gawd - there's endless campfire diving stories out among Swaggers. Gr8 pics 'n' stories. Glad to hear there's such depth of experience (and continued interest).

Likewise, am also a PADI DM. Stopped logging dives decades ago (been scuba diving for 30+ years - learned at age 13). Will one day scan my slides (Nikonos V and 15mm wide angle + Aqua Sea twin stobes) and share digitally. Locations/dives too numerous, but highlights would be Osprey Reef (Coral Sea) 86.4m on air - young and stupid - nearly passed out from oxygen toxicity - felt like the Ed Harris scene from The Abyss as he plummets down that endless wall. President Coolidge on honeymoon. Countless NSW wrecks, though Yongala will always be best Aussie wreck, IMHO. Freediving with a humpback off Coffs Harbour - back in the days before distance restrictions. Oh - and Pimpernel Rock off Wooli/Brooms Head - surely the most perfect underwater formation in NSW.

Looking fwd to getting my two boys into it. Even specified a boat rack and outboard bracket on the CT so I can take a RIB to SW Rocks, Jervis Bay etc, and introduce the boys to Fish Rock cave, The Docks, Cathedral Cave, and in years to come... Stoney Creek (lushest temperate water growth in NSW).

I can feel a MySwag camp/dive/spearo trip coming on. Jervis Bay, Seal Rocks or SW Rocks would be good location starters for those in NSW.
Post by: Renno on April 16, 2012, 05:04:29 PM

Looking fwd to getting my two boys into it. Even specified a boat rack and outboard bracket on the CT so I can take a RIB to SW Rocks, Jervis Bay etc, and introduce the boys to Fish Rock cave, The Docks, Cathedral Cave, and in years to come... Stoney Creek (lushest temperate water growth in NSW).

I can feel a MySwag camp/dive/spearo trip coming on. Jervis Bay, Seal Rocks or SW Rocks would be good location starters for those in NSW.
How old are the boys, I've started Ryan in the pool and a couple of shallow shore dives. Next time you come past Byron give us a yell. Pretty good. Here is a couple from the weekend.

Post by: Campfire on April 16, 2012, 06:38:34 PM
Gawd - there's endless campfire diving stories out among Swaggers. Gr8 pics 'n' stories. Glad to hear there's such depth of experience (and continued interest).

Likewise, am also a PADI DM. Stopped logging dives decades ago (been scuba diving for 30+ years - learned at age 13). Will one day scan my slides (Nikonos V and 15mm wide angle + Aqua Sea twin stobes) and share digitally. Locations/dives too numerous, but highlights would be Osprey Reef (Coral Sea) 86.4m on air - young and stupid - nearly passed out from oxygen toxicity - felt like the Ed Harris scene from The Abyss as he plummets down that endless wall. President Coolidge on honeymoon. Countless NSW wrecks, though Yongala will always be best Aussie wreck, IMHO. Freediving with a humpback off Coffs Harbour - back in the days before distance restrictions. Oh - and Pimpernel Rock off Wooli/Brooms Head - surely the most perfect underwater formation in NSW.

G Day Finners,

Endless dive stories looks pretty good in my book. Just reading your thread response you certainly have a few notches on the diving belt. To go 86 metres on air as a beginner very impressive, I thought I doing good as kid doing 27 metres on a dive before I even did a course.

Great to see so many bubble heads on the my swag forum.

Maybe you might be onto something there with a swaggers trip away for scuba divers/ spearos. I've dived south coast before and think it would be a pretty good location, plenty of holiday parks down that way. I suppose if you were keen on the idea you would need to run it by the group moderators and find out via a forum trip thread for expressions of interest. If something like that was arranged I would be happy to tag along with dive gear or spear guns, but you would need to put it to the group (good idea though).

Campfire

Post by: DeBe on April 16, 2012, 07:18:39 PM
Never dived with tanks, just snorkel and mainly hookah (uncle was an Abalone diver) but havent been diving for years (fear of sharks has set in) because I have only ever dived on Yorke Peninsula it is a very real fear as I know they are out there (have seen BIG white pointers from boats while fishing) I do miss it and the Crayfish though....Michael..   Dive around SYP all my life as well as Wedje & Nth Neptunes, but dont dive any more without aShark Shield, been to many White pointers around in the last few years.
Post by: PeterO on April 16, 2012, 07:41:56 PM
Here is another mad keen diver... ;D Diving mostly wrecks, last was the Aaron Ward in Solomons (February this year) I go frequently to Truk Lagoon, this year it is going to be no 6 for me. Needless to say, love the place. The most exotic were probably Bikini Atoll and Cocos Island (Costa Rica). But I love going to SWR and Wooli and consider Stan Young who owns the Wooli Dive Shop to be a friend. Solitary Islands is probably in the top 5 locations in the country, at least for me. Did a lot of wreck dives on Sydney's Long Reef, but unlike BigJules I get cold all the time, so these days I prefer to go north  :D

A camper trailer dive trip one day sounds good to me  ;D

Peter
Post by: Campfire on April 16, 2012, 08:05:29 PM
Here is a photo I had taken around 40-50 metres deep on a troop ship, this photo shows the deck gun.

(http://i1172.photobucket.com/albums/r575/campfire12/PICT0029.jpg)

Campfire
Post by: Diksta on April 16, 2012, 08:17:24 PM
bugger you lot, i love it haven't been for about 10yrs due to a lung illness i suffered about 10yrs ago, like has already been said the sense of freedom is amazing.
favorite dive spot was at the red sea in Aquaba Jordon, was a advanced diver, deepest was 40m at vanuatu.

pick was taken with a disposable camera in the whitsundays about 15yrs ago.

love the pics guys keep them coming.

cheers Diksta
Post by: MrHorsepower on April 16, 2012, 09:20:14 PM
Dive around SYP all my life as well as Wedje & Nth Neptunes, but dont dive any more without aShark Shield, been to many White pointers around in the last few years.

How do you feel about the Shark Sheild DeBe, I mean do you have proof it does what its supposed to ? I talked to the Semaphore Water Cops about it when there for work and they said they have NEVER seen a shark while diving...Cheers ..Michael..
Post by: Finners on April 18, 2012, 12:28:40 PM
How old are the boys, I've started Ryan in the pool and a couple of shallow shore dives. Next time you come past Byron give us a yell. Pretty good.

Great Julian Rocks pics Renno. Only dived Byron a couple of times and look fwd to getting back. My sister lives b/ween Byron and Lismore, good camping on her property, so no excuses not to.

Boys are only 7 and 5, and just introduced them to snorkelling this last summer. Hopefully this winter will get to Heron or similar and start them off with SWMBO's type of diving - tropical! How old is Ryan?

Mantas are the best aren't they. I've seen them as far south as Jervis Bay (no-one on the boat believed me!), and often around Pimpernel Rock during deco and of course the manta bommies in the southern capricorn group. Their gentle intelligence, fearlessness of humans and sometimes playfullness makes any dive with them special.

Seals are another favourite - the colony on Montague Island - endless fun. Release a tennis ball at sea floor, and it never gets to the surface!

I think the camping at Seal Rocks - down toward Treachery - would be my prefered camp/dive/snorkel-spear option. Combines almost-bush camping with one of the least commercialised parts of the coast.

Always nurses at Little Seal. Edith breaker a great multi-chamber reef dive. And amongst the best wreck diving. And the Satara (40m) is a favourite wreck of mine. I'm too old now to do the Catterhun (58m) - as good as it is - I get narked off my scone unless on mixed gasses. And penultimate time I dived it, heliox on bottom and nitrox on deco - nice long bottom time - was sublime. But next time on air - I got bent! Fat'n'forty syndrome. Just a shoulder bend - a few soaks in PoW's hyperbaric unit fixed me. But SWMBO has banned me from diving beyond 50m  ;(

Very envious of those who've done Truk Lagoon! On the Must Do list.

- Finners
Post by: Campfire on April 18, 2012, 01:14:56 PM
Finners,

Seal Rocks / Treachery Point would be an ideal location for camping/ diving/ spearing/ fishing trip. Place has good opportunities for underwater photography, and it's also a nice little hideaway for camping.

I like staying up that way as it's not too far from where I live. Grey Nurse sharks are always good value when diving.

If by any chance your testing the waters ( pardon the pun) for expressions of interest with a diving / snorkeling or evening spearing trip away in campers up treachery /seal rocks areas, then you can count me.

I've yet to dive with seals and surprised after 15 years in scuba I haven't done it already. I did look at some weekend dive package trips with a Sydney Dive Shop who advertises online when the seal diving experience is happening ( seasonal thing).

Never heard of the tennis ball trick, but will remember that one when I get the chance to dive with seals.

I'm thinking of dragging my scuba gear out and going for a dive at Nelson Bay this weekend if the weather is half decent.

Campfire
Post by: Renno on April 18, 2012, 01:41:40 PM
Great Julian Rocks pics Renno. Only dived Byron a couple of times and look fwd to getting back. My sister lives b/ween Byron and Lismore, good camping on her property, so no excuses not to.

Boys are only 7 and 5, and just introduced them to snorkelling this last summer. Hopefully this winter will get to Heron or similar and start them off with SWMBO's type of diving - tropical! How old is Ryan?

Mantas are the best aren't they. I've seen them as far south as Jervis Bay (no-one on the boat believed me!), and often around Pimpernel Rock during deco and of course the manta bommies in the southern capricorn group. Their gentle intelligence, fearlessness of humans and sometimes playfullness makes any dive with them special.

Seals are another favourite - the colony on Montague Island - endless fun. Release a tennis ball at sea floor, and it never gets to the surface!

I think the camping at Seal Rocks - down toward Treachery - would be my prefered camp/dive/snorkel-spear option. Combines almost-bush camping with one of the least commercialised parts of the coast.

Always nurses at Little Seal. Edith breaker a great multi-chamber reef dive. And amongst the best wreck diving. And the Satara (40m) is a favourite wreck of mine. I'm too old now to do the Catterhun (58m) - as good as it is - I get narked off my scone unless on mixed gasses. And penultimate time I dived it, heliox on bottom and nitrox on deco - nice long bottom time - was sublime. But next time on air - I got bent! Fat'n'forty syndrome. Just a shoulder bend - a few soaks in PoW's hyperbaric unit fixed me. But SWMBO has banned me from diving beyond 50m  ;(

- Finners

Next time your up this way make sure you let me know and I'll take you out. Ryan will be 8 In October. I pay him to vacuum the pool with his scuba tank. Trying to make it become second nature. All good fun. Teach him basic drills. Bought him a harness that made a lot of difference. Not using the wing at the moment as he is way to young to understand buoyancy. Maybe in a couple of years. 
I'm still trying to get down to pebbly Beach.  :'(

Post by: PeterO on April 18, 2012, 04:12:48 PM

- Finners

Don't talk about being too old please, I'm running well ahead of you ;D Did 67m dive on Aaron Ward this February on air (twins) plus 50mix for a deco. You have plenty of time young man and plenty of deep dives if you so desire. Year before last a young Dutch guy got bent on a dive with us in Truk Lagoon - did everything right, cleared his computer and still got it. This is not an exact science and there is always a risk, isn't it...

Truk is my favourite destination, couldn't recommend it higher to anybody who is into wreck diving.
Peter
Post by: Campfire on April 18, 2012, 04:21:22 PM
Any of you guys have any really good dive photos of Truk, I wouldn't mind seeing them if you have them.

Truk is also on my wish list as I haven't been there yet and have heard so much about it.

Campfire
Post by: PeterO on April 18, 2012, 05:02:11 PM
Only have few from my first trip in 2005. Haven't been taking camera with me since, too much gear to cart around :-)
Post by: DeBe on April 18, 2012, 08:32:06 PM
How do you feel about the Shark Sheild DeBe, I mean do you have proof it does what its supposed to ? I talked to the Semaphore Water Cops about it when there for work and they said they have NEVER seen a shark while diving...Cheers ..Michael.. They may not have seen a shark, but most pople who have survived an atack didnt see the shark beforehand. Ive worked around seals & White pointers fix on a target & go full on for the target. What eventualy convinced me about the Shark shield was a Prawn trawler was geting lots of net damage from sharks. He fitted a divers shark shield to the net & atacks stoped. At south Neptunes watched a large White pointer try & get a large Seal. The seal was lucky to see the pointer first & was able to turn sharper than the shark when it took a run for it. This went on for several runs & the seal actualy got ashore very exhausted. I just find diving with a Shark Shield just a lot more enjoyable.
Post by: MrHorsepower on April 18, 2012, 09:44:47 PM
They may not have seen a shark, but most pople who have survived an atack didnt see the shark beforehand. Ive worked around seals & White pointers fix on a target & go full on for the target. What eventualy convinced me about the Shark shield was a Prawn trawler was geting lots of net damage from sharks. He fitted a divers shark shield to the net & atacks stoped. At south Neptunes watched a large White pointer try & get a large Seal. The seal was lucky to see the pointer first & was able to turn sharper than the shark when it took a run for it. This went on for several runs & the seal actualy got ashore very exhausted. I just find diving with a Shark Shield just a lot more enjoyable.

Sorry DeBe might have confused the situation The Semaphore Water Cops ALL use Shark Sheild and thus have NEVER seen a shark while diving, I think it will be the only way I will dive again especially after a story in the paper today Kayak Attacked By 6metre White Pointer in INNES Nat Park (I have dived near there as you probably have as well)..Cheers ..Michael..
Post by: LC on April 29, 2012, 01:53:11 PM
Have just got back from a couple of dives this morning around broughton island off the coast port stephens / hawks nest. Water is a balmy 22° and the vis is easily 20 metres with the water being that nice deep blue colour. On our second dive, which we did on the northern side of North Rock, there were heaps of Grey Nurse sharks with one mighty big male shark in amongst them.

Got trashed by the southerly front on the way home, probably took us 20 mins longer than it normally would have, but well the effort. Shame my dive buddy has to go to work during the week!!!
Post by: Bird on December 12, 2014, 12:31:43 PM
(http://nolaridge.com/sites/all/files/XL1784.jpg)

So I need to trying to get son away from electronics - this may require surgery and several months at a gaming rehab place (http://www.rehabs.com/about/video-game-addiction-rehabs/) but I wouldn't mind getting wet again either..

Anyone got any basic gear they are lookin to sell :D to suit skinny arsed tall 15yr old??  Stuff you've out grown

Mask/Snorkel/Fins round size 10
Post by: below sea level on December 12, 2014, 01:06:31 PM
Instructor here, so you could say I'm into it.  ;D

I try to get out to some local sites every couple of weeks. Hoping to get the CT down to South West Rocks sometime in the next few months.
Post by: Bird on December 12, 2014, 01:25:01 PM
just figured out one of my old bosses runs a dive shop in Port Douglas... LOL..
Post by: WilSurf on December 12, 2014, 01:29:49 PM
I have always said that I wanted to learn scuba diving, but it never comes to it.
Too busy, not even time to go camping.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 12, 2014, 03:48:32 PM
I am after a second kit as well Bird, keep your eye out in case there could be a group buy. Not too worried on the BCD size, more after the regs and cylinder if possible.

Post by: Bird on December 12, 2014, 03:56:47 PM
I am after a second kit as well Bird, keep your eye out in case there could be a group buy. Not too worried on the BCD size, more after the regs and cylinder if possible.

This joint seems cheap in Berwick
http://www.rcboatingandleisure.com.au/ (http://www.rcboatingandleisure.com.au/)

Might check the quality out on the weekend..
Post by: Bird on December 12, 2014, 04:00:59 PM
I have always said that I wanted to learn scuba diving, but it never comes to it.
Too busy, not even time to go camping.
Do it, you'll love it....

I gotta find my old dive card.. did the online search on NAUI site and name doesn't come up, but then again the bloke we learnt from was a shonk.. Knew his Shit backwards, but .... when it came to $$$$ run and hidfe.
Post by: aussie9 on December 12, 2014, 04:12:12 PM
I would love to the course, but it involves swimming for 200 metres and I can't swim despite having a pool and my wife being a swimming teacher and coach
She reckons my bones are made of lead as even when I hold my breath, I sink straight to the bottom
I've had to make do with snorkelling

Post by: speewa158 on December 12, 2014, 08:29:11 PM
Geeeez its not an Olympic sport , its SCUBA . Self Contained Breathing Apparatus. l achieved PADI Dive Master  . After 22 years & 10000 logged dives  , decided  l was over getting wet .                 :cheers:
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 12, 2014, 08:36:58 PM

Geeeez its not an Olympic sport , its SCUBA . Self Contained Breathing Apparatus. l achieved PADI Dive Master  . After 22 years & 10000 logged dives  , decided  l was over getting wet .                 :cheers:
sooooooooo, you don't go diving much these days?
Post by: speewa158 on December 12, 2014, 08:39:59 PM
BeenThereDoneThat  & got the Tshirts to prove it  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 12, 2014, 08:46:03 PM
Quote from: speewa158
l achieved PADI Dive Master  . After 22 years & 10000 logged dives  , decided  l was over getting wet .                 :cheers:
so your still accredited??? Kewl - Cheap MySwag Dive Course - I'll sign cammo up for one, and I'll do a refresher.. although I was NAUI....
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 12, 2014, 08:49:05 PM
so your still accredited??? Kewl - Cheap MySwag Dive Course - I'll sign cammo up for one, and I'll do a refresher.. although I was NAUI....

I will help out as well, DM with PADI, Speewa can be the boss though

Post by: Bird on December 12, 2014, 09:43:29 PM
I will help out as well, DM with PADI, Speewa can be the boss though

yea never got to DM... :( mate of mine did and spent 10 years travelling the world to all the resorts as an instructor.. lucky prick....
Post by: GanG on December 12, 2014, 11:35:37 PM
Was PADI advanced and started my DM course..........probably 300 dives logged, haven't dived for years, don't really miss it, too much other stuff in my life these days.
Post by: GeoffA on December 13, 2014, 05:06:48 AM

...on the outside... :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on December 13, 2014, 05:41:15 AM
Well said Geoff l am still involved with " Bubbles " & compressed air    ???    Though  the thought of slipping in to a rubber suit in a public place like a car park NoNo NO ,,,,Lets not go there  >:D            :cheers:
Post by: gowalkabout on December 13, 2014, 06:53:02 AM
Anyone on here a diver anywhere around the Byron bay to Gold Coast areas? We are driving up next weekend for a few weeks and wouldn't mind doing a warm water dive some where. I am a dive master but haven't dived for 12 months now. Will have my mask, snorkel and fins with me but will need to hire the rest. Any points in the right direction would be great
Post by: Renno on December 13, 2014, 08:58:59 AM
 Sundive  (http://www.sundive.com.au/) out of Byron is the go, quick trip out to julian rock dive then come back, other wise there is one out of Bruns that stay out for 2 dives, depends on what direction you coming from. Conditions haven't been that good lately with the storms, blown out this weekend. 
Otherwise  Kirra Dive  (http://www.kirradive.com/)out of tweed, they do Cook Island a lot and its usually a pretty good dive, the tweed river is a good shore dive to it you want to hire some gear and get your weights sorted first cheaper than a boat dive.
If conditions turn more favourable try and get at least 1 dive out to Julian, fantastic.
Post by: gowalkabout on December 13, 2014, 09:15:03 AM
Sundive  (http://www.sundive.com.au/) out of Byron is the go, quick trip out to julian rock dive then come back, other wise there is one out of Bruns that stay out for 2 dives, depends on what direction you coming from. Conditions haven't been that good lately with the storms, blown out this weekend. 
Otherwise  Kirra Dive  (http://www.kirradive.com/)out of tweed, they do Cook Island a lot and its usually a pretty good dive, the tweed river is a good shore dive to it you want to hire some gear and get your weights sorted first cheaper than a boat dive.
If conditions turn more favourable try and get at least 1 dive out to Julian, fantastic.

Yeah I was thinking more shore dives just to save a few $$ but might need to checkout the boat dives and as I'm so use to diving in a 7mm semi dry might be better to sort my weights out on a shore dive first lol if I can find room I might even take all my gear so will just need tank fills if I take a tank
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 13, 2014, 11:40:20 AM
Dropped the cylinder in today to get back in service, time to get wet again

Post by: Bird on December 13, 2014, 01:13:22 PM
Dropped the cylinder in today to get back in service, time to get wet again

found my old dive log book today while cleaning out the cupboard..... lots of dives from solomons missing :( I was going to copy them out of my buddys book, but that was 1993... :(
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2014, 10:30:44 AM
Just requesting a replacement NAUI card, shows I did my course 26/10/1993! Wow, it has been a while...

Might need to do a refresher course on the facts and figures.
Post by: WilSurf on December 16, 2014, 10:51:57 AM
What is all this NAUI, PADI?
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2014, 11:01:14 AM
Quote from: WilSurf
What is all this NAUI, PADI?
Different associations

Edit: but its all about the instructor not the association he is from..

What is the difference between a PADI, SSI, and NAUI certification course?
If there is a $64 question in diving this is it. PADI, NAUI, and SSI are all organizations that train and certify dive certification courses. Each intends to devise dive courses and training methods that produce safe scuba divers, with minimal risk to the students and instructors.

A certification card from a dive course by any of these three organizations will entitle you to take a dive vacation, or to fill a tank at a dive shop.

PADI is the biggest of the three; around half of the divers certified in the world take a PADI course. In Cairns three of the four Dive Schools offer PADI course, while the fourth offers both PADI and SSI courses. NAUI is primarily based in the USA.

How do I learn more about these associations?
PADI http://www.padi.com/ (http://www.padi.com/)
SSI Australia http://www.ssiaust.com/ (http://www.ssiaust.com/)
NAUI http://www.naui.com/ (http://www.naui.com/)
Top of Page
Post by: edz on December 16, 2014, 11:15:40 AM
Anyone on here a diver anywhere around the Byron bay to Gold Coast areas?
I'm just waiting on a mate to get back to me, He and his son have dived these GC / byron areas for years though mainly from boats.
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2014, 11:16:58 AM
This place was my best diving..
http://www.uepi.com/ (http://www.uepi.com/)

was that good I didn't want to leave :(

Always wanted to do Truk Lagoon
http://www.lovethesepics.com/2011/06/wreck-diving-the-mysterious-ghost-fleet-of-truk-lagoon-33-pics/ (http://www.lovethesepics.com/2011/06/wreck-diving-the-mysterious-ghost-fleet-of-truk-lagoon-33-pics/)
Post by: gowalkabout on December 16, 2014, 04:05:08 PM

I'm just waiting on a mate to get back to me, He and his son have dived these GC / byron areas for years though mainly from boats.

:cup:  :cheers:
Post by: loanrangie on December 17, 2014, 12:29:12 PM
I've got a PADI advanced open water ticket but havent dived in years, last dive was in fresh water in at Cape Maclear Lake Malawi.
 Would love to get some gear if the $$$ allow.
Post by: Bird on December 17, 2014, 12:32:01 PM
dropped into the dive shop in frankston yesterday to ask some questions

$150 gets you an introduction dive inc gear hire and a basic instruction session
$80 for gear hire for people with their dive card.
+$500 for your dive ticket

most I've found so far are 450 up for your ticket.

tried on my BCD the other day - NEARLY fits... but wouldn't with a wetty on.. keep going with the diet :)
Post by: koshari on December 17, 2014, 08:07:58 PM
Got 2 sets of gear and 5 out of test bottles. Bottle tests being only valid for 24 month is paramount to theft. Most of my recent dives have been off a hookah. Nicest local diving spot is around the Kent group. Abroad my all time favourite place is the Red Sea.

Attached is diving on a wrecked coal steamer called the Bulli in Murray pass between the deal group.
Post by: Bird on December 17, 2014, 09:08:31 PM
DAMN!
Just found one of my old dive buddys on Linked in
http://www.smh.com.au/small-business/entrepreneur/making-40-million-with-just-14-staff-20120202-1qu6t.html (http://www.smh.com.au/small-business/entrepreneur/making-40-million-with-just-14-staff-20120202-1qu6t.html)

:'( Kill me...
Post by: Bird on December 19, 2014, 10:33:15 PM
Got 2 sets of gear and 5 out of test bottles. Bottle tests being only valid for 24 month is paramount to theft.
how much you being charged for a bottle test?

these prices normal?
https://www.scubadoctor.com.au/cylinder-testing.htm (https://www.scubadoctor.com.au/cylinder-testing.htm)
Post by: loanrangie on December 20, 2014, 09:40:45 AM
Red Sea is awesome, went to Dahab on way from Eilat in southern Israel across the Sinai to Cairo,didnt have my dive ticket then but the snorkelling is great just off the beach.
Post by: Bird on December 20, 2014, 12:52:22 PM
some kewl online vids

http://vimeo.com/maxgleeson (http://vimeo.com/maxgleeson)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5QRN4K3inDA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5QRN4K3inDA)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WuxDs9-mtw4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WuxDs9-mtw4)
Post by: below sea level on December 20, 2014, 01:44:35 PM
how much you being charged for a bottle test?

these prices normal?
https://www.scubadoctor.com.au/cylinder-testing.htm (https://www.scubadoctor.com.au/cylinder-testing.htm)

Those prices are good. I'd love to pay that little.
Post by: Renno on December 21, 2014, 03:20:39 PM
First Leopard Sharks and Mantas for the season at Byron this week.
Post by: Bird on December 21, 2014, 03:39:20 PM
Quote from: Renno
First Leopard Sharks and Mantas for the season at Byron this week.
:worthles: :worthles:

some handy downloads.
Code: [Select]
ftp://207.215.212.62/stuff/padihttp://www.vitorrent.net/search/PADI+Divemaster+DVD (http://www.vitorrent.net/search/PADI+Divemaster+DVD)
https://kickass.so/padi-encyclopedia-of-recreational-diving-iso-t79475.html (https://kickass.so/padi-encyclopedia-of-recreational-diving-iso-t79475.html)

https://www.scubadoctor.com.au/dive-downloads.htm (https://www.scubadoctor.com.au/dive-downloads.htm)
http://www.paradisedivers.com.au/test/sites.htm (http://www.paradisedivers.com.au/test/sites.htm)
http://www.academyofscuba.com.au/dive_melbourne.phtml (http://www.academyofscuba.com.au/dive_melbourne.phtml)
http://www.academyofscuba.com.au/files/5629112_hmas_canberra_dive_site_map.pdf (http://www.academyofscuba.com.au/files/5629112_hmas_canberra_dive_site_map.pdf)
Post by: edz on December 21, 2014, 10:26:06 PM
A  few companies recommended by the mate http://scubaworld.com.au/ (http://scubaworld.com.au/)
http://www.coolydive.com.au/ (http://www.coolydive.com.au/)
http://www.sundive.com.au/ (http://www.sundive.com.au/)
Tweed river dives day and night drift from the north break water wall along past the hospital .. Cook island / local wrecks ..possibly the bombies just out from Kingscliff south break water wall [ watch the currents there / conditions etc ].
Moreton Island and snorkle the wrecks at Tangalooma .
Post by: Claws on December 22, 2014, 10:50:27 PM
I started diving in 1983 with a mate who was certified through FAUI... We did a lot of dives around double island point and wolf rock... Great spear fishing and lots of painted crays while camping. Finally got certified through SSI in 1988 when shops started asking to see proof of certification to fill my tank. Changed to PADI for my advanced and rescue through Milton dive in Brisbane in 1989. Moved to Noosa in 1990 and did divemaster and open water instructor with Noosa dive boutique. Did four years part time instructing in Noosa until I moved to PNG at the end of 1994. Did a heap of diving in PNG for the four years I was there often acting as divemaster for local operators. Let my Instructor teaching status lapse in 1999 after moving back to Australia... Pretty much had enough and only dived a few times since, like others my wetsuit no longer fits and the dive computers on both my Sherwood reg sets are probably obsolete... Monitor 2 is gel sealed and probably can't even get batteries replaced now.... Aladdin pro batteries are long flat as well....

Must get my regs out and give them a service.... Still a qualified service tech for Appollo, Sherwood, Aqua Lung .. My three tanks are long out of test but still full of air. Wouldn't mind going for a dive, would like to get my ten yr old daughter into it in the next few years....
Post by: deepop on December 23, 2014, 10:40:39 AM
dropped into the dive shop in frankston yesterday to ask some questions

$150 gets you an introduction dive inc gear hire and a basic instruction session
$80 for gear hire for people with their dive card.
+$500 for your dive ticket

most I've found so far are 450 up for your ticket.

tried on my BCD the other day - NEARLY fits... but wouldn't with a wetty on.. keep going with the diet :)

Bird, Are you really me with a different forum name?
Post by: Bird on December 23, 2014, 10:48:37 AM
Bird, Are you really me with a different forum name?
;D ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on December 23, 2014, 01:13:39 PM
Quote from: Someone
PADI Encyclopedia of recreational diving

Got the ISO and DVD of it now :) Refresher time.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLO8fGYmDIXZTDHn6kYMGZpJPFU6BbNHEZ (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLO8fGYmDIXZTDHn6kYMGZpJPFU6BbNHEZ)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MbMamtXQ_Ow (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MbMamtXQ_Ow)
Post by: Bird on January 02, 2015, 03:06:54 PM
This could be interesting for the kids

http://www.divevictoria.com.au/school-programs.html (http://www.divevictoria.com.au/school-programs.html)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 17, 2015, 06:38:03 PM
Chucked the gear in the pool today after getting my cylinder back in service. Was good to suck some air again.

Even the kids had ango and in the end they were self sufficient, my mum even tried it

Post by: Bird on January 17, 2015, 07:13:43 PM
Got me dive medical on Tuesday..

got the regs serviced, probably sell the BCD as it don't fit, and wetty... :(

Hey GG - 6mm or 7mm wetty? I hear different stories from different places..
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 17, 2015, 07:16:08 PM
Got me dive medical on Tuesday..

got the regs serviced, probably sell the BCD as it don't fit, and wetty... :(

Hey GG - 6mm or 7mm wetty? I hear different stories from different places..

It al depends on if you feel the cold or not. If you have the opportunity a custom fit is so much better as it keeps the water out. From memory mine is a 7mm body and 5mm arms and legs. I used to dive all year round in Melbourne, bloody cold in wither though

Post by: Bird on January 17, 2015, 07:17:38 PM
It al depends on if you feel the cold or not. If you have the opportunity a custom fit is so much better as it keeps the water out. From memory mine is a 7mm body and 5mm arms and legs. I used to dive all year round in Melbourne, bloody cold in wither though

yea full custom suit from Hallam around same price as a semi dry from local dive stores.. but its custom made...
he says he uses 6mm all year
dive shop dudes all use 7mm :(

but you'd melt in ****ney in 7mm, but 7mm *MAY* be useable in Tassie.. ?

do you still have the dive rescue and dive master books and slates???
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 17, 2015, 07:20:54 PM
yea full custom suit from Hallam around same price as a semi dry from local dive stores.. but its custom made...

do you still have the dive rescue and dive master books and slates???

I have a thin shark skin top that works like a thermal when its extra cold.

Pretty sure I would have all the books, they would be 10 years old now. More that welcome to borrow them if you want. Let me know and I will try and dig them up

Post by: Bird on January 17, 2015, 07:23:52 PM
I have a thin shark skin top that works like a thermal when its extra cold.

Pretty sure I would have all the books, they would be 10 years old now. More that welcome to borrow them if you want. Let me know and I will try and dig them up

dig em up.... :)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 17, 2015, 07:25:39 PM
dig em up.... :)

I am pretty sure I know where they are, will try and remember tomorrow for you

Post by: Bird on January 17, 2015, 07:58:14 PM
I am pretty sure I know where they are, will try and remember tomorrow for you

being a DM shouldn't you be able to get the latest Shit free?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 17, 2015, 08:29:23 PM
being a DM shouldn't you be able to get the latest **** free?

Not sure, I have not really been involved in the industry for the past 6 years and have not kept my insurances or anything up to date. I will see what I can find for you

Post by: Bird on January 17, 2015, 08:42:13 PM
Not sure, I have not really been involved in the industry for the past 6 years and have not kept my insurances or anything up to date. I will see what I can find for you

kewl.. love u

you should come to Robe over Easter dude...
Post by: Bird on January 20, 2015, 06:39:51 PM
Past me fizzikal!!!!!!!!!
actually Shit it in!!!!!

(http://i4.minus.com/iOFk2V4kBB6bh.jpg)

(http://images.sodahead.com/polls/003494329/311330327_i20passed_answer_1_xlarge.jpeg)

(http://27.media.tumblr.com/mwiGYeYjim46yme2ltncLH38o1_400.png)

(http://cdn.meme.am/instances/500x/54892127.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 20, 2015, 06:40:55 PM
Past me fizzikal!!!!!!!!!
actually **** it in!!!!!

(http://i4.minus.com/iOFk2V4kBB6bh.jpg)

(http://images.sodahead.com/polls/003494329/311330327_i20passed_answer_1_xlarge.jpeg)

(http://27.media.tumblr.com/mwiGYeYjim46yme2ltncLH38o1_400.png)

(http://cdn.meme.am/instances/500x/54892127.jpg)

Good work

Post by: Bird on January 21, 2015, 08:20:26 PM
bought this for $25 :)

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTIwMFgxNjAw/z/M4AAAOSw~uhUnyxd/$_57.JPG)
Post by: feisty on January 21, 2015, 10:25:22 PM
I would love to the course, but it involves swimming for 200 metres and I can't swim despite having a pool and my wife being a swimming teacher and coach
She reckons my bones are made of lead as even when I hold my breath, I sink straight to the bottom
I've had to make do with snorkelling

I think you can do the swim with a snorkel and fins but it is twice as far. ....
Post by: bergersau on January 22, 2015, 01:57:52 PM

Hi bird,
I do feel the cold but here is my experience.

I use a 7mm torso/5mm limbs wetsuit with integrated hood and wouldn't recommend any less for Melbourne waters (where I live) if you only have a single wetsuit.
It's (just) adequate in winter for a single dive, though surface intervals and repeat dives get chilly... 
BTW I found it was spot on for my recent trip to Wooli (Just North of Coffs Harbour) back in mid Sept.

I've got to admit that winter surface intervals and repeat dives are much nicer now I have a drysuit for when the water drops below 17'C  ;D
Post by: below sea level on January 22, 2015, 02:59:59 PM
being a DM shouldn't you be able to get the latest **** free?

Should you? Yes.
Can you? No. Even instructors have to pay for their personal materials.  ???

If anybody actually wants to pay for the latest stuff, I can get it for you for my price. I'd need to do it with other orders though because PADI charges way too much for postage if I spend less than $300.
Post by: Bird on January 22, 2015, 04:08:59 PM
I only need something for my refresher, so not looking to buy much.... but have found quite a bit online 70 odd PDF's
inc:
PADI Diving Knowledge Workbook.pdf
PADI.Open.Water.Diver.DVDRip.H264.pdf
SSI 2014 Global Training Standards ENGLISH (Version  v091213).pdf
Scuba Diving 4th Edition.pdf
US Navy Diver Manual 6.pdf
PADI Guide to Teaching.pdf
underwater-photography-made-easy-SeaLife-final.pdf
Basics-of-Close Focus Wide Angle.pdf
Fitness for Divers.pdf
Beautiful Oceans 2.pdf
SCUBA dive theory mastery complete.pdf
Dive Theory Mastery Complete.pdf
Sharks and Rays of Australia.pdf

several videos etc...

places like kickass torrents and even Youtube theres a few, but dunno how old and out of date they are.
http://avaxhm.com/ebooks/eLearning_book/3165836.html (http://avaxhm.com/ebooks/eLearning_book/3165836.html)
http://avaxhm.com/ebooks/sports/Rescue_Diver.html (http://avaxhm.com/ebooks/sports/Rescue_Diver.html)
http://avaxsearch.org/avaxhome_search?q=scuba (http://avaxsearch.org/avaxhome_search?q=scuba)

The biggest downer, I learn better from watching stuff over reading :(
Post by: Swannie on January 22, 2015, 04:30:14 PM
I cant wait to see Bird in a wetsuit  >:D

Post by: Bird on January 22, 2015, 04:31:17 PM
Should you? Yes.
Can you? No. Even instructors have to pay for their personal materials.  ???

If anybody actually wants to pay for the latest stuff, I can get it for you for my price. I'd need to do it with other orders though because PADI charges way too much for postage if I spend less than $300.
if your around here and have a couple I could borrow for a few days I'll pay in beers.... :)
Post by: below sea level on January 22, 2015, 04:38:12 PM
if your around here and have a couple I could borrow for a few days I'll pay in beers.... :)

Ahhh, beer. The universal currency.

I'm in Brisbane, so can't help you there. Guess I need to update my profile...
Post by: Bird on January 22, 2015, 04:46:56 PM
Quote from: below sea level
Ahhh, beer. The universal currency.

I'm in Brisbane, so can't help you there. Guess I need to update my profile...
dvd burner?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 22, 2015, 05:26:40 PM
found a few books buddy

Post by: Bird on January 22, 2015, 06:07:02 PM
found a few books buddy

love u... drop em off at work tomorrow :P
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 22, 2015, 06:14:08 PM
love u... drop em off at work tomorrow :P

Working at Sandi now, not close bud. Will work something out next week

Post by: Bird on January 22, 2015, 07:18:06 PM
Working at Sandi now, not close bud. Will work something out next week

wheres sandi? might have to go out to Packenham on weekend to pickup a laptop to rebuild for mate, will let ya knows.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 22, 2015, 07:56:42 PM
wheres sandi? might have to go out to Packenham on weekend to pickup a laptop to rebuild for mate, will let ya knows.

Sandringham, 10 minutes from the old digs

Post by: Bird on January 22, 2015, 08:14:40 PM
Sandringham, 10 minutes from the old digs

thought that's what ya meant..
Post by: Bird on January 22, 2015, 09:34:20 PM
ftp://207.215.212.62/stuff/padi/
some downloads.... good reading
Post by: Bird on January 31, 2015, 03:11:10 PM
I cant wait to see Bird in a wetsuit  >:D

Tuesday is the day
had a fitting today
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/23/fb/67/23fb67327a5918d68801f62c6b462b40.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 01, 2015, 04:50:07 PM
Found some more Bird

Post by: Bird on February 01, 2015, 05:22:14 PM
sweeeeeeeeet
just doin all the practice exams I've found on-line ... the dive table is pretty much down now, Tuesday is F day...
Post by: Bird on February 03, 2015, 01:29:41 PM
What an awesome dive...  Viz was 15+ mtrs - CLEAR AS YOU GET!

What a great bunch of blokes down at Diveline in Frankston (http://www.diveline.com.au/).  Gave me the confidence to get wet again after all these years, and with my disabilities I wasn't sure how I'd cope...

(http://www.iantd.com.au/images/dline1.jpg)

Anyone considering giving scuba diving a go, I'd happily recommend Paul down at Diveline, and I'll even come down and go for the dive with you! You can do a "Discover Diving" gig for $150 or 200 for 2 people which includes ALL your gear for the dive...  :cup: :cup:

Got in to the store early, power was out in most of Franga due do NFI.. So I sat down to my refresher exam, and did pretty well, although blew a couple of questions on the ****in dive tables, but Paul sat down and went through them with me until I could explain them to him showing I understood.. No shortcuts down there :)

Now for the nasty pasty... Puttin on a wetty, and it was easy, the suit was a 1 piece, but I still think I like 2 piece.
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/03/06/article-2289006-1878F43E000005DC-886_470x423.jpg)

Next was BCD and Tank etc together, tank tests, and we were ready to go.

Down to the Pier, and the long walk to the end.. :( I was rooted by the time we got there and was happy to jump in!

Jumped in, and Paul just wanted to settle me to make sure I was comfortable - so did I! Took me 5 mins to settle, then down we went and then sort out the weight so I could be neutral, and away we went!
We ran through some basics like mask clearing, losing the reg, etc. All good :) As I said, no shortcuts, and I didn't ask for any special treatment.  :cup:

We cruised under the pier, never seen so many starfish in my life - 1000s, I mean 100's... and different types too. Plenty of puffer fish, out to the pots and plenty of life out there, saw a couple of crikey killers - only small though, found a fishing rod, complete with reel line the lot, heaps of sinkers etc.  Paul was really good at finding the small things, like a really juvenile sea moth, an extremely well hidden blue ring occy on an old pillar, and then on th way back under the pier, 2 massive clouds of small fish..

Had a ball, oh and a chunder as we got back to shore as it was fairly rough :(

Packed up, I got a real good report from Paul on my diving, and he's happy to go out again sarvo if I want LOL

back to shop, wash up, sign off on the dive, and then back home. Now for a nana nap, cause that took it out of me. ;)

Bottom time was just under 70minutes, and my air use was outstanding, I came back with ~80 - went in with 230.... It was one thing I thought I'd go through faster.

Just need to get a better fitting wetty.

(http://images.rapgenius.com/ac7ec56b50756cb93c225c5d374d7840.590x464x1.gif)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 03, 2015, 01:45:44 PM
Well done Bud, need to get back in the water as well, the pool just does not cut it

Post by: Swannie on February 03, 2015, 02:30:12 PM
I call BS on Bird as  :worthles:

Post by: below sea level on February 03, 2015, 02:46:42 PM
I call BS on Bird as  :worthles:

See the second pic in the post.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on February 03, 2015, 04:20:25 PM
Quote from: below sea level
See the second pic in the post.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: loanrangie on February 03, 2015, 10:58:27 PM
**** now you are putting ideas in my head .
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2015, 08:46:34 AM
Quote from: loanrangie
**** now you are putting ideas in my head .

Do it dude, when your better, we can pair up as crippled dive buddies

http://youtu.be/MtGCQy4ny8E (http://youtu.be/MtGCQy4ny8E)
Post by: loanrangie on February 04, 2015, 10:43:08 AM
Do it dude, when your better, we can pair up as crippled dive buddies

http://youtu.be/MtGCQy4ny8E (http://youtu.be/MtGCQy4ny8E)

Might just be the motivation i need, i can give my new gopro a workout too.
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2015, 10:50:54 AM
Might just be the motivation i need, i can give my new gopro a workout too.
More than happy to go out..
The blokes I went through were only too happy to support me and gave me the confidence to go out again..
First couple of dives, they like ya to go out and just dive and get used to it, then take ya accessories out after that.. They wont stop ya, but it makes sense. :)
Post by: loanrangie on February 04, 2015, 02:12:08 PM
Just need to find where i put my licenses , got 2 around somewhere.
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2015, 02:24:33 PM
Just need to find where i put my licenses , got 2 around somewhere.

I got some reading and vids here if you want em. only about 24 gig worth...
Post by: DaveR on February 04, 2015, 03:42:01 PM
I was a commercial diver.
A very lucky 1 at that....
I dived in Syd harbour for a living for ages, used to swim a ferry most mornings with a Hull scrubber, I was fit as fit can be then.
Did concreting below the opera house for 4 months.
Have been to parts of the barrier reef which are not on the Nautical charts (weren't at the time)
Had to kick sharks out of my way to do a job
400 hours structual wet stick welding, plus heaps of other non certified welding etc.
Always found myself with an ear infection the day of broco cutting, still makes me shiver thinking about it.
Deepest I can recall doing was about 180' in Gulf of Thailand, Benchamas Oil Field. I was sent down to undo a rope (called a "Down Line"), from that depth I had every colour group available, the guys needed to send me another rope (Messenger Line) so I could recover some gear left behind. When I looked up, I could see the lads on the back deck clearly enough to tell who was who.
Had a close call with the giant grouper that lives under the coal terminal south of Makay one time.

Here is yours truly dressed ready for action. Guess the location...  ;D
(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8598/16439516522_9a1ca59612_c.jpg)

Have been about 15m below the seabed up of the sth coast of Niugini in a trench with near vertical walls.
Didn't mind the chamber time for surface deco, always had a good rest then.

It all came to an end though, a few things happened and was advised to give it up. Long story best for the camp fire that 1.

Hope to go for a swim with the wife again some day, and kids when they are old enough.

Got a funny story from out of Cairns when I was living there.
The local dive folk refused to acknowledge the qualification of some Nth Sea, UK and European Saturation Divers I worked on a job with, so the guys all went out for an "Introductory Dive". Got on the bottom and did everything wrong they could possibly do deliberately as a pay back. One guy hid under a rock and held his breath, another took his BCD of.... etc etc.
After they fessed up to the young girl who was taking them in the water, then paid for her and her friends all expenses night out on the town.
Post by: Bird on February 05, 2015, 04:51:58 PM
very kewl dude :)

Heres a vid of where I hope to go for a dive on weekend if I can find someone to go with.
http://youtu.be/IBK-PhD-hbI (http://youtu.be/IBK-PhD-hbI) or http://youtu.be/VFDhnh_Dn4g (http://youtu.be/VFDhnh_Dn4g)
http://youtu.be/_uGCpHkh8dI (http://youtu.be/_uGCpHkh8dI)
Post by: Bird on February 13, 2015, 03:32:08 PM
Quote from: GGV8Cruza
Found some more Bird

They'd look good at my place... :)

Need to work on me dive tables...  What you like on tables Mr GG?

http://www.patadacobra.com.br/downloads/PADI_Instructor_Manual_English_2014.pdf (http://www.patadacobra.com.br/downloads/PADI_Instructor_Manual_English_2014.pdf)

PS.. got the camera gig sorted
(http://www.birdmansworld.com/myswag/camera/1.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 13, 2015, 05:04:18 PM
They'd look good at my place... :)

Need to work on me dive tables...  What you like on tables Mr GG?

http://www.patadacobra.com.br/downloads/PADI_Instructor_Manual_English_2014.pdf (http://www.patadacobra.com.br/downloads/PADI_Instructor_Manual_English_2014.pdf)

PS.. got the camera gig sorted
(http://www.birdmansworld.com/myswag/camera/1.jpg)

Rusty. Very rusty

Post by: Bird on February 13, 2015, 05:37:14 PM
Rusty. Very rusty

same... I've tried WD40.... pentrene etc and still rusted solid :(
Post by: Bird on February 18, 2015, 11:13:59 AM
This chick has an Awesome series of vids
https://vimeo.com/93852998

Well worth watching if your thinking of diving.. brilliant scenery
Post by: Bird on March 18, 2015, 10:04:09 AM
Had a nice dive down Franga pier on weekend..
Viz is AWESOME at moment...  Water temps are very nice, and new wetty handled things well. Just need to sort out a new mask.. I find when I turn my head that I get water leaks :( Plenty of mask clearing practice :D

Keen for a night dive at moment...
Post by: feisty on March 18, 2015, 12:21:52 PM
Shouldn't be looking at this. Over on Gili T atm for three weeks of diving.  Had an incident with a patch of gravel on my scooter day 2.  A few stitches later all good but now I CAN'T DIVE.  ARGHHHHHHH.    So I'll just do my diving through you bird. Glad you are loving it.
Post by: Bird on March 18, 2015, 12:31:49 PM
Shouldn't be looking at this. Over on Gili T atm for three weeks of diving.  Had an incident with a patch of gravel on my scooter day 2.  A few stitches later all good but now I CAN'T DIVE.  ARGHHHHHHH.    So I'll just do my diving through you bird. Glad you are loving it.
why no diving with stitches??? :(

yea feels good after so many years away from it, although I do find getting out on shore dives makes me feel not that flash, almost seasick...
Post by: feisty on March 18, 2015, 12:44:43 PM
Risk of infection.  Doctor said no.  Two dive operators said no.   Haven't dropped a bike in twenty years  spent a month last year touring the Himalayas last year on a royal enfield and was the only one not to drop their bike.  Toured NZ uk and Germany and stayed upright.  There must be a curse on aussies riding scooters in this country.
Post by: Bird on March 18, 2015, 12:48:27 PM
Quote from: feisty
Risk of infection.  Doctor said no.  Two dive operators said no.   Haven't dropped a bike in twenty years  spent a month last year touring the Himalayas last year on a royal enfield and was the only one not to drop their bike.  Toured NZ uk and Germany and stayed upright.  There must be a curse on aussies riding scooters in this country.
that's a bitch... :( its not a specific dive holiday is it???
Post by: feisty on March 18, 2015, 06:23:17 PM
It mostly was but so be it. The misses hasn't dived in 5 years and was looking forward to getting back into it. Nice thing she is wouldn't dive without me...
Post by: fuji on March 18, 2015, 06:32:29 PM
Just sold my Oceanic reg and Tekna Occy with analogue gauges on fleabag. $108.00 :'(
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 18, 2015, 06:33:48 PM
Just sold my Oceanic reg and Tekna Occy with analogue gauges on fleabag. $108.00 :'(

Should have put them on here, would have grabbed them off you bud, bugger

Post by: Bird on March 19, 2015, 05:25:05 PM
Quote from: feisty
It mostly was but so be it. The misses hasn't dived in 5 years and was looking forward to getting back into it. Nice thing she is wouldn't dive without me...
Bugger dude...

Gee Fooj... you would have got more at the swap meet!q
Post by: Palmer on March 19, 2015, 06:04:58 PM
I only get in the water diving every now and again, but refuse to sell my gear as I want it there "just in case"I feel like getting in.
Post by: fuji on March 19, 2015, 06:11:31 PM
Sorry GG
Didn't think anyone here would have bought them. I think the Oceanic reg was only used about twice.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 19, 2015, 06:14:18 PM
Sorry GG
Didn't think anyone here would have bought them. I think the Oceanic reg was only used about twice.
Double bugger

Post by: fuji on March 19, 2015, 06:19:53 PM
Sorry GG
Post by: Bird on March 19, 2015, 06:59:05 PM
Sorry GG
don't have a tank you wanna sell do you? :)
Post by: speewa158 on March 20, 2015, 05:59:23 AM
1 of my saddest days was when l sold my breathing gear that had taken me to so many interesting places . Knowing that it will serve another diver well compensates a bit . l still feel the need for Nitrogen every now & then  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on March 20, 2015, 11:56:35 AM
Booked in for a shore dive with the club tomorrow morning down Blairgowrie, haven't dived there yet...

https://youtu.be/PYFcgE1PhTw
Post by: below sea level on March 23, 2015, 09:16:36 AM
I went to Cook Island yesterday for some fun diving, because what else would an instructor do on their day off?  ;D

Saw 8 or 9 wobbegong sharks, a couple of leopard sharks, a couple of turtles, a whole school of cuttlefish and a spotted eagle ray.

(http://stuff.djf.cc/cook1.jpg)

(http://stuff.djf.cc/cook2.jpg)

(http://stuff.djf.cc/cook3.jpg)
Post by: BadSeed on March 23, 2015, 12:49:25 PM
Nice shots.
I came face to face with a massive Wobbegong in some very bad viz last week.... ;D
Clean wet suit required.
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2015, 08:44:03 PM
Awesome work!

Didn't get to my dive.. a 4 hour network upgrade ended up being just under 40hours.. :(
Post by: Bird on April 05, 2015, 09:37:02 PM
Well  bloke at the shop went diving week or so ago - with a slight cold... doesn't sound like much, but he's just had operation to relieve pressure in his head - grommets in the ears and Bells Palsy (look it up, nasty)... When I saw him Thursday he looked bad...it got worse.

Poor bloke cant dive now for 6-12 months... not good when your the shop owner and one of the instructors... :(
Post by: Palmer on April 05, 2015, 10:15:02 PM
That sucks for him
Post by: Gunsrunner on April 06, 2015, 01:21:02 AM
Sorry to say,  but he should have known better. One of the first things that get taught, pressure can get in but not out. Not good :-*
Same thing can happen with any cavity. be careful,  pressure can be a biatch >:D
Post by: bergersau on November 16, 2015, 02:38:24 PM
It's an old thread but I thought I'd bump it.

Here's a vid of Wilsons Prom Diving over Melbourne Cup weekend just gone (Sat 31st Oct) .  Props to AB who took the video.
Here's why putting up with the crowded campsite and winds and variable weather at the Prom are worth it.

https://vimeo.com/144473084
Post by: AdrianLR on November 16, 2015, 03:29:34 PM
Rare calm day above and below the water. Unfortunately it's over 20 years since I last dived the Prom. Life gets in the way :(

One of the names on the list of divers at the end was familiar - please pass on a hello to Darren from Adrian from the SDFV days at the Sir Robert Peel.

Thanks for posting.
Post by: bergersau on November 16, 2015, 03:51:57 PM
@AdrianLR - I'm actually in a different club from those guys - though I've met the videographer Alan. (I was on board one of the other boats shown at 2:18.)
We were diving the same sites independently that day.  I took the liberty of linking to Alan's footage instead of posting my own as I don't have an underwater camera.
Post by: WilSurf on October 08, 2018, 12:23:59 PM
Wow, an old topic.

My oldest daughter just got qualified yesterday and is now allowed to dive.
She did the diving course through her school as next year (Y11) they go the Ningaloo for a week.
Their was an option to go scuba diving and she took it.
Now she is qualified and I assume that it is best to keep up diving say once a month?
Is this correct?
Also, what gear to get yourself?
She got a mask, snorkel and fins.
Post by: Bird on October 08, 2018, 01:15:55 PM
Wow, an old topic.

My oldest daughter just got qualified yesterday and is now allowed to dive.
She did the diving course through her school as next year (Y11) they go the Ningaloo for a week.
Their was an option to go scuba diving and she took it.
Nice.. wish they had stuff like this when I went to school... :(

Now she is qualified and I assume that it is best to keep up diving say once a month?
Is this correct?
If she feels the need to, but probably not necessary

Also, what gear to get yourself?
She got a mask, snorkel and fins.
what budget?? how often will it be used? If she really takes off might be worth own wetty, regs and bcd etc.
if its once a month or less, dont bother.
Post by: GBC on October 08, 2018, 02:25:30 PM
Cool old thread. They haven't called it Truk for a while.
I am medically unfit to dive. We did some fun, crazy stuff back in the day with tech gear and tri-mix to hit new wrecks, gave some gps marks to the museum, take cool pics, and even helped discredit the names of some falsely named wrecks around SEQ. Since we have all had kids none of us dive anymore. We were lucky in a lot of ways.
Post by: NZMarkb on June 18, 2020, 06:06:37 AM
Finding some great old treads here cheers team(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/fbc4c73acb8f96c674ffbd2d622d1e68.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/1be6effb8704a7cdfca4a2bbd5934610.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/5fb46b76f349e33cebf0852cdb16d0e7.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on June 18, 2020, 10:06:39 AM
Quote from: NZMarkb
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/5fb46b76f349e33cebf0852cdb16d0e7.jpg)

Nice.. I used to love teasing Morays with a smashed urchin for the new students to get the eel out of their holes round the baths off Cronulla :D
Post by: NZMarkb on June 18, 2020, 05:01:17 PM
Isolation is the best way to contain corona (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200618/329a7977b49a3b85a1e442fadb76f069.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on April 16, 2024, 10:17:33 AM
now this would be kewl...

https://www.scubadiving.com/from-skies-to-seas-abandoned-airplane-becomes-new-dive-site (https://www.scubadiving.com/from-skies-to-seas-abandoned-airplane-becomes-new-dive-site)
Post by: loanrangie on April 16, 2024, 11:32:41 AM
When i did my PADI license in Thailand years ago one of the English instructors was telling me about an old quarry thats used as a dive site that they have dropped old cars,buses and helicopters in.
 Apparently the visibility is excellent there too being fresh water, i did a fresh water dive in Lake Malawi and it was awesome.
Post by: NZMarkb on April 16, 2024, 11:53:21 AM
When i did my PADI license in Thailand years ago one of the English instructors was telling me about an old quarry thats used as a dive site that they have dropped old cars,buses and helicopters in.
 Apparently the visibility is excellent there too being fresh water, i did a fresh water dive in Lake Malawi and it was awesome.

I believe it's in Scotland
Post by: loanrangie on April 17, 2024, 11:35:58 AM
I believe it in Scotland

I think there are a few, one definitely near the mid west.

found it, Leicestershire - https://divebuddies4life.com/england-scuba-diving-the-popular-stoney-cove-quarry/
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2024, 10:21:33 AM
This is VERY kewl....

Aussie diver’s magical interaction with enormous octopus that led her to a secret underwater shrine

Video has captured the incredible moment a massive octopus with three metre-long tentacles grabbed a scuba diver’s hand and led her to a secret shrine.

https://www.news.com.au/technology/science/animals/aussie-divers-magical-interaction-with-enormous-octopus-that-led-her-to-a-secret-underwater-shrine/news-story/5cd1862c27474607bb7d2b8e3efc0a9b (https://www.news.com.au/technology/science/animals/aussie-divers-magical-interaction-with-enormous-octopus-that-led-her-to-a-secret-underwater-shrine/news-story/5cd1862c27474607bb7d2b8e3efc0a9b)

https://www.facebook.com/imogenisunderwater (https://www.facebook.com/imogenisunderwater)